DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,286,570. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
US ‘570 claims an aqueous composition for release coatings, having a total solids content of no more than 10 wt%, comprising (a) a release polymer free of silicone polymer, and comprising a polymer having a molecular weight of 125±75 kg/mol, which includes thio(carbonyl)-containing groups, and (b) 0.75-1.25 wt% dioctyl sulfosuccinate (claim 1). US ‘570 goes on to claim the solids content of no more than 8 wt% (claim 2), and an article comprising a substrate coated with the release coating (claims 4-5) and further comprising an adhesive (claim 6).
Dioctyl sulfosuccinate is a known superwetter.
US ‘570 reads on instant claims 1-4, 7-16 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wempe (US 4,386,183), as evidenced by Oliver (US 5,270,103).
Wempe discloses preparing a release layer from 10% aqueous solution of polyvinyl alcohol to which 5 wt% (based on weight of the polyvinyl alcohol) of a release promoting agent was added, where the release promoting agent is exemplified as Aerosol OT, a dioctyl ester of sodium sulfosuccinic acid. This represents a release coating comprising 0.5 wt% superwetter relative to the composition with a solids content of 10 wt%.
Wempe anticipates instant claims 1, 2 and 8-15.
As to claim 7, Wempe exemplifies the polyvinyl alcohol to include Vinol 350, which as evidenced by Oliver has a Mw of 124,000-186,000 (col. 6, ll. 21-36).
As to claim 16, Wempe discloses applying the release coating to an adhesive.
Claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarkar (US 2002/0022118).
Sarkar exemplifies an ink repellent coating of the following (p. 6, [0051]):
,
where GEMTEX 680 is described as dihexyl sulfosuccinate surfactant (p. 5, Table 1).
Sarkar discloses the ink repellent coatings as release coatings (p. 3, [0024]). The composition comprises a solids content of about 10 wt%.
Sarkar anticipates instant claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar (US 2002/0022118), as applied above to claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-15, and further in view of DiZio (US 5,990,238), Dahlquist (US 2,532,011) and Kinning (2004/0126576), as evidenced by Mussell (US 2016/0362237).
Sarkar anticipates instant claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-15, as applied above and described herein as such, as Sarkar exemplifies an inki repellent coating comprising polyvinyl N-octadecyl carbamate and 0.05 wt% superwetter with a solids content of 10 wt%.
Sarkar teaches that the polyvinyl N-octadecyl carbamate is made according to US 5,990,238, to DiZio. DiZio exemplifies the polyvinyl N-octadecyl carbamate as comprising 52 mol% polyvinyl acetate (col. 20, Example 3).
Sarkar in view of DiZio is prima facie obvious over instant claims 5-6.
As to claim 7, Sarkar teaches that useful repellent coatings include urethane release coatings such as the class of polymers disclosed in US 2,532,011 (p. 3, [0024]).
Kinning teaches that polyvinyl N-alkyl carbamates are described, for examples, in US 2,532,011, and include polyvinyl octadecyl carbamate, teaching that typically polyvinyl octadecyl carbamate release materials have a molecular weight of from 50,000 to 300,000 g/mol (p. 5, [0056]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 125±25 kg/mol, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
As to claim 13, dihexyl sulfosuccinate and the claimed dioctyl sulfosuccinate are homologues. Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2114.09(II).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect dioctyl sulfosuccinate to possess similar properties as dihexyl sulfosuccinate is a known release agent in the LAB of Sarkar. Note, these compounds are both known release agents, as evidenced by Mussell (p. [0222]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar (US 2002/0022118), as applied above to claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-15, and further in view of Goldstein (US 10,889,736).
Sarkar anticipates instant claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-15, as applied above and described herein as such, as Sarkar exemplifies an inki repellent coating comprising polyvinyl N-octadecyl carbamate and 0.05 wt% superwetter with a solids content of 10 wt%.
Sarkar teaches that the polyvinyl N-octadecyl carbamate is made according to US 5,990,238, to DiZio. DiZio teaches that the release coating composition includes a polymer including a vinyl-derived backbone having substituents attached thereon, which include a urethane linked nitrogen-bonded hydrocarbon side chain, where the vinyl-derived backbone is formed from acrylic esters (col. 5, ll. 9-23).
Goldstein teaches that water-based PVODC (poly(vinyl octadecyl carbamate)) compositions are known, but contain small amounts of solvents, resulting in the presence of VOCs, where it is known in the art that there is a desire to reduce VOCs (col. 1-2). Goldstein teaches a polymer that can be used as a release coating or a release agent in a LAB, which can be provided in a VOC-free form and which exhibit excellent release even after aging under high humidity (col. 2, ll. 40-44). Goldstein teaches that the polymer can include mer units that contain pendent groups that include at least two (thio)carbonyl groups and multiple additional heteroatoms, which can be formed by reacting a mono-iso(thio)cyanate having a long chain alkyl group with a polymerizable compound, such as a (meth)acrylate-type compound (col. 3, ll. 17-22). Goldstein teaches the percentage of mer derived from inventive release polymers is at least 50 mol% (col. 12, ll. 26-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have substituted the PVODC of Sarkar with the acrylate based homopolymer of Goldstein, as Goldstein teaches that these polymers having lower VOCs than the typical PVODCs used in LABs.
Note Goldstein also teaches that the molecular weights of the resulting polymers are similar to those used in the manufacture of PVODC, generally 125±75 kg/mol (col. 12, ll. 41-45).
Sarkar in view of Goldstein is prima facie obvious over instant claims 3-4.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar (US 2002/0022118) in view of Dahlquist (US 2,532,011), Yanutola (US 2005/0014886) and Kinning (US 2004/0126576).
Sarkar exemplifies the formation of an ink repellent coating, also described as a release coating, of the following (p. 6, [0051]):
,
where GEMTEX 680 is described as dihexyl sulfosuccinate surfactant (p. 5, Table 1).
Example 5 suggests an aqueous composition (waterborne with 90% water), 0.05 wt% of sulfosuccinate, and a solids content of about 10 wt%.
Sarkar teaches that useful repellent coatings include urethane release coatings such as the class of polymers disclosed in US 2,532,011 (p. 3, [0024]).
US ‘011 teaches that the the low-adhesion polyvinyl carbamate polymers can be prepared from 50% hydrolyzed polyvinyl acetate, suggesting the presence of 50 mol% vinyl acetate.
Kinning teaches that polyvinyl N-alkyl carbamates are described, for example, in US 2,532,011, and include polyvinyl octadecyl carbamate, teaching that typically polyvinyl octadecyl carbamate release materials have a molecular weight of from 50,000 to about 300,000 g/mol (p. 5, [0056]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 125±25 kg/mol, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Yanutola teaches release coatings, specifically LAB (low adhesion backsize) compositions, teaching that backsize materials generally include a combination f a film forming polymer and a release agent, generally in combination with useful additive such as surfactants, where the ingredients can be suspended in water (p. 1, [0003]).
Yanutola teaches that a variety of surfactants, including sulfosuccinates, may be useful to prepare the aqueous compositions, teaching that generally, useful amounts of these ingredients may be in the range of up to 5 wt% (p. 9, [0076]-[0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the amount of sulfosuccinate surfactant in the waterborne urethane LAB of Sarkar, as Yanutola teaches that these additives are typically used in an amount of up to 5 wt%.
The range suggested by Yanutola overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1-1.5 wt%, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Sarkar in view of Dahlquist, Kinning and Yanutola is prima facie obvious over instant claims 17-18.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766