DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/110,312 filed on 02/15/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
On pages 2-10 of the Applicant’s remark (see Applicant’s remarks filed on 09/04/2025), Applicant further argues that the cited references do not disclose “a Single frequency based broadcast communication system comprising: a desired broadcast transmitter and a plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters that are in communication with a receiver over a communication channel”, as recited by claims 1 and 9”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In the claim, Applicant does not clearly define how the desired broadcast transmitter is selected by the mobile device. Thus, the limitation can be broadly interpreted as the data transmitted to the mobile device is provided by any broadcast transmitter.
As stated in Hong, “(Para. 0055), An aspect of the present disclosure provides a communication apparatus for a transmitter tower station (TTS) of a broadcast communication system (BCS), the apparatus comprising: a first transmitter (Tx) antenna configured to transmit a broadcast signal to a plurality of customer receivers…”. As such, Hong discloses the limitation “a Single frequency based broadcast communication system comprising: a desired broadcast transmitter and a plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters that are in communication with a receiver over a communication channel”, as recited by claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that Hong is silent regarding “wherein the desired broadcast transmitter comprising a waveform generator for transmitting broadcast transmitter specific pilot signals to a receiver” as recited by claims 1 and 9”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated in Hong, “(Para. 0071), The IFFT processor 228 may be configured to generate OFDM waveforms in a different frequency band than the IFFT processor 216 operating on the broadcast signal 101..”. As such, Hong discloses the limitation “wherein the desired broadcast transmitter comprising a waveform generator for transmitting broadcast transmitter specific pilot signals to a receiver”, as recited by claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that Hong is silent regarding “each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a pilot insertion module… and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a pilot insertion module” as recited by claims 1 and 9”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Applicant stated that the insertion unit of Hong is different from the pilot insertion module of claim 1, however, in the claim the Applicant does not clearly define the meaning of the term "a pilot insertion module". As such, the term " a pilot insertion module" can be broadly interpreted as any insertion module/unit.
As stated in Hong, “(Para. 0109), The Tx signal processor 1410 is configured to insert two single-layer pilot sequences, “MP” (1521, FIG. 15 ) and “SP” (1502, FIG. 15 ), using the MIMO pilot insertion units 227 and the SISO pilot insertion units 214, respectively…. (Para. 0070), Referring to FIG. 2, the Tx signal processor 200 includes a broadcast signal processing chain 210 for processing the broadcast signal 101… In the illustrated embodiment the broadcast signal processing chain 210 includes a framer 212, a SISO pilot (SP) inserter 214, and an IFFT processor 216….”. As such, Hong discloses the limitation “each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a pilot insertion module… and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a pilot insertion module”, as recited by claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that Maddah-Ali is silent regarding “each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module” as recited by claims 1 and 9”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated in Maddah-Ali, “(Page 22, lines 13-15), Each transmitter node then computes a pre-coding filter based on the feedback of information from the receiver node, and sends pre-coded data to the receiver nodes using the computed precoding filter.”. As such, Maddah-Ali discloses the limitation “each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module”, as recited by claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that Ma is silent regarding “wherein the precoding filter module is designed to: generate a transmitter specific precoding sequence from a plurality of precoding sequences based on a computed location index for specific pilot signals in a time frequency domain;” as recited by claims 1 and 9”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Applicant stated that the pilot pattern and position index of Ma are different from the specific precoding sequence of claim 1, however, in the claim the Applicant does not clearly define the meaning of the term "a computed location index" from where the precoded sequences are generated. Additionally, is not clear in the claim how said index is determined. As such, the term "a computed location index" can be broadly interpreted as any position/location index.
As stated in Ma, “(Para. 0018), In at least one embodiment, the pilot pattern of the jth terminal includes a first position index, a second position index, a third position index, a fourth position index, and a fifth position index. The pilot pattern of the ith terminal includes the first position index, the second position index, the fourth position index, and the fifth position index”. As such, Ma discloses the limitation “wherein the precoding filter module is designed to: generate a transmitter specific precoding sequence from a plurality of precoding sequences based on a computed location index for specific pilot signals in a time frequency domain;”, as recited by claims 1 and 9.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that Ma is silent regarding “precode a reference pilot signal to obtain the broadcast transmitter specific pilot signal sequences, based on the plurality of precoded sequence” as recited by claims 1 and 9”. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Applicant stated that the pilot pattern and position index of Ma are different from the specific precoding sequence of claim 1, however, in the claim the Applicant does not clearly define the meaning of the term "a computed location index" from where the precoded sequences are generated. Additionally, is not clear in the claim how said index is determined. As such, the term "a computed location index" can be broadly interpreted as any position/location index.
As stated in Ma, “(Para. 0111), In the method in the ninth aspect, because there is a plurality of pilot patterns, for example, including the first pilot pattern or the second pilot pattern, in a multi-user scenario, the terminal selects to use a corresponding pilot pattern to send a signal. For example, in response to a terminal having selected the first pilot pattern and the first precoding sequence to send a signal, another terminal selects the second pilot pattern and the second precoding sequence to send a signal”. As such, Ma discloses the limitation “precode a reference pilot signal to obtain the broadcast transmitter specific pilot signal sequences, based on the plurality of precoded sequences”, as recited by claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0318726 A1 hereinafter Hong) in view of Maddah-Ali et al. (WO 2011/035439 A1 hereinafter Maddah-Ali), and further in view of Ma et al. (Pub. No. 2024/0171437 A1 hereinafter Ma).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches “a Single frequency based broadcast communication system” as [(Para. 0053), Embodiments described herein relate to terrestrial single-frequency broadcast systems including a plurality of broadcast stations] “comprising: a desired broadcast transmitter and a plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters that are in communication with a receiver over a communication channel,” [(Para. 0055), An aspect of the present disclosure provides a communication apparatus for a transmitter tower station (TTS) of a broadcast communication system (BCS), the apparatus comprising: a first transmitter (Tx) antenna configured to transmit a broadcast signal to a plurality of customer receivers; one or more second Tx antennas configured to transmit a first ITC signal to another TTS] “wherein the desired broadcast transmitter comprising a waveform generator for transmitting broadcast transmitter specific pilot signals to a receiver,” [(Para. 0071), The IFFT processor 228 may be configured to generate OFDM waveforms in a different frequency band than the IFFT processor 216 operating on the broadcast signal 101.] “wherein the receiver receives a superimposed signal of the transmitted broadcast transmitter specific pilot signals,” [(Para. 0065), a broadcast communication system 100 includes a plurality of transmitter tower stations (TTS) 110….., for transmitting at least a broadcast signal 101 to a plurality of customer receivers (not shown). …. (Para. 0114), These data sub-streams are then superimposed onto the broadcast signal 101 at corresponding injection levels g1, g2 and g3..] “wherein the desired broadcast transmitter is one of the broadcast transmitters from which mobile station intends to receive data” [(Para. 0055), An aspect of the present disclosure provides a communication apparatus for a transmitter tower station (TTS) of a broadcast communication system (BCS), the apparatus comprising: a first transmitter (Tx) antenna configured to transmit a broadcast signal to a plurality of customer receivers] “and each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a pilot insertion module” [(Para. 0109), The Tx signal processor 1410 is configured to insert two single-layer pilot sequences, “MP” (1521, FIG. 15 ) and “SP” (1502, FIG. 15 ), using the MIMO pilot insertion units 227 and the SISO pilot insertion units 214, respectively.] “and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a pilot insertion module” [(Para. 0070), Referring to FIG. 2, the Tx signal processor 200 includes a broadcast signal processing chain 210 for processing the broadcast signal 101… In the illustrated embodiment the broadcast signal processing chain 210 includes a framer 212, a SISO pilot (SP) inserter 214, and an IFFT processor 216.].
However, Hong does not specifically disclose each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module, wherein the precoding filter module is designed to: generate a transmitter specific precoding sequence from a plurality of precoding sequences based on a computed location index for specific pilot signals in a time frequency domain; and precode a reference pilot signal to obtain the broadcast transmitter specific pilot signal sequences, based on the plurality of precoded sequences.
In an analogous art, Maddah-Ali teaches “each adjacent interfering broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module and the desired broadcast transmitter comprises a precoding filter module” as [(Page 22, lines 13-15), Each transmitter node then computes a pre-coding filter based on the feedback of information from the receiver node, and sends pre-coded data to the receiver nodes using the computed precoding filter.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Hong to provide an effective technique as taught by Maddah-Ali for implement wireless system configurations and methods that facilitate efficient usage of available bandwidth and/or system hardware and other resources [Maddah-Ali: Page 3, lines 1-3].
In an analogous art, Ma teaches “wherein the precoding filter module is designed to: generate a transmitter specific precoding sequence from a plurality of precoding sequences based on a computed location index for specific pilot signals in a time frequency domain;” as [(Para. 0018), In at least one embodiment, the pilot pattern of the jth terminal includes a first position index, a second position index, a third position index, a fourth position index, and a fifth position index. The pilot pattern of the ith terminal includes the first position index, the second position index, the fourth position index, and the fifth position index] “and precode a reference pilot signal to obtain the broadcast transmitter specific pilot signal sequences, based on the plurality of precoded sequences” [(Para. 0111), In the method in the ninth aspect, because there is a plurality of pilot patterns, for example, including the first pilot pattern or the second pilot pattern, in a multi-user scenario, the terminal selects to use a corresponding pilot pattern to send a signal. For example, in response to a terminal having selected the first pilot pattern and the first precoding sequence to send a signal, another terminal selects the second pilot pattern and the second precoding sequence to send a signal].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Hong and Maddah-Ali to provide an effective technique as taught by Ma for implement multi-user phase noise compensation, but also reduce a PAPR of signals and improve signal transmission performance [Ma: Para. 0005].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma, specifically Hong teaches “wherein precoding of the reference pilot signal comprises obtaining broadcast transmitter specific pilot modulation values that are orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal to the other pre-coded plurality of pilot signals of adjacent broadcast transmitters in a frequency domain” as [(Para. 0090), The first pilot signal 1201 and the second pilot signal(s) 1202 i may use the same reference sequence or different, e.g. orthogonal, reference sequences. The pilot patterns and the reference sequences may be e.g. as defined by physical layer protocol specifications of the ATSC 3.0 standards].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the pilot sequence generation module of the transmitter is further adapted to: generate broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences using at least one of one or more sequence generators at different broadcast transmitters and Single Frequency Network (SFN) clusters” as [(Para. 0062), In any of the above implementations, the Rx signal processor may be configured to process a received LDM signal comprising first and second LDM layers, the first and second LDM layers comprising first and second pilot signals respectively, the second LDM layer comprising the received MIMO-encoded second ITC signal. In some implementations, the Rx signal processor may be configured to: detect a first-layer signal transmitted in the first LDM layer using the first pilot signal, at least partially cancel the detected first-layer signal from the received LDM signal to obtain a residual signal, and to detect the MIMO-encoded second ITC signal in the residual signal using the second pilot signal].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences comprise one of orthogonal pilot sequences or uncorrelated pilot sequences between the first broadcast transmitter and the second broadcast transmitter, wherein the orthogonal pilot sequences or uncorrelated pilot sequences are generated using sequence generators with different sequence generator polynomials” as [(Para. 0090), The first pilot signal 1201 and the second pilot signal(s) 1202 i may use the same reference sequence or different, e.g. orthogonal, reference sequences. The pilot patterns and the reference sequences may be e.g. as defined by physical layer protocol specifications of the ATSC 3.0 standards].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the pilot sequence generation module of the transmitter is further adapted to: generate broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences using at least one of a pilot reference generator and a broadcast transmitter specific transmitter identity (TxID) sequence, where the broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences are orthogonal pilot sequences or uncorrelated pilot sequences” as [(Para. 0090), The first pilot signal 1201 and the second pilot signal(s) 1202 i may use the same reference sequence or different, e.g. orthogonal, reference sequences. The pilot patterns and the reference sequences may be e.g. as defined by physical layer protocol specifications of the ATSC 3.0 standards].
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Claims 3-5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Maddah-Ali, further in view Ma, and further in view of Hong et al. (Pub. No. 2008/0219371 A1 hereinafter Hong2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hong and Maddah-Ali, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the receiver on receiving the broadcast transmitter specific pilot signal sequence transmitted from the desired broadcast transmitter and at least one of the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters” as [(Para. 0055), An aspect of the present disclosure provides a communication apparatus for a transmitter tower station (TTS) of a broadcast communication system (BCS), the apparatus comprising: a first transmitter (Tx) antenna configured to transmit a broadcast signal to a plurality of customer receivers; one or more second Tx antennas configured to transmit a first ITC signal to another TTS].
However, the combination of Hong and Maddah-Ali does not specifically disclose is adapted to: extract a sub-carrier location value from a computed location index of the broadcast transmitter specific signal sequence; obtain a plurality of precoding filter coefficients based on the broadcast transmitter specific pilot location value; compute channel estimates corresponding to the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, based on the extracted sub carrier values and the broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences; and compute an individual channel estimate for a plurality of data sub carriers and obtain Channel Frequency Response (CFR) and a Channel Impulse Response (OR) of desired and interfering channels.
In an analogous art, Ma teaches “is adapted to: extract a sub-carrier location value from a computed location index of the broadcast transmitter specific signal sequence;” as [(Para. 0287), Further, the pilot pattern of the ith terminal or the pilot pattern of the jth terminal indirectly indicates the time domain position of the reference signals by using position indexes, or directly indicates the time domain positions of the reference signals by using specific time domain positions. For example, the position indexes are used for indication. The pilot pattern of the jth terminal includes a first position index, a third position index, a fourth position index, and a fifth position index. The pilot pattern of the ith terminal includes the first position index, a second position index, the fourth position index, and the fifth position index.] “obtain a plurality of precoding filter coefficients based on the broadcast transmitter specific pilot location value;” [(Para. 0311), For example, considering that waveforms are usually real symmetric, and real and imaginary signals use a same waveform, sampling coefficients of the waveforms is set to a3=a5=b4=b5 and a4=b3.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Hong and Maddah-Ali to provide an effective technique as taught by Ma for implement multi-user phase noise compensation, but also reduce a PAPR of signals and improve signal transmission performance [Ma: Para. 0005].
However, the combination of Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma does not specifically disclose compute channel estimates corresponding to the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, based on the extracted sub carrier values and the broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences; and compute an individual channel estimate for a plurality of data sub carriers and obtain Channel Frequency Response (CFR) and a Channel Impulse Response (OR) of desired and interfering channels.
In an analogous art, Hong2 teaches “compute channel estimates corresponding to the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, based on the extracted sub carrier values and the broadcast transmitter specific pilot sequences;” as [(Para. 0058), The frequency domain channel gains at the pilot sub-carriers are transformed into a spectrum domain, which is then filtered with a filtering function, to provide a filtered spectrum. The filtered spectrum is then interpolated and transformed back into the frequency domain to obtain channel gain estimates of each sub-carrier. A tentative decision of the transmitted symbol Xk is thus obtained from process 120. In the second and further iterations, the decisions from at least a previous iteration are used to obtain a better estimate in process 140 for both channel gain and ICI gains at each sub-carrier.] “compute an individual channel estimate for a plurality of data sub carriers and obtain Channel Frequency Response (CFR) and a Channel Impulse Response (OR) of desired and interfering channels” [(Para. 0045), where Hk is the Channel Frequency Response (CFR) at the kth sub-carrier… (Para. 0066), This method is called IDFT-filtering where the time domain Channel Impulse Response (CIR) is estimated by applying an IDFT to the Least Square (LS) estimate 210 of the channel gain].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma to provide an effective technique as taught by Hong2 to provide receivers with a simple process for estimating channel gain and ICI interference of fast fading channels [Hong2: Para. 0018].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hong and Maddah-Ali, specifically Hong teaches “wherein the receiver is adapted to estimate the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, wherein the receiver” as [(Para. 0055), An aspect of the present disclosure provides a communication apparatus for a transmitter tower station (TTS) of a broadcast communication system (BCS), the apparatus comprising: a first transmitter (Tx) antenna configured to transmit a broadcast signal to a plurality of customer receivers; one or more second Tx antennas configured to transmit a first ITC signal to another TTS.] “where the obtained pilot locations correspond to superimposed pilot values of the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters” [(Para. 0114), These data sub-streams are then superimposed onto the broadcast signal 101 at corresponding injection levels g1, g2 and g3, by the LDM multiplexers 1716 for transmitting in, e.g., the second LDM layer of LDM signals 1716, 1726, 1736.].
However, the combination of Hong and Maddah-Ali does not specifically disclose comprises: a pilot extraction module that is configured to extract the received pilot sequence from the pilot locations obtained for a specific time-frequency domain; a channel estimation module that is configured to estimate a channel frequency response (CFR) of the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, from the extracted pilot sequence; and a data carrier channel estimation module that is configured to obtain one or more channel estimates corresponding to data subcarriers based on a channel frequency response.
In an analogous art, Ma teaches “comprises: a pilot extraction module that is configured to extract the received pilot sequence from the pilot locations obtained for a specific time-frequency domain” as [(Para. 0287), Further, the pilot pattern of the ith terminal or the pilot pattern of the jth terminal indirectly indicates the time domain position of the reference signals by using position indexes, or directly indicates the time domain positions of the reference signals by using specific time domain positions. For example, the position indexes are used for indication. The pilot pattern of the jth terminal includes a first position index, a third position index, a fourth position index, and a fifth position index. The pilot pattern of the ith terminal includes the first position index, a second position index, the fourth position index, and the fifth position index.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Hong and Maddah-Ali to provide an effective technique as taught by Ma for implement multi-user phase noise compensation, but also reduce a PAPR of signals and improve signal transmission performance [Ma: Para. 0005].
However, the combination of Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma does not specifically disclose a channel estimation module that is configured to estimate a channel frequency response (CFR) of the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, from the extracted pilot sequence; and a data carrier channel estimation module that is configured to obtain one or more channel estimates corresponding to data subcarriers based on a channel frequency response.
In an analogous art, Hong2 teaches “a channel estimation module that is configured to estimate a channel frequency response (CFR) of the desired broadcast transmitter and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters, from the extracted pilot sequence;” as [(Para. 0045), where Hk is the Channel Frequency Response (CFR) at the kth sub-carrier] “and a data carrier channel estimation module that is configured to obtain one or more channel estimates corresponding to data subcarriers based on a channel frequency response” [(Para. 0019), determining an estimate of channel gain at each subcarrier corresponding to a principle diagonal vector of a channel frequency response matrix and an estimate of inter carrier interference gains at each subcarrier corresponding to off-diagonal vectors of the channel frequency response matrix in dependence upon the received signal and the decision signal].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Hong, Maddah-Ali and Ma to provide an effective technique as taught by Hong2 to provide receivers with a simple process for estimating channel gain and ICI interference of fast fading channels [Hong2: Para. 0018].
Regarding claim 5, the combination Hong, Maddah-Ali, Ma and Hong2, specifically Ma teaches “wherein the channel estimation module estimates the channel frequency responses of the desired based station and the plurality of adjacent interfering broadcast transmitters based on a location of a plurality of pre-distorted pilots in a time-frequency domain” as [(Para. 0287), Further, the pilot pattern of the ith terminal or the pilot pattern of the jth terminal indirectly indicates the time domain position of the reference signals by using position indexes, or directly indicates the time domain positions of the reference signals by using specific time domain positions. For example, the position indexes are used for indication. The pilot pattern of the jth terminal includes a first position index, a third position index, a fourth position index, and a fifth position index. The pilot pattern of the ith terminal includes the first position index, a second position index, the fourth position index, and the fifth position index.].
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463