DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Quinn does not teach “M first coils and the N second coils are wound alternately on the first winding column with an interval along an axial direction” as amended, which is part of the original claim 10. Applicant asserts that there are two primary windings between each two of the secondary windings in Quinn. So, the primary and sedondary windings are not alternatively arranged. Applicant also states that the secondary windings 61-64 are made of “U” shaped flat wires and thus different from the N second coils as claimed.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. The turns of primary coil 42 as a whole is between two secondary coils 61 and 62, and the secondary coil 62 is between the primary coils 42 and 43 and so on. As such, the primary windings and the secondary windings are alternatively formed in Quinn. The claim merely requires the “M first coils and the N second coils are wound alternately.” The claim does not require the M first coils or the N second coils is wound in a single layer, and each single layer M first coils is alternately wound with each single layer N second coils. Accordingly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Quinn still teaches “M first coils and the N second coils are wound alternately on the first winding column with an interval along an axial direction” as amended. The claim does not also preclude “U” shaped flat wire. The “U” shaped secondary windings is still considered “coils” in this field of art. Accordingly, the cited references sufficiently teaches all the limitations as claimed.
The drawings objection made in the Office action dated 01/30/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the new replacement drawing and the amendment to the specification filed on 04/28/2026.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection made in the Office action mailed on 01/30/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the claim amendments in the reply made on 04/28/2026. However, a new 112(b) rejection issued based on the amendments.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 04/28/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, it appears “the first coil” and “the second coil” should be --the M first coils-- and --the N second coils--, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify what is intended by “M first coils and “N second coils” as recited in line 9. In the written description of the present invention, element 3 is referred to as “M first coil windings.” However, as seen in FIG. 3, element 3 is a single coil winding wound in three different layers, each layer having a plurality of turns. So, it’s not clear “if M first coils” mean different coils not connected to each other, a single coil in different layers, or a single coil in different layers having multiple turns in each layer, etc. For examination purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as a single coil in different layers and or the different layers each having multiple turns. Also, since “at least one coil” appears to be referring back to one of “the M first coils” and “the N second coils” it appears “at least one coil” should be --at least one coils--. Applicant should clarity if this interpretation is correct or not. Similar clarification needs to be made in claim 17.
Claims 2-16 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebner et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0012943 A1, hereinafter “Ebner”) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0076761 A1, hereinafter “Kim”) and Quinn et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0048930 A1, hereinafter “Quinn”).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Ebner teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 1-3C), comprising:
a magnetic core 10 and 11, comprising:
a first cover plate 10a (annotated FIG. 1) and a second cover plate 11a, disposed opposite to each other;
a first winding column 12 and a second winding column 13, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate; and
a first side column 10b and 11b and a second side column 10c and 11c, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate, and disposed on two sides of a central connection line CL of the first winding column and the second winding column respectively;
M first coils (interpreted as turns of winding 50 or winding 40) and N second coils (the other of turns of winding 40 or 50), wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein each M and N is positive integer,
wherein at least one coil (the other of at least one turn of winding 50) of the M first coils and the N second coils is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously (paras. [0037], [0040] and [0043]).
Ebner does not expressly teach
at least one opening disposed on the first side column or the second side column, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line to a side of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line.
Kim teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 3-5) comprising:
at least one opening SP2 and or SP1 (annotated Fig. 3) disposed on the first side column TOL2 and IOL2 or the second side column TOL1 and IOL1, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side (outer side) of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line (dotted line) to a side (inner side) of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line (para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the opening as taught by Kim to the magnetic element of Ebner to isolate the magnetic core that mainly functions as a transformer and that mainly functions as an inductor (para. [0057]).
Ebner does not also expressly teach
wherein the M first coils and the N second coils are wound alternately on the first winding column with an interval along an axial direction.
Quinn teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 5),
wherein the M first coils 43 and 44 or 61-64 and the N second coils (the other of windings 43 and 44 or 61-64) are wound alternately on the first winding column 74b with an interval along an axial direction (axial direction of the M and N coils) (para. [0051]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the alternative windings as taught by Quinn to the magnetic element of Ebner in view of Kim to reduce leakage flux.
With respect to claim 2, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein at least one opening comprises two openings SP2 and SP1, and the two openings are disposed on the first side column and the second side column respectively (Kim, para. [0053]).
With respect to claim 3, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 2, wherein the two openings are symmetrically disposed relative to the central connection line (Kim, para. [0053]).
With respect to claim 4, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the at least one opening is disposed on the first side column or the second side column corresponding to a gap RC between the first winding column and the second winding column (Kim, para. [0058]).
With respect to claim 6, Ebner taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner does not expressly teach a thermal dissipation medium is flown through or is filled in a gap between the first coil and the magnetic core and/or a gap between the second coil and the magnetic core through the opening, wherein the thermal dissipation medium is a forced air, a cooling liquid or a thermal dissipation glue.
Kim teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 3-5), wherein a thermal dissipation medium 160 is flown through or is filled in a gap RC between the first coil 120 or 130 and the magnetic core 111 or 112 and/or a gap between the second coil and the magnetic core through the opening, wherein the thermal dissipation medium is a forced air, a cooling liquid or a thermal dissipation glue (para. [0086]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the thermal dissipation medium as taught by Kim to the magnetic element of Ebner to provide rapid dissipation of heat generated in the magnetic element (para. [0086]).
With respect to claim 7, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the first winding column or/and the second winding column comprise an air-gap (“air gap”) (Ebner, para. [0039]).
With respect to claim 8, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner in view of Kim does not expressly there is an air-gap between the second winding column and the first or/and the second cover plate.
Quinn teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 6), wherein there is an air-gap 89 between the second winding column (magnetic column between air gaps 89) and the first or/and the second cover plate 87 and or 88 (paras. [0066] and [0068]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the air-gap as taught by Quinn to the magnetic element of Ebner in view of Kim to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics.
With respect to claim 9, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 8, wherein the first cover plate 87 or 88 has a first protruding part 84a or 84b, and the second cover plate (the other of plate 87 or 88) has a second protruding part (the other of protruding part 84a or 84b), the first protruding part and the second protruding part correspond to the second winding column respectively, and there is an gap 89 between the first protruding part and the second winding column, and there is another air-gap 89 between the second protruding part and the second winding column (Quinn, paras. [0066] and [0068]).
With respect to claim 10, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein M is greater than 1 (Quinn, para. [0051]).
With respect to claim 11, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the interval is between 0.1 and 2 mm (Ebner, para. [0037]). The thickness of the bobbin 30 of Ebner and the thickness of the flanges of bobbin 6 of the present invention are about the same. Therefore, Ebner would inherently teach the claimed limitation.
With respect to claim 12, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic element comprises a bobbin 20 and or 30, comprising:
a first hollow sleeve 21 and 31, wherein the first winding column is disposed in the first hollow sleeve;
a second hollow sleeve 34, wherein the second winding column is disposed in the second hollow sleeve; and
M+N+X winding slots (slots used to wind M and N coils) disposed on the first hollow sleeve and the second hollow sleeve,
wherein M+N winding slots of the M+N+X winding slots are disposed in sequence with intervals on the first hollow sleeve, the M first coils and the N second coils are correspondingly accommodated in the M+N winding slots, the other X winding slots of the M+N+X winding slots are disposed on the second hollow sleeve, a part wound on the second winding column in the coils that are simultaneously wound on the first winding column and the second winding column are accommodated in the X winding slots, X is a positive integer (Ebner, paras. [0037], [0040], [0042], and [0047]).
With respect to claim 13, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein each of the first coils and each of the second coils are wound perpendicular to the axial direction of the first winding column, wherein the number of turns of each of the first coils is four (four turns of first layer on bobbin 20), and the number of turns of each of the second coils is five (five turns on inner side of bobbin 30) (Ebner, para. [0037]).
With respect to claim 14, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the M first coils are one of primary windings and secondary windings of a transformer, and the N second coils are the other of the primary windings and the secondary windings of the transformer (Ebner, para. [0037]), Kim, para. [0051]).
With respect to claim 15, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein a part of the at least one coil of the M first coils and the N second coils wound on the second winding column is an inductor winding (Ebner, para. [0037]), Kim, para. [0051]).
With respect to claim 16, Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn taches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the first cover plate, the first side column, the second side column and the first winding column are integrally formed (Ebner, para. [0039], Kim, para. [0058]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebner in view of Kim and Quinn, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harrison (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0330678 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Ebner in view of Kim taches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Ebner in view of Kim does not expressly teach the opening penetrates through the first side column or the second side column from the first cover plate to the second cover plate.
Harrison teaches a magnetic element 100 (Fig. 1), wherein the opening 110 penetrates through the first side column 106 or the second side column (similar to columns 106 on core half 102-2) from the first cover plate 108 to the second cover plate (plate 108 on core half 102-20 (para. [0025]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the opening from the first cover plates to the second cover plates as taught by Harrison to the magnetic element of Ebner in view of Kim to further improve isolation between the transformer and inductor.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0350512 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Ebner and Park (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2013/0099885 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Yang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Yang,” teaches an on-board charger 100 (FIGs. 1-10), comprising a case 110 and a magnetic element (cores 160, 165 bobbin 120 and oil 150),
wherein the case comprises a thermal dissipation cavity 116, and the magnetic element is disposed in the thermal dissipation cavity, and a thermal dissipation glue 170 is filled in a gap between the magnetic element and the thermal dissipation cavity (paras. [0031] and [0038]).
Yang does not expressly teach
wherein the magnetic element comprises:
a magnetic core, comprising:
a first cover plate and a second cover plate, disposed opposite to each other;
a first winding column and a second winding column, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate; and
a first side column and a second side column, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate and are disposed on two sides of a central connection line of the first winding column and the second winding column, respectively;
M first coils and N second coils, wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein each M and N is positive integers; and
wherein at least one coil of the M first coils and the N second coils is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously.
Ebner teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 1-3C) comprises:
a magnetic core 10 and 11, comprising:
a first cover plate 10a (annotated FIG. 1 above) and a second cover plate 11a, disposed opposite to each other;
a first winding column 12 and a second winding column 13, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate; and
a first side column 10b and 11b and a second side column 10c and 11c, disposed between the first cover plate and the second cover plate, and disposed on two sides of a central connection line CL of the first winding column and the second winding column respectively;
M first coil windings (interpreted as turns of winding 50 or winding 40) and N second coil windings (the other of turns of winding 40 or 50), wound at intervals on the first winding column, wherein M and N are positive integers,
wherein at least one coils (the other of at least one turn of winding 50) of the M first coil windings and the N second coils is wound on the first winding column and the second winding column simultaneously (paras. [0037], [0040] and [0043]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the magnetic element as taught by Ebner to the on-board charger of Yang to provide a plurality of magnetic functionalities (i.e. transformer and inductor) with reduced footprint and manufacturing cost (para. [0005]).
Yang does not also expressly teach
at least one opening disposed on the first side column or the second side column, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line to a side of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line,
wherein the M first coils and the N second coils are wound alternately on the first winding column with an interval along an axial direction.
Park teaches a magnetic element 8100 (Figs. 81 and 82) comprising:
at least one opening 8102.1 (annotated Fig. 2) disposed on the first side column 8201.2 and 8201.3 or the second side column, wherein the opening penetrates through from a side (outer side) of the first side column or the second side column away from the central connection line (imaginary horizontal line passing elements 8102b and 8102d) to a side (inner side) of the first side column or the second side column close to the central connection line,
wherein the M first coils 8117 and 8106 or 8113 and 8110 and the N second coils (the other of coils 8117 and 8106 or 8113 and 8110) are wound alternately on the first winding column with an interval along an axial direction (paras. [1106] and [1107]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the opening and alternately stacked coils as taught by Kim to the on-board charger of Yang to enhance the efficiency of the magnetic element (para. [1132]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837