DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-5 are amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-5 have been considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi et al. (JP2005255225A) hereinafter "Satoshi" in view of Kushida et al. (US 20230275221 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Satoshi teaches a storage case ([0007] packaging; [0024]) of an electrode roll of a secondary battery ([0008]; [0013]-[0020] the electrode plate is used in a secondary battery; [0003]; [0011]) having a hollow core ([0007]; [0020] tube shaped core) and an electrode body wound around the core ([0013]-[0020] electrode plate wound around a core), the storage case comprising: a case that covers the electrode roll, wherein the storage case has a structure in which a space in which the electrode body is housed is sealed by the case and protrusions of the core, the protrusions protruding in an axial direction of the core from end surfaces of the electrode body at both ends of the core ([0007]; [0008] “the opening is heat-sealed to form a cuff so that only the metal winding core can pass through”; the metal winding core 31 protrudes in an axial direction and the case 19 is sealed around the core protrusions sealing the space in which the electrode plate roll 2 resides; [0010]; Fig. 4 annotated below).
Satoshi teaches an electrode plate roll case ([0006]). Satoshi teaches wherein an electrode roll comprises a current collector with an active material coating comprising at least a positive or negative electrode material and binder ([0013]-[0015]).
Satoshi does not teach where a sulfide-based solid electrolyte is incorporated into the electrode body.
However, Kushida teaches an all-solid-state battery comprising an electrode sheet manufactured by a roll-to-roll method ([0340]; [0348]) where the electrode sheet contains an active material, a binder, and a sulfide-solid electrolyte (Claim 7; [0374]-[0376]; [0102]-[0103]).
Satoshi teaches a storage case for an electrode roll comprising at least a positive or negative electrode material and binder ([0013]-[0015]). All-solid-state batteries utilizing electrode sheets containing an active material, a binder, and a sulfide-solid electrolyte and manufactured in a roll-to-roll process are known in the art (Kushida Claim 7; [0374]-[0376]; [0102]-[0103]). Further it is known in the art that all -solid-state batteries have improved safety (Kushida [0003]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electrode roll taught by Satoshi by including a sulfide solid electrolyte in the active material coating layer as taught by Kushida to manufacture an electrode for an all-solid-state battery.
Regarding claim 3, modified Satoshi teaches the storage case of an electrode roll according to claim 1.
Modified Satoshi does not explicitly teach wherein the space in which the electrode body is housed has a positive pressure (for the purposed of examination positive pressure is considered any pressure such that the pressure within the case is greater, by any amount, than the environment that surrounds that case) in a state where the space is sealed by the case and the protrusions.
However, Satoshi teaches that the electrode tape roll packaging is sealed by filling the packaging with inert gas containing no moisture and the opening is heat sealed ([0008]; [0027]). Satoshi teaches that complete gas replacement with inert gas containing no moisture prevents deterioration due to moisture absorption ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have filled the case taught by Satoshi with inert gas such that the space in which the electrode body is housed has a positive pressure (a pressure such that the pressure within the case is greater, by any amount, than the environment that surrounds that case).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to fill the case taught by Satoshi with inert gas such that the space in which the electrode body is housed has a positive pressure to ensure residual moisture contamination is prevented and subsequent deterioration ([0027]).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi (JP2005255225A) in view of Kushida et al. (US 20230275221 A1), as applied above, in further view of Satoshi2 (JP 2005067722 A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Satoshi teaches the storage case of an electrode roll according to claim 1. Satoshi teaches wherein the case is made of a laminate material including a heat-sealable resin and a metal foil ([0026]).
Modified Satoshi does not teach wherein the case includes a first case that covers one side of the electrode roll and a second case that covers the other side of the electrode roll, and the first case and the second case overlap each other with a sealing portion sandwiched therebetween.
However, Satoshi2 teaches a storage case of an electrode tape roll ([0012]) wherein the case includes a first case that covers one side of the electrode roll (Fig. 5 annotated below, element 8; [0015]) and a second case that covers the other side of the electrode roll (Fig. 5 annotated below, element 5; [0015]), and the first case and the second case overlap each other with a sealing portion sandwiched therebetween (Fig. 5 annotated below and Fig. 6; elements 5 and 8 are attached to the electrode roll via cushion material 7and 4 which are considered sealing portions; [0015]-[0016]). Satoshi2 teaches that a pair of flanges (first and second case) are both larger than the outer shape of the electrode plate tape roll and as such are grounded to suspend and support the electrode tape roll thereby preventing damage ([0017]; [0029]; [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode roll storage case taught by Satoshi by including a first case that covers one side of the electrode roll and a second case that covers the other side of the electrode roll, and the first case and the second case overlap each other with a sealing portion sandwiched therebetween as taught by Satoshi2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the electrode roll storage case taught by Satoshi by including a first case that covers one side of the electrode roll and a second case that covers the other side of the electrode roll, and the first case and the second case overlap each other with a sealing portion sandwiched therebetween as taught by Satoshi2 to suspend and support the electrode tape roll thereby preventing damage ([0017]; [0029]; [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Satoshi in view of Satoshi2 teaches the storage case of an electrode roll according to claim 4.
Satoshi2 further teaches wherein the sealing portion includes a first sealing portion provided with the first case and a second sealing portion provided with the second case and in contact with the first sealing portion (Fig. 5 annotated above and Fig. 6; elements 5 and 8 are attached to the electrode roll via cushion material 7and 4 which are considered sealing portions in indirect contact via the electrode roll; [0012]; [0015]-[0016]). Satoshi2 teaches that the cushion elements 7 and 4 is provided between the electrode roll and the flange elements ([0012]; [0027]).
Satoshi2 does not teach wherein a portion where the first sealing portion and the second sealing portion are in contact with each other and which is in contact with the protrusion is softer than other portions of the sealing portion.
However, the examiner notes that claim 5 does not provide any values for the “softer” limitation, such that even normal variations in softness within the sealing member, due to manufacturing or compression during assembly, would satisfy the claims.
Therefore the storage case taught by modified Satoshi in view of Satoshi2 meets the limitations of claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728