DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1 and 8-10 in the reply filed on 09/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is directed towards the glass ceramic according to claim 1, wherein a proportion of LAS-based crystal in the crystal contained in the glass ceramic is 30% to 70% by mass.
The closest prior art is Yu (US20220048810, hereinafter referred to as Yu). Yu is directed towards a glass ceramic (See Yu at the Abstract). However, per instant claim 1, Yu does not disclose a glass ceramic which meets the limitations of claim 1 and which discloses or makes obvious a proportion of LAS-based crystal in the crystal contained in the glass ceramic is 30% to 70% by mass (see Yu at [0037], disclosing the petalite … accounts for not more than 15% of the glass ceramic by weight %.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US20220048810, hereinafter referred to as Yu).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a glass ceramic having a lithium aluminosilicate composition and comprising a crystal and a residual glass (See Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass ceramic comprising a crystal phase of LiAlS4O10, which Examiner notes is a lithium aluminosilicate composition), wherein the residual glass has a composition comprising, in terms of mol% based on oxides: 25% to 70% of SiO2 (see Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 64 wt.% SiO2, which corresponds to approximately 63 mol% SiO2); 3% to 35% of Al2O3 (see Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 7.5 wt.% Al2O3, which corresponds to approximately 4 mol% Al2O3); 0.1% to 20% of Li2O (see Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 8.8 wt.% Li2O, which corresponds to approximately 17 mol% Li2O); 0.1% to 20% of Na2O (see Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 7.8 wt.% Na2O, which corresponds to approximately 7 mol% Na2O); 0% to 10% of K2O (see Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 5 wt.% K2O, which corresponds to approximately 3 mol% K2O); and 1% to 15% of ZrO2 (see Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 2 wt.% ZrO2, which corresponds to approximately 1 mol% ZrO2), and a parameter V is -600 or more and 720 or less, the parameter V being calculated based on the following formula by using contents [SiO2], [Al2O3], [P2O5], [MgO], [CaO], [SrO], [Li2O], [Na2O], [K2O], [TiO2], and [ZrO2] of respective components of SiO2, Al2O3, P2O5, MgO, CaO, SrO, Li2O, Na2O, K2O, TiO2, and ZrO2 in terms of mol% based on oxides in the residual glass:
(See Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising the components disclosed above, which corresponds to a V value of approximately 663.)
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses further comprising at least one LAS-based crystal selected from a β-spodumene crystal, a petalite crystal, and a eucryptite crystal (See Yu at Table 5, Example 42, disclosing an example of a glass comprising a crystal phase of LiAlSi4O10, which Examiner notes corresponds to petalite).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Click et al. (US20210238083, hereinafter referred to as Click).
Regarding claim 9, while Yu is directed towards a glass ceramic applicable to portable electronic devices (see Yu at the Abstract), Yu does not disclose a crystallization rate is 50% to 90% because Yu is silent as to the crystallization rate. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the arts would naturally look to the prior art to determine an appropriate crystallization rate.
Click is directed towards a glass ceramic article including a lithium disilicate crystalline phase (see Click at the Abstract). Click is directed towards glass for portable electronic devices (See Click at [0003]). Click teaches an undesirable amount of residual glass, which can lead to deformation during crystallization and undesirable microstructures from a mechanical property perspective (See Click at [0369]). Click discloses a residual glass content of about 5 to about 30 wt % (see Click at [0420]). Examiner notes this corresponds to a crystallization rate of 70-95%, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when practicing the glass ceramic for portable electronic devices of Yu to select a crystallization rate within the overlapping claimed range as disclosed by Click with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing a glass ceramic for portable electronic devices without undesirable microstructures from a mechanical properties perspective as taught by Click.
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731