Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1-9 have been fully considered but are moot in light of a new ground of rejection regarding the “programming limitations,” infra claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, pages 12-13, are directed to whether the modification of a power tool to include a wireless communication unit of Samudrala would render Mashiko inoperable for its intended purpose. Because the arguments are predicated on newly amended programming limitations, the argument is rendered moot in light of a new ground of rejection for programming a power tool, infra Chen. Furthermore, with respect to the application of Samudrala, the modification of a power to include wireless communication capabilities does not preclude accessing the power tool for working parameters in contrast to the application of a wireless communication unit for programming purposes.
Moreover, it is noted, in light of Applicant’s arguments regarding operability, the claim limitations are silent as to programming exclusively relying upon a wireless connection opposed to a wired connection. While a wired connection provides power to the power tool during parameter modification, the inclusion of a wireless communication means in the power tool does not render the power tool inoperable for other uses as the claim limitations only employ wireless communication for parameter exchange and not during programming via the external device.. In other words, the inclusion of wireless communication units in a power tool for parameter exchange does not preclude wired programming at a later stage.
In response to Applicant's argument that Samudrala is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Samudrala is pertinent to a problem of wireless communication for receiving field device parameters as well as facilitating the remote configuration of a field device, ABSTRACT, summary of invention. Moreover, Applicant’s reference to “modifying attributes of a power tool to better match a jobsite application” in light of Samudrala’s teaching of “each device to be configured consistent with control strategies…” as a basis for rendering Samudrala non-analogous art is unpersuasive. Samudrala is relied on in part of providing devices discovery, displaying discovered devices, and providing wireless communication means, ABSTRACT, summary of invention,
One of ordinary skill in the art, upon identifying the wireless communication means for facilitating device configuration would be motivated to apply the teachings of Samudrala for accessing and modifying power tool/device parameters in light of a wired interface of Mashiko to facilitate remote power tool access via integrated, wireless capabilities. The inclusion of a wireless communication unit with a power tool provides a reasonable expectation of successfully exchanging working parameters for programming purposes, MPEP 2143.02, infra Chen claim mappings for wireless parameter exchange, see field device with integrated wireless communication unit, Figure 15-464->330.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)
Claim 1.
Chen et al. teaches a method of programming a power tool but does not expressly teach the power tool w/wireless communication limitations described below. Mashiko teaches the power tool limitations described below, comprising:
establishing, via a wireless communication unit of a power tool, a wireless communication link between the power tool and an external computing device having a processor (ABSTRACT, Figure 15-330 e.g. see wireless means for communicating; see also Chen for connecting a computing device to multiple field devices via a field engineer, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see establishing a connection with a selected field device via an operator, including identifying and selecting displayed devices), see also Chen for wireless communicating with field devices based on obtaining a communication channel, Col 24 lines 56-67, in addition to establishing a communication session with a field device, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10)
, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool, including multiple power tools)
receiving, on the external computing device and from the wireless communication unit of the power tool, a first profile stored on a memory of the power tool, the first profile being associated with a working parameter for controlling an operation of the power tool (Chen for displaying list of identified field devices, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, see also Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64, hen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) , see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool)
displaying, on a display of the external computing device, a graphical representation of the working parameter (see Chen for displaying list of identified field devices and device working parameters, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, see also Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) (e.g. see directly obtaining, wired or wirelessly, field device information including process information, stored information, sending configuration information to field devices, see also Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-67, see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools and displaying working parameters of the power tool, 0049-53, 0055-64)
receiving a user input at the external computing device to change the working parameter from the first profile to a second profile; transmitting the second profile from the external computing device to the power tool (see Chen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) , see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool)
programming the power tool to adjust the working parameter in accordance with the second profile (see Chen for communicating between a computer and a selected field device upon establishing communication as well as user selecting a displayed device for exchanging parameters, Col 13 lines 7-67, Col 15 lines 1-5, lines 25-63, Col 16 lines 18-25, Col 18 lines 25-67, Col 21 lines 8-15, Col 23 lines 5-65, Col 22 lines 55-67 thru. Col 23 lines 1-10, Col 24 lines 56-67) e.g., “Once a communication connection has been established, using any of the hardware devices associated with the wireless connection and software stored in both the field device and any associated transceiver device, as well as the software or other programming within the handheld communicator 330, the field engineer reads from and writes to the device using, for example, the preconfigured user interfaces. Of course, the user may use the handheld communicator 330 to communicate with the field device for any desired purpose, such as to read information from the device, to configure or reconfigure the device, to reset or to calibrate or to control the device, to send new parameters or other information to the device, to perform any standard maintenance or diagnostic activities or routines on the device or on portion of the plant in which the device is located, etc.,” see also Mashiko for a plurality of power tools, 0049-53, 0055-64 e.g. see obtaining, modifying, and transmitting control modes and parameters for a power tool, including the second profile/modified working parameters)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, namely obtaining device information “once a communication connection has been established,” would achieve an expected and predictable result of manually triggering a device discovery process for identifying nearby devices for establishing a connection.
Chen, as modified , does not expressly teach the plurality of power tools, each power tool having a wireless communication. Mashiko teaches the plurality of power tools described above, analogous to a process control device or field device while Chen teaches wireless enabled field devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Chen, namely remotely programming wirelessly enabled field devices, to the teachings Mashiko, namely identifying a power tool make and model, obtaining performance parameters of the power tool, modifying the power tool performance parameters, and transmitting modified power tool performance parameters, would achieve an improved invention by modifying each field device of Chen to comprise a power tool of Mashiko. The modification of a field device of Chen to comprise a power tool of Mashiko provides the equivalent of a power tool having a wireless communication unit of Chen. Mashiko is in the same field of endeavor as Chen, namely process control, see background art (e.g. assembly work in factories), and is reasonably pertinent to a problem of customizing device parameters to perform in accordance with tool specifications in the work environment.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the working parameter includes an electrical current draw, a maximum motor speed, or a maximum motor power (Mashiko, Description, 0049, “Next, the twenty control modes stored in the ROM of the microcomputer 78 will be described. In this embodiment, the electronic pulse driver 1 includes a drill mode, clutch modes 1-10, torque control modes 1-5, and pulse modes 1-4, for a total of twenty control modes.
In the drill mode, the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated as a unit. Therefore, this mode is primarily used for tightening wood screws and the like. In this mode, the microcomputer 78 increases the supply of electric current to the motor 3 as the screw becomes tighter.
In the clutch mode, the current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and the microcomputer 78 halts driving of the motor 3 when the current reaches a target value (target torque). The clutch mode is primarily used when emphasizing a proper tightening torque, such as when tightening cosmetic fasteners or the like that remain visible on the exterior of the workpiece after the fastening operation. In this, ten clutch modes are provided for various tightening forces (target torque values).
In the torque control mode, the electric current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and when the current reaches a prescribed value (prescribed torque), the microcomputer 78 will begin an impact operation by alternating between forward and reverse rotation of the motor 3. The microcomputer 78 stops driving the motor 3 after a prescribed number of impacts. The torque control mode is used when a higher torque than that delivered in the clutch mode is required for tightening the fasteners or the like. The electronic pulse driver 1 according to this embodiment is provided with five torque control modes.”)
Claim 8.
The method of claim 1, further comprising overwriting the first profile with the second profile in the memory of the power tool (supra claim 1, Chen, for over-writing, see also Mashiko, The overwriting system 100 according to the second embodiment can obtain the following effects. Control programs or the like stored in the microcomputer 78 built into the housing 2 or a memory element provided with or built into the microcomputer 78 can be overwritten at a later date with programs and the like adapted to the customer's needs. In other words, by preparing various control programs or the like in demand by customers, this system provides a versatile power tool that can satisfy the needs of individual customers, see also Chen e.g. “Once a communication connection has been established, using any of the hardware devices associated with the wireless connection and software stored in both the field device and any associated transceiver device, as well as the software or other programming within the handheld communicator 330, the field engineer reads from and writes to the device using, for example, the preconfigured user interfaces. Of course, the user may use the handheld communicator 330 to communicate with the field device for any desired purpose, such as to read information from the device, to configure or reconfigure the device, to reset or to calibrate or to control the device, to send new parameters or other information to the device, to perform any standard maintenance or diagnostic activities or routines on the device or on portion of the plant in which the device is located, etc.)
Claim 9.
The method of claim 1, wherein the graphical representation of the working parameter includes an identifying name or a picture icon associated with the power tool (Mashiko, 0060 e.g. “The model name and other data on the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the model name display area 91 based on the received model data. A list of the twenty control modes possessed by the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the control mode list display area 92 based on the same model data. The current control modes of the electronic pulse driver 1 (drive modes) are displayed in the send mode display area 93 based on the received parameters. By displaying the GUI window 90, the PC 82 enables the user to modify the control modes in the send mode display area 93. [0061] At this time, the user can select one of the four control modes displayed)
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136) in view over Knight (PG/PUB 20130187587)
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1 but does not teach the trigger limitations described below. Knight teaches the trigger limitations described below
wherein the working parameter includes a trigger- speed profile associated with the power tool (Knight, 0034. 0043, Figure 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Knight, namely adjusting the trigger speed profile of a power tool, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Knight is in the same field of endeavor and enhances user input as described, 0034.
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)
in view over Zeiler (PG/PUB 20130109375)
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach a second power tool comprising a second wireless communication link. Zeiler teaches a second power tool having a second wireless communication link described below
wherein the method further comprises: establishing, via a second wireless communication unit of a second power tool, a second wireless communication link between the second power tool and the external computing device; and programming the second power tool to adjust a second working parameter associated with the second power tool via the external computing device (Zeiler, Figure 1, Figure 2, ABSTRACT, supra claim 1 e.g. see second wireless communication link as another wireless path or wireless network between a tool and remote system, see also second power tools configured for wireless communication with a remote system)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of tracking identified power tools as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the enabling limitations described below. Zeiler teaches the enabling limitations described below
further comprising programming the power tool to be enabled only when the power tool is within a communication range of the external computing device (Zeiler, 0016-18 e.g. see geo-fences for selectively enabling or disabling a power tool)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools and geo-fences for enabling or disabling a power tool, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of tracking identified power tools as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the locate signal described below. Zeiler teaches the locate signal described below
further comprising: sending a locate signal to the power tool from the external computing device; emitting a sound on the power tool in response to receiving the locate signal to assist in identifying a location of the power tool (Zeiler, 0016-18, 0080 e.g. see audible signal for assisting user in locating a power tool)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools including location signals, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a tracking benefit.
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPB 7640007) in view over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136)
n view over Lewis (PG/PUB 20100156592)
Claim 6.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the ping limitation described below. Lewis teaches the ping limitations descried below
further comprising sending a ping signal from the external computing device; enabling the power tool if it receives the ping signal; and disabling the power tool if it does not receive the ping signal for a predetermined period of time (Kewis, 0014-22, Figure 3, ABSTRACT)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Lewis, namely selectively enabling an appliance based on ping data, to the teachings of Chen, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result of deterring power tool theft via applying the teachings of Lewis. Lewis is reasonably pertinent to deterring theft of portable items and would commend itself to the field of power tools with a benefit of theft prevention.
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2012160799 (published English , international filing 5/21/2012, 102e pre-AIA effective date) in view over Samudrala et al. (PG/PUB 20080234837) in view over Knight (PG/PUB 20130187587)
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1 but does not teach the trigger limitations described below. Knight teaches the trigger limitations described below
wherein the working parameter includes a trigger- speed profile associated with the power tool (Knight, 0034. 0043, Figure 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Knight, namely adjusting the trigger speed profile of a power tool, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Knight is in the same field of endeavor and enhances user input as described, 0034.
Claims 10-11 and 14-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mashiko (WO2012160799, see 102e filing date of 5/21/2012 based on the WIPO English publication designating the US, MPEP 2136) in view over Samudrala et al. (PG/PUB 20080234837)
Claim 10.
Mashiko et al. teaches a method of programming a power tool but does not expressly teach the wireless communication unit; however, Samudrala et al. teaches the wireless communication unit of a tool, comprising:
establishing, via a wireless communication unit of a power tool, a wireless communication link between the power tool and an external computing device having a processor (Samudrala, ABSTRACT, Figure 2, Figure 6B-110A, 0040 e.g. see wirelessly communicating with a field device, obtaining device parameters, and displaying list of discovered devices, see also Mashiko for identifying power tool models for remote programming, ABSTRACT, Description, Figure 5)
receiving, on the external computing device and from the wireless communication unit of the power tool, a first profile stored on a memory of the power tool, the first profile being associated with a working parameter for controlling an operation of the power tool; displaying, on a display of the external computing device, a graphical representation of the working parameter (Mashiko, Figure 4-82, ABSTTRACT, Description, Figure 5, Figure 6 e.g. see receiving power tool parameters/profiles for display)
receiving a user input at the external computing device to change the working parameter from the first profile to a second profile; transmitting the second profile from the external computing device to the power tool (Mashiko, Figure 5, Figure 6 e.g. see user selection and/or modification of power tool parameters via mode selections)
programming the power tool to adjust the working parameter in accordance with the second profile (Mashiko, Figure 5, Figure 6 e.g. see second profile as a modified first profile or specific user configuration)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Samudrala, namely remotely commissioning field devices comprising a wireless communication unit configured for enabling wireless parameter exchange, to the teachings of Mashiko, namely obtaining power tool parameters over a wired communication unit, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting each power tool to comprise the wireless communication unit of Samudrala for enabling remote programming of power tools over a wireless network. Samudrala is reasonably pertinent to a problem of remotely programming field devices and would commend itself to enhancing device commissioning via discovering available devices, ABSTRACT, Summary of Invention.
Claim 11.
The computer device of claim 10, wherein the working parameter includes an electrical current draw, a maximum motor speed, or a maximum motor power (Mashiko, Description, 0049, “Next, the twenty control modes stored in the ROM of the microcomputer 78 will be described. In this embodiment, the electronic pulse driver 1 includes a drill mode, clutch modes 1-10, torque control modes 1-5, and pulse modes 1-4, for a total of twenty control modes.
In the drill mode, the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated as a unit. Therefore, this mode is primarily used for tightening wood screws and the like. In this mode, the microcomputer 78 increases the supply of electric current to the motor 3 as the screw becomes tighter.
In the clutch mode, the current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and the microcomputer 78 halts driving of the motor 3 when the current reaches a target value (target torque). The clutch mode is primarily used when emphasizing a proper tightening torque, such as when tightening cosmetic fasteners or the like that remain visible on the exterior of the workpiece after the fastening operation. In this, ten clutch modes are provided for various tightening forces (target torque values).
In the torque control mode, the electric current supplied to the motor 3 is gradually increased while the hammer 42 and anvil 52 are rotated together, and when the current reaches a prescribed value (prescribed torque), the microcomputer 78 will begin an impact operation by alternating between forward and reverse rotation of the motor 3. The microcomputer 78 stops driving the motor 3 after a prescribed number of impacts. The torque control mode is used when a higher torque than that delivered in the clutch mode is required for tightening the fasteners or the like. The electronic pulse driver 1 according to this embodiment is provided with five torque control modes.”)
Claim 14.
The computing device of claim 10, wherein the graphical representation of the working parameter includes an identifying name or a picture icon associated with the power tool ((Mashiko, 0060 e.g. “The model name and other data on the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the model name display area 91 based on the received model data. A list of the twenty control modes possessed by the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the control mode list display area 92 based on the same model data. The current control modes of the electronic pulse driver 1 (drive modes) are displayed in the send mode display area 93 based on the received parameters. By displaying the GUI window 90, the PC 82 enables the user to modify the control modes in the send mode display area 93. [0061] At this time, the user can select one of the four control modes displayed)
Claim 15.
Mashiko, as modified, supra claim 10, teaches a system comprising: a power tool having a wireless communication circuit and a memory; and an external computing device including a display and a processor configured to: establish a wireless communication link with the wireless communication circuit of the power tool; receive, via the wireless communication link, a first profile stored on the memory of the power tool, the first profile being associated with a working parameter for controlling an operation of the power tool; cause the display to present a graphical representation of the working parameter; receive a user input to change the working parameter from the first profile to a second profile; and transmit the second profile to the power tool via the wireless communication link; wherein the power tool is configured to adjust the working parameter in accordance with the second profile and operate accordingly, supra claim 1
Claim 16. The system of claim 15, wherein the working parameter includes an electrical current draw, a maximum motor speed, a trigger profile, or a maximum motor power ((Mashiko, 0060 e.g. “The model name and other data on the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the model name display area 91 based on the received model data. A list of the twenty control modes possessed by the electronic pulse driver 1 is displayed in the control mode list display area 92 based on the same model data. The current control modes of the electronic pulse driver 1 (drive modes) are displayed in the send mode display area 93 based on the received parameters. By displaying the GUI window 90, the PC 82 enables the user to modify the control modes in the send mode display area 93. [0061] At this time, the user can select one of the four control modes displayed)
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2012160799 (published English , international filing 5/21/2012, 102e pre-AIA effective date) in view over Samudrala et al. (PG/PUB 20080234837) in view over Zeiler (PG/PUB 20130109375)
Claim 12
The computing device of claim 10 but does not expressly teach a second power tool comprising a second wireless communication link. Zeiler teaches a second power tool having a second wireless communication link described below
wherein the method further comprises: establishing, via a wireless communication unit of a second power tool, a second wireless communication link between the second power tool and the external computing device; and programming the second power tool to adjust a second working parameter associated with the second power tool via the external computing device (Zeiler, Figure 1, Figure 2, ABSTRACT, supra claim 1 e.g. see second wireless communication link as another wireless path or wireless network between a tool and remote system, see also second power tools configured for wireless communication with a remote system)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Zeiler, namely providing multiple wireless communication links for multiple power tools, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings over a wireless network, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zeiler is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of tracking identified power tools as described, ABSTRACT.
Claim 17.
The system of claim 15, further comprising a second power tool comprising a second wireless communication circuit, wherein the processor of the computing device is configured to establish a second communication link between the second wireless communication circuit and the second computing device, and program the second power tool to adjust a second working parameter associated with the second power tool, supra claim 12
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2012160799 (published English , international filing 5/21/2012, 102e pre-AIA effective date) in view over Samudrala et al. (PG/PUB 20080234837) in view over Lewis (PG/PUB 20100156592)
Claim 13.
The computing of claim 10 but does not expressly teach the ping limitation described below. Lewis teaches the ping limitations descried below
further comprising sending a ping signal from the external computing device; enabling the power tool if it receives the ping signal; and disabling the power tool if it does not receive the ping signal for a predetermined period of time (Kewis, 0014-22, Figure 3, ABSTRACT)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Lewis, namely selectively enabling an appliance based on ping data, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely remotely adjusting power tool settings, would achieve an expected and predictable result of deterring power tool theft via applying the teachings of Lewis. Lewis is reasonably pertinent to deterring theft of portable items and would commend itself to the field of power tools with a benefit of theft prevention.
Claim 20.
The system of claim 15, wherein the external computing device is further configured to send out a ping signal, and the power tool is configured to be enabled if it receives the ping signal and disabled if it does not receive the ping signal for a predetermined period of time, supra claim 13
Claims 18-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2012160799 (published English , international filing 5/21/2012, 102e pre-AIA effective date) in view over Samudrala et al. (PG/PUB 20080234837) in view over Furui (PG/PUB 20140151079)
Claim 18.
The system of claim 15 but does not teach the battery pack limitations described below. Furui et al. teaches the battery pack limitations described below
further comprising a battery pack having a second wireless communication circuit (Figure 1A-48, 0223,), wherein the processor of the computing device is configured to establish a second communication link between the second wireless communication circuit and the external computing device (supra claim 1, see establishing communication with a wireless circuit of a power tool, see also Figure 1A-78 -> 18 -> 48), and program the battery pack to adjust a second working parameter associated with the battery pack (0126-0157, Figure 1A-48 -> “external device” e.g. see configuring battery pack parameters, supra claim 1 for remotely configuring power tool parameters)
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made applying the teachings of Furui, namely configuring battery pack over a second wireless communication circuit and external device, to the teachings of Mashiko, as modified, namely establishing wireless communication with a power tool for commissioning power tool parameters, would achieve an expected and predictable result of remotely programming a battery pack. Furui is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of configuring a power tool.
Claim 19.
The system of claim 18, wherein the second working parameter comprises at least one of a state of full charge, announcement settings related to a full charge or discharge, announcement settings related to temperature of the battery pack, enabling or disabling of the battery pack, or conditions settings under which the battery pack is enabled or disabled (Furui, 0127-128 e.g. “In an exemplary embodiment of the present teachings, the adapter may be adapted or configured to enable the user to change a maximum current limit stored in the memory of the power tool and/or in the memory of the battery packs. Generally speaking, cordless power tools are designed to operate safely and reliably up to a certain (rated) current threshold. If the actual current exceeds the current threshold, the electric motor, gear transmission and/or batteries could be permanently damaged, thereby shortening the service life of the power tool and/or the battery pack,” see also 0140-141, see condition settings as the maximum current limit stored in memory)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claim 1 relevancy
20080234837 20130109375 20110178627 20090254203 20090138116 20080196911 20060179473 20060155582 20060142894 6845279 20130109375
Claim 8 relevancy
20110302282
Claim 19 relevancy
20130109375 7394394 20130148283 20110029157
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117