DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species of Fig. 2, claims 1-7 and 18-24, in the reply filed on 8/27/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/27/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: #212. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0038] recites the elastomeric material may be “EPDM”, “TPE”, “TPR”, “TPS” or “SEBS” but does not state what these abbreviations stand for. Thus, the Specification should be corrected to clarify what they stand for. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitations “TPE”, “TPR” and “TPS” in claim 18 are deemed indefinite because it is unclear what they stand for. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 recites “wherein the hinge is defined by a minimal thickness of the seal lip less than a nominal thickness of a remainder of the seal lip” which is the same limitation as recited in claim 5 from which it depends from. Thus, claim 6 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 5. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 7 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), since it depends from rejected claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 18-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sultan et al. (US 2006/0082189) [hereinafter Sultan].
With regard to claim 1, Sultan discloses a seal lip assembly having improved sealing force properties (Figs. 3-6), the seal lip assembly comprising a base (42), and a seal lip (80) having a proximal, first end (82) connected to the base and a distal, second end (84) extending outwardly from the base, and a hinge (86) provided in the seal lip between the first and second ends allow the second end to angularly rotate relative to the base (Fig. 6; paragraph [0022]), wherein the base and seal lip are made from a single elastomeric material (paragraphs [0021-0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Sultan discloses the seal lip having a durometer ranging from approximately 75-100 Shore A, which overlaps with the claimed range from approximately 55-80 Shore A (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Sultan discloses the seal lip (Figs. 3-5, lip 80) having a lip thickness that is substantially constant between the hinge (86) and the second end (84).
Regarding claims 5-6, Sultan discloses the hinge (86) being defined by a minimal thickness of the seal lip less than a nominal thickness of a remainder of the seal lip (Figs. 3-5, lip 80).
Regarding claim 18, Sultan discloses the elastomeric material of the seal lip being either EPDM or TPV (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claims 19-20, Sultan discloses the seal lip being part of an automotive seal, which is one of a close-out seal, water management seal, margin seal or door gap seal (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 24, Sultan discloses the hinge having a radius at a bottom thereof (Figs. 3-5, hinge 86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultan, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Hiroe et al. (US 2019/0084209) [hereinafter Hiroe].
Sultan discloses the seal lip assembly as claimed above, but fails to teach the elastomeric material being foamed by a chemical blowing agent wherein the chemical blowing agent is one of azodicarbonamide, sulfonyl hydrazide or sodium bicarbonate, or being foamed by a mechanical blowing agent which includes solvent filled microcapsules.
Hiroe teaches a vehicle weather seal made from an elastomeric material wherein the elastomeric material is foamed by a chemical blowing agent wherein the chemical blowing agent is one of azodicarbonamide, sulfonyl hydrazide or sodium bicarbonate, or foamed by a mechanical blowing agent which includes solvent filled microspheres for the purpose of forming a softer and more flexible elastomeric material (paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastomeric material in Sultan to include a chemical blowing agent wherein the chemical blowing agent is one of azodicarbonamide, sulfonyl hydrazide or sodium bicarbonate, or include a mechanical blowing agent which includes solvent filled microspheres as suggested by Hiroe in order to form a softer and more flexible elastomeric material, if so desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781