DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1-27-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “the network or the UE of Chae only configures information for transmitting the wake-up signal (e.g., transmission resource location, transmission sequence). In rejecting previously presented claim 4, the Office does not allege Chae discloses, and indeed Chae is silent about different wake-up signals respectively corresponding to different types of power saving configuration, and a wake-up signal waking up the receiving UE or the receiving UE group in the corresponding power saving configuration. Thus, Chae does not disclose, at least, that "the power saving information is used to instruct a target device to perform a target operation on a target resource in a power saving configuration, ... wherein the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information comprises first power saving information or second power saving information, wherein: the first power saving information corresponds to at least one first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second-type power saving configuration," as recited in previously presented claim 4, and now required by proposed claim 1.”
Please note, that previous claim 4 only required to select one from the list. Moreover, the limitation is directed to intended use not to an actual step performed by the device. Although the claim recite: “wherein the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information comprises first power saving information or second power saving information, wherein: the first power saving information corresponds to at least one first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second-type power saving configuration” the limitation does not recite anything that could be differentiable from the prior art. At best, there is a suggestion that there could be more than one configuration, with no clear difference between them, but only one is needed.
As previously disclosed, the claims only require two steps: first, determining a first resource and second, receiving power saving information based on the first resource. The rest are details and intended use about the information, but it does not require to do anything with the received information. A FM radio is no different when it is receiving a soft rock song versus a hard rock song, the received information by itself does not distinguish the device nor the method from the prior art. The examiner recommends to advance the prosecution of the present application that the claims should focus on what the device is doing with the information, rather than details of the information that is intended use or language that suggest but does not require. Please see MPEP 2111.02 II.
The rejection of record stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chae 2020053647.
As to claim 1, Chae discloses a transmission control method, performed by a first device, comprising:
determining a first resource (see par. 0126) [In D2D communication, the transmission period and transmission resource location of the wake-up signal may be signaled by the network or predetermined.]; and
receiving power saving information based on the first resource [WUS] (see par. 0126),
wherein: the power saving information is used to [Intended Use] instruct a target device to perform a target operation on a target resource in a power saving configuration, wherein the target device comprises at least one of the first device or a second device, the target operation comprises wakeup, sleep, activation or deactivation, and the target resource comprises a sidelink resource (see par. 0129).
wherein the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information comprises first power saving information or second power saving information, wherein: the first power saving information corresponds to at least one first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second- type power saving configuration (see par. 0124-0126, 0129).
As to claim 2, Chae discloses the transmission control method according to claim 1, wherein the power saving information comprises indication information, and the indication information is used to indicate the target operation (see par. 0126).
As to claim 4, Chae discloses the transmission control method according to claim 1, wherein:
the power saving information is used to indicate a transmission direction of at least one of the first device or the second device [From network] (see par. 0126),
the power saving information is used to indicate at least one of the following: at least one resource set associated with a target object (see par. 0129); or at least one resource set that needs to be switched to, wherein the resource set comprises a preset resource pool (see par. 0128), a preset bandwidth part, or a preset carrier, the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information further comprises third power saving information, wherein the third power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration in target power saving configurations, and the target power saving configurations comprise the first-type power saving configuration and the second-type power saving configuration.
As to claim 5, Chae discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein power saving information corresponding to power saving configurations of different types meets at least one of the following: types of the power saving information are different; resources of the power saving information are different; manners of determining the resources of the power saving information are different; or sequences, channels, signals, or signaling of the resources of the power saving information are different [The network may configure some parameters of the wake-up signal, for example, the resource location, period, property, etc., and the UE may determine the remaining parameters.] (see par. 0129).
As to claim 13, Chae discloses a transmission control method, performed by a third device, comprising: determining a first resource (see par. 0126) [In D2D communication, the transmission period and transmission resource location of the wake-up signal may be signaled by the network or predetermined.]; and sending power saving information based on the first resource [WUS] (see par. 0126), wherein: the power saving information is used to instruct a target device to perform a target operation on a target resource in a power saving configuration, wherein: the target device comprises at least one of the first device or a second device, the target operation comprises wakeup, sleep, activation or deactivation, the target resource comprises a sidelink resource, and the first device is a device that receives the power saving information, wherein the power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration, wherein the power saving information comprises first power saving information or second power saving information, wherein: the first power saving information corresponds to at least one first-type power saving configuration, and the second power saving information corresponds to at least one second- type power saving configuration (see par. 0124-0126, 0129).
As to claim 15, Chae discloses the transmission control method according to claim 13, wherein: the power saving information is used to indicate a transmission direction of at least one of the first device and the second device [From network] (see par. 0126), the power saving information is used to indicate at least one of the following: at least one resource set associated with the target object (see par. 0129); or at least one resource set that needs to be switched to, wherein the resource set comprises a preset resource pool (see par. 0128), a preset bandwidth part, or a preset carrier, or the power saving information further comprises third power saving information, wherein, the third power saving information corresponds to at least one power saving configuration in target power saving configurations, and the target power saving configurations comprise the first-type power saving configuration and the second-type power saving configuration, wherein power saving information corresponding to power saving configurations of different types meets at least one of the following: types of the power saving information are different; resources of the power saving information are different; manners of determining the resources of the power saving information are different; or sequences, channels, signals, or signaling of the resources of the power saving information is different [The network may configure some parameters of the wake-up signal, for example, the resource location, period, property, etc., and the UE may determine the remaining parameters.] (see par. 0129).
Regarding claims 19-20, they are the corresponding device claims of method claims 1 and 13. Therefore, claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647