DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 7 says, “a separator….and line 11-12 says, a distillation column….
Obviously, these two units are the same, therefore, a consistent term should be used.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 8,895,765 B2).
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Kim et al disclose an apparatus for preparing an alkyl carboxylic acid ester (abstract). Kim et also disclose that the apparatus comprises a preliminary reactor {11} (Fig. 2; col. 5, lines 61-67) where partial esterification takes place by a reaction with a carboxylic acid and an alcohol to produce alkyl ester (product 4a).
Kim et al also disclose a distillation column {13} to receive the reaction product from the preliminary reactor and at least partially separating water and alcohol (Fig. 2). It is to be noted that in Fig. 2, stream {3} is alcohol-rich and stream {3} is water-rich.
Kim et al further disclose a main reactor {12} for receiving a reaction product from which water and alcohol are separated from a distillation column and esterifying an unreacted carboxylic acid (Fig. 2; column 5, line 61-column 6, line 16).
Kim et al also disclose a separation and purification unit (Fig. 1, 2) for collecting an alkyl carboxylic acid ester produced from the main reactor (12) (Column 4, lines 28-52).
With respect to claim 3, Kim et al disclose a first carboxylic acid supply passage {1} and a first alcohol passage {2} connected with first reactor {11} and a second alcohol supply passage {2} connected with the second reactor {12} (Fig. 1 and 2; column 5, line 61-column 6, line 16).
With respect to claim 4, Kim et al disclose a distillation column {14} to separate water and alcohol. It is known to those skilled in the art that a distillation column has a reflux condenser at the top to receive and condense the lighter components exiting the distillation column. It is evidenced by Zuber et al.
Zuber et al (US 7,329,774 B2) disclose a method and plant for the manufacture of carboxylic acid ester by means of a reactive distillation (title and abstract). Zuber et al also disclose details of reflux from the top of the distillation column (Fig.1, 3; column 5, lines 1-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Backed et al, US 20160194267.
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771