DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on September 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, and 17 have been amended in the present application. Claims 1-19 are pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497 – hereinafter referred to as “Song”).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1), comprising:
a sensor substrate (Figure 9 mover 300 and elastic member 600, [0108]) on which an image sensor (Figure 9 image sensor 330, [0142]) having an imaging surface is disposed ([0142] image sensor 330 is disposed on first substrate 320 of mover 300);
a movable frame (Figure 9 holder 310) coupled to the sensor substrate ([0135] holder 310 may be disposed on first substrate 320 of mover 300), and configured to move in a direction parallel to the imaging surface (Figure 13 roll, [0118] holder 310 may rotate about the optical axis and rotation about the optical axis is movement in a direction parallel to the imaging surface);
a fixed frame (Figures 5 and 11 stator 100 and substrate 500 comprise a fixed frame) configured to accommodate the sensor substrate (Figure 7 substrate 320 is accommodated in cover 130 of stator 100) and the movable frame ([0110] stator 100 may comprise housing 110, [0135] holder 310 may be disposed inside the housing 110); and
a first driving unit (Figure 9 magnet 340 and coil 120 comprise first driving unit) disposed on the movable frame (Figure 9, [0116] magnet 340 are disposed on holder 310) and the fixed frame ([0115] coil 120 is disposed in stator 100), and configured to provide a driving force to the movable frame ([01163] coil 120 and magnet 340 move holder 310),
wherein the sensor substrate comprises:
a movable part (Figure 9 substrate 320) coupled to the movable frame ([0135] holder 310 may be disposed on first substrate 320);
a fixed part (Figure 12 outer side portion 620) coupled to the fixed frame ([0159] outer side portion 620 is coupled to substrate 500), and spaced apart from the movable frame in a direction, perpendicular to the imaging surface (Figures 4 and 12 outer side portion 620 is spaced apart from holder 310 in a direction perpendicular to the imaging surface);
a connection part (Figure 12 elastic member 600, [0157]) including a first support comprising a pair of support members (See labeled Figure below showing pair of first support members) that are spaced apart from each other and connected to the fixed part in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (See labeled Figure below first support members are spaced apart and connected to outside portion 620 in a direction parallel to image surface (image surface is in XY plane)) and a second support comprising a pair of supporting members (See labeled Figure below showing pair of second support members) that are spaced apart from each other (See labeled Figure below second support members are spaced apart) and connected to the movable part in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (Figure 8 second support is connected to substrate 320 in direction perpendicular to image surface, [0159]); and
a plurality of bridges (Figure 12 connection portion 630) configured to support a movement of the movable part ([0157]-[0159] connection portion 630 is elastically connected to substrate 320 and substrate 500), and configured to connect the support members to each other (Figure 12 connection portion 630 connects first and second support members to each other), each of the bridges having a height in an optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support member toward an edge of the fixed part (Figures 6 and 12 height of connection portion 630 decreases toward an edge of the fixed part; [0157] substrate 320 and substrate 500 are disposed at different heights),
wherein the second support and the movable part are electrically connected to each other in the optical axis direction ([0158] plurality of elastic portions may electrically connect the first substrate 320 and second substrate 500).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Song further teaches the connection part (Figure 12 elastic member 600, [0157]) further includes: a plurality of bridges (Figure 12 connection portion 630), each having a length in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (Figures 12 connection portion 630 has length in direction parallel to imaging surface), and configured to connect the first support and the second support to each other (Figure 12 connection portion 630 connects pair of first support members and pair of second support members, See labeled Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Song further teaches the first support is spaced apart from the movable part (Figures 6 and 12 pair of first support members are spaced apart from substrate 320), and the second support is spaced apart from the fixed part (Figures 6 and 12 pair of second support members are spaced apart from substrate 500).
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Song further teaches the direction parallel to the imaging surface comprises a first axis direction and a second axis direction, perpendicular to each other (See labeled Figure below X and Y axes are perpendicular to each other), and the second support is configured to have a longer length than a length of the first support in at least one of the first axis direction and the second axis direction (See labeled Figure below pair of second support members is longer than pair of first support members in Y-direction).
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Song further teaches the second support comprises a first pad disposed on a surface that faces the movable part in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (Figures 6 and 12 top surface of second support members are a pad that face substrate 320 in direction perpendicular to imaging surface, [0159]), and the movable part comprises a second pad on any one surface thereof parallel to the imaging surface (Figure 6 underside of substrate 320 pad parallel to imaging surface).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Song further teaches the direction parallel to the imaging surface comprises a first axis direction and a second axis direction, perpendicular to each other, and the movable part is configured to have a shorter length than a length of the fixed part in at least one of the first axis direction and the second axis direction (Figures 6, 7, and 12 substrate 320 is shorter than outer connecting portion 620 in direction parallel to imaging surface).
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches a camera module (Figure 1), comprising: a lens module comprising at least one lens (Figure 9 lens 220, [0119]); a focusing actuator configured to move the lens module in an optical axis direction (Figure 9 bobbin 210 and coil 230 form autofocusing module, [0131]); and the optical image stabilization actuator of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, Song teaches a camera module (Figure 1), comprising:
a sensor substrate (Figure 9 substrate 320, substrate 500, and elastic member 600, [0108]) on which an image sensor (Figure 9 image sensor 330, [0142]) is disposed ([0142] image sensor 330 is disposed on first substrate 320);
a fixed frame (Figures 5 and 11 stator 100); and
a movable frame (Figure 9 holder 310), disposed on the fixed frame (Figure 5 holder 310 is disposed on stator 100);
wherein the sensor substrate (Figure 9 substrate 320, substrate 500, and elastic member 600, [0108]) comprises:
a fixed printed circuit board (PCB) (Figure 9 substrate 500, [0156] substrate 500 is a PCB), coupled to a lower surface of the fixed frame (Figure 5 substrate 500 is coupled to lower surface of cover 130 of stator 100, [0122]);
a movable PCB (Figure 9 substrate 320, [0141] substrate 320 is a PCB), on which the image sensor is mounted ([0142] image sensor 330 is disposed on first substrate 320), and configured to move together with the movable frame in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction (Figure 13 roll, [0118]-[0119] holder 310 and substrate 320 may rotate about the optical axis); and
a connection part (Figure 12 elastic member 600, [0157]), comprising a first support and a second support, and configured to connect the fixed PCB and the movable PCB to each other;
wherein the connection part includes the first support (Figure 12 outer side portion 620) and the second support (Figure 12 inner side portion 610) provided as a pair of support members that are spaced apart from each other (Figure 12 outer side portion 620 and inner side portion 610 are spaced apart), respectively,
wherein the connection part includes a bridge (Figure 12 connection portion 630) configured to support a movement of the movable PCB ([0157]-[0159] connection portion 630 is elastically connected to substrate 320 and substrate 500), and configured to connect the first support to the second support (Figure 12 connection portion 630 connects outer side portion 620 to inner side portion 610), the bridge having a height in the optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support toward an edge of the fixed PCB (Figures 6 and 12 height of connection portion 630 decreases toward an edge of the fixed part; [0157] substrate 320 and substrate 500 are disposed at different heights),
wherein the movable PCB is disposed so as to overlap the second support in the optical axis direction (Figures 6 and 8 substrate 320 overlaps inner side portion 610 in optical axis direction), and
wherein the movable PCB and the second support are electrically connected to each other ([0158] plurality of elastic portions may electrically connect the first substrate 320 and second substrate 500).
Regarding claim 18, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Song further teaches the movable PCB is configured to have a shorter length in at least one of a first axis direction and a second axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction when compared to the fixed PCB (Figure 6 substrate 320 has a shorter length than substrate 500 in direction perpendicular to optical axis direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Sharma (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0080807).
Regarding claim 4, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Song further teaches the plurality of bridges (Figure 12 connection portion 630) are made of a flexible material ([0160] connection portion 630 may have elasticity).
Song fails to teach the first support and the second support are made of a rigid material. However, Sharma teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 3) with a support made of a rigid material (Figure 8 static portion 310 does not move and therefore would be a rigid material, [0077]). One would be motivated to make the first and second supports taught by Song out of a rigid material in order to avoid damaging the electrical connections between the supports and connected circuits such as flex circuit 220. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second support taught by Song out of a rigid material as taught by Sharma in order to prevent damage to electrical connections between components.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497) as applied to claim 6 above in view of Park (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171498).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 6. Song fails to teach a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the movable part and the second support. However, Park teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 12A) with a conductive adhesive layer (Figure 14, [0406] terminal 262 may be coupled to connective elastic member 270 via a conductive adhesive member). One would have been motivated to add a conductive adhesive layer between the moveable part and second support taught by Song in order to electrically substrate 320 to other components within or external to the camera module. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the moveable part and second support taught by Song by adding the conductive adhesive layer taught by Park between the moveable part and second support in order to electrically connect substrate 320 to other components within or external to the camera module.
Regarding claim 8, Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 6. Song fails to teach the movable part comprises an opening that penetrates therethrough in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface to expose the first pad. However, Park teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 12A) with a moveable part (Figure 17 holder 270) comprising an opening (Figure 17 hole 270a, [0433]) that penetrates therethrough in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface to expose the first pad (Figure 17 coupler 32 overlaps hole 270a in optical axis direction which is perpendicular to the imaging surface, [0433]). Park further teaches the opening may be used to dispose a wire to electrically connect different components ([0199] and [0434]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable platform taught by Song by adding the opening that exposes the first pad as taught by Park in order to use wire to electrically connect different components (Park [0199] and [0434]).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smyth (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0362490) in view of Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497).
Regarding claim 1, Smyth teaches An optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1 actuator 106, [0028]), comprising:
a sensor substrate (Figure 7 flexure suspension arrangement 700, [0063]) on which an image sensor (Figures 2A and 7 image sensor 206, [0063]) having an imaging surface is disposed (image sensor 206 has an imaging surface);
a movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210) coupled to the sensor substrate (Figure 7 flexure suspension arrangement 700, [0063]), and configured to move in a direction parallel to the imaging surface ([0063] allows for movement in X-Y direction which is parallel to the imaging surface, see Figure 1 for XYZ coordinate directions);
a fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214) configured to accommodate (Figure 2D base structure 216 accommodates sensor substrate and moveable frame) the sensor substrate (Figure 7 flexure suspension arrangement 700, [0063]) and the movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210); and
a first driving unit (Figure 2A OIS coils 224, 228 and OIS magnets 226, 230 comprise driving unit) disposed on the movable frame ([0067] coils may be fixedly coupled to moveable frame) and the fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214; Figure 2B OIS magnets 226, 230 disposed on base structure 214), and configured to provide a driving force to the movable frame ([0036] electromagnetically interact to shift Y-stage 210),
wherein the sensor substrate (Figure 7 flexure suspension arrangement 700, [0063]) comprises:
a movable part (Figure 2A flex circuit 220) coupled to the movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210 coupled to flex circuit 220);
a fixed part (Figure 7 outer platform 706) coupled to the fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214, [0064] outer platform 706 is coupled to base structure 214 through flex circuit 262), and spaced apart from the movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210) in a direction, perpendicular to the imaging surface (Y-stage 210 is above flex circuit 220 which is above outer platform 706 (Figure 7) therefore Y-stage 210 spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the imaging surface); and
a connection part (Figure 7 inner platform 704, flexures 708, outer connecting part, see figure below) including a first support (Figure 7 outer connecting part) connected to the fixed part (Figure 7 outer platform 706) in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (Figure 7 outer connecting section is connected to outer platform in direction parallel to image surface of image sensor 206) and a second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704) connected to the movable part (Figure 2A flex circuit 220) in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (Figure 7, [0064] inner platform 704 is connected to flex circuit 220 in direction perpendicular to image surface of image sensor 206; flex circuit 220 is on top of inner platform 704 which is the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface,
a plurality of bridges (Figure 7 flexures 708) configured to support a movement of the movable part ([0063] flexure suspension arrangement allows for X-Y movement of the image sensor), and configured to connect the support members to each other (Figure 7, [0064] flexures 708 connect inner platform 704 and outer connecting part),
wherein the second support and the movable part are electrically connected to each other in an optical axis direction (Figure 7, [0064] inner platform 704 is electrically connected to flex circuit 220 in an optical axis direction since flex circuit 220 is on top of inner platform 704)
Smyth fails to explicitly teach the first support comprises a pair of support members that are spaced apart from each other. However, adding a second outer connecting part (see labeled figure above) to connect to the rear of the outer platform 706 would have been obvious in order to provide sufficient support to flex circuit 220. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first support comprise a pair of support members spaced apart from each other in order to provide sufficient support for the flex circuit.
Smyth also fails to teach the second support comprises a pair of supporting members that are spaced apart from each other. However, splitting inner platform 704 into two separate pieces would merely have been a matter of design choice and could be done without affecting the function of device. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second support taught by Smyth be composed of two separate pieces as doing so would merely involve separating the inner platform into two pieces and could be done without affecting the function of the device.
Smyth further teaches adding bends to the flex circuit in order to enable motion in one or more degrees of freedom ([0069]). Smyth fails to teach each of the bridges having a height in an optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support member toward an edge of the fixed part. However, Song is related to Smyth with respect to an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1) and teaches each of the bridges having a height in an optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support member toward an edge of the fixed part (Figures 6 and 12 height of connection portion 630 decreases toward an edge of the fixed part; [0157] substrate 320 and substrate 500 are disposed at different heights). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization actuator taught by Smyth by having the bridges decrease in height from the support member toward the fixed part as taught by Song in order to enable motion with more degrees of freedom (Smyth [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches the connection part (Figure 7 inner platform 704, flexures 708, outer connecting part) comprises:
a plurality of bridges (Figure 7 flexures 708), each having a length in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (Figure 7 flexures 708 have lengths in direction parallel to imaging surface of image sensor 206), and configured to connect the first support (Figure 7 outer connecting part) and the second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704) to each other (Figure 7, [0064] flexures 708 connect inner platform 704 and outer connecting part).
Regarding claim 3, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches the first support (outer connecting part) is spaced apart from the movable part (Figure 7 outering connecting part is spaced apart from flex circuit 220), and the second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704) is spaced apart from the fixed part (Figure 7 inner platform 704 is spaced apart from outer platform 706).
Regarding claim 5, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches the direction parallel to the imaging surface (XY plane in figure below is parallel imaging surface of image sensor 206) comprises a first axis direction (X direction in figure below) and a second axis direction (Y direction in figure below), perpendicular to each other (X and Y are perpendicular), and
the second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704) is configured to have a longer length than a length of the first support (Figure 7 outer connecting part) in at least one of the first axis direction and the second axis direction (inner platform 704 has a longer length than outer connecting part in X direction).
Regarding claim 6, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches the second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704) comprises a first pad (Figure 7 upper surface of inner platform 704 is a pad) disposed on a surface that faces the movable part in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (upper surface of inner platform 704 faces flex circuit 220 in direction perpendicular (Z direction) to imaging surface of imaging sensor 206), and the movable part (Figure 2A flex circuit 220) comprises a second pad (Figure 7 underside of flex circuit 220 is a pad) on any one surface thereof parallel to the imaging surface (underside surface of flex circuit 220 is parallel (X-Y plane) to imaging surface of image sensor 206).
Regarding claim 9, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches the direction parallel to the imaging surface (XY plane in figure below is parallel imaging surface of image sensor 206) comprises a first axis direction (X direction in figure below) and a second axis direction (Y direction in figure below), perpendicular to each other (X and Y are perpendicular), and
the movable part (Figure 2A flex circuit 220) is configured to have a shorter length than a length of the fixed part (Figure 7 outer platform 706) in at least one of the first axis direction and the second axis direction (Figure 7 flex circuit 220 is shorter than outer platform 706 in Y-direction).
Regarding claim 10, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches a first ball member (Figure 2A ball bearings 238) disposed between the movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210) and the fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214; ball bearings 238 are between Y-stage 210 and base structure 214), and configured to support a movement of the movable frame ([0041] provides OIS-Y movement); and
a plurality of magnetic bodies (Figure 2A OIS coils 224, 228 and OIS magnets 226 230; [0035] coils 224, 228 are electromagnets and therefore magnetic bodies) disposed on the movable frame ([0067] coils may be fixedly coupled to moveable frame) and the fixed frame (Figure 2B OIS magnets 226, 230 disposed on base structure 214) respectively, and configured to generate an attractive force in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (coils 224, 228 and magnets 226, 230 are arranged perpendicular to imaging surface of image sensor 206 and thus will generate attractive force in the same direction).
Regarding claim 11, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Smyth further teaches the first driving unit (Figure 2A OIS coils 224, 228 and OIS magnets 226, 230 comprise driving unit) comprising a first driving magnet (Figure 2A OIS magnet 226) and a second driving magnet (Figure 2A OIS magnet 230), a first driving coil (Figure 2A OIS coil 224) and a second driving coil (Figure 2A OIS coil 228) and configured to face the first driving magnet and the second driving magnet, respectively (Figure 2A OIS coil 224 faces OIS magnet 226 [0035]; OIS coil 228 faces OIS magnet 230 [0036]).
Smyth fails to teach the first and second driving magnets disposed on the movable frame, the first and second driving coils disposed on the fixed frame
a first driving coil and a second driving coil disposed on the fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214) wherein the plurality of magnetic bodies disposed on the movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210) are the first driving magnet and the second driving magnet. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In the case at hand, moving the OIS magnets 226, and 230 taught by Smyth to the moveable frame (Y stage 210) and the OIS coils 224, 228 taught by Smyth to the fixed frame (base structure 214) would only involve a rearrangement of parts that would not affect the function of the OIS actuator. One of ordinary skill the art would be motivated to switch the locations of the magnets and coils taught by Smyth in order to simplify the circuits of flex circuit 220. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have driving magnets and driving coils taught by Smyth and Song be disposed on the moveable frame and fixed frame respectively as doing so would merely require a rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 12, Smyth and Song teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 11. Smyth fails to teach the plurality of magnetic bodies disposed on the fixed frame are a plurality of pulling yokes, and the plurality of pulling yokes are disposed to face the first driving magnet and the second driving magnet.
However, Song teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1) with the plurality of magnetic bodies disposed on the fixed frame are a plurality of pulling yokes (Figure 9 yoke 150, [0126] yoke 150 is disposed on stator 100), and the plurality of pulling yokes are disposed to face the first driving magnet and the second driving magnet (Figures 4 and 9 plurality of yoke 150 faces plurality of magnet 340, [0126]). Shikama further teaches using pulling yokes to generate an attractive force with the magnets and allow the movable frame to return to the original position when no current is supplied ([0126]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization actuator taught by Smyth by add the pulling yokes taught by Song to the fixed frame of Smyth in order to generate an attractive force with the driving magnet to and allow the movable frame to return to the original position when no current is applied (Song [0126]).
Regarding claim 16, Smyth teaches a camera module (Figure 1 camera 100), comprising:
a lens module (Figure 2A lens barrel 222) comprising at least one lens (Figure 2A lens group 202, [0032] lens group 202 contained in lens barrel 222);
a focusing actuator (Figure 1 actuator 106 for AF lens shift 124, [0029]) configured to move the lens module in an optical axis direction (Figure 1, [0029] actuator 106 for AF lens shift 124 moves in lens module in optical axis direction); and
the optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1 actuator 106, [0028]) of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, Smyth teaches a camera module (Figure 1 camera 100), comprising:
a sensor substrate (Figure 7 flexure suspension arrangement 700, [0063]) on which an image sensor (Figures 2A and 7 image sensor 206, [0063]) is disposed;
a fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214); and
a movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210), disposed on the fixed frame (Figure 2D base structure 214);
wherein the sensor substrate (Figure 7 flexure suspension arrangement 700, [0063]) comprises:
a fixed printed circuit board (PCB) (Figure 7 outer platform 706 is a PCB is it has solder tabs 710 that are used to electrically couple flexure suspension arrangement 700 to other circuits), coupled to a lower surface of the fixed frame (Figure 2A base structure 214, [0064] outer platform 706 is coupled to base structure 214 through flex circuit 262);
a movable PCB (Figure 7, flex circuit 220 is a PCB, [0032]), on which the image sensor is mounted (Figures 7 image sensor 206 is mounted to flex circuit 220, [0063]), and configured to move together with the movable frame (Figure 2A Y-stage 210) in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction (Figure 1 first direction 114 and second direction 116 are perpendicular to optical axis 112, [0028] configured to move in directions orthogonal to optical axis 112); and
a connection part (Figure 7 inner platform 704, flexures 708, outer connecting part, see figure below), comprising a first support (Figure 7 outer connecting part) and a second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704), and configured to connect the fixed PCB and the movable PCB to each other (inner platform 704, flexures 708, and outer connecting part connect flex circuit 220 to outer platform 706, [0064]);
wherein the connection part (Figure 7 inner platform 704, flexures 708, outer connecting part) includes a bridge (Figure 7 flexures 708) configured to support a movement of the movable PCB ([0063] flexure suspension arrangement allows for X-Y movement of the image sensor), and configured to connect the first support to the second support Figure 7, [0064] flexures 708 connect inner platform 704 and outer connecting part),
wherein the moveable PCB (flex circuit 220) is disposed so as to overlap the second support (inner platform 704) in an optical axis direction (Figure 7 flex circuit 220 is above inner platform 704 and thus overlaps inner platform 704 in the optical axis direction), and
wherein the movable PCB and the second support are electrically connected to each other ([0064] inner platform 704 is electrically connected to flex circuit 220).
Smyth fails to teach the first support and the second support provided as a pair of support members that are spaced apart from each other, respectively. However, adding a second outer connecting part (see labeled figure above) to connect to the rear of the outer platform 706 would have been obvious in order to provide sufficient support to flex circuit 220. Furthermore, splitting inner platform 704 into two separate pieces would merely have been a matter of design choice and could be done without affecting the function of device. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first support and the second support provided as a pair of support members that are spaced apart from each other, respectively in order to provide sufficient support for the flex circuit and splitting the inner platform 704 of Smyth would merely involve separating the inner platform into two pieces and could be done without affecting the function of the device.
Smyth further teaches adding bends to the flex circuit in order to enable motion in one or more degrees of freedom ([0069]). Smyth fails to teach the bridge having a height in the optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support toward an edge of the fixed PCB. However, Song is related to Smyth with respect to an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1) and teaches the bridge having a height in the optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support toward an edge of the fixed PCB (Figures 6 and 12 height of connection portion 630 decreases toward an edge of substrate 500; [0157] substrate 320 and substrate 500 are disposed at different heights). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization actuator taught by Smyth by having the bridges decrease in height from the support member toward the fixed part as taught by Song in order to enable motion with more degrees of freedom (Smyth [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Smyth further teaches the movable PCB (Figure 7, flex circuit 220 is a PCB, [0032]) is configured to have a shorter length in at least one of a first axis direction and a second axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction when compared to the fixed PCB (Figure 7 flex circuit 220 is shorter than outer platform 706 in Y-direction which is perpendicular to optical axis (optical axis is parallel to Z-direction)).
Regarding claim 19, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Smyth further teaches the fixed PCB (outer platform 706) is disposed so as to overlap the first support in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (Figure 7 outer platform 706 overlaps with the outer connecting part in the direction of the Y-direction which is perpendicular to the optical axis (optical axis is parallel to the Z-direction), see figure above), and wherein the fixed PCB (outer platform 706) is disposed in a different height from the movable PCB in the optical axis direction (Figure 7 flex circuit 220 is disposed on inner platform 704 which is the same height as outer platform 706 and thus flex circuit 220 is disposed at a different height from outer platform 706).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smyth (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0362490) in view of Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sharma (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0080807).
Regarding claim 4, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Smyth further teaches the plurality of bridges (Figure 7 flexures 708) are made of a flexible material ([0065] flexures 708 are compliant).
Smyth and Song fail to teach the first support and the second support are made of a rigid material. However, Sharma teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 3) with a support made of a rigid material (Figure 8 static portion 310 does not move and therefore would be a rigid material, [0077]). One would be motivated to make the first (outer connecting part) and second (inner platform 704) taught by Smyth out of a rigid in order to avoid damaging the electrical connections between the supports and connected circuits such as flex circuit 220. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second support taught by Smyth and Song out of a rigid material as taught by Sharma in order to prevent damage to electrical connections between components.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smyth (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0362490) in view of Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497) as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Park (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171498).
Regarding claim 7, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 6. Smyth and Song fail to teach a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the movable part and the second support. However, Park teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 12A) with a conductive adhesive layer (Figure 14, [0406] terminal 262 may be coupled to connective elastic member 270 via a conductive adhesive member). One would have been motivated to add a conductive adhesive layer between the moveable part (Figure 2A flex circuit 220) and second support (Figure 7 inner platform 704) taught by Smyth in order to electrically connect flex circuit 220 to other components within or external to the camera module. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the moveable part and second support taught by Smyth and Song by adding the conductive adhesive layer taught by Park between the moveable part and second support in order to electrically connect flex circuit 220 to other components within or external to the camera module.
Regarding claim 8, Smyth and Song teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 6. Smyth and Song fail to teach the movable part (Figure 2A flex circuit 220) comprises an opening that penetrates therethrough in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface to expose the first pad (Figure 7 upper surface of inner platform 704 is a pad). However, Park teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 12A) with a moveable part (Figure 17 holder 270) comprising an opening (Figure 17 hole 270a, [0433]) that penetrates therethrough in the direction perpendicular to the imaging surface to expose the first pad (Figure 17 coupler 32 overlaps hole 270a in optical axis direction which is perpendicular to the imaging surface, [0433]). Park further teaches the opening may be used to dispose a wire to electrically connect different components ([0199] and [0434]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable platform taught by Smyth and Song by adding the opening that exposes the first pad as taught by Park in order to use wire to electrically connect different components (Park [0199] and [0434]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0094853 – hereinafter referred to as “Xu”) in view of Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0171497) and further evidenced by Smyth (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0362490).
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1A), comprising:
a movable part (Figure 1B substrate 175, [0028]) comprising an image sensor (Figure 1B image sensor 140, [0028] image sensor 140 is connected to substrate 175) having an imaging surface (image sensor 140 has an imaging surface), and configured to move in a direction parallel to the imaging surface ([0028] allows for movement in X-Y direction which is parallel to the imaging surface, see Figures 1A,B for XYZ coordinate directions);
a fixed part (Figure 1B base structure 160, [0028]) spaced apart from the movable part (Figure 1B substrate 175) in a direction perpendicular to the imaging surface (Figure 1B substrate 175 is above base structure 160 and therefore spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the imaging surface);
a plurality of supports (Figure 1A protruding portions 123, 137, [0025]) each connected to one of the fixed part (Figure 1A protruding portion 137 connects to base substrate 160 through outer frame 115, [0025]) and the movable part (Figure 1A protruding portion 123 connects to substrate 175 through inner frame 105, [0028]); and
a plurality of bridges (Figures 1A,B flexure arms 120, 125, [0025]) configured to support a movement of the movable part in the direction parallel to the imaging surface (Figure 2B right image, [0026] and [0034] flexure arms 125 have flexibility to support movement in the XY plane which is parallel to imaging sensor 140), and configured to connect the plurality of supports to each other (Figures 1A,B flexure arms 120, 125 connect protruding portions 123 and 137),
wherein the movable part (Figure 1B substrate 175) is coupled to a movable frame (Figure 1A,B inner frame 105, [0025]), and the fixed part (Figure 1B base structure 160) is coupled to a fixed frame (Figure 1A,B outer frame 115 is couple to base structure 160, [0160]),
wherein a magnetic attraction acts between the movable frame and the fixed frame in an optical axis direction (Figure 2A,B magnetic attraction between magnet 165 (which is coupled to outer frame 115) and coils 170 (coupled to inner frame 105) is in the optical axis direction, [0030]),
wherein a portion of the plurality of bridges is configured to be lifted in the optical axis direction by the magnetic attraction (Figure 2B flexure arms 120 are lifted in the optical axis direction (Z-direction) by magnetic attraction between magnet 165 and coils 170, [0030]).
Xu fails to teach each of the bridges having a height in an optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support toward an edge of the fixed part. However, Song is related to Xu with respect to an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1) and teaches each of the bridges having a height in an optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support toward an edge of the fixed part (Figures 6 and 12 height of connection portion 630 decreases toward an edge of substrate 500; [0157] substrate 320 and substrate 500 are disposed at different heights). Smyth is also related to Xu with respect to an optical image stabilization actuator (Figure 1) and teaches adding bends to the flex circuit enables motion in one or more degrees of freedom ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization actuator taught by Xu by having each of the bridges having a height in an optical axis direction that gradually decreases from a central portion connected to a respective support toward an edge of the fixed part as taught by Song in order to enable with a greater number of degrees of freedom (Smyth [0069]).
Regarding claim 14, Xu, Song, and Smyth teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 13. Xu further teaches the plurality of supports (Figure 1A protruding portions 123 and 137) comprise:
a first support (Figure 1A protruding portion 137) connected to the fixed part (Figure 1A protruding portion 137 connects to outer frame 115, [0025]); and
a second support (Figure 1B protruding portion 123) connected to the movable part (Figure 1A,B protruding portion 123 connects to substrate 175 through inner frame 105, [0028]),
wherein the movable part (Figure 1B substrate 175, [0028]) and the second support (Figure 1A protruding portion 123) are electrically connected to each other ([0028]-[0030] coils 170 on substrate 175 are powered and therefore must be electrically connected to inner frame 105 via protruding portion 123).
Regarding claim 15, Xu, Song, and Smyth teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 13. Xu further teaches the direction parallel to the imaging surface (Figures 1B,C XY plane is parallel imaging surface of image sensor 140) comprises a first axis direction (X direction) and a second axis direction (Y direction), perpendicular to each other (X and Y are perpendicular), and
wherein the movable part (Figure 1C substrate 175) has a shorter length than a length of the fixed part (Figure 1A,B,C base substrate) in at least one of the first axis direction and the second axis direction (Figures 1B substrate 175 is shorter than base substrate in X-direction).
Conclusion
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872