DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/15/2023 and 09/24/2024 are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machine Translation of WO 2019/029069 A1, hereinafter 069’ in view of Kim et al. (US 7,026,790), hereinafter Kim.
As to claim 1, 069’ discloses in figures 1-5 (figure 5 is produced below, a battery protection circuit [IC chip 10; see page 6 and figure 4 ], comprising:
a power supply terminal [VDD terminal; see above], a power ground terminal [GND, see above],
an overcharge voltage protection sub-circuit [the overcharge voltage monitoring module (401); see page 9], an over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit [over discharge voltage monitoring module (102)] a discharge over-current protection sub-circuit [element 302; see page 7], reference voltage generation sub-circuit [circuit X generates reference source X that provides a reference voltage signal; see Page 7], a frequency generation sub-circuit [circuit (100) provides frequency; see page 13],
a controller [logic controller (20) provides; see figure above and page 6] controller 20] and a first switch sub-circuit [switch circuit (60); see page 6]; wherein the power supply terminal and power ground terminal are respectively configured to be electrically connected to a battery [the battery (0) see figure 5 connected to the power and ground terminals], the controller is respectively connected to the overcharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the discharge over-current protection sub-circuit, the frequency generation sub-circuit and the first switch sub-circuit, the battery protection circuit is configured to provide an overcharge protection, an over-discharge protection, and an over-current protection for the battery, the first switch sub-circuit is configured to control the battery to supply power to a system circuit [all the components are electrically connected as shown figure above, and also controls the battery from overcharge, over-discharge, and over current; see page 6]
069’ does not disclose explicitly, wherein the battery protection circuit further comprises a shipping input terminal, the battery protection circuit is configured to enter a shipping mode when a first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, and at least one sub-circuit of the battery protection circuit is powered off in the shipping mode; and wherein the first switch sub-circuit is switched off in the shipping mode, to enable the battery to stop supplying power to the system circuit.
Kim discloses in figures 3 and 4, wherein the battery protection circuit [protection circuit 330] further comprises a shipping input terminal [terminal which receives push signals (331) can be considered as a terminal], the battery protection circuit is configured to enter a shipping mode when a first signal is received at the shipping input terminal [when the push switch is pushed by the user first signal is received and the transistor switch will be turned off in order to disconnect the battery from the circuit before shipping; see Col. 3, lines 19-37], and at least one sub-circuit of the battery protection circuit is powered off in the shipping mode [see Col.. 3, lines 19-37]; and wherein the first switch sub-circuit is switched off in the shipping mode, to enable the battery to stop supplying power to the system circuit [see Col. 3. Lines 19-42].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add push switch in 069’ apparatus as taught by Kim in order to prevent battery deterioration and avoid physical/chemical abnormalities of the battery.
As to claim 2, 069’ in combination with Kim discloses, wherein the battery protection circuit [protection circuit] further comprises a wake-up sub-circuit [switch (312)], the wake-up sub-circuit is powered on in the shipping mode, and the wake-up sub-circuit is configured to enable the battery protection circuit to exit the shipping mode [when charger is connected the battery pack exits the shipping mode and the enable path (312) energizes , which is equivalent with a wake-up signal; see Col. 3, lines 29-35].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add push switch in 069’ apparatus as taught by Kim in order to avoid battery leakage.
As to claim 3, Kim discloses in figures 3-4, wherein the battery protection circuit is triggered to generate a shipping control signal to enter the shipping mode when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal [when the push switch is pushed by the user first signal is received and the transistor switch will be turned off in order to disconnect the battery from the circuit before shipping; see Col. 3, lines 19-37].
As to claim 8, Kim discloses in figures 3-4, wherein the battery protection circuit further comprises a wake-up sub-circuit [switch 312], and the wake-up sub-circuit is the charge detection sub-circuit [when charger is connected the battery pack exits the shipping mode and the enable path (312) energizes , which is equivalent with a wake-up signal; see Col. 3, lines 29-35].
As to claim 9, Kim discloses in figures 3-4, wherein the battery protection circuit is enabled to exit the shipping mode when a charging signal is detected by the charge detection sub-circuit [when charger is connected the battery pack exits the shipping mode and the enable path (312) energizes , which is equivalent with a wake-up signal; see Col. 3, lines 29-35].
As to claim 12, 069’ discloses in figures 1-5, wherein the first switch sub-circuit comprises a MOS transistor [FET switches]; an over-discharge protection signal is generated by the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit to trigger the over-discharge protection for the battery protection circuit, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, to enable the battery protection circuit to enter the shipping mode, and the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode [see page 6, the over -discharge protection, the over-current protection, over-current discharge protection]; or alternatively, the over-discharge protection signal is generated by the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, and the over-discharge protection for the battery protection circuit is triggered by the controller, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal and a duration of the first signal is greater than or equal to a third predetermined time period, to enable the battery protection circuit to enter the shipping mode, and the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode.
As to claim 14, Kim discloses in figures 3-4, a battery [battery (33)] and the battery protection circuit of claim 1 [protection circuit (313)] , wherein the power supply terminal and the power ground terminal of the battery protection circuit are electrically connected to the battery, respectively [Vin and ground terminals are connected to the battery and also PCM (313) are electrically connected] .
As to claim 16, 069’ discloses in figures 11-13, electronic device [see page 11], comprising :the battery pack of claim 14; and a system circuit [the load circuit], wherein the battery is controlled to supply power to the system circuit via the battery protection circuit [battery power flows to the load via the protection circuit; see page 1 and 14].
As to claim 19, 069 discloses in figures 1-5. wherein an over-discharge protection signal is generated by the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit to trigger the over-discharge protection for the battery protection circuit [see page 6, the over -discharge protection, the over-current protection, over-current discharge protection]; or alternatively, the over-discharge protection signal is generated by the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, and the over-discharge protection for the battery protection circuit is triggered by the controller, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal and a duration of the first signal is greater than or equal to a third predetermined time period, to enable the battery protection circuit to enter the shipping mode, and the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode.
069’ does not disclose explicitly, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, to enable the battery protection circuit to enter the shipping mode, and the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode [it is implicit that the discharging protection sub-circuit is activated when the battery is in shipping mode to protect deep discharge];
Kim discloses in figures 3-4, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal [the button switch terminal receives push signal from the user], to enable the battery protection circuit to enter the shipping mode, and the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode [when the push switch is pushed by the user first signal is received and the transistor switch will be turned off in order to disconnect the battery from the circuit before shipping; see Col. 3, lines 19-37].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add push switch in 069’ apparatus as taught by Kim in order to prevent battery deterioration and avoid physical/chemical abnormalities of the battery.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 069’ in view of 0LIm, and further in view of Rich et al. (US 2013/0176104A), hereinafter Rich.
As to claim 4, neither 069’ nor Kim discloses, wherein the first signal is a coded signal based on a protocol between the battery protection circuit and the system circuit.
Rich discloses in figures 1-8, wherein the first signal is a coded signal based on a protocol between the battery protection circuit and the system circuit [see ¶0060; digital signal is transmitted to battery protection IC].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use digital signals in 069’s apparatus as taught by Rich in order to transmit reliable control signal to the protection IC.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 069’ in view of Kim, and in view of EP 2,360,806 A2, hereinafter 806’.
As to claim 15, neither 069’ nor Kim discloses, wherein the battery has a capacity in a range from 10 mAH to 80 mAH.
806’ discloses in figure 1, wherein the battery has a capacity in a range from 10 mAH to 80 mAH [see ¶0069; 10mAH battery capacity is disclosed].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use battery with a different capacity such as 10mAH as taught by 806’ in 069’ apparatus in order to provide battery with enough energy or capacity level based on user or device requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10-11, 13, 17-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 recites, inter alia, wherein the first signal comprises a pulse signal, the battery protection circuit further comprises a pulse counting sub-circuit, the pulse counting sub-circuit is in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, and a generation of the shipping control signal is triggered when a number of pulses received by the pulse counting sub-circuit within a first predetermined time period is greater than or equal to a first predetermined number. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Claim 6 recites, inter alia, wherein the first signal comprises a continuous high-level signal or a continuous low-level signal, the battery protection circuit further comprises a first timing sub-circuit, the first timing sub-circuit is in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, and a generation of the shipping control signal is triggered when a duration of the high-level signal or the low-level signal received by the first timing sub-circuit is greater than or equal to a second predetermined time period. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Claim 7 recites, inter alia, wherein the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit is further in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit comprises a comparator and a second timing sub-circuit, an output of the comparator is in electrical connection with the second timing sub-circuit, the first signal is a continuous high-level signal or a continuous low-level signal, the battery protection circuit further comprises a second switch sub-circuit and a first resistor, a control end of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, an input of the second switch sub-circuit is grounded, an output of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with one end of the first resistor, and another end of the first resistor is connected to a high level, the output of the second switch sub-circuit is further electrically connected to an inverting terminal of the comparator of the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the inverting terminal of the comparator is further electrically connected with an output voltage detection point of the battery, a non-inverting terminal of the comparator is connected with a reference voltage, an output of the comparator is in electrical connection with a second timing sub-circuit, the second switch sub-circuit is switched on, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, a voltage at the non-inverting terminal of the comparator is greater than a voltage at the inverting terminal, a high level is output from the comparator, and when a duration of the high level received by the second timing sub-circuit is greater than or equal to a third predetermined time period, a generation of the shipping control signal is triggered. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Claim 10 recites, inter alia, wherein at least one or all of the overcharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the discharge over-current protection sub-circuit, the controller, the reference voltage generation sub-circuit and the frequency generation sub-circuit are powered off in the shipping mode; the battery protection circuit further comprises a second switch sub-circuit and a first resistor, a control end of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, an output of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with one end of the first resistor, another end of the first resistor is connected to a high level, the second switch sub-circuit is switched on, when a first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, the output of the second switch sub-circuit is at a low level, the battery protection circuit performs the over-discharge protection so as to be enable to enter the shipping mode, the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Claim 13 recites, inter alia, wherein the battery protection circuit is fabricated on a same chip, or alternatively, all sub-circuits of the battery protection circuit except for the first switch sub-circuit are fabricated on the same chip, the shipping input terminal is a shipping input pin, the power supply terminal is a power supply pin, and the power ground terminal is a power ground pin; the battery protection circuit is triggered to generate a shipping control signal to enter the shipping mode when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, the shipping control signal is output to the overcharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the discharge over-current protection sub-circuit, the reference voltage generation sub-circuit, the frequency generation sub-circuit and the controller, to block these sub-circuits from being powered. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation
Claim 17 recites, inter alia, wherein the battery protection circuit is triggered to generate a shipping control signal to enter the shipping mode when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit is further in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit comprises a comparator and a second timing sub-circuit, an output of the comparator is in electrical connection with the second timing sub-circuit, the first signal is a continuous high-level signal or a continuous low-level signal, the battery protection circuit further comprises a second switch sub-circuit and a first resistor, a control end of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, an input of the second switch sub-circuit is grounded, an output of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with one end of the first resistor, and another end of the first resistor is connected to a high level, the output of the second switch sub-circuit is further electrically connected to an inverting terminal of the comparator of the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the inverting terminal of the comparator is further electrically connected with an output voltage detection point of the battery, a non-inverting terminal of the comparator is connected with a reference voltage, an output of the comparator is in electrical connection with a second timing sub-circuit, the second switch sub-circuit is switched on, when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, a voltage at the non-inverting terminal of the comparator is greater than a voltage at the inverting terminal, a high level is output from the comparator, and when a duration of the high level received by the second timing sub-circuit is greater than or equal to a third predetermined time period, a generation of the shipping control signal is triggered. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Claim 18 recites, inter alia, wherein at least one or all of the overcharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the discharge over-current protection sub-circuit, the controller, the reference voltage generation sub-circuit and the frequency generation sub-circuit are powered off in the shipping mode; the battery protection circuit further comprises a second switch sub-circuit and a first resistor, a control end of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with the shipping input terminal, an output of the second switch sub-circuit is in electrical connection with one end of the first resistor, another end of the first resistor is connected to a high level, the second switch sub-circuit is switched on, when a first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, the output of the second switch sub-circuit is at a low level, the battery protection circuit performs the over-discharge protection so as to be enable to enter the shipping mode, the first switch sub-circuit is remained at a switched-off state in the shipping mode. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Claim 20 recites, inter alia, wherein the battery protection circuit is fabricated on a same chip, or alternatively, all sub-circuits of the battery protection circuit except for the first switch sub-circuit are fabricated on the same chip, the shipping input terminal is a shipping input pin, the power supply terminal is a power supply pin, and the power ground terminal is a power ground pin; and the battery protection circuit is triggered to generate a shipping control signal to enter the shipping mode when the first signal is received at the shipping input terminal, the shipping control signal is output to the overcharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the over-discharge voltage protection sub-circuit, the discharge over-current protection sub-circuit, the reference voltage generation sub-circuit, the frequency generation sub-circuit and the controller, to block these sub-circuits from being powered. The above limitation is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the art of record, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the art of record to meet the above limitation.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859