DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-23-2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Chae is silent about waking up the first UE in a power saving configuration indicated in the wakeup signal received by the first UE) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chae 20200053647 in view Tseng 20200107236.
As to claim 1, Chae discloses a transmission control method, performed by a first device, comprising:
determining a first resource (see par. 0126) [In D2D communication, the transmission period and transmission resource location of the wake-up signal may be signaled by the network or predetermined.]; and
receiving power saving information based on the first resource [WUS] (see par. 0126),
wherein: the power saving information is used to [Intended Use] instruct a target device to perform a target operation on a target resource in a power saving configuration and in response to receivingpower saving information, performing the target operation, wherein the target device comprises at least one of the first device or a second device, the target operation comprises wakeup, sleep, activation or deactivation, and the target resource comprises a sidelink resource (see par. 0129).
wherein the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information comprises first power saving information or second power saving information, wherein: the first power saving information corresponds to at least one first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second- type power saving configuration (see par. 0124-0126, 0129).
Chae does not disclose all the details of the power saving information. In an analogous art, Tseng discloses wherein the first power saving information is power saving information corresponding to a power saving information type 1, wherein the power saving information type 1 is used to control operations of user equipment in L1 power saving configurations corresponding to the power saving information type 1, where the L1 power saving configurations are a part or all of power saving configurations in the first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second-type power saving configuration, wherein the second power saving information is power saving information corresponding to a power saving information type 2, wherein the power saving information type 2 is used to control operations of user equipment in L2 power saving configurations corresponding to the power saving information type 2, where the L2 power saving configurations are a part or all of power saving configurations in the second-type power saving configuration [please note as claimed only one power saving information is required with one configuration] (see table 11 in the current and/or provisional). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective day of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of saving power; thereby, extending the battery life of the device.
As to claim 2, Chae discloses the transmission control method according to claim 1, wherein the power saving information comprises indication information, and the indication information is used to indicate the target operation (see par. 0126).
As to claim 4, Chae discloses the transmission control method according to claim 1, wherein:
the power saving information is used to indicate a transmission direction of at least one of the first device or the second device [From network] (see par. 0126),
the power saving information is used to indicate at least one of the following: at least one resource set associated with a target object (see par. 0129); or at least one resource set that needs to be switched to, wherein the resource set comprises a preset resource pool (see par. 0128), a preset bandwidth part, or a preset carrier, the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information further comprises third power saving information, wherein the third power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration in target power saving configurations, and the target power saving configurations comprise the first-type power saving configuration and the second-type power saving configuration.
As to claim 5, Chae discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein power saving information corresponding to power saving configurations of different types meets at least one of the following: types of the power saving information are different; resources of the power saving information are different; manners of determining the resources of the power saving information are different; or sequences, channels, signals, or signaling of the resources of the power saving information are different [The network may configure some parameters of the wake-up signal, for example, the resource location, period, property, etc., and the UE may determine the remaining parameters.] (see par. 0129).
As to claim 13, Chae discloses a transmission control method, performed by a third device, comprising: determining a first resource (see par. 0126) [In D2D communication, the transmission period and transmission resource location of the wake-up signal may be signaled by the network or predetermined.]; and sending power saving information based on the first resource [WUS] (see par. 0126), wherein: the power saving information is used to instruct a target device to perform a target operation on a target resource in a power saving configuration, wherein: the target device comprises at least one of a first device or a second device, the target operation comprises wakeup, sleep, activation or deactivation, the target resource comprises a sidelink resource, and the first device is a device that receives the power saving information, and performs the target operation in response to receiving power saving information, wherein the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information comprises first power saving information or second power saving information, wherein: the first power saving information corresponds to at least one first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second- type power saving configuration (see par. 0124-0126, 0129). Chae does not disclose all the details of the power saving information. In an analogous art, Tseng discloses wherein the first power saving information is power saving information corresponding to a power saving information type 1, wherein the power saving information type 1 is used to control operations of user equipment in L1 power saving configurations corresponding to the power saving information type 1, where the L1 power saving configurations are a part or all of power saving configurations in the first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second-type power saving configuration, wherein the second power saving information is power saving information corresponding to a power saving information type 2, wherein the power saving information type 2 is used to control operations of user equipment in L2 power saving configurations corresponding to the power saving information type 2, where the L2 power saving configurations are a part or all of power saving configurations in the second-type power saving configuration [please note as claimed only one power saving information is required with one configuration] (see table 11 in the current and/or provisional). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective day of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of saving power; thereby, extending the battery life of the device.
As to claim 15, Chae discloses the transmission control method according to claim 13, wherein: the power saving information is used to indicate a transmission direction of at least one of the first device and the second device [From network] (see par. 0126), the power saving information is used to indicate at least one of the following: at least one resource set associated with the target object (see par. 0129); or at least one resource set that needs to be switched to, wherein the resource set comprises a preset resource pool (see par. 0128), a preset bandwidth part, or a preset carrier, or the power saving information further comprises third power saving information, wherein, the third power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration in target power saving configurations, and the target power saving configurations comprise the first-type power saving configuration and the second-type power saving configuration, wherein power saving information corresponding to power saving configurations of different types meets at least one of the following: types of the power saving information are different; resources of the power saving information are different; manners of determining the resources of the power saving information are different; or sequences, channels, signals, or signaling of the resources of the power saving information is different [The network may configure some parameters of the wake-up signal, for example, the resource location, period, property, etc., and the UE may determine the remaining parameters.] (see par. 0129).
Regarding claims 19-20, they are the corresponding device claims of method claims 1 and 13. Therefore, claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647