DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/15/2023, 08/26/2024, 03/26/2025 and 06/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a thermal dissipation medium is flown through or is filled in a gap between the first coil winding and the magnetic core and/or a gap between the second coil winding and the magnetic core through the opening, wherein the thermal dissipation medium is a forced air, a cooling liquid or a thermal dissipation glue” as recited claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify what’s intended by
“M first coil windings (interpreted as turns of winding 50) and N second coil windings (turns of winding 40), wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein M and N are positive integers,…
wherein at least one coil winding (at least one turn of winding 50) of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously” as recited in lines 11-13 and 19-21. Similar clarification needs to be made in claim 17.
First, it’s not clear if “M first windings” means the M first coil having a plurality of turns or if the M first coil windings means there are a plurality of coil windings (two or more coil windings) or else. Similar clarification needs to be made about “N second coil windings” as recited. For examination purpose, the “M first coil windings” is interpreted as “M first coil” having a plurality of turns, and similar interpretation is made with respect to the “N second coil windings” as recited. Appropriate correction also needs to be made in dependent claims where “windings” is recited.
Secondly, it’s not clear what “M and N are positive integers” means. Specifically, “M and N” can mean M plus N in mathematically. So, half turn of M and half turn of N would make one turn, which is an integer. Each M and N can also be an integer. So, different interpretation could be made with respect to this limitations, and therefore, claimed limitation is not clear. For examination purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as each M and N is a positive integer.
Lastly, it’s not clear what’s intended by “at least one coil winding (at least one turn of winding 50) of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously” as claimed. Does the claimed limitation require each of M and N windings has a winding turn that is around both first and second columns, or if all the coil winding turns of one of the M first coil windings or the N second windings are wound around both the first and second columns, or else. For examination purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as at least one turn of either the M first coil windings or the N second coil windings is wound on both the first and second columns.
These interpretations appear to be consistent with the drawings shown and the corresponding descriptions.
Regarding claim 2, applicant should clarify if the “two openings” is in addition to the “opening” of claim 1, or if the “an opening” of claim 1 is one of the “two openings” of claim 2 or else. For examination purpose, “an opening” in claim 1 is interpreted as “at least one opening” and “the magnetic element comprises two opening” in claim 2 is interpreted as the at least one opening comprises “two openings.”
Regarding claim 9, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the first cover plate has a first protruding part, and the second cover plate has a second protruding part, the first protruding part and the second protruding part correspond to the second winding column respectively, and gaps between the first and second protruding part and the second winding column form air-gaps respectively” as recited. Specifically, the examiner does not know how to interpret “gaps between the first and second protruding part and the second winding column form air-gaps” claimed. As seen in FIG. 3 of the present invention, air-gap d exists between protruding part 210 and second winding column 26, and there is another air-gap d between protruding part 220 and second winding column 26. The limitation in question is interpreted to reflect this disclosure.
Regarding, claim 15, applicant should what’s intended by “a part of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings wound on the second winding column is an inductor winding.” Specifically, it’s not clear if a part of the M first coil windings and a part of the N second windings are used as an inductor winding or if only one of a part of the M first coil windings or the N second coil windings is used as an inductor winding. FIGs. 2 and 3 of the present invention shows M first winding 3 is wound around the first and second winding columns 25 and 26. So, it appears only a part of M first winding 3 is used as an inductor winding. Accordingly, the limitation in question is interpreted to reflect this disclosure.
Claims 3-8, 10-14 and 16 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1 and or 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebner et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0012943 A1) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0076761 A1).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Ebner et al., hereinafter referred to as “Ebner,” teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 1-3C), comprising:
a magnetic core 10 and 11, comprising:
a first cover plate 10a (annotated FIG. 1) and a second cover plate 11a, disposed opposite to each other;
a first winding column 12 and a second winding column 13, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate; and
a first side column 10b and 11b and a second side column 10c and 11c, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate, and disposed on two sides of a central connection line CL of the first winding column and the second winding column respectively;
M first coil windings (interpreted as turns of winding 50 or winding 40) and N second coil windings (the other of turns of winding 40 or 50), wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein M and N are positive integers,
wherein at least one coil winding (the other of at least one turn of winding 50) of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously (paras. [0037], [0040] and [0043]).
Ebner does not expressly teach
an opening disposed on the first side column or the second side column, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line to a side of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line.
Kim et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kim,” teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 3-5) comprising:
an opening SP2 and or SP1 (annotated Fig. 3) disposed on the first side column TOL2 and IOL2 or the second side column TOL1 and IOL1, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side (outer side) of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line (dotted line) to a side (inner side) of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line (para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the opening as taught by Kim to the magnetic element of Ebner to isolate the magnetic core that mainly functions as a transformer and that mainly functions as an inductor (para. [0057]).
With respect to claim 2, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic element comprises two openings SP2 and SP1, and the two openings are disposed on the first side column and the second side column respectively (Kim, para. [0053]).
With respect to claim 3, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 2, wherein the two openings are symmetrically disposed relative to the central connection line (Kim, para. [0053]).
With respect to claim 4, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the opening is disposed on the first side column or the second side column corresponding to a gap RC between the first winding column and the second winding column (para. [0058]).
With respect to claim 6, Ebner taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner does not expressly teach a thermal dissipation medium is flown through or is filled in a gap between the first coil winding and the magnetic core and/or a gap between the second coil winding and the magnetic core through the opening, wherein the thermal dissipation medium is a forced air, a cooling liquid or a thermal dissipation glue.
Kim teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 3-5), wherein a thermal dissipation medium 160 is flown through or is filled in a gap RC between the first coil winding 120 or 130 and the magnetic core 111 or 112 and/or a gap between the second coil winding and the magnetic core through the opening, wherein the thermal dissipation medium is a forced air, a cooling liquid or a thermal dissipation glue (para. [0086]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the thermal dissipation medium as taught by Kim to the magnetic element of Ebner to provide rapid dissipation of heat generated in the magnetic element (para. [0086]).
With respect to claim 7, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the first winding column or/and the second winding column comprise an air-gap (“air gap”) (para. [0039]).
With respect to claim 13, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein each of the first coil windings and each of the second coil windings are wound perpendicular to the axial direction of the first winding column, wherein the number of turns of each of the first coil windings is four (four turns of first layer on bobbin 20), and the number of turns of each of the second coil winding is five (five turns on inner side of bobbin 30) (Ebner, para. [0037]).
With respect to claim 14, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the M first coil windings are one of primary windings and secondary windings of a transformer, and the N second coil windings are the other of the primary windings and the secondary windings of the transformer (Ebner, para. [0037]), Kim, para. [0051]).
With respect to claim 15, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein a part of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings wound on the second winding column is an inductor winding (Ebner, para. [0037]), Kim, para. [0051]).
With respect to claim 16, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the first cover plate, the first side column, the second side column and the first winding column are integrally formed (Ebner, para. [0039], Kim, para. [0058]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebner in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harrison (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0330678 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner in view of Kim does not expressly teach the opening penetrates through the first side column or the second side column from the first cover plate to the second cover plate.
Harrison teaches a magnetic element 100 (Fig. 1), wherein the opening 110 penetrates through the first side column 106 or the second side column (similar to columns 106 on core half 102-2) from the first cover plate 108 to the second cover plate (plate 108 on core half 102-20 (para. [0025]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the opening from the first cover plates to the second cover plates as taught by Harrison to the magnetic element of Ebner in view of Kim to further improve isolation between the transformer and inductor.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebner in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Quinn et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0048930 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner in view of Kim does not expressly there is an air-gap between the second winding column and the first or/and the second cover plate.
Quinn et al., hereinafter referred to as “Quinn,” teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 6), wherein there is an air-gap 89 between the second winding column (magnetic column between air gaps 89) and the first or/and the second cover plate 87 and or 88 (paras. [0066] and [0068]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the air-gap as taught by Quinn to the magnetic element of Ebner in view of Kim to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics.
With respect to claim 9, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 8, wherein the first cover plate 87 or 88 has a first protruding part 84a or 84b, and the second cover plate (the other of plate 87 or 88) has a second protruding part (the other of protruding part 84a or 84b), the first protruding part and the second protruding part correspond to the second winding column respectively, and gaps 89 between the first and second protruding part and the second winding column form air-gaps respectively (Quinn, paras. [0066] and [0068]).
With respect to claim 10, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner in view of Kim does not expressly teach the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings are wound alternately on the first winding column with an interval along an axial direction, wherein M is greater than 1.
Quinn teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 5), wherein the M first coil windings 43 and 44 or 61-64 and the N second coil windings (the other of windings 43 and 44 or 61-64) are wound alternately on the first winding column 74b with an interval along an axial direction, wherein M is greater than 1 (para. [0051]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the alternative windings as taught by Quinn to the magnetic element of Ebner in view of Kim to reduce leakage flux.
With respect to claim 11, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the interval is between 0.1 and 2 mm (Ebner, para. [0037]). The thickness of the bobbin 30 of Ebner and the thickness of the flanges of bobbin 6 of the present invention are about the same. Therefore, Ebner would inherently teach the claimed limitation.
With respect to claim 12, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the magnetic element comprises a bobbin 20 and or 30, comprising:
a first hollow sleeve 21 and 31, wherein the first winding column is disposed in the first hollow sleeve;
a second hollow sleeve 34, wherein the second winding column is disposed in the second hollow sleeve; and
M+N+X winding slots (slots used to wind M and N coil windings) disposed on the first hollow sleeve and the second hollow sleeve,
wherein M+N winding slots of the M+N+X winding slots are disposed in sequence with intervals on the first hollow sleeve, the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings are correspondingly accommodated in the M+N winding slots, the other X winding slots of the M+N+X winding slots are disposed on the second hollow sleeve, a part wound on the second winding column in the coil windings that are simultaneously wound on the first winding column and the second winding column are accommodated in the X winding slots, X is a positive integer (Ebner, paras. [0037], [0040], [0042], and [0047]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0350512 A1) in view of Ebner and Kim.
With respect to claim 17, Yang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Yang,” teaches an on-board charger 100 (FIGs. 1-10), comprising a case 110 and a magnetic element (cores 160, 165 bobbin 120 and oil 150),
wherein the case comprises a thermal dissipation cavity 116, and the magnetic element is disposed in the thermal dissipation cavity, and a thermal dissipation glue 170 is filled in a gap between the magnetic element and the thermal dissipation cavity (paras. [0031] and [0038]).
Yang does not expressly teach
wherein the magnetic element comprises:
a magnetic core, comprising:
a first cover plate and a second cover plate, disposed opposite to each other;
a first winding column and a second winding column, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate; and
a first side column and a second side column, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate and are disposed on two sides of a central connection line of the first winding column and the second winding column, respectively;
M first coil windings and N second coil windings, wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein M and N are positive integers; and
wherein at least one coil winding of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously.
Ebner teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 1-3C) comprises:
a magnetic core 10 and 11, comprising:
a first cover plate 10a (annotated FIG. 1 above) and a second cover plate 11a, disposed opposite to each other;
a first winding column 12 and a second winding column 13, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate; and
a first side column 10b and 11b and a second side column 10c and 11c, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate, and disposed on two sides of a central connection line CL of the first winding column and the second winding column respectively;
M first coil windings (interpreted as turns of winding 50 or winding 40) and N second coil windings (the other of turns of winding 40 or 50), wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein M and N are positive integers,
wherein at least one coil winding (the other of at least one turn of winding 50) of the M first coil windings and the N second coil windings is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously (paras. [0037], [0040] and [0043]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic element as taught by Ebner to the on-board charger of Yang o provide a plurality of magnetic functionalities (i.e. transformer and inductor) with reduced footprint and manufacturing cost (para. [0005]).
Yang does not also expressly teach
an opening disposed on the first side column or the second side column, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line to a side of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line.
Kim teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 3-5) comprising:
an opening SP2 and or SP1 (annotated Fig. 3 above) disposed on the first side column TOL2 and IOL2 or the second side column TOL1 and IOL1, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side (outer side) of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line (dotted line) to a side (inner side) of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line (para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the opening as taught by Kim to the on-board charger of Yang to isolate the magnetic core that mainly functions as a transformer and that mainly functions as an inductor (para. [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837