Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the modification and/or substitution of a power tool with a field device provides an expected and predictable result of adapting power tool parameters much like the field device parameters; the power tool and field device were known the prior art, infra applied prior art; and it’s noted the claim language does not define power tool, it’s structural configuration interfaces, and functionalities to preclude its use within industrial control systems of Chen, see MPEP 2143, B. simple substation of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Accordingly, remotely commissioning, programming, or configuring an industrial device (e.g. field devices) based on applying the combined teachings, namely discovering devices, displaying the list of devices and associated parameters, user modification of the parameters, and remotely programming the parameters within the device, upon application to broadly recited power tool devices, provides an expected and predictable result that power tool parameters are modified and implemented.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the application of Samudrala have been considered but are moot in light of a new ground of rejection.
The Examiner notes key differences between the applied combination of prior art in view of Applicant’s published specification such as:
0021-22 e.g. “It may be preferable to color-code the different listed power tools, battery pack and other products. For example, tools that are owned (or paired) with the user can be shown in green. Tools that can’t be contacted or accessed by the user can be shown in red. Tools that are owned by colleagues or a group are shown in yellow. Tools that have not been associated with a particular user can be shown in white.
[0022]
Similarly, persons skilled in the art will recognize that computing device 250 may show a list of previously-paired power tools, battery packs and other products, and show the ones that are nearby in one color, while showing the others in another color. In this manner, the user will know which power tools, battery packs and other products are within a certain radius, thus conducting a quick inventory check, see also the multiple profiles including a first profile:
0034 e.g. “ such manner, computing device 250 can determine that, for example, a small grinding wheel has been installed on grinder/power tool 200 and that the maximum speed should be 10000 rpm. Computing device 250 would then program grinder/power tool 200 to not exceed such maximum speed. This would allow a user to use a grinder as a polisher (and vice versa) by selecting the appropriate speed for the desired accessory.”
A second profile comprising:
0044 e.g. “Similarly, an owner of power tool 200 can select settings for different users according to their level of skill. For example, the owner may have a standard setting for experienced users and a lowered power setting for less skilled users. In this manner, the owner can change the torque output or the start-up speed curve (and other attributes) of a rotary hammer/power tool 200 to a setting that is manageable by an inexperienced user, such as a soft-start setting.”
An nth profile comprising modes of operation comprising:
0033 e.g. “The user can also enable and disable different modes of operation, such as allowing/not allowing power tool 200 to rotate in a reverse direction. As mentioned above, the user can enter such commands via a keyboard or touchscreen on computing device 250 and/or by providing verbal commands recognized by computing device 250.
The combination of first, second, and nth profile types, each configured with different modes and working parameters, upon selection and implemented, in light of the identifying and indicating paired attributes of a power tool upon discovering nearby power tools, does not appear to be taught by the applied prior art of record.
An amendment reflecting first, second, and nth modes of operation as well as indicating individual or group attributes of the power tool, distinguishes over the limited working parameters and modes of power tool operation for programming as well as defines over the field devices of Chen, and in addition, the attributes of a displayed power tool are selectively adapted based on access association further overcomes the applied prior art in the following aspect:
“Tools that can’t be contacted or accessed by the user can be shown in red. Tools that are owned by colleagues or a group are shown in yellow. Tools that have not been associated with a particular user can be shown in white….”
The Examiner is amicable to drafting an Examiner’s amendment for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 8-11, and 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)
Claim 1.
Chen et al. teaches a method of programming a power tool but does not expressly teach the power tool w/wireless communication limitations described below. Mashiko teaches the power tool limitations described below, comprising:
establishing, via a wireless communication unit of a power tool, a wireless communication link between the power tool and an external computing device having a processor (ABSTRACT, Figure 15-330 e.g. see wireless means for communicating; see also Chen for connecting a computing device to multiple field devices via a field engineer, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see establishing a connection with a selected field device via an operator, including identifying and selecting displayed devices), see also Chen for wireless communicating with field devices based on obtaining a communication channel, Col 24 lines 56-67, in addition to establishing a communication session with a field device, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10)
, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool, including multiple power tools)
receiving, on the external computing device and from the wireless communication unit of the power tool, a first profile stored on a memory of the power tool, the first profile being associated with a working parameter for controlling an operation of the power tool (Chen for displaying list of identified field devices, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, see also Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64, hen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) , see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool)
displaying, on a display of the external computing device, a graphical representation of the working parameter (see Chen for displaying list of identified field devices and device working parameters, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, see also Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools and displaying working parameters of the power tool, 0049-53, 0055-64)
receiving a user input at the external computing device to change the working parameter from the first profile to a second profile; transmitting the second profile from the external computing device to the power tool (see Chen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) , see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool)
programming the power tool to adjust the working parameter in accordance with the second profile (see Chen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) e.g., “Once a communication connection has been established, using any of the hardware devices associated with the wireless connection and software stored in both the field device and any associated transceiver device, as well as the software or other programming within the handheld communicator 330, the field engineer reads from and writes to the device using, for example, the preconfigured user interfaces. Of course, the user may use the handheld communicator 330 to communicate with the field device for any desired purpose, such as to read information from the device, to configure or reconfigure the device, to reset or to calibrate or to control the device, to send new parameters or other information to the device, to perform any standard maintenance or diagnostic activities or routines on the device or on portion of the plant in which the device is located, etc.,” see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool, including the second profile/modified working parameters)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, namely obtaining device information “once a communication connection has been established,” would achieve an expected and predictable result of manually triggering a device discovery process for identifying nearby devices for establishing a connection.
Chen, as modified , does not expressly teach the plurality of power tools, each power tool having a wireless communication. Mashiko teaches the plurality of power tools described above, analogous to a process control device or field device while Chen teaches wireless enabled field devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, namely remotely programming wirelessly enabled field devices, to the teachings Mashiko, namely identifying a power tool make and model, obtaining performance parameters of the power tool, modifying the power tool performance parameters, and transmitting modified power tool performance parameters, would achieve an improved invention by modifying each field device of Chen to comprise a power tool of Mashiko. The modification of a field device of Chen to comprise a power tool of Mashiko provides the equivalent of a power tool having a wireless communication unit of Chen. Mashiko is in the same field of endeavor as Chen, namely process control, see background art (e.g. assembly work in factories), and is reasonably pertinent to a problem of customizing device parameters to perform in accordance with tool specifications in the work environment.
wherein the operation of the power tool is controlled based on the second profile
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the working parameter includes an electrical current draw, a maximum motor speed, or a maximum motor power (Mashiko, Description, 0049, “Next, the twenty control modes stored in the ROM of the microcomputer 78 will be described. In this embodiment, the electronic pulse driver 1 includes a drill mode, clutch modes 1-10, torque control modes 1-5, and pulse modes 1-4, for a total of twenty control modes.
In the drill mode, the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated as a unit. Therefore, this mode is primarily used for tightening wood screws and the like. In this mode, the microcomputer 78 increases the supply of electric current to the motor 3 as the screw becomes tighter.
In the clutch mode, the current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and the microcomputer 78 halts driving of the motor 3 when the current reaches a target value (target torque). The clutch mode is primarily used when emphasizing a proper tightening torque, such as when tightening cosmetic fasteners or the like that remain visible on the exterior of the workpiece after the fastening operation. In this, ten clutch modes are provided for various tightening forces (target torque values).
In the torque control mode, the electric current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and when the current reaches a prescribed value (prescribed torque), the microcomputer 78 will begin an impact operation by alternating between forward and reverse rotation of the motor 3. The microcomputer 78 stops driving the motor 3 after a prescribed number of impacts. The torque control mode is used when a higher torque than that delivered in the clutch mode is required for tightening the fasteners or the like. The electronic pulse driver 1 according to this embodiment is provided with five torque control modes.”)
Claim 8.
The method of claim 1, further comprising overwriting the first profile with the second profile in the memory of the power tool (supra claim 1, Chen, for over-writing, see also Mashiko, The overwriting system 100 according to the second embodiment can obtain the following effects. Control programs or the like stored in the microcomputer 78 built into the housing 2 or a memory element provided with or built into the microcomputer 78 can be overwritten at a later date with programs and the like adapted to the customer's needs. In other words, by preparing various control programs or the like in demand by customers, this system provides a versatile power tool that can satisfy the needs of individual customers, see also Chen e.g. “Once a communication connection has been established, using any of the hardware devices associated with the wireless connection and software stored in both the field device and any associated transceiver device, as well as the software or other programming within the handheld communicator 330, the field engineer reads from and writes to the device using, for example, the preconfigured user interfaces. Of course, the user may use the handheld communicator 330 to communicate with the field device for any desired purpose, such as to read information from the device, to configure or reconfigure the device, to reset or to calibrate or to control the device, to send new parameters or other information to the device, to perform any standard maintenance or diagnostic activities or routines on the device or on portion of the plant in which the device is located, etc.)
Claim 9.
The method of claim 1, wherein the graphical representation of the working parameter includes an identifying name or a picture icon associated with the power tool (Mashiko, 0060 e.g. “The model name and other data on the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the model name display area 91 based on the received model data. A list of the twenty control modes possessed by the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the control mode list display area 92 based on the same model data. The current control modes of the electronic pulse driver 1 (drive modes) are displayed in the send mode display area 93 based on the received parameters. By displaying the GUI window 90, the PC 82 enables the user to modify the control modes in the send mode display area 93. [0061] At this time, the user can select one of the four control modes displayed)
Claim 10.
Mashiko et al., as modified, supra claim 1 teaches computing device including a display and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
establish a wireless communication unit of a power tool, a wireless communication link between the power tool and an external computing device having a processor (supra claim 1
receive, via a wireless communication link, a first profile stored on a memory of the power tool, the first profile being associated with a working parameter for controlling an operation of the power tool; supra claim 1
cause the display to present a graphical representation of the working parameter (supra claim 1
receive a user input to change the working parameter from the first profile to a second profile;
transmit the second profile to the power tool via the wireless communication link with instructions to the power tool to adjust the working parameter in accordance with the second profile, wherein the power tool is controlled based on the second profile (supra claim 1)
Claim 11.
The computer device of claim 10, wherein the working parameter includes an electrical current draw, a maximum motor speed, or a maximum motor power (Mashiko, Description, 0049, “Next, the twenty control modes stored in the ROM of the microcomputer 78 will be described. In this embodiment, the electronic pulse driver 1 includes a drill mode, clutch modes 1-10, torque control modes 1-5, and pulse modes 1-4, for a total of twenty control modes.
In the drill mode, the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated as a unit. Therefore, this mode is primarily used for tightening wood screws and the like. In this mode, the microcomputer 78 increases the supply of electric current to the motor 3 as the screw becomes tighter.
In the clutch mode, the current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and the microcomputer 78 halts driving of the motor 3 when the current reaches a target value (target torque). The clutch mode is primarily used when emphasizing a proper tightening torque, such as when tightening cosmetic fasteners or the like that remain visible on the exterior of the workpiece after the fastening operation. In this, ten clutch modes are provided for various tightening forces (target torque values).
In the torque control mode, the electric current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and when the current reaches a prescribed value (prescribed torque), the microcomputer 78 will begin an impact operation by alternating between forward and reverse rotation of the motor 3. The microcomputer 78 stops driving the motor 3 after a prescribed number of impacts. The torque control mode is used when a higher torque than that delivered in the clutch mode is required for tightening the fasteners or the like. The electronic pulse driver 1 according to this embodiment is provided with five torque control modes.”)
Claim 14.
The computing device of claim 10, wherein the graphical representation of the working parameter includes an identifying name or a picture icon associated with the power tool ((Mashiko, 0060 e.g. “The model name and other data on the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the model name display area 91 based on the received model data. A list of the twenty control modes possessed by the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the control mode list display area 92 based on the same model data. The current control modes of the electronic pulse driver 1 (drive modes) are displayed in the send mode display area 93 based on the received parameters. By displaying the GUI window 90, the PC 82 enables the user to modify the control modes in the send mode display area 93. [0061] At this time, the user can select one of the four control modes displayed)
Claim 15.
Mashiko, as modified, supra claim 10, teaches a system comprising: a power tool having a wireless communication circuit and a memory; and an external computing device including a display and a processor configured to: establish a wireless communication link with the wireless communication circuit of the power tool; receive, via the wireless communication link, a first profile stored on the memory of the power tool, the first profile being associated with a working parameter for controlling an operation of the power tool; cause the display to present a graphical representation of the working parameter; receive a user input to change the working parameter from the first profile to a second profile; and transmit the second profile to the power tool via the wireless communication link; wherein the power tool is configured to adjust the working parameter in accordance with the second profile and wherein the operation of the power tool is controlled based on the second profile, supra claim 1
Claim 16. The system of claim 15, wherein the working parameter includes an electrical current draw, a maximum motor speed, a trigger profile, or a maximum motor power ((Mashiko, 0060 e.g. “The model name and other data on the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the model name display area 91 based on the received model data. A list of the twenty control modes possessed by the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the control mode list display area 92 based on the same model data. The current control modes of the electronic pulse driver 1 (drive modes) are displayed in the send mode display area 93 based on the received parameters. By displaying the GUI window 90, the PC 82 enables the user to modify the control modes in the send mode display area 93. [0061] At this time, the user can select one of the four control modes displayed)
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136) in view over Knight (PG/PUB 20130187587)
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1 but does not teach the trigger limitations described below. Knight teaches the trigger limitations described below
wherein the working parameter includes a trigger- speed profile associated with the power tool (Knight, 0034. 0043, Figure 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Knight, namely adjusting the trigger speed profile of a power tool, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Knight is in the same field of endeavor and enhances user input as described, 0034.
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)
in view over Zeiler (PG/PUB 20130109375)
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach a second power tool comprising a second wireless communication link. Zeiler teaches a second power tool having a second wireless communication link described below
wherein the method further comprises: establishing, via a second wireless communication unit of a second power tool, a second wireless communication link between the second power tool and the external computing device; and programming the second power tool to adjust a second working parameter associated with the second power tool via the external computing device (Zeiler, Figure 1, Figure 2, ABSTRACT, supra claim 1 e.g. see second wireless communication link as another wireless path or wireless network between a tool and remote system, see also second power tools configured for wireless communication with a remote system)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of tracking identified power tools as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the enabling limitations described below. Zeiler teaches the enabling limitations described below
further comprising programming the power tool to be enabled only when the power tool is within a communication range of the external computing device (Zeiler, 0016-18 e.g. see geo-fences for selectively enabling or disabling a power tool)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools and geo-fences for enabling or disabling a power tool, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of tracking identified power tools as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the locate signal described below. Zeiler teaches the locate signal described below
further comprising: sending a locate signal to the power tool from the external computing device; emitting a sound on the power tool in response to receiving the locate signal to assist in identifying a location of the power tool (Zeiler, 0016-18, 0080 e.g. see audible signal for assisting user in locating a power tool)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools including location signals, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a tracking benefit.
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)
n view over Lewis (PG/PUB 20100156592)
Claim 6.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the ping limitation described below. Lewis teaches the ping limitations descried below
further comprising sending a ping signal from the external computing device; enabling the power tool if it receives the ping signal; and disabling the power tool if it does not receive the ping signal for a predetermined period of time (Kewis, 0014-22, Figure 3, ABSTRACT)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Lewis, namely selectively enabling an appliance based on ping data, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result of deterring power tool theft via applying the teachings of Lewis. Lewis is reasonably pertinent to deterring theft of portable items and would commend itself to the field of power tools with a benefit of theft prevention.
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)in view over Zeiler (PG/PUB 20130109375)
Claim 12
The computing device of claim 10 but does not expressly teach a second power tool comprising a second wireless communication link. Zeiler teaches a second power tool having a second wireless communication link described below
wherein the method further comprises: establishing, via a wireless communication unit of a second power tool, a second wireless communication link between the second power tool and the external computing device; and programming the second power tool to adjust a second working parameter associated with the second power tool via the external computing device (Zeiler, Figure 1, Figure 2, ABSTRACT, supra claim 1 e.g. see second wireless communication link as another wireless path or wireless network between a tool and remote system, see also second power tools configured for wireless communication with a remote system)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of tracking identified power tools as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 17.
The system of claim 15, further comprising a second power tool comprising a second wireless communication circuit, wherein the processor of the computing device is configured to establish a second communication link between the second wireless communication circuit and the second computing device, and program the second power tool to adjust a second working parameter associated with the second power tool, supra claim 12
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)) in view over Lewis (PG/PUB 20100156592)
Claim 13.
The computing of claim 10 but does not expressly teach the ping limitation described below. Lewis teaches the ping limitations descried below
further comprising sending a ping signal from the external computing device; enabling the power tool if it receives the ping signal; and disabling the power tool if it does not receive the ping signal for a predetermined period of time (Lewis, 0014-22, Figure 3, ABSTRACT)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Lewis, namely selectively enabling an appliance based on ping data, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result of deterring power tool theft via applying the teachings of Lewis. Lewis is reasonably pertinent to deterring theft of portable items and would commend itself to the field of power tools with a benefit of theft prevention.
Claim 20.
The system of claim 15, wherein the external computing device is further configured to send out a ping signal, and the power tool is configured to be enabled if it receives the ping signal and disabled if it does not receive the ping signal for a predetermined period of time, supra claim 13
Claims 18-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)) view over Furui (PG/PUB 20140151079)
Claim 18.
The system of claim 15 but does not teach the battery pack limitations described below. Furui et al. teaches the battery pack limitations described below
further comprising a battery pack having a second wireless communication circuit (Figure 1A-48, 0223,), wherein the processor of the computing device is configured to establish a second communication link between the second wireless communication circuit and the external computing device (supra claim 1, see establishing communication with a wireless circuit of a power tool, see also Figure 1A-78 -> 18 -> 48), and program the battery pack to adjust a second working parameter associated with the battery pack (0126-0157, Figure 1A-48 -> “external device” e.g. see configuring battery pack parameters, supra claim 1 for remotely configuring power tool parameters)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Furui, namely configuring battery pack over a second wireless communication circuit and external device, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely establishing wireless communication with a power tool for commissioning power tool parameters, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely programming a battery pack. Furui is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of configuring a power tool.
Claim 19.
The system of claim 18, wherein the second working parameter comprises at least one of a state of full charge, announcement settings related to a full charge or discharge, announcement settings related to temperature of the battery pack, enabling or disabling of the battery pack, or conditions settings under which the battery pack is enabled or disabled (Furui, 0127-128 e.g. “In an exemplary embodiment of the present teachings, the adapter may be adapted or configured to enable the user to change a maximum current limit stored in the memory of the power tool and/or in the memory of the battery packs. Generally speaking, cordless power tools are designed to operate safely and reliably up to a certain (rated) current threshold. If the actual current exceeds the current threshold, the electric motor, gear transmission and/or batteries could be permanently damaged, thereby shortening the service life of the power tool and/or the battery pack,” see also 0140-141, see condition settings as the maximum current limit stored in memory)
Claims 18-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)) view over Furui (PG/PUB 20140151079)
Claims 21 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)) view over Suda (PG/PUB 20120169256)
Claim 21.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the maximum motor speed limitations described below. Chen et al., as modified by Mashiko, teaches obtaining a power tool profile, the profile comprising power tool modes, and an operator modifying parameters of the mode, supra Chen for adapting parameters for a tool. Suda et al. teaches a selecting a power tool profile including an operating mode for adjusting the maximum motor speed described below
wherein the working parameter includes a maximum motor speed of the power tool, and wherein programming the power tool to adjust the working parameter comprises programming the power tool to adjust the maximum motor speed based on the second profile (Suda, 0046-49 e.g. “As for the basic control as one of the motor control methods, one type of the basic control may be provided, or a plurality of types of the basic controls which differ in the maximum rotation speed may be provided. In either case, it is preferable that the electric power tool of the present invention further includes a maximum rotation speed setting changing unit that is used for at least one type of the basic controls and that can change the maximum rotation speed to one of a plurality of different values by user operation. The motor control unit, when the control method is set in the basic control in which the maximum rotation speed setting changing unit is used, performs the basic control based on the maximum rotation speed set by the maximum rotation speed setting changing unit (i.e., rotates the motor at the rotation speed corresponding to the manipulated variable of the manipulation input receiving unit within a range up to the maximum rotation speed.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings o Suda, namely an operator adjusting a maximum speed of a power tool based on a mode selection, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely programming power tool settings based in part on customizing operating modes, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely configuring the maximum speed of the power tool via selecting a desired operating mode for implementation by the power tool. Suda is in the same field of endeavor and pertinent to a problem of controlling power tool speed.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)) in view over Knight (PG/PUB 20130187587)
Claim 22.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the mode of operation limitations described below. Knight teaches the mode limitations described below
wherein the working parameter includes a mode of operation of the power tool (e.g. a mode of operation is interpreted as a programmed sequence, 0029-30), and wherein programming the power tool to adjust the working parameter comprises enabling or disabling the mode of operation based on the second profile (Knight, 0029-0030 e.g. see enabling or disabling a mode as starting a predetermined sequence and stopping the sequence upon completion, “Using a chosen program, the controller 10 may be capable of controlling the motor 22 using the instructions provided by a specified, chosen program. For example, the chosen program may be a multi-directional program, such as for use in tapping a hole, which includes instructions for one or more partial revolutions of the rotor 22 and/or the associated drill bit in different directions. For example, the program may provide instructions for the motor 22 to turn in a first direction for a predetermined revolution, and then reverse to a second direction for second predetermined revolution. For example, in one pattern, the tool 14 may proceed forward for a complete revolution before reversing for a partial revolution to break chips of material that are oftentimes associated with tool drilling, and repeat the process until the hole is tapped to a desired depth. In another example program, the rotor 22 of the motor 12 may be rotated forward and reversed for a determined number of revolutions. Such programming may be used for tightening a nut to a position on a shaft, or in driving a screw having a thread pitch to a desired depth. To improve the accuracy, such as, for example, to avoid the controller 10 counting revolutions before a screw or nut has engaged the work piece, the controller 10 may be adapted to not start counting revolutions until after an initial torque has been sensed, such as through feedback from the one or more motor sensors 28 and/or by associated computations by the controller 10.”
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings o Knight, namely providing a program for controlling a mode of operation of adjusting a working parameter of the power tool, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely programming power tool settings based in part on customizing operating modes including settings and parameter used to control power tool performance, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely programming an operating mode of a power tool to automatically enable and disable power tool directional motion. Knight is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to adjusting working parameters of a power tool based on initiating a mode of operation.
Claim 23. The method of claim 22, wherein the mode of operation comprises a reverse mode of operation of the power tool (Knight 0029-30 e.g. “ For example, the program may provide instructions for the motor 22 to turn in a first direction for a predetermined revolution, and then reverse to a second direction for second predetermined revolution. For example, in one pattern, the tool 14 may proceed forward for a complete revolution before reversing for a partial revolution to break chips of material that are oftentimes associated with tool drilling, and repeat the process until the hole is tapped to a desired depth.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See mode functions described below, claim 21-23 relevancy
20130187587 20070252675 1232803 20130076271 20020048166 20130187587
20130187587 12598945 20070252675 20130082631 20130068491 20120169256
Claim 1 relevancy
20080234837 20130109375 20110178627 20090254203 20090138116 20080196911 20060179473 20060155582 20060142894 6845279 20130109375
Claim 8 relevancy
20110302282
Claim 19 relevancy
20130109375 7394394 20130148283 20110029157
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117