DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ter-Mikirtychev (US 2013/0044768).
Re claim 1:
The examiner notes that an International Preliminary Report on Patentability was located in corresponding PCT application PCT/US2023/077714, which the examiner deems to be particularly applicable to the claims. The present examiner has carefully reviewed that work. Much of that action is therefore reused below.
Ter-Mikirtychev discloses a single pass optical amplifier (Fig. 4) comprising: a single- spatial mode seed laser configured to: emit, at a known power level, a light at a seed wavelength (Fig. 4, 410; [0059] single-spatial mode (DBF) laser at 980 nm; [0028] seed power defines pre-amp configuration 102A or 102B, wherein known seed power directs selection of 102B in Fig. 4); a pump laser configured to: emit, at a second known power level, a light at a pump laser wavelength (Fig. 4, 430; [0060] 300 W at 915 nm); a single-mode polarization maintaining gain fiber (Fig. 4, 424; [0058] polarization maintaining (PM) double clad (DC) Yb-doped gain fiber) configured to: receive said light at said seed wavelength and said light at said pump laser wavelength (Fig. 4, 422), wherein said light at said seed wavelength is inputted within a first region of said gain fiber ([0058] seed light inputted within core) and said light at said pump laser wavelength is inputted into a second region of said gain fiber ([0058] pump light inputted within cladding), wherein said second region is concentric to said first region ([0060] cladding surrounds core); and amplify said known power of said seed wavelength ([0060] amplify to 30 W) by excitation of material within said first region ([(0060] Yb-doped core) by said second known power level of said pump laser wavelength([0060] 300 W pump power); a frequency multiplier (Fig. 4, 450) configured to: receive the amplified power level of said seed wavelength ((0059] receives amplified 980 nm output); multiple a frequency of said seed wavelength by a known multiplication factor ([0060] second harmonic); and output a wavelength a known sub-multiple of the seed wavelength based on said known multiplication factor ([0059] 490 nm, doubled frequency), wherein the seed laser, the pump laser, the gain fiber and the multiplier are optically communicative through fiber to maintain a desired polarization of the outputted wavelength (Fig. 4, polarization maintaining (PM) optical fiber part of optical path between seed, pump, gain fiber, and multiplier).
Regarding claim 5, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said gain fiber is selected based on said seed laser wavelength ([0014], [0046], [0055] Yb-doped gain fiber based on seed wavelength 980 nm).
Regarding claim 6, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 5, and further discloses wherein said second region comprises at least one Lanthanide based element ([0060] Ytterbium doped core).
Regarding claim 7, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 6, and further discloses wherein said at least one Lanthanide based element is one of: Holmium, Erbium, Thulium and Ytterbium ({0060] Ytterbium).
Regarding claim 8, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said known multiplication of said frequency multiplier is selected based on said seed laser wavelength ((0026], [0059]-[0060] frequency multiplier selected based on seed laser frequency to generate high power UV light).
Regarding claim 9, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 1, and further discloses comprising: a polarization maintaining fiber combiner (Fig. 4, 422) configured to: couple said seed wavelength and said pump laser wavelength into said gain fiber ([0059] polarization maintaining (PM) pump and seed light combiner), wherein said gain fiber comprises a passive double-clad polarization maintaining fiber ((0059] double clad (DC) polarization maintaining (PM) gain fiber).
Regarding claim 11, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said amplification of said seed wavelength is based on at least one of: a length of said gain fiber, said known power of said seed wavelength and a known power of said pump laser wavelength ({0060] amplification based on 300 W pump power).
Regarding claim 12, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 6, and further discloses wherein said at least one Lanthanide based element within said gain fiber is selected based on said pump laser wavelength ([0047] 915 nm pump chosen for Yb-doped gain fiber for strong luminescence).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ter-Mikirtychev as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Gu (US 2015/0085885).
Regarding claim 2, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 1, however does not disclose a seed laser driver configured to: drive said seed laser; and a pump laser driver configured to: drive said pump laser. However, Gu discloses a seed laser driver (Fig. 10, 572) configured to: drive said seed laser ([0147], [0149]); and a pump laser driver (Fig. 10, 576) configured to: drive said pump laser ({0148]-[0149]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ter-Mikirtychev with seed laser driver and pump laser driver of Gu with the motivation to provide active control feedback thereby compensating for laser performance drift, enhancing overall system stability (Gu, [0145]-[1049]).
Regarding claim 3, Ter-Mikirtychev in view of Gu discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 2, and further discloses a temperature controller (Gu, Fig. 10, 570) associated with at least one of said seed laser drive and said pump laser driver, wherein said temperature controller is configured to: maintain said seed laser at a known temperature (Gu, [0149] temperature stability control); and a power supply configured to: provide a power to said seed laser driver and pump laser driver (Implicitly disclosed, as a power supply to provide power to the drivers for their functional operations is immediately apparent to the skilled artisan).
Regarding claim 4, Ter-Mikirtychev in view of Gu discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 2, and further discloses an optical isolator configured to: provide optically isolation between said seed laser and said gain fiber (Ter-Mikirtychev, Fig. 4, 420).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ter-Mikirtychev/Gu as applied above, in further view of Endo (US 5,517,525).
Ter-Mikirtychev in view of Gu discloses the single pass optical amplifier of claim 1, however does not disclose an optical isolator configured to: optically isolate said outputted sub-multiple of said seed wavelength. However, Endo discloses the limitation in Fig. 2, 12. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the frequency multiplier of Ter-Mikirtychev in view of Gu with optical isolator of Endo with the motivation to interrupt backward light from returning downstream the optical system, thereby providing damage protection and reduced instability (Endo, Col. 5:30-36).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ter-Mikirtychev.
Regarding claim 13, over Ter-Mikirtychev discloses a dual stage optical amplifier (Fig. 4) comprising: a first single pass optical amplifier (Fig. 4, 410, 412, 414, 416, 418) comprising: a first pump laser ([0057] pump laser source associated with pre-amplifier stage 416; [0055]) configured to: emit a light at a first pump laser wavelength ([0055] cladding pumped at 915 nm); a first seed laser configured to: emit a light at a seed laser wavelength (Fig. 4, 410; [0059] 980 nm); and [...1]; and a fiber gain element (Fig. 4, 416; [0055], [0061] Yb-doped double clad (DC) gain fiber) configured to: receive said light associated with seed laser wavelength (Fig. 4, 410 to 416) within a core element of said fiber gain element ([0055]-[0056], [0058] Yb-doped core receives seed light); and receive said light associated with said first pump laser wavelength within a region surrounding said core element ([0055], [0058], [0060] cladding surrounding core receives pump light); and output an amplified light associated with said seed laser wavelength (Fig. 4, output of 416), wherein the first seed laser, the first pump laser, the first gain fiber are optically communicative through fiber to maintain a desired polarization of the amplified light ([0053] fiber coupled; [0055] polarization maintaining (PM) optical coupling); a second single pass optical amplifier (Fig. 4, 463) comprising: a second pump laser (Fig. 4, 430) configured to: emit a second light at said first pump laser wavelength ([0060] 915 nm); and a second gain stage optical combiner (Fig. 4, 422) configured to: receive said second light associated with said first pump laser wavelength and said amplified light associated with said seed laser wavelength ([0059] amplified seed light combiner); and a second fiber gain element (Fig. 4, 424) configured to: receive said amplified light associated with seed laser wavelength within a core element of said second fiber gain element ([0058] core receives seed light); and receive said second light associated with said first pump laser wavelength within a region surrounding said core element of said second fiber gain element ([0058] cladding receives pump light; [0060] cladding surrounds core); and output a further amplified light associated with said seed laser wavelength (Fig. 4, output of 424); a multiplier section (Fig. 4, 450) configured to: receive said further amplified light associated with said seed laser wavelength ([0059] receives amplified 980 nm output); multiple a frequency of said further amplified light by a known multiplication factor ([0060] second harmonic); and output said further amplified light at a wavelength a known sub-multiple of said seed laser wavelength ([0059] 490 nm, doubled frequency); and a polarization maintaining optical isolator positioned between the first signal pass optical amplifier and the second single pass optical amplifier (Fig. 4, 420), the polarization maintaining isolator configured to: prevent back-reflection into the first optical amplifier ([0034] preventing back reflection). Ter-Mikirtychev does not disclose: [...] a first gain stage optical combiner configured to: receive said light associated with said first pump laser wavelength and said light associated with said seed laser wavelength. However, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the limitation in the second single pass optical amplifier of Fig. 4, 463. Specifically, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses: [...] a first gain stage optical combiner (Fig. 4, 422) configured to: receive said light associated with said first pump laser wavelength (Fig. 4, 430) and said light associated with said seed laser wavelength (Fig. 4, 410). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first single pass optical amplifier of Ter-Mikirtychev with the optical combiner of the second single pass optical amplifier of Ter-Mikirtychev with the motivation to effectively couple seed and pump light with the first single pass optical amplifier and provide a coupling architecture which allows for the effective scaling of pump power ([0048], [0053], [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the dual stage optical amplifier of claim 13, and further discloses wherein said known multiplication factor is at least two ([0059] 490 nm, doubled frequency; [0060] second harmonic).
Regarding claim 15, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the dual stage optical amplifier of claim 13, however does not disclose: wherein amplification by said first single pass optical amplifier of said light associated with said seed laser is based on at least one of: a drive current applied to said first seed laser, a drive current applied to said first pump laser and a length of said first gain fiber. However, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the limitation in the second single pass optical amplifier of Fig. 4, 424. Specifically, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses in [0051] a length considered for amplification, and [0060] the selection of 50-100 cm in length. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first single pass optical amplifier of Ter-Mikirtychev with the teachings from the second single pass optical amplifier of Ter-Mikirtychev with the motivation to improve amplification and beam quality through optimizing the fiber length for achieving minimal re-absorption while ensuring adequate mode filtering ([0051].
Regarding claim 16, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the dual stage optical amplifier of claim 15, and further discloses wherein amplification by said second stage optical amplifier of said amplified light associated with said seed laser is based on at least one of: a drive current applied to said second pump laser and a length of said second gain fiber ([0051] length considered for amplification; [0060] 50-100 cm length).
Regarding claim 17, Ter-Mikirtychev discloses the dual stage optical amplifier of claim 13, and further discloses wherein said first gain fiber (Fig. 4, 416; [0055], [0061] Yb-doped gain fiber) and said second gain fiber are doped with at least one Lanthanide based element (Fig. 4, 424; [0058] Yb-doped gain fiber).
Conclusion
/DANIEL A HESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876