DETAILED ACTION
The office acknowledges Applicants filing of the arguments on 3/18/2026 in response to the office action dated 11/18/2025. Claims 1-14 have been cancelled. Rejections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Arguments, which are directed to withdrawn rejections, are thus rendered moot. Upon further consideration, new rejections are provided below and the action is made non-final. Claims 15-35 are pending and are examined based on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eastridge (The Ohio State University, 2017).
Eastridge teach Rumensin (monensin sodium) is approved for lactating dairy cows and ionophores such as monensin has been approved as feed additives (p 1, para 1). It has been approved in feed for therapeutic and production uses in feedlot cattle, paster cattle, beef cows etc. (p 1, para 1). The reference teaches that Rumensin can be fed to dry and lactating dairy cows, with the suggested initial feeding rate being 11 g/ton (DM basis) and the continual feeding rate between 11 and 22 g/ton (p 1, last para). The generally expected response is increase in feed efficiency and milk yield (See Table).
From Eastridge a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to provide a feed composition comprising 11 g/ton of Rumensin (monsenin sodium) (DM basis/dry matter basis) to lactating dairy cows. A person skilled in the art would have been motivated to provide a feed composition comprising monensin to lactating dairy cows, 11-22 g/ton with a reasonable amount of success and to increase the feed efficiency, milk yield in the dry and lactating dairy cows. Claims 15-18, 22-24, 26-27, 31-32, 34 are addressed. As to claims 19, 28, the reference teaches feeding rate between 11-22 g/ton of monensin to cows. Thus a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to administer about 14.5 g/ton which falls within the range taught by the prior art. As to claims 20-21, 29-30, 35, it is noted that administration of the same amount of monensin,11 g/ton in feed composition to the same subject population, e.g. ruminant, cows would result in the same effects including the increase of feed efficiency of 3.5% or 3.0% or improvement in the fatty acid profile as instantly claimed. As to claims 25, 33 the reference teaches providing monensin to all lactating cows that include mid-lactating cows. Hence a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to administer a feed composition comprising 11 g/ton of monensin in all cows including mid-lactating cows with a reasonable amount of success and provide feed efficiency.
Claim(s) 15-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monovet90 (Monovet90, Revision, 10-2021) and University of Kentucky (https://www. rs.uky.edu/regulatory/feed/feed_labels/2020%20OTC%20Feed%20Labels/DairyCattle-Monensin%20Type%20C%20Component.pdf, June 2017).
Monovet90 teach monensin type mediated article for improved feed efficiency, increased milk production, increased weight gain etc. (See p 1, lines 1-19, col. 1). It is taught to mix Monovet90 (monensin) thoroughly to make one ton of complete feed that provides 5-40 g/ton of monensin on a 90% dry matter. For dairy cows, 11-22 g/ton of monensin on a 100% dry matter (See p 1, col. 1, Directions for use, Steps I-II).
Monovet90 further teach in Table 2 (above) the desired monensin concentration g/ton for dairy cow which includes 11 g/ton and 15 g/ton.
University of Kentucky teach the use of monensin to lactating dairy cows in a feeding system, e.g. 11 g/ton, 15 g/ton and 22 g/ton of monensin in dry matter feed composition.
From the teachings Monovet and University of Kentucky a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to add monensin at a concentration of 11 g-15 g/ton to the dietary feed of ruminant animals, e.g. cattle to increase feed efficiency (ECM/DMI), milk production etc. A person skilled in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success and provide feed efficiency from the prior art teachings. Further administration of the feed diet comprising monensin at a concentration of 11 g-15 g/ton to ruminant animals would result in substantially the same effects of increase in feed efficiency, ECM/MDI. It is noted that about 14.5 g/ton can be 15 g/ton as about can be +/-10% of the value. Thus claims 15-19, 22-23, 26-28, 31 would have been obvious over the prior art. As to claims 24-25, 32-34 from the University of Kentucky’s teachings a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide a feed composition comprising monensin for e.g. 11 g/ton or 15 g/ton to lactating cows for increased milk efficiency. Administration of the feed diet comprising monensin at a concentration of 11 g-15 g/ton to ruminant animals would result in substantially the same effects of increase in feed efficiency, ECM/MDI. As to claims 25, 33 a skilled artisan from the prior art teachings would have found it obvious to administer the feed-diet comprising monensin to all dairy cows, including lactation animals, mid-lactation cows because the references teach in general the feed diet for all lactating cows. As to claims 20-21, 29-30, administration of the same agent in the same amount, e.g. feed comprising 11 g/ton of monensin to ruminant animals, e.g. dairy cow would result in 3% or 3.5% feed efficiency increase compared to the control (not receiving dietary monensin). As to claim 35, administration of the same agent in the same amount, e.g. feed comprising 11 g/ton of monensin to ruminant animals, e.g. dairy cow would result in the claimed effects of improvement in fatty acid profile.
Conclusion
/Umamaheswari Ramachandran/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627