Response to Amendments / Arguments
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/16/2026, in view of the amended claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gryting et al. (US 20220058281 A1, referred to as Gryting), in view of Steigleder (US 20140053145 A1, referred to as Steigleder)
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 03/16/2026, in which, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-23 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent. Claims 5, 12 and 19 are cancelled.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gryting et al. (US 20220058281 A1, referred to as Gryting), in view of Steigleder (US 20140053145 A1, referred to as Steigleder).
In reference to claim 1, A method, comprising: obtaining, by a software entity of an operating system of a processing device, an indication of a protected storage region of at least one storage device of the processing device (Gryting: [0015], [0028], and [0036] Provides for a kernel driver (software entity of the OS) obtaining an indication hat designates a protected file/region of a storage device.)
Wherein the method is performed by the processing device, wherein the processing device comprises a processor coupled to a memory, and wherein the software entity executes on the processor (Gryting: [0018] and [0041] Provides for a processing device with a processor coupled to memory, on which the kernel driver (software entity) executes.)
wherein the indication of the protected storage region indicates that content of the protected storage region is to be copied into a backup storage region of the at least one storage device (Gryting: [0015] and [0036] Provides for the identifier/marking indicating that the protected content is to be encrypted and stored (copied) into the backup database 116.)
storing, by the software entity, subsequent to the obtaining, the content of the protected storage region in the backup storage region of the at least one storage device of the processing device (Gryting: [0015] and [0032]-[0036] Provides for storing the protected file content as encrypted backup copies in backup database 116 after the file is marked/provisioned.)
Wherein the protected storage region and the backup storage region are at least partially within the processing device (Gryting: [0022] and [0041] Provides for both protected files (DB 114) and backups (DB 116) residing on storage within the same computer/processing device. )
monitoring, by the software entity, the content stored in the protected storage region to detect one or more changes, using the content of the backup storage region, in the content stored in the protected storage region (Gryting: [0016]-[0021] and [0030] Provides for the kernel driver monitoring protected content and detecting changes by comparing against hash values corresponding to the encrypted backup copies.)
initiating at least one automated action responsive to the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region (Gryting: [0034] Provides for an automated action made available to a system administrator upon detected modifications.) Gryting doesn’t excplitity teach wherein the at least one automated action comprises notifying at least one user of the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region, updating, by the software entity, the content of the backup storage region with the content of the protected storage region and wherein the updating is responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were approved. However, Steigleder discloses: wherein the at least one automated action comprises notifying at least one user of the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region (Steigleder: [0040] and [0061]-[0062] Provides for explicit automated notification of a system administrator and report generation in response to detected changes.)
Updating, by the software entity, the content of the backup storage region with the content of the protected storage region (Steigleder: [0040] and [0060] Provides for promoted/approved changes being stored in a promotion database and becoming part of the known trusted state.)
Wherein the updating is responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were approved (Steigleder: [0057]-[0060] and [0075] Provides for user/administrator review and manual promotion (approval) of detected changes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gryting, which provides a method for monitoring protected storage regions through kernel-level software entities, detecting changes through comparison with encrypted backup copies, and initiating automated actions in response to detected modifications, with the teachings of Steigleder, which introduces user notification of detected changes, administrator approval workflows, and updating backup storage with approved content changes. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Steigleder's user-driven approval and backup update mechanisms into Gryting's change detection system to provide human oversight of storage modifications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to prevent legitimate administrative changes from being incorrectly flagged and blocked by ensuring that authorized modifications can be reviewed.
In reference to claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring the content of the protected storage region comprises comparing one or more of: (i) the content of the protected storage region to the content of the backup storage region and (ii) a first hash value of the content of the protected storage region to a second hash value of the content of the backup storage region (Gryting: [0030], [0015]-[0016], [0023] and [0038] Provides for comparing a hash value of the protected content against stored hash values corresponding to the encrypted backup copies.)
In reference to claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring the content of the protected storage region is performed one or more of: (i) for each write operation to the protected storage region, (ii) periodically and (iii) responsive to a reboot of the processing device (Gryting: [0016], [0021], [0028]–[0030] and [0038] Provides for monitoring triggered on intercepted file-access system calls (an access/operation-driven trigger) and, for memory units, continuous recalculation of hashes (periodic monitoring).)
In reference to claim 4, The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one automated action further comprises restoring the content of the backup storage region to the protected storage region responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were not approved (Gryting: [0004], [0023], [0027] and [0032]–[0033] Provides for restoring the protected content from the backup region whenever a modification is detected.)
In reference to claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein the protected storage region stores one or more of: boot metadata, filesystem metadata, operating system metadata, basic input/output system metadata and designated protected information (Gryting: [0014]-[0015], [0019] and [0023]-[0028] Provides for protecting operating-system/kernel components (the kernel text segment and read-only data, including kernel configuration parameters) and user-designated protected files.)
In reference to claim 7, The method of claim 1, wherein the software entity of the operating system of the processing device comprises an agent executed by the operating system (Gryting: [0018]-[0021], [0029]–[0030] and [0041] Provides for a kernel-space device driver that runs within/under the operating system and autonomously performs the monitoring, interception, and restoration functions.)
In reference to claim 8, An apparatus comprising: at least one processing given device comprising a processor coupled to a memory; the at least one processing given device being configured to implement the following steps: obtaining, by a software entity associated with an operating system of the at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory, an indication of a protected storage region of at least one storage device associated with the at least one processing device (Gryting: [0015], [0028], and [0036] Provides for a kernel driver (software entity of the OS) obtaining an indication hat designates a protected file/region of a storage device.)
Wherein the method is performed by the processing device, wherein the processing device comprises a processor coupled to a memory, and wherein the software entity executes on the processor (Gryting: [0018] and [0041] Provides for a processing device with a processor coupled to memory, on which the kernel driver (software entity) executes.)
wherein the indication of the protected storage region indicates that content of the protected storage region is to be copied into a backup storage region of the at least one storage device (Gryting: [0015] and [0036] Provides for the identifier/marking indicating that the protected content is to be encrypted and stored (copied) into the backup database 116.)
storing, by the software entity, subsequent to the obtaining, the content of the protected storage region in the backup storage region of the at least one storage device of the processing device (Gryting: [0015] and [0032]-[0036] Provides for storing the protected file content as encrypted backup copies in backup database 116 after the file is marked/provisioned.)
Wherein the protected storage region and the backup storage region are at least partially within the processing device (Gryting: [0022] and [0041] Provides for both protected files (DB 114) and backups (DB 116) residing on storage within the same computer/processing device. )
monitoring, by the software entity, the content stored in the protected storage region to detect one or more changes, using the content of the backup storage region, in the content stored in the protected storage region (Gryting: [0016]-[0021] and [0030] Provides for the kernel driver monitoring protected content and detecting changes by comparing against hash values corresponding to the encrypted backup copies.)
initiating at least one automated action responsive to the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region (Gryting: [0034] Provides for an automated action made available to a system administrator upon detected modifications.) Gryting doesn’t excplitity teach wherein the at least one automated action comprises notifying at least one user of the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region, updating, by the software entity, the content of the backup storage region with the content of the protected storage region and wherein the updating is responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were approved. However, Steigleder discloses: wherein the at least one automated action comprises notifying at least one user of the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region (Steigleder: [0040] and [0061]-[0062] Provides for explicit automated notification of a system administrator and report generation in response to detected changes.)
Updating, by the software entity, the content of the backup storage region with the content of the protected storage region (Steigleder: [0040] and [0060] Provides for promoted/approved changes being stored in a promotion database and becoming part of the known trusted state.)
Wherein the updating is responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were approved (Steigleder: [0057]-[0060] and [0075] Provides for user/administrator review and manual promotion (approval) of detected changes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gryting, which provides a method for monitoring protected storage regions through kernel-level software entities, detecting changes through comparison with encrypted backup copies, and initiating automated actions in response to detected modifications, with the teachings of Steigleder, which introduces user notification of detected changes, administrator approval workflows, and updating backup storage with approved content changes. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Steigleder's user-driven approval and backup update mechanisms into Gryting's change detection system to provide human oversight of storage modifications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to prevent legitimate administrative changes from being incorrectly flagged and blocked by ensuring that authorized modifications can be reviewed.
In reference to claim 9, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the monitoring the content of the protected storage region comprises comparing one or more of: (i) the content of the protected storage region to the content of the backup storage region and (ii) a first hash value of the content of the protected storage region to a second hash value of the content of the backup storage region (Gryting: [0030], [0015]-[0016], [0023] and [0038] Provides for comparing a hash value of the protected content against stored hash values corresponding to the encrypted backup copies.)
In reference to claim 10, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the monitoring the content of the protected storage region is performed one or more of: (i) for each write operation to the protected storage region, (ii) periodically and (iii) responsive to a reboot of the processing device (Gryting: [0016], [0021], [0028]–[0030] and [0038] Provides for monitoring triggered on intercepted file-access system calls (an access/operation-driven trigger) and, for memory units, continuous recalculation of hashes (periodic monitoring).)
In reference to claim 11, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one automated action further comprises restoring the content of the backup storage region to the protected storage region responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were not approved (Gryting: [0004], [0023], [0027] and [0032]–[0033] Provides for restoring the protected content from the backup region whenever a modification is detected.)
In reference to claim 13, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the protected storage region stores one or more of: boot metadata, filesystem metadata, operating system metadata, basic input/output system metadata and designated protected information (Gryting: [0014]-[0015], [0019] and [0023]-[0028] Provides for protecting operating-system/kernel components (the kernel text segment and read-only data, including kernel configuration parameters) and user-designated protected files.)
In reference to claim 14, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the software entity of the operating system of the processing device comprises an agent executed by the operating system (Gryting: [0018]-[0021], [0029]–[0030] and [0041] Provides for a kernel-space device driver that runs within/under the operating system and autonomously performs the monitoring, interception, and restoration functions.)
In reference to claim 15, A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored therein program code of one or more software programs, wherein the program code when executed by at least one processing given device causes the at least one processing given device to perform the following steps: obtaining, by a software entity associated with an operating system of the at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory, an indication of a protected storage region of at least one storage device associated with the at least one processing device (Gryting: [0015], [0028], and [0036] Provides for a kernel driver (software entity of the OS) obtaining an indication hat designates a protected file/region of a storage device.)
Wherein the method is performed by the processing device, wherein the processing device comprises a processor coupled to a memory, and wherein the software entity executes on the processor (Gryting: [0018] and [0041] Provides for a processing device with a processor coupled to memory, on which the kernel driver (software entity) executes.)
wherein the indication of the protected storage region indicates that content of the protected storage region is to be copied into a backup storage region of the at least one storage device (Gryting: [0015] and [0036] Provides for the identifier/marking indicating that the protected content is to be encrypted and stored (copied) into the backup database 116.)
storing, by the software entity, subsequent to the obtaining, the content of the protected storage region in the backup storage region of the at least one storage device of the processing device (Gryting: [0015] and [0032]-[0036] Provides for storing the protected file content as encrypted backup copies in backup database 116 after the file is marked/provisioned.)
Wherein the protected storage region and the backup storage region are at least partially within the processing device (Gryting: [0022] and [0041] Provides for both protected files (DB 114) and backups (DB 116) residing on storage within the same computer/processing device. )
monitoring, by the software entity, the content stored in the protected storage region to detect one or more changes, using the content of the backup storage region, in the content stored in the protected storage region (Gryting: [0016]-[0021] and [0030] Provides for the kernel driver monitoring protected content and detecting changes by comparing against hash values corresponding to the encrypted backup copies.)
initiating at least one automated action responsive to the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region (Gryting: [0034] Provides for an automated action made available to a system administrator upon detected modifications.) Gryting doesn’t excplitity teach wherein the at least one automated action comprises notifying at least one user of the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region, updating, by the software entity, the content of the backup storage region with the content of the protected storage region and wherein the updating is responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were approved. However, Steigleder discloses: wherein the at least one automated action comprises notifying at least one user of the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region (Steigleder: [0040] and [0061]-[0062] Provides for explicit automated notification of a system administrator and report generation in response to detected changes.)
Updating, by the software entity, the content of the backup storage region with the content of the protected storage region (Steigleder: [0040] and [0060] Provides for promoted/approved changes being stored in a promotion database and becoming part of the known trusted state.)
Wherein the updating is responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were approved (Steigleder: [0057]-[0060] and [0075] Provides for user/administrator review and manual promotion (approval) of detected changes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gryting, which provides a method for monitoring protected storage regions through kernel-level software entities, detecting changes through comparison with encrypted backup copies, and initiating automated actions in response to detected modifications, with the teachings of Steigleder, which introduces user notification of detected changes, administrator approval workflows, and updating backup storage with approved content changes. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Steigleder's user-driven approval and backup update mechanisms into Gryting's change detection system to provide human oversight of storage modifications. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to prevent legitimate administrative changes from being incorrectly flagged and blocked by ensuring that authorized modifications can be reviewed.
In reference to claim 16, The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the monitoring the content of the protected storage region comprises comparing one or more of: (i) the content of the protected storage region to the content of the backup storage region and (ii) a first hash value of the content of the protected storage region to a second hash value of the content of the backup storage (Gryting: [0030], [0015]-[0016], [0023] and [0038] Provides for comparing a hash value of the protected content against stored hash values corresponding to the encrypted backup copies.)
In reference to claim 17, The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the monitoring the content of the protected storage region is performed one or more of: (i) for each write operation to the protected storage region, (ii) periodically and (iii) responsive to a reboot of the processing device (Gryting: [0016], [0021], [0028]–[0030] and [0038] Provides for monitoring triggered on intercepted file-access system calls (an access/operation-driven trigger) and, for memory units, continuous recalculation of hashes (periodic monitoring).)
In reference to claim 18, The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the at least one automated action further comprises restoring the content of the backup storage region to the protected storage region responsive to the at least one user indicating that the one or more detected changes in the content stored in the protected storage region were not approved (Gryting: [0004], [0023], [0027] and [0032]–[0033] Provides for restoring the protected content from the backup region whenever a modification is detected.)
In reference to claim 20, The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the protected storage region stores one or more of: boot metadata, filesystem metadata, operating system metadata, basic input/output system metadata and designated protected information (Gryting: [0014]-[0015], [0019] and [0023]-[0028] Provides for protecting operating-system/kernel components (the kernel text segment and read-only data, including kernel configuration parameters) and user-designated protected files.)
In reference to claim 21, The method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the protected storage region of the at least one storage device comprises a user designation of at least a portion of a storage device as the protected storage region (Gryting: [0015], [0028] and [0036]-[0035] Provides for a user designating selected files as protected.)
In reference to claim 22, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the indication of the protected storage region of the at least one storage device comprises a user designation of at least a portion of a storage device as the protected storage region (Gryting: [0015], [0028] and [0036]-[0035] Provides for a user designating selected files as protected.)
In reference to claim 23, The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the indication of the protected storage region of the at least one storage device comprises a user designation of at least a portion of a storage device as the protected storage region (Gryting: [0015], [0028] and [0036]-[0035] Provides for a user designating selected files as protected.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432