DETAILED ACTION
Non-final Rejection
Claims Status
Claims 1-29 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
working element in claims 1, 4, 7, 8 interpreted as “finger cups” as described in the specification (pg. 8, lines 19-20).
biasing means of claims 1, 6, 9 interpreted as “flexible elastic rods” as described in the specification (pg. 8, lines 21-22)
sensing means of claim 1 interpreted in view of page 8 and 9 in the specification where one embodiment shown in Fig. 4 appears to be mechanical linkages from the working elements to indicators that show the user movement. A second embodiment refers to electromechanical sensors to measure displacement for each finger and thumb.
Indicator means in claim 1 interpreted in two ways. With regards to the first embodiment shown in Figures 1-4, the "indicator element" is interpreted as "first and second indicator elements (19) (page 8, line 31) as shown in Figure 4 which is further described as "a fixed feedback rod (18) solidly attached to the fingers top block and extends towards the finger side such that its free end is visible to the user. A system of pointers (19) attached to the mobile feedback rods via joints (20) and slide along the fixed feedback rods SO that the user perceives the fingers movements as movements of the pointers relative to each other" on page 8, lines 8-12 of the specification. With regards to the second embodiment shown in Figure 5, the "indicator element" is interpreted as the display shown on the second side of the barrier (12) shown in Figure 5 of the drawings and described in page 14, lines 4-9 of the specification.
Finger tracking element in claim 16 which was interpreted as finger cups mentioned earlier.
Thumb tracking element in claim 17 which was interpreted as finger cups as well on pg. 8, lines 19-20.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: insert “of” after “movement in line 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 15, 16, 19, 20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lindberg et al. (US 2019/0380625) as evidenced by Sensix (EP2659835 + Google Patent’s translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lindberg et al. disclose a sensorimotor rehabilitation feedback system comprising:
a base frame;
[AltContent: arrow]
a working element configured to be coupled to a body appendage of a user, said working element being movable relative to said base frame (the top of the pistons that come in contact with the fingers);
[AltContent: arrow]
a biasing means operatively coupled to said working element, said biasing means being configured to provide a resistance force when said working element is moved by the body appendage (the pistons are spring loaded as shown in Fig. 2 of the EP reference, the springs providing resistance force and are coupled via some intermediate structures to the working element);
a sensing means configured to detect movement said working element ([0052] notes that each piston is connected to a sensor for measuring force-torque and displacement); and
an indicator means operatively coupled to said sensing means, said indicator means being configured to provide, to the user, an indirect indication of movement of said working element by the body appendage ([0052] states that a device described in EP2659835B1 was used for the evaluation; a copy and Google Patent translation of the EP document is included; highlighted portions of the translation indicates that displacement can be measured and outputted to a computer for providing the necessary information, thus the computer display is the indicator means).
Regarding claim 4, Lindberg et al. disclose the system further comprising at least one additional working element, such that said system comprises a plurality of working elements, each working element being configured to be coupled to a respective body appendage of the user (Fig. 1 shows four working elements, one for each finger).
Regarding claim 5, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said system is configured to permit multiaxial positioning of the body appendage (in Fig. 1, the fingers approach the top of the pistons at a particular angle; however, the user is free to use any approach angle for the finger tips relative to the top of the pistons which would result in multiaxial positioning of the body appendage).
Regarding claim 6, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said biasing means is adjustable between a plurality of resistance settings, each resistance setting corresponding to a different resistance force ( the highlighted portions of the Google translation indicate that the piston can be operated in an isometric measurement (piston is locked to prevent movement and only measures force) or non-isometric measurement (piston unlocked allowing vertical motion while collecting kinematic and kinetic data; different resistance forces would result).
Regarding claim 8, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said biasing means is configured such that each working element is capable of being biased independently of the other working elements (as noted in the claim 6 rejection, each piston/biasing means can be locked for isometric measurements or unlocked for non-isometric evaluation; each can be adjusted individually via a screw 8 on top of the piston as shown in the EP reference).
Regarding claim 9, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said biasing means is configured such that different biasing forces can be independently applied to said plurality of working elements (this follows using the same argument above in claim 8 where some pistons may be set for isometric and some non-isometric which could result in the user having to apply different forces to each).
Regarding claim 10, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said sensing means comprises a plurality of sensors, each sensor being operatively coupled to a respective working element (under each piston is a sensor element 10, highlighted portions of Google translation).
Regarding claim 11, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said indicator means is configured to display, to the user, in response to detection of motion of at least one working element by said plurality of sensors, feedback indicative of displacement of at least one of said plurality of working elements (as noted in the claim 1 rejection, all sensor data can be provided to a user via the analysis computer).
Regarding claim 15, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said sensing means comprises an electromechanical sensor (see [0094] reference to strain gauge sensor).
Regarding claim 16, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said working element is a finger tracking element arranged to be coupled to a finger of the user (see Fig. 1 and the Fig. 4 of the EP reference; the concave surface of the top of the piston allows for coupling to the finger tip).
Regarding claim 19, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said biasing means comprises a deformable member (see Fig. 2 of the EP reference which show a spring that was previously identified as part of the biasing means).
Regarding claim 20, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein a portion of said deformable member is fixed and prevented from bending (the spring can be compressed within the piston shown in Fig. 2 of the EP reference but is prevent from bending by the internal walls of the piston).
Regarding claim 22, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said indicator means is configured such that a presence of movement of said working element is indicated to the user (any movement measured by the sensors can be displayed by the computer).
Regarding claim 23, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said indicator means is configured such that a magnitude of movement of said working element is indicated to the user (the computer can output at least kinetic and kinematic data or force and displacement data as measured by the sensors).
Regarding claim 24, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said indicator means is configured to provide visual feedback to the user (the computer can output data to a display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindberg et al. (US 2019/0380625) as evidenced by Sensix (EP2659835 + Google Patent’s translation).
Regarding claim 2, Lindberg et al. do not disclose the system further comprising a visual barrier configured to prevent direct visual sight of the body appendage by the user when the body appendage is coupled to said working element. However, blocking the view of the hand during rehabilitation testing of fingers helps to isolate and assess the patient's proprioception (the body's internal sense of position and movement) and feedforward motor control, without relying on external visual cues. In this case, Lindberg et al. teach an alternative to a physical barrier. Lindberg tests proprioception using this device by asking the patient to close their eyes (see end of [0093]). Using a barrier to block the view of the hand/device would amount to an obvious design choice. At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a barrier to block the user’s sight because Applicant has not disclosed that using the visual barrier provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected that using Lindberg’s method of closing the eyes, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either set up because both would perform the same function of preventing a user from seeing their fingers.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Lindberg et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Lindberg.
Regarding claim 3, Lindberg et al. disclose wherein said working element is adjustable to accommodate coupling to a range of sizes of the body appendage (the working element identified above is where the finger touches the top of the pistons; the EP reference shows a closeup of where the finger contacts the top of the piston; Lindberg’s design shows a large concave piston head at the top; because it is large and concave, it can adjust to any finger size from large to small).
Claim 29 is the method performed by the device of claims 1 and 2 and is therefore rejected using a combination of the same arguments above for claims 1 and 2.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindberg et al. (US 2019/0380625) as evidenced by Sensix (EP2659835 + Google Patent’s translation) in view of Wilkinson et al. (US 2020/0179212). Lindberg et al. do not disclose wherein said indicator means is configured to provide auditory feedback to the user. However, the use of audio feedback was known in the arts. Wilkinson et al. teach a rehabilitative device (See Abstract and Fig. 2). Wilkinson et al. teach that the device can provide the user feedback in the form of visuals or audible feedback (see end of [0211]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lindberg et al. to include audible feedback as option for the user as taught by Wilkinson et al. because it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 12-14, 17, 18, 21, 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 7, 12-14, 17, 18, 21, 26-28 are objected to while claims 1-3, 4-6, 8-11, 15, 16, 19, 20 and 22-25, and 29 are rejected.
/THO Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791