Response to Amendment
Applicant’s communication in response to the Office action dated: 11/24/2025 is noted. Amendment to claim 1 is entered. Claims 1-4 are pending. Objection to claim 1 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Kim et al (US 8,895,765 B2) reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliott (US 2008/0275260 A1).
With respect to claims 1-2, Elliott discloses a two staged reactor (or two staged combination of reactors). In a first reaction, a feed (e.g., a high free fatty acid content triglyceride), an alcohol (e.g., BtOH), and a co-solvent (MEK) are contacted in a first reactor or first combination of reactors with a first solid acid catalyst to form a first product mixture or reactor effluent. The generated product mixture which may then be treated to remove water (and optionally remove glycerin and/or co-solvent from the first reactor(s)) to produce a dried product mixture. The dried product mixture from the one or more first reactors may be fed along with an alcohol (e.g., BtOH) and optionally additional co-solvent (if needed) and contacted with a solid acid catalyst in a second reactor or second combination of reactors. (Paragraph 0046, 0047, 0048; Fig. 1B, and Fig. 2). Elliott further discloses methods for the removal of water from the product mixture are known to one of ordinary skill in the art and may include for example and without limitation contacting the product mixture with water abating materials such as drying agents. Additional water removal methods known to those of ordinary skill in the art include use of a flash drum, distillation, molecular sieves, or combinations thereof (Paragraph 0045). It is to be noted here that a fatty acid is a carboxylic acid.
With respect to claim 3, Elliott discloses a carboxylic acid supply passage, and a first alcohol supply passage connected with the primary reactor and a second alcohol supply passage connected with the main reactor (Figure 2, Paragraph 0046).
With respect to claim 4, Elliott discloses recovering water and alcohol separated from the distillation column and alcohol being recycled back to the reactor (Paragraph 0051). It is to be noted that recovery and/or recycle of water and alcohol from distillation column is done through a condenser at the top and refluxing a part of the condensed alcohol, as evidenced by Zuber et al.
Zuber et al (US 7,329,774 B2) disclose a method and plant for the manufacture of carboxylic acid ester by means of a reactive distillation (title and abstract). Zuber et al also disclose details of reflux from the top of the distillation column (Fig.1, 3; column 5, lines 1-10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771