DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,7-9,11,12,14,15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (WO 2018010507 A1) in view of Sathy et al. (US 2015/0373644) and Vyas et al. (US 2013/0329732), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 1, Xiong discloses a method (fig. 1) for performing control in a wireless communications system (i.e. The embodiment of the invention provides a wake-up monitoring method for a terminal system, a storage medium, a terminal, and an electronic device, which can monitor and report an abnormal application program that frequently wakes up the terminal system through the data packet, thereby reducing power consumption of the terminal )(fig. 1 and page 4 lines 4-37), the wireless communications system comprising a first device (terminal and/or electronic device)(fig. 4, page 4 lines 4-37, page 7 and page 8), the method being applicable to the first device (page 4 lines 4-37, page 7 and page 8), the method comprising: utilizing a processing circuit (processor)(fig. 4 number 402) within the first device to monitor abnormal wake-up events among a plurality of wake-up events (wake-up frequency) (abstract, page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8), and identify a common pattern of a plurality of unwanted packets (i.e. an abnormal application program that frequently wakes up the terminal system through the data packets) (page 2 lines s 31-34) which cause occurrence of the abnormal wake-up events (i.e. wake-up frequency is greater than the preset frequency threshold) (abstract, page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8); utilizing the processing circuit to notify a communications control circuit (i.e. The processor 402 is a control center of the electronic device, and connects various parts of the entire electronic device using various interfaces and lines, executes the electronic device by running or executing an application stored in the memory 401, and calling data stored in the memory 401( fig. 4 and page 7) of the common pattern identified by the processing circuit (page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8), wherein the communications control circuit is positioned within the first device (fig. 4 and page 7); and in response to the common pattern identified by the processing circuit being sent to the communications control circuit, utilizing the communications control circuit to perform adaptive configuration according to the common pattern identified by the processing circuit (page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8), for preventing occurrence of an additional abnormal wake-up event due to an additional unwanted packet (i.e. the background management system may be a daemon, a background operation system, etc., after the application is reported to the background management system, the background management system may uninstall the application, or set a packet wakeup for the application. Restrictions, etc., to save power consumption of the terminal and ensure the normal use of the user)(page 4 lines 26-29). Xiong differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the plurality of wake-up events caused by incoming packets and packet filtering according to the common pattern. Vyas et al. teaches During a sleep mode on the electronic device, the application processor may be powered down, while the baseband processor may remain powered on to detect incoming packets over the wireless network interface and wake the application processor once the incoming packets are received. An unsolicited incoming packet such as a ping packet may thus wake up the application processor, only to be discarded by the application processor because no application on the electronic device is listening for the unsolicited incoming packet (P:0008 and P:0033). Sathy et al. teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 number 102) comprising a packet filtering manager 112 may drop the spurious or unwanted packet based on the packet filtering rules at packet filter 114. That is, when packet filter 114 is enabled and MP 110 receives a packet (e.g., from network entity 150) that fails to satisfy (e.g., meet) at least one packet filtering rule configured at MP 110, the packet is dropped at MP 110. That is, AP 120 will not unnecessarily wake up from its sleep mode, thereby saving power at the UE (P:0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong with the plurality of wake-up events caused by incoming packets and packet filtering according to the common pattern in order for the electronic device to filter abnormal application data packets thereby preventing unnecessary wake ups which prevents security vulnerabilities to the software of the electronic device while saving the battery of the electronic device, as taught by Sathy et al. and Vyas et al..
Regarding claims 2, 4, 12 and 14, Xiong discloses a firmware module running on the communications control circuit is arranged to control at least one hardware circuit within the communications control circuit; and the processing circuit is arranged to notify the firmware module of the common pattern identified by the processing circuit, utilizing the firmware module to configure the at least one hardware circuit to operate according to the common pattern; the firmware module is implemented by way of a program module running on a microprocessor within the communications control circuit (i.e. The processor 402 is a control center of the electronic device, and connects various parts of the entire electronic device using various interfaces and lines, executes the electronic device by running or executing an application stored in the memory 401, and calling data stored in the memory 401. the processor 402 in the electronic device loads the executable code corresponding to the process of one or more applications into the memory 401 according to the following instructions, and is executed by the processor 402 to be stored in the memory. The application in 401, thus implementing the steps: Detecting whether the electronic device system is awakened by the application through the data packet; If yes, counting the wake-up frequency of the electronic device system being awake by the application through the data packet; Determining whether the wake-up frequency is greater than a preset frequency threshold (page 7, 12th paragraph to page 8 line 4), In addition, each functional module in each embodiment of the present invention may be integrated into one processing module, or each module may exist physically separately, or two or more modules may be integrated into one module. The above integrated modules can be implemented in the form of hardware or in the form of software functional modules (page 9, 5th paragraph).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Xiong discloses the processing circuit is arranged to monitor the abnormal wake-up events and identify the common pattern at runtime of the processing circuit (i.e. A timer can be set for each application, and the timer of each application is cleared before starting the statistics. In the process of statistics, after obtaining the identification information of the application that wakes up the terminal system through the data packet, The timer of the application corresponding to the identifier information is started to record the wake-up duration. After the terminal system wakes up once by the application, the terminal system accumulates a wake-up duration, and after reaching the second preset duration, reads the application. The timer value corresponding to the program, that is, the cumulative duration of wakeup corresponding to the application (page 5, 8th paragraph).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 17 and 18, Xiong discloses the common pattern comprises common information (application and/or abnormal application and/or data packet) carried by each unwanted packet among the plurality of unwanted packets (abstract, page 2 lines 31-34, page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8).
Regarding claims 9 and 19,, Xiong discloses a method /first deviceas discussed supra in claims 1,7,11 and 17 above. Xiong differs from claims 9 and 19 in that it does not explicit disclose the common information comprises a common address. SATHY et al. teaches, for instance, the packet filtering rules may be determined based on, for example, Internet Protocol (IP) source address, IP destination address, TCP source port, TCP destination port, UDP source port, UDP destination port, etc. of the applications at AP 120 (P:0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong with the common information comprises a common address in order for the electronic device to restrict applications that has an address of an unwanted packet so the electronic device remains in sleep mode which saves power, as taught by SATHY et al..
Regarding claim 11, Xiong discloses a first device (electronic device and/or terminal and/or smartphone)(abstract and fig. 4), for performing in a wireless communications system (i.e. a smartphone performing wireless communication in a wireless system) (fig. 4 and page 7, 13 paragraph), the wireless communications system comprising the (electronic device and/or smartphone)(fig. 4) and a second device (server) (page 2, last paragraph), the first device comprising:
utilizing a processing circuit (processor)(fig. 4 number 402) within the first device to monitor abnormal wake-up events among a plurality of wake-up events (wake-up frequency) (abstract, page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8), and identify a common pattern of a plurality of unwanted packets (i.e. an abnormal application program that frequently wakes up the terminal system through the data packets) (page 2 lines s 31-34) which cause occurrence of the abnormal wake-up events (i.e. wake-up frequency is greater than the preset frequency threshold) (abstract, page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8); utilizing the processing circuit to notify a communications control circuit (i.e. The processor 402 is a control center of the electronic device, and connects various parts of the entire electronic device using various interfaces and lines, executes the electronic device by running or executing an application stored in the memory 401, and calling data stored in the memory 401( fig. 4 and page 7) of the common pattern identified by the processing circuit (page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8), wherein the communications control circuit is positioned within the first device (fig. 4 and page 7); and in response to the common pattern identified by the processing circuit being sent to the communications control circuit, utilizing the communications control circuit to perform adaptive configuration according to the common pattern identified by the processing circuit (page 4 lines 4-37 and page 7 and page 8), for preventing occurrence of an additional abnormal wake-up event due to an additional unwanted packet (i.e. the background management system may be a daemon, a background operation system, etc., after the application is reported to the background management system, the background management system may uninstall the application, or set a packet wakeup for the application. Restrictions, etc., to save power consumption of the terminal and ensure the normal use of the user)(page 4 lines 26-29). Xiong differs from claim 11 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the plurality of wake-up events caused by incoming packets and packet filtering according to the common pattern. Vyas et al. teaches During a sleep mode on the electronic device, the application processor may be powered down, while the baseband processor may remain powered on to detect incoming packets over the wireless network interface and wake the application processor once the incoming packets are received. An unsolicited incoming packet such as a ping packet may thus wake up the application processor, only to be discarded by the application processor because no application on the electronic device is listening for the unsolicited incoming packet (P:0008 and P:0033). Sathy et al. teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 number 102) comprising a packet filtering manager 112 may drop the spurious or unwanted packet based on the packet filtering rules at packet filter 114. That is, when packet filter 114 is enabled and MP 110 receives a packet (e.g., from network entity 150) that fails to satisfy (e.g., meet) at least one packet filtering rule configured at MP 110, the packet is dropped at MP 110. That is, AP 120 will not unnecessarily wake up from its sleep mode, thereby saving power at the UE (P:0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong with the plurality of wake-up events caused by incoming packets and packet filtering according to the common pattern in order for the electronic device to filter abnormal application data packets thereby preventing unnecessary wake ups which prevents security vulnerabilities to the software of the electronic device while saving the battery of the electronic device, as taught by Sathy et al. and Vyas et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,6,10,13,16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination utilizing the communications control circuit to perform the adaptive configuration and the packet filtering according to the common pattern identified by the processing circuit further comprises: utilizing the firmware module to configure the at least one hardware circuit to operate according to the common pattern; and utilizing the at least one hardware circuit to block any packet having any portion matching the common pattern.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination utilizing the communications control circuit to perform the adaptive configuration and the packet filtering according to the common pattern identified by the processing circuit further comprises: discarding the additional unwanted packet, in order to prevent the processing circuit from being woken up by the additional unwanted packet, wherein the additional unwanted packet represents a new packet having a pattern that matches the common pattern.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the common information comprises at least one common value in a predetermined header format corresponding to a predetermined protocol.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648