This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 04/09/2026. Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are pending. The previously filed drawing objection, specification objection, and claim interpretation are withdrawn, as necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Robertson (US 2021/0103036).
The embodiment of fig. 7 is utilized in the following rejection; however, specific part number(s) and descriptions are shown in earlier figures. Please refer to those figures for details.
Regarding claim 1, Robertson (US 2021/0103036) discloses a sensor cleaning device (item 32; figs. 1-2) comprising:
an environmental sensor (includes items 34, 44, 58; similar to applicant’s disclosure in which environmental sensor includes housing and sensor within housing);
a film element (item 36; pp. [0020]; figs. 3-4 and 7) disposed to surround the environmental sensor (pp. [0020]; figs. 2-4 and 7); and
a nozzle assembly (includes items 38, 46, 70; fig. 7),
wherein the environmental sensor includes an intake portion (item 78; fig. 7) configured to receive an airflow generated by a motion of a vehicle on which the environmental sensor is mounted (pp. [0044-0045]; when vehicle is traveling at high speed, airflow enters through intake portion; fig. 7),
wherein the nozzle assembly is configured to direct the airflow to the film element so that the airflow is introduce into the environmental sensor and is injected onto the film element while driving of the vehicle on which the environmental sensor is mounted (pp. [0043-0045]; airflow entering through intake portion travels along path P and onto outer surface of environmental sensor; fig. 7), and
wherein a cross-section of a path of the airflow decreases from the intake portion toward the nozzle assembly (cross-section of path P decreases from intake portion, i.e. item 78, toward item 46 of nozzle assembly; fig. 7).
Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 2, Robertson discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the environmental sensor is a LiDar sensor (pp. [0029]; item 34 is a LiDar device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) and as evidenced by Hu (US 2020/0114877).
Regarding claim 3, Robertson discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the type of material which the film element is composed of, specifically wherein the film element is a polyamide material, as required by the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film element to be composed of a polyamide material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. As an example, Hu (US 2020/0114877) teaches an environmental sensor enclosure (item 300; fig. 3), wherein portions of the enclosure are composed of thermoplastic materials, such as polyamide, in order to withstand extreme temperature swings and weather various environmental conditions including rain, snow, corrosion, oxidation, etc. (pp. [0047] and [0049]). Please note in the instant application, pp. [0043], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) in view of Eeles (WO 2022090383), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 4, Robertson discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, but does not comprise a rotatable roller disposed on the environmental sensor and configured to rotate the film element with respect to the environmental sensor.
However, Eeles (WO 2022/090383) teaches an environmental sensor (item 1; pp. [0032]; figs. 4-5) , a film element (includes items 15, 20; pp. [0034-0035]; figs. 4-5) disposed to surround the environmental sensor, and a rotatable roller (item 40 rotatable along direction 46; figs. 4-5) disposed on the environmental sensor and configured to rotate the film element with respect to the environmental sensor (pp. [0045]; rotatable roller 40 is capable of rotating outer surface 20 of film element 15, 20; figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film element, as disclosed in Robertson, to include a film element disposed to surround the environmental sensor with a rotatable roller configured to rotate the outer surface of the film element with respect to the environmental sensor, as taught in Eeles, in order to allow for a quick and convenient replacement of a dirty or damaged film element when unable to be cleaned by the cleaning means, thereby ensuring a high degree of optical transparency (pp. [0017] in Eeles).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) in view of Eeles (WO 2022090383), as provided by the Examiner, and further in view of Schmidt (US 2018/0170319).
Regarding claim 5, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose a contact element mounted on the environmental sensor to contact the film element.
However, Schmidt (US 2018/0170319) teaches a sensor cleaning device (item 10; figs. 1-2) comprising an environmental sensor (includes outer housing of item 10 and 30; figs. 2a-2b), cleaning nozzles (items 28; figs. 2a-2b), a film element (outer film of item 30; figs. 2a-2b), and a contact element (item 12; figs. 2a-2b) mounted on the environmental sensor (contact element mounted on the outer housing of environmental sensor and on outer walls of film element to clean; similar to applicant’s disclosure, fig. 6, in which contact element 160 mounts on environmental sensor via housing 100) to contact the film element (blade 14 of contact element engages film element to cleaned outer surface of film element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor cleaning device, as disclosed in Robertson as modified, to include a contact element to contact the film element, as taught in Schmidt, in order to assist in cleaning off the accumulated dirt and debris on the optical film, thereby improving performance of the sensor for efficient optical detection (pp. [0003] and abstract in Schmidt).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) in view of Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808).
Regarding claim 6, Robertson discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising an injection nozzle mounted on the environmental sensor to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element.
However, Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808) teaches a sensor cleaning device comprising an environmental sensor (item 10; figs. 2a-2b), a film element (item 22; figs. 2a-2b), a nozzle assembly (defined as nozzles 33, 33’, 33”, ; fig. 2a-2b) configured to direct airflow onto the film element (pp. [0033]; figs. 2a-2b), and an injection nozzle (items 32, 32’, 32”, figs. 2a-2b) mounted on the environmental sensor (figs. 2a-2b) to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element (pp. [0033]; figs. 2a-2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor cleaning device, as disclosed in Robertson, to include an injection nozzle to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element, a taught in Albuquerque, in order to assist in removing contaminants from the film element in combination with the nozzle assembly directing airflow on the film element (pp. [0012], [0023], and [0027] in Albuquerque).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) in view of Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808), and further in view of Wakatsuki (US 2016/0244028).
Regarding claim 7, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose the details of the cleaning fluid supply, such as a storage in which the cleaning fluid is stored, and a supply line configured to place the storge in fluid communication with the injection nozzle.
However, Wakatsuki (US 2016/0244028) teaches an analogous sensor cleaning device (fig. 5) used for autonomous vehicles (fig. 1), wherein the device comprises an environmental sensor (item 10; fig. 2) and a film element (item 24; fig. 5) disposed around the environmental sensor, an injection nozzle (item 38; fig. 5) to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element (pp. [0035]; fig. 5), and a storage in which the cleaning fluid is stored (item 52; fig. 5), and a supply line (item 54; fig. 5) configured to place the storage in fluid communication with the injection nozzle (pp. [0049-0050]; fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the sensor cleaning device, as disclosed in Robertson as modified by Albuquerque, with a storage and supply line for the cleaning fluid, as taught in Wakatsuki, in order for the device to function as intended and supply cleaning fluid to the injection nozzles during use.
Regarding claim 8, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose a collector provided in the environmental sensor to collect the cleaning fluid injected onto the film element.
However, Wakatsuki (US 2016/0244028) teaches an analogous sensor cleaning device (fig. 2) used for autonomous vehicles (fig. 1), wherein the device comprises an environmental sensor (item 10; fig. 2) and a film element (item 24; fig. 2) disposed around the environmental sensor, an injection nozzle (item 38; fig. 2) to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element (pp. [0035]; fig. 2), and a collector (item 28; figs. 2-3) provided in the environmental sensor (figs. 2-3; collector 28 provided on the bottom of the environmental sensor, similar to applicant’s disclosure) to collect the cleaning fluid injected onto the film element (pp. [0036]; figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor cleaning device, as disclosed in Robertson, to include a collector at a bottom of the environmental sensor, as taught in Wakatsuki, in order to circulate the cleaning fluid to be used repeatedly thereby, reducing the amount of cleaning fluid consumed (pp. [0045] in Wakatsuki).
Regarding claim 9, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the cleaning fluid in the collector is configured to be directed back to the injection nozzle (Wakatsuki; pp. [0045]; fluid received in the collector is capable of being pumped up to the injection nozzle and applied to the film element to be cleaned).
Regarding claim 10, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the cleaning fluid in the collector is directed to the injection nozzle by a recovery line (Wakatsuki; item 48; pp. [0039]; fig. 4) in fluid communication with the injection nozzle (Wakatsuki; pp. [0039]; cleaning fluid is directed from collector 28 through recovery line 48 into injection nozzle 38), and wherein the recovery line is provided with a filter element (Wakatsuki; item 42; fig. 4) for filtering the cleaning fluid (Wakatsuki; pp [0037]; fig. 4).
Claims 11-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) in view of Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808), and Garcia Crespo (US Patent No. 10,549,726).
The embodiment of fig. 7 is utilized in the following rejection; however, specific part number(s) and descriptions are shown in earlier figures. Please refer to those figures for details.
Regarding claim 11, Robertson (US 2021/0103036) discloses a sensor cleaning device (item 32; figs. 1-2) comprising:
an environmental sensor (includes items 34, 44, 58; similar to applicant’s disclosure in which environmental sensor includes housing and sensor within housing);
a film element (item 36; pp. [0020]; figs. 3-4 and 7) disposed to surround the environmental sensor (pp. [0020]; figs. 2-4 and 7); and
a nozzle assembly (includes items 38, 40, 42, 46, 70; fig. 7),
wherein the environmental sensor includes an intake portion (includes items 76, 78; figs. 3 and 7) configured to receive an airflow generated by a motion of a vehicle on which the environmental sensor is mounted (pp. [0044-0045]; when vehicle is traveling at high speed, airflow enters through intake portion; fig. 7),
wherein the nozzle assembly is configured to direct the airflow to the film element so that the airflow is introduce into the environmental sensor and is injected onto the film element while driving of the vehicle on which the environmental sensor is mounted (pp. [0043-0045]; airflow entering through intake portion travels along path P and onto outer surface of environmental sensor; fig. 7), and
wherein a cross-section of a path of the airflow decreases from the intake portion toward the nozzle assembly (cross-section of path P decreases from frontmost portion of intake portion, i.e. item 78, toward item 46 of nozzle assembly; fig. 7).
Robertson does not explicitly disclose an injection nozzle provided on the environmental sensor and configured to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element.
However, Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808) teaches a sensor cleaning device comprising an environmental sensor (item 10; figs. 2a-2b), a film element (item 22; figs. 2a-2b), a nozzle assembly (defined as nozzles 33, 33’, 33”, ; fig. 2a-2b) configured to direct airflow onto the film element (pp. [0033]; figs. 2a-2b), and an injection nozzle (items 32, 32’, 32”, figs. 2a-2b) mounted on the environmental sensor (figs. 2a-2b) to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element (pp. [0033]; figs. 2a-2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor cleaning device, as disclosed in Robertson, to include an injection nozzle to inject a cleaning fluid onto the film element, a taught in Albuquerque, in order to assist in removing contaminants from the film element in combination with the nozzle assembly directing airflow on the film element (pp. [0012], [0023], and [0027] in Albuquerque).
Though Robertson discloses the sensor window extends fully around axis A, Robertson is silent on the film element being rotatable with respect to the environmental sensor.
However, Garcia Crespo (US Patent No. 10,549,726) teaches a sensor cleaning device (fig. 2) comprising an environmental sensor (includes items 14, 22; fig. 2), a film element disposed to surround the environmental sensor (col. 3, ll. 12-33; fig. 2) and to be rotatable with respect to the environmental sensor (col. 3, ll. 34-41; about axis A; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film element, as disclosed in Robertson, to be rotatable with respect to the environmental sensor, as taught in Garcia Crespo, in order to effectively clean the film element on all surfaces surrounding the sensor within (360 degree rotation), thereby allowing the sensor to efficiently capture data of the surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 12, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose a contact element on the environmental sensor and disposed to be in contact with the film element.
However, Albuquerque further teaches a sensor cleaning device comprising a contact element (item 38; figs. 2a-2b) provided on the environmental sensor (contact element 38 provided on sensor housing 10; figs. 2a-2b) and disposed to be in contact with the film element (contact element 38 is in contact with outer surface of film element; pp. [0033]; figs. 2a-2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor cleaning device, as disclosed in Robertson, to further include a contact element on the environmental sensor housing, as taught in Albuquerque, in order to wipe contaminants from the film element that are previously loosened from the injection nozzle (pp. [0033] in Albuquerque).
Regarding claim 13, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the contact element is a rubber element (pp. [0013] in Albuquerque).
Regarding claim 15, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the air flow is configured to be directed to the nozzle assembly through the intake portion provided in the environmental sensor (intake portion disposed in upper portion of sensor housing, fig. 7; similar to applicant’s disclosure, pp. [0053] in instant disclosure), and wherein the nozzle assembly is disposed inside the environmental sensor (nozzle assembly 46 is disposed in upper housing of sensor housing in order to dispose airflow onto outer surface of film element; similar to applicant’s disclosure) and is in fluid communication with the intake portion (air flow passes through intake portion and leads into nozzle 46 along path P; pp. [0042-0043] and [0045]; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the environmental sensor includes a discharge portion (item 46 of entire nozzle assembly; fig. 7) for discharging the air flow introduced into the environmental sensor (pp. [0045]; discharge portion 46 discharges airflow from the movement of the vehicle onto the film element to dissipate heat; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 15, wherein the intake portion is configured to have a cross-sectional area that decreases toward the nozzle assembly (pp. [0042]; frontmost portion of intake portion extends upward form the sensor housing and decreases into path P and nozzle assembly; figs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 19, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the nozzle assembly includes: a plurality of radial channels (defined as channels between fins 42; fig. 3) for directing the airflow in a plurality of directions (each channel disposed between fins 42 extends in offset directions; fig. 3), and a nozzle (item 46; figs 3 and 7) configured to inject the airflow from the one or more of the plurality of radial channels onto the film element (pp. [0021], [0033-0034], [0045]; figs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 20, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the environmental sensor is a LiDar sensor (pp. [0029]; item 34 is a LiDar device).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 2021/0103036) in view of Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808), and Garcia Crespo (US Patent No. 10,549,726), and further in view of Krishnan (US Patent No. 11,156,485).
Regarding claim 18, Robertson as modified discloses the sensor cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose a filter for filtering the airflow.
However, Krishnan (US Patent No. 11,156,485) teaches a sensor cleaning device comprising an environmental sensor (item 102; fig. 4), a film element (item 110a; fig. 4), an intake portion (item 114; fig. 5) configured to direct airflow from outside of the sensor assembly into the sensor assembly, a nozzle assembly (includes items 112, 116; fig. 5), and a filter (item 158; fig. 5) for filtering the airflow.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor cleaning device, as taught in Robertson, to include a filter within the nozzle assembly, as taught in Krishnan, in order to filter water molecules from the ambient airflow, thereby assisting in removing humidity from the air (col. 6, ll. 20-49 in Krishnan).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) independent claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Robertson (US 2021/0103036) for independent claim 1 and in view of Robertson (US 2021/0103036),Albuquerque (US 2020/0355808), and Garcia Crespo (US Patent No. 10,549,726) for independent claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robertson (US 2023/0161005) discloses a sensor cleaning device comprising an environmental sensor, a film element disposed to surround the environmental sensor, an intake portion configured to receive an airflow generated by a motion of a vehicle, and wherein a cross-section of the path decreases from the intake portion toward a nozzle assembly.
Mousavi Ehteshami (US 2019/0232315) discloses a sensor cleaning device comprising an environmental sensor, an injection nozzle, and a recovery system for the used cleaning fluid of the injection nozzle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723