DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending. Applicants have amended claims 5-8.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/7/2026 and 7/15/2026 are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 105979007 A) in view of Gonzalez et al. (US 2016/0301624 A1) further in view of Jackson (US 7,971,204 B2) and Nick et al. (DE 102013017510 A1 - English translation is provided by USPTO).
As to claim 1, Huang teaches cloud computing system for use in providing at least one cloud-based service associated with execution of at least one workload, the cloud computing system being for use in association with at least one network communication link (Fig. 1 is a system architecture diagram of the NFV NFV system, used in all kinds of network, such as a data center network, a carrier network or local area network … performing a virtual network function 108 and NFV monitoring and management of the infrastructure layer 130; page 10, last paragraph), the cloud computing system comprising:
compute resources comprising at least one central processing unit and memory circuitry (computer hardware 112, virtual memory 118; page 10, last paragraph, NFV device 102 may also perform a network service; page 11, 2nd paragraph and a computing resource and calculation resource of a computing node; page 14, last paragraph. Inherently, a CPU and memory are included in the computing node.);
accelerator resources comprising graphics processing unit (GPU) accelerator circuitry (acceleration source computing node … encoding/decoding or image processing; page 14, 2nd – 3rd paragraphs);
network fabric for use in communicatively coupling at least certain of the compute resources and/or accelerator resources (Virtual infrastructure manager … communicate with each other … includes computing hardware 112, storage hardware 114, acceleration hardware 115, network hardware 116, virtual network; page 11, 4th – 5th paragraphs); and
management resources for use in allocating, based at least in part upon received request data, the compute resources and the accelerator resources for use in the execution of the at least one workload (When the service time delay of high demand, the service acceleration resource scheduling policy corresponding to the service will reflect acceleration resources and computing resource requirement of the same compute nodes, namely, according to the actual need of the resource scheduling policy service to determine acceleration; page 12, 2nd paragraph);
wherein:
the at least one workload comprises at least one virtual machine workload and/or at least one container workload (application virtual machine for service; page 12, 1st- 3rd paragraphs);
the accelerator resources are configurable to comprise local GPU accelerator circuitry and remote GPU accelerator circuitry (acceleration source computing node … encoding/decoding or image processing; page 14, 2nd – 3rd paragraphs and First, resource scheduling strategy … determining the resource type of the current acceleration … local virtualization acceleration resources … if the current acceleration resource type is remote virtualization acceleration resources or remote hard acceleration resources; page 4, 3rd paragraph and page 7, last paragraph – page 8, 9th paragraph, page 12, last paragraph);
the compute resources and the remote GPU accelerator circuitry are comprised in one or more cloud computing data centers (Virtual infrastructure manager … communicate with each other … includes computing hardware 112, storage hardware 114, acceleration hardware 115, network hardware 116, virtual network; page 11, 4th – 5th paragraphs and Fig. 1 is a system architecture diagram of the NFV system, used in all kids of network, such as a data center network, a carrier network or local area network … performing a virtual network function 108 and NFV monitoring and management of the infrastructure layer 130; page 10, last paragraph);
the local GPU accelerator circuitry is comprised in at least one housing that is remote from the one or more cloud computing data centers (the current acceleration resource type is remote virtualization acceleration resources or remote hard acceleration resources; page 12, last paragraph);
the local GPU accelerator circuitry is to be communicatively coupled to the management resources via the at least one network communication link (Virtual infrastructure manager … communicate with each other … includes computing hardware 112, storage hardware 114, acceleration hardware 115, network hardware 116, virtual network; page 11, 4th – 5th paragraphs);
the management resources are configurable to obtain configuration-related data associated with the local GPU accelerator circuitry for use in management of the accelerator resources (receiving acceleration resource attribute information … configuration attribute; page 17, last paragraph and page 21, last 2 paragraphs).
Huang does not teach quality of service data and service level agreement data are used for allocating resources, and the cloud computing system is configurable to dynamically reallocate, based upon past resource utilization data, resource utilization prediction data, and machine-learning, the compute resources and/or the accelerator resources for use in the execution of the at least one workload, and the received request data is configurable to indicate that portions of the at least one workload are to be concurrently accelerated in parallel with each other.
However, Gonzalez teaches the cloud computing system is configurable to dynamically reallocate, based upon past resource utilization data, resource utilization prediction data, and machine-learning, the compute resources and/or the accelerator resources for use in the execution of the at least one workload (reallocate resources in the cloud environment in order to minimize operating cost. The allocation module reallocates the computing resources based on a least expensive set of resources capable of meeting the current resource requirements of the user device; paragraphs [0095], [0110]-[0111] and The recommendation module receives an instruction … based on predicted demand, current usage, historical models, current trends, and operating cost information … reallocate computing resources; paragraph [0096]-[0099]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Gonzalez to the system of Huang because Gonzalez teaches a method that efficiently using resources in data centers/clouds based on current and historical usage data to improve the performance of the system.
Jackson teaches allocating/reserving resources to workload/job, based at least in part on received workload/job data, quality of service data, and service level agreement (Job information is provided to the workload manager scheduler from a resource manager. Job attributes include ownership of the job, amount and type of resources required by the job, required criteria (I need this job finished in one hour), preferred criteria (I would like this job to complete in ½ hour), and a wallclock limit, indicating how long the resources are required. A job consists of one or more requirements each which requests a number of resources of a given type; col. 5, lines 35-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Jackson to the system of Huang as modified by Gonzales because Jackson teaches a method that allows resources spanning different compute resource types to be reserved based on job resource requirements and criteria, which would ensure the resources allocated to meet the criteria of requestor.
Nick teaches the received request data is configurable to indicate that portions of the at least one workload are to be concurrently accelerated in parallel with each other (“The GPCs 208 receive processing tasks to be performed by a work distribution unit in a task / work unit 207. The work distribution unit receives pointers to the processing tasks that are encoded as task metadata (TMD) and stored in the memory”; page 9, 3rd paragraph and “The context 450 includes (TMD) 452 containing information for one or more thread programs that implement one or more GPU processing tasks that can be performed in the GPU”; page 19, last paragraph – page 20, 1st paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Nick to the system of Huang as modified by Gonzales and Jackson because Nick teaches a method for executing multiple tasks concurrently, and the advantage is that a GPU can simultaneously perform different tasks with different virtual address spaces, thereby improving GPU utilization and performance in certain applications. Another advantage of the present invention is that GPU tasks with address space separation are feasible, thereby improving reliability and reducing the development effort associated with debugging (page 4, 3rd paragraph).
As to claim 2, Huang as modified by Gonzalez, Jackson and Nick teaches storage resources for use in association with the compute resources and/or the accelerator resources (see Huang: storage hardware; pages 10, last paragraph and page 11, 5th paragraph); and
the compute resource, the accelerator resources, and storage resources are comprised, at least in part, in one or more pools of resources for being dynamically allocated based upon the resource utilization data (see Huang: page 11, 4th – 5th paragraph and pages 12, 1st-2nd paragraphs) and (Gonzalez: see abstract).
As to claim 3, Huang as modified by Gonzalez, Jackson and Nick teaches wherein the cloud computing system is configurable to implement hardware attestation associated, at least in part, with the compute resources and/or the accelerator resources (see Huang: page 18, 1st paragraph and page 20, Steps S507-S508).
As to claim 4, Huang as modified by Gonzalez, Jackson and Nick teaches wherein the management resources configurable to maintain directory data comprising:
identification data to identify the remote GPU accelerator circuitry (see Huang: acceleration source computing node … encoding/decoding or image processing; page 14, 2nd – 3rd paragraphs and page 12, last paragraph); and
configuration data comprising accelerator architecture-related data associated with the remote GPU accelerator circuitry (see Huang: page 17, last paragraph - page 18, 1st paragraph and page 20, Steps S507-S508).
As to claim 5, it is the same as the system claim 1 above except this is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium claim, and therefore is rejected under the same ground of rejection.
As to claims 6-8, see rejections of claims 2-4 above, respectively.
As to claim 9, it is the same as the storage medium claim 5 above, except this is a method claim and therefore is rejected under the same ground of rejection.
As to claims 10-12, see rejections of claims 6-8 above, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iida et al. (US 5,958,071) teaches a method for controlling parallel execution of jobs. A job execution managing module includes a job control statement interpreting module for deciding by interpretation of job control statements whether jobs registered by a job registration processing module are capable of undergoing parallel execution. For the jobs susceptible to the parallel execution, the job execution managing module commands reregistration of such job to the job registration processing module.
/DIEM K CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196
DC
September 25, 2026