Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted June 17, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 3-5, 9-10, and 12 are cancelled and claim 1 is amended, resulting in claims 1-2, 6-8, 11, and 13-17 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Li, Y. et al. Engineering stable electrode-separator interfaces with ultrathin conductive polymer layer for high-energy-density Li-S batteries. Energy Storage Materials. 23, 261-268 (2019)) in view of He (US 5591482 A), Abd (US 2012/0315384 A1), and Ko (Ko, Y. S. and Yim, J.H. Synergistic enhancement of electrical and mechanical properties of polypyrrole thin films by hybridization of SiO2 with vapor phase polymerization. Polymer. 93, 167-173 (2016))
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 11, Li teaches a method for manufacturing a conductive film on a substrate comprising:
applying an oxidizing agent (FeCl3, Li pg. 267 left column Section 4.1) to a porous substrate (PE layer of the Celgard separator, Li pg. 263 left column first paragraph) having pores such that the pores are maintained (Li Fig. 1a, Fe3+/Celgard separator) and
Performing gas phase polymerization of a conductive monomer (pyrrole) on the porous substrate such that a coating comprising a conductive polymer resin is formed on the porous substrate (Li pg. 267 Section 4.1),
Wherein the conductive polymer resin is poly(pyrrole) (polymerization of pyrrole, Li Section 4.1), the conductive monomer is pyrrole (Li Section 4.1), and the material of the porous substrate is a polyethylene resin (PE layer of the Celgard separator, Li pg. 263 left column first paragraph)
Li teaches the polymerization time being 4 hours. Li is silent to the temperature of the polymerization and does not teach a polymerization time that is 30 minutes or more and 60 minutes or less.
He teaches a method comprising applying FeCl3 as an oxidizing agent to a porous substrate followed by coating the porous substrate with a coating that includes polymerized pyrrole monomer that was formed using gas phase polymerization, as taught by Li. He teaches that it is suitable to polymerize pyrrole for a time of 30 minutes at a temperature of 20°C when using a gas phase polymerization method (He Example 1, Table 1 Sample 1).
Since Li and He both teach applying FeCl3 as an oxidizing agent to a porous substrate followed by forming a coating comprising polypyrrole on the porous substrate using gas phase polymerization and He teaches that it is known and suitable to use a time of 30 minutes and a temperature of 20°C, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a time of 30 minutes and a temperature of 20°C in the method of Li in order to obtain the predictable result of polymerized pyrrole monomer on a porous substrate.
Additionally, it is within the ambit of the ordinary artisan to optimize polymerization parameters, including time and temperature, to obtain a polymer with suitable properties and performance for a desired application.
Modified Li does not teach the gas phase polymerization mixture including an inorganic precursor.
Abd teaches a ceramic coating on a separator used in a lithium secondary battery (Abd abstract). Abd teaches that separators can melt when exposed to high temperature within a battery, thus “blocking proper migration of ions across the separator” or “allowing internal short circuiting” (Abd [26]). Abd teaches that the ceramic coating of their invention can prevent these adverse events (Abd [51]). Abd further teaches that silicon oxide is a suitable compound for the ceramic coating (Abd [34]).
Since Abd teaches that a ceramic coating, including one made of silicon oxide, can prevent adverse events associated with separator melting during battery operation, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li such that silicon oxide is present in the coating layer formed on the porous substrate in order to prevent blockage of ion transport and internal short circuiting of the separator due to high temperatures.
Ko teaches a method comprising forming a coating on a substrate using gas phase polymerization wherein the polymerization is performing using a mixture of pyrrole and tetraethyl orthosilicate (TEOS), which is an inorganic precursor (Ko abstract). Ko teaches that the resulting coating layer comprises polypyrrole and SiO2, which is a silicon oxide (Ko abstract).
Since Ko teaches that it is suitable to perform gas phase polymerization of a mixture including pyrrole and TEOS to form a coating comprising polypyrrole and silicon oxide and modified Li (Li in view of He and Abd) teaches a coating including silicon oxide and polymerized pyrrole, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li to include TEOS with the pyrrole monomer for the gas phase polymerization in order to obtain the predictable result of a coating layer on the porous substrate that includes polypyrrole and silicon oxide (SiO2).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Li further teaches the oxidizing agent including FeCl3 (Li Section 4.1).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Li further teaches the coating layer having a thickness within the range of 10 nm or more and 200 nm or less (Li pg. 262 right column).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Li is silent to the atmosphere the polymerization is conducted in.
Ko further teaches the gas phase polymerization being performed in an inert gas atmosphere (nitrogen atmosphere, Ko Section 2.2). Since Ko teaches that it is known and suitable to conduct the gas phase polymerization of pyrrole and TEOS in an inert atmosphere, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conduct the gas phase polymerization of modified Li in an inert atmosphere in order to obtain the predictable result of polymerized pyrrole monomers.
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Li does not teach washing the porous substrate after performing the gas phase polymerization.
He teaches washing the porous substrate after gas phase polymerization of pyrrole in order to extract unpolymerized compounds and the oxidizer (He claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a washing step after gas phase polymerization to the method of modified Li in order to remove unpolymerized compound and the oxidizer.
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claims 1 and 13, as described above. Li further teaches drying the porous substrate after washing (vacuum dried, Li Section 4.1).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claims 1, 13, and 15, as described above. Li further teaches the separator being dried for a time within the claimed range of 12 hours or more and 36 hours or less (dried overnight, Li pg. 267 left column Section 4.1). A drying time “overnight” falls within the claimed range of 12 to 36 hours, as it would be less than 24 hours and more than 12 hours in order to cover the overnight time period. Additionally, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a drying time, including times within the claimed range of 12 to 36 hours, that ensures a sufficient amount of drying. This optimization of the drying time is within the ambit of the ordinary artisan.
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Modified Li further teaches a lithium metal secondary battery comprising a negative electrode made of lithium metal, a positive electrode, and a separator for a lithium metal secondary battery, wherein the separator is interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode and is manufactured by a method according to claim 1 (Li Fig. 6).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and in further view of Suzuki (US 4731311 A).
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of He, Abd, and Ko teaches all features of claims 1 and 13, as described above. Modified Li teaches the washing being performed with ethanol (He claim 13). Modified Li is silent to the washing time.
Suzuki teaches a method comprising applying an oxidizing agent (FeCl3) to a porous substrate (porous polyethylene film) and performing a gas phase polymerization of a mixture including a conductive monomer (pyrrole) on the porous substrate such that a coating layer including conductive polymer resin is formed on the porous substrate (Suzuki col. 12 lines 14-29). Suzuki further teaches a 30 minute washing step to remove unreacted oxidizing agent and monomer (Suzuki col. 12 lines 34-35) and that it is important to completely remove the oxidizing agent in order to improve electrical conductivity (Suzuki col. 7 lines 5-19).
Since modified Li and Suzuki both teach methods comprising forming a conductive polymer resin coating layer containing polypyrrole on a substrate using gas phase polymerization after application of an oxidizing agent to the substrate and Suzuki teaches that a 30 min washing step after polymerization is suitable, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to performing the washing step of modified Li for 30 minutes in order to achieve the predictable result of removing unreacted oxidizing agent and monomer.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
The following rejections are overcome and withdrawn as a result of applicant’s amendments to claim 1 and cancelation of claims 3-4, 9, and 12:
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yim in view of Li
Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Yim in view of Li and in further view of Suzuki and Kobyakawa
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US 20210143511 A1): appears to disclose a separator for a secondary battery comprising a coating layer that includes an inorganic material that forms heat-resistant particles (abstract, claims 957-959).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789