DETAILED ACTION
Office Action Summary
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 102/103.
Claims 8, 11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 112.
Claim Analysis – 35 USC § 112 (f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detection information configured to display” in claim 8, “sensor being preconfigured”, “surveillance module configured to detect”, “hashing module configured to hash”, “communication module configured to transmit”, “communication module configured to receive”, “hashing module configured to hash”, and “communication module configured to receive the detection event information from the plurality of endpoint devices, a hashing module configured to hash the first hashes using a second salt to produce second hashes, and a storage module configured to store” in claim 11, “property gathering module configured to gather” in claim 14, “decryption module configured to decrypt” in claim 15, “search module configured to query” and “search module configured to hash” in claim 17, “consulting device having a display configured to display” in claim 18, “data encryption module configured to encrypt” in claim 19, “customer decryption module configured to: decrypt” and “consulting device is configured to: transmit” in claim 20.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Please also see the 112, 2nd paragraph, rejection below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 112 b.
“detection information configured to display” in claim 8, “sensor being preconfigured”, “surveillance module configured to detect”, “hashing module configured to hash”, “communication module configured to transmit”, “communication module configured to receive”, “hashing module configured to hash”, and “communication module configured to receive the detection event information from the plurality of endpoint devices, a hashing module configured to hash the first hashes using a second salt to produce second hashes, and a storage module configured to store” in claim 11, “property gathering module configured to gather” in claim 14, “decryption module configured to decrypt” in claim 15, “search module configured to query” and “search module configured to hash” in claim 17, “consulting device having a display configured to display” in claim 18, “data encryption module configured to encrypt” in claim 19, “customer decryption module configured to: decrypt” and “consulting device is configured to: transmit” in claim 20 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peterson et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No: 2018/00219836) hereinafter referred to as Peterson.
As per claim 1, Peterson teaches A method for tracking propagation of sensitive data, comprising: detecting (Peterson, [0051], teaches “the PIG 10 will be in communication with a policy administration system 6 to ensure proper regulation of data being transmitted.” And [0037], teaches “The Policy Administration system 6 contains data policy information as to what is considered PII”) via a plurality of sensors (Peterson, figure 1, items 10, 12 and 13 AND [0034], teaches “a Personal Information Gateway (hereinafter “PIG”) 10 that processes data before it is sent outside of the organization 1”) deployed to a plurality of devices, (Peterson, figure 1, items 10, 12 and 13) sensitive data (Peterson, figure 2) within data assets (Peterson, figure 2, “Airline Flight database record”) accessible via the plurality of devices (Peterson, figure 1, items 10<->20 and figure 1 items 22<->12 and items 23<->13);
extracting, via the plurality of sensors, (Peterson, [0034], teaches PIG is connected to … a policy administration system and [0037], teaches “Policy Administration system 6 contains data policy information as to what is considered PII”) the sensitive data from the data assets (Peterson, [0035], “the data to be transmitted is split into PII records and non-PII records. The PII records are passed from the database 20 to the PIG 10 within the first organization 1”), and hashing the sensitive data using a first salt (Peterson, [0040], teaches “once the data is cleansed within the PIG 10, in step 70 optionally the record is hashed”) to produce first hashes (Peterson, [0040], teaches “The hash may use a communal salt (random data used as addition input) or other agreed-upon salt to transform the data.”);
transmitting data detection event information comprising at least the first hashes from the plurality of sensors (Peterson, [0048], teaches “the matching nodes 15 receive the shredded and hashed data from the PIG 12 and 10”) to a backend server (Peterson, [0043], teaches “the PIG 10 will then transmit the data into one or more nodes 15 through the cloud”);
receiving the data detection event information at the backend server (Peterson, [0046], teaches “node 15 that receives data creates a unique hash salt that each inbound record is hashed against in step 95. Therefore, the previously shredded and communal hashed data is optionally hashed again to create a double hash”);
hashing the first hashes at the backend server using a second salt to produce second hashes; and (Peterson, [0046], teaches “node 15 that receives data creates a unique hash salt that each inbound record is hashed against in step 95. Therefore, the previously shredded and communal hashed data is optionally hashed again to create a double hash. The data is hashed two times—the first as the data leaves the PIG 10, 12, 13, and the second time as the data is received by a node 15”)
storing the second hashes in storage accessible via the backend server, (Peterson, figure 9 and [0046], teaches “The data is hashed two times—the first as the data leaves the PIG 10, 12, 13, and the second time as the data is received by a node 15”) each of the second hashes corresponding to a detection event and being stored in association with properties comprising at least: a timestamp corresponding to when the sensitive data was detected, (Peterson, figure 9 shows the time stamps of the detection) and an identifier of a data asset from which the sensitive data was extracted. (Peterson, figure 9, teaches token and figure 4 teaches the different tokens from different databases.)
As per claim 2, Peterson teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of gathering, via the plurality of sensors, one or more metadata selected from the list comprising: file metadata, host metadata, and match metadata; wherein the data detection event information further comprises the one or more metadata. (Peterson, figure 4)
As per claim 3, Peterson teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the one or more metadata is encrypted using a first key of an asymmetric key pair before being transmitted to the backend server. (Peterson, [0046] and [0047])
As per claim 4, Peterson teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the tracking is implemented for a plurality of customers, each of the plurality of sensors being associated with one customer of the plurality of customers, wherein hashing the sensitive data further comprises obtaining a first salt specific to the one customer. (Peterson, figure 9 and [0048], teaches “In step 120, as shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, the matching nodes compare the results field by field to determine whether a match exists and in some embodiments what the probability of the match is. Where the hash results match, the underlying PII element data will also match, and the node 15 creates a match table entry for the token ID of organizations 1, 2.”)
As per claim 5, Peterson teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the second salt is stored in a service- provider key vault accessible via the backend server, wherein hashing the first hashes at the backend server further comprises querying the service-provider key vault to obtain the second salt. (Peterson, [0047], teaches “the contributing party will encrypt or hash their data using a key or salt known only to them” and figure 1)
As per claim 6, Peterson teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, at the backend server, a search request corresponding to a specific sensitive data value and, in response thereto: responsive to the search request not comprising a first search hash, hashing the specific sensitive data value using the first salt to produce a first search hash; hashing the first search hash using the second salt to produce a second search hash; and searching for second hashes in the storage matching the second search hash. (Peterson, [0047], teaches “contributing party will encrypt or hash their data using a key or salt known only to them”, [0040], teaches “the hash may use a … agreed-upon salt” and [0046], teaches “ the first hash is not a communal hash, rather it is chosen by the contributing organization before the data exits”)
As per claim 7, Peterson teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising causing a display device to display, for a specified type of sensitive data, a plurality of elements, wherein each element comprises: one sensitive data of the specified type that was detected within at least one data asset accessible via at least one of the plurality of devices; and at least one of: a number of individuals having access to at least one of the data assets where the sensitive data was detected, a number of devices having access to at least one of the data assets where the sensitive data was detected, and a number of files where the sensitive data was detected. (Peterson, [0046], teaches “node 15 that receives data creates a unique hash salt that each inbound record is hashed against in step 95”)
As per claim 9, Peterson teaches The method of claim 7, further comprising causing the display device to display, for a specified individual, at least one of: a list of the sensitive data that was detected within data assets accessible via a device corresponding to the specified individual; and a list of files in which the sensitive data of the specified type was detected within data assets accessible via a device corresponding to the specified individual. (Peterson, [0046], teaches “node 15 that receives data creates a unique hash salt that each inbound record is hashed against in step 95”)
Claim 10 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method claim 1 and is rejected using the same rational.
Claims 11-20 teach a system that corresponds to the method claims 1-9 and are rejected using the same rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No: 2018/0219836) hereinafter referred to as Peterson in view of Lowevberg et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No: 2018/0082082) hereinafter referred to as Lowevberg.
As per claim 8, Peterson teaches The method of claim 7,
But does not teach further comprising causing the display device to display detection information, wherein the detection information is configured to display: on a first axis, a plurality of individuals; on a second axis, a plurality of timestamps; and at least one set of aggregated information relative to detection events, each displayed on the second axis next to the individual who triggered the detection event and on the first axis next to the one or more timestamps representing the moments when the detection events occurred, each of the at least one set of aggregated information comprising at least one of: a number of sensitive data that was detected within data assets accessible via a device corresponding to the individual who triggered the detection event, a number of files in which the sensitive data was detected within data assets accessible via a device corresponding to the individual who triggered the detection event, and a duration for which the sensitive data of the specified type was detected within data assets accessible via a device corresponding to the individual who triggered the detection event.
However, Lowevberg figure 4 and [0055], teaches “In step 406, a receiving device 202 of the second anonymization system 104 may receive the request from the first anonymization system 102 with the hashed identifiers and/or requested data values … second anonymization system 104 may initiate a call through the API of the hosting entity 106 to request data values corresponding to double-hashed identifiers (e.g., generated by the hashing module 210 if applicable) ”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Peterson with the method of Lowevberg.
Other Art of Record
Locher et al. (20210286885 ) teaches “At step 101, heuristics can be applied to discover sensitive data fields in a small data set stored in the database 72. As an example, data containing sensor data that are regarded as being confidential, e.g., because they are critical to the secure operation of an industrial or electric power system, can be identified as being sensitive data based on such heuristics. For further illustration, the identity, names, contact information, billing information, access timestamps, video recordings, and photos can all be used to decide whether a specific record or its associated data field in the database might contain sensitive information.”
Morgan (9910632) teaches “a tilt sensor, an orientation sensor, one or more speakers, one or more microphones, one or more ambient light sensors, one or more biometric sensors and systems (e.g., fingerprint reader, iris reader, camera, face recognition system, voice recognition system, and/or the like) to unlock the supplemental display device 502, make payments, and/or to access sensitive data (e.g., credit card information, account information, or the like)”
Oberhauser (20190222575) teaches “The PDS may store sensitive data associated with the identifiable object, such as public and/or private keys associated with the identifiable object, data collected by the identifiable object (e.g., by one or more sensors of the identifiable object)”
Conclusion
/SIMON P KANAAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407