Detailed Action
Acknowledgments
The application filed on 02/15/2023 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 1-14 are rejected.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Specifically, Applicant claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to provisional application no. 63/268,216 filed on 02/18/2022.
Drawings/Specification
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because:
- specification 0029 refers to site hazards 20, but reference numeral 20 is not shown in Fig. 1A or other figures.
- specification 0034 refers to "embodiment 30" and "QR code sticker 30" in reference to Fig. 3A-3C; in Fig. 3A reference numeral 30 refers to the embodiment or the sign, not to the QR code sticker, which is indicated by reference numeral 32.
- Fig. 7 includes reference numeral 82 ("Scan QR Code") but this reference numeral is not mentioned in the specification (see 0038 "scans the QR code" should be designated by reference numeral 82)
- Fig. 8 includes reference numeral 92 but this reference numeral is not mentioned in the specification (see 0039 "information on properties" should be designated by reference numeral 92)
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy, or amendments to the specification, will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites "wherein said signs further including a scannable secured and encrypted dynamic quick response (QR) code that provides means for first responders to scan said QR code and obtain rapid access to property information stored in said system through a network connectable device." The underlined language is not grammatically correct. It may be changed to "wherein said signs further include" or "said signs further including."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Lack of Antecedent Basis
Claim 2 recites "wherein the indicia borne on said signs …." The term "said signs" was not previously recited (claim 1 recites only a single sign), so it is not clear what it refers to.
Claim 3 recites "further including an annual renewal sticker signifying the update status of the sign indications." The term "sign indications" was not previously recited, so it is not clear what it refers to. As best understood, Applicant may have intended the term to refer to the "information elements" recited in claim 2, but it is not clear that Applicant so intended.
Claim 9 recites "wherein the information relating to the subscriber property …." The "information relating to the subscriber property" has not previously been recited. It is not clear whether the underlined information refers to the "information elements" recited in claim 2, the "information relating to subscriber properties" recited in claim 4, or the "property information" recited in claim 7.
Claims 3-13 are (also) rejected by virtue of their dependency from a rejected claim.
Relative Term
Claim 1 recites "a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance …." The term "near" is a relative term, and the scope or degree of proximity it encompasses is not clear (how near to the property entrance must a sign/surface be in order for it to fall within the metes and bounds of the claim?).
Claims 2-14 are rejected by virtue of their dependency from a rejected claim.
Unclear Scope
Claim 1 recites "a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance and bearing indicia of conditions relating to that property and pertinent to operations performed by first responders." It is not clear whether the phrase "at or near a property entrance" refers to the sign or rather to the surface.
Claim 7 recites "wherein said signs further including a scannable secured and encrypted dynamic quick response (QR) code that provides means for first responders to scan said QR code and obtain rapid access to property information stored in said system through a network connectable device." The underlined language does not appear to make sense. It is not understood how a QR code can provide means to scan itself.
Claim 9 recites "wherein the information relating to the subscriber property includes confidential information selected from the group consisting of the property owner's name, the number of residents on the property, whether the residents are on vacation, the types of medical conditions for persons on the property, pet names, emergency contact information, and whether the owners are on vacation." The recitation appears to be self-contradictory or false, as at least some of the Markush group items are not "confidential information." For example, the "property owner's name" is generally available in publicly accessible data, such as local government real property records or real estate websites.
Claims 2-14 are (also) rejected by virtue of their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-14 are directed to a system, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES)
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a communication system for providing first responders with relevant/critical information regarding a property in order to improve their ability to save lives and property in an emergency (e.g., a fire). For claim 1, the limitations (indicated below in bold) of:
A sign system to facilitate and expedite operations carried out by first responders on specific real property, comprising a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance and bearing indicia of conditions relating to that property and pertinent to operations performed by first responders.
as drafted, constitute a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers "certain methods of organizing human activity," specifically, "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people," but for recitation of generic computer components and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The Examiner notes that "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" include social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)II.C. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people," but for recitation of generic computer components and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, then it falls within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A - Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea.)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of "sign" and "a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance and bearing," that implement the abstract idea. These additional elements are not described by the applicant and they are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use), such that they amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. (Step 2A - prong 2: NO. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of "sign" and "a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance and bearing," to perform the noted steps amount to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer elements or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more"). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such, claim 1 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more.)
Dependent claims 2-14 are similarly rejected because they further define/narrow the abstract idea of independent claim 1 as discussed above, and/or do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept such as would render the claims eligible, whether each is considered individually or as an ordered combination.
As for further defining/narrowing the abstract idea:
Dependent claims 2 and 9 merely further describe information provided by the sign or QR code.
Dependent claims 3 and 14 merely further describe status information associated with a sticker.
Dependent claim 4 merely further describes providing access to users and enabling users to subscribe to a system and enter information.
Dependent claims 5 and 6 merely further describe by whom the system is administered.
Dependent claim 7 merely further describes obtaining rapid access to information.
Dependent claim 8 merely further describes incorporating a code into an icon.
Dependent claims 11 and 13 merely further describe a feature enabling users to communicate with other users and a map showing information.
Dependent claim 12 merely further describes incorporating a code into an icon.
As for additional elements:
Dependent claim 2 recites "borne on said signs." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 3 recites a "sticker." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 4 recites "a server computer having memory …, a processor coupled to said memory, said server configured for bidirectional communication to provide access to … through an online network with network connectable devices controlled …, wherein said network connectable devices are configured to run an app with a visual display and a user interface … for storage in said server memory." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 5 and 6 recite "said system" and "a business enterprise" (claim 5) or "a government agency" (claim 6). This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element ("said system") or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use ("a business enterprise"; "a government agency"). Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 7 recites "said signs further including a scannable secured and encrypted dynamic quick response (QR) code that provides means … to scan said QR code and … stored in said system through a network connectable device." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element ("stored in said system through a network connectable device") or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use ("said signs further including a scannable secured and encrypted dynamic quick response (QR) code that provides means … to scan said QR code"). Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 8 recites "said QR codes" and "sign." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 10 recites "automatic GPS activation operational on … network connectable devices." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element ("operational on … network connectable devices") or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use ("automatic GPS activation"). Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 11 recites "said network connectable devices … are configured with a graphical user interface to visually display." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 12 recites "the system" and "network connectable devices." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 13 recites "displayed." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claim 14 recites "an adhesive and removable … sticker." This recitation is at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 9 does not recite any additional elements, and accordingly, for the reasons provided above with respect to the independent claims, are not patent eligible.
Therefore, dependent claims 2-14 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Sonoma County Fire District ("Evacuation Tag Information from Sonoma County Sheriff’s Office").
Regarding Claim 1
Sonoma County Fire District teaches:
A sign system to facilitate and expedite operations carried out by first responders on specific real property, comprising a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance and bearing indicia of conditions relating to that property and pertinent to operations performed by first responders. (p. 2 "Evacuation tags are a new tool to help us more quickly ensure that neighborhoods are evacuated during a disaster. Residents tie the tag in a location that is highly visible when they evacuate (see attached photos). This saves time because first responders don’t have to tie their own ribbon on the property and they can immediately check the next home."
p.3 "Q: Where do I tie the tag when I evacuate? A: Place the tag in a location that is most visible to first responders who are on the street. This could be a gate, a mailbox, or a front door. If there is more than one home on the property, make sure all homes are evacuated before placing the tag near the street.")
Claims 1, 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1).
For the reader's convenience, higher quality figures of Silverman are enclosed with this Office Action, as the figures in the patent application publication are hard to read.
Regarding Claim 1
Silverman teaches:
A sign system to facilitate and expedite operations carried out by first responders on specific real property, comprising a sign configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance and bearing indicia of conditions relating to that property and pertinent to operations performed by first responders. (Abstract "An improved system, apparatus, and method for numbering and identifying houses, … that provides a more effective, secure and reliable interface between a location/occupant and those outside seeking to locate them … including, for example, emergency first responders, …. Further, a system, apparatus, and method to generate, receive and communicate information, designed to operate and respond in everyday use as well as a critical emergency are disclosed. An integrated network of wired and wireless communication connecting a neighborhood, a city, a town, and/or an isolated rural home site or location are disclosed.", 0009, 0011, 0015-0016, 0027, 0081 "an SAID Light module will be used for at least one purpose such as for example e.g. (a) to directly or indirectly illuminate a visible SAID Location ID display"; 0085 "The SAID light module with transceiver is superior to prior solutions in that it does not simply light a house number; rather, it is fully interactive with a series of remote controls and sensors, may emit coded signals to indicate an alert of emergency condition, may interoperate with other devices to form a neighborhood network, and may communicate the exact location and nature of an emergency and the condition of its occupants."; 0107 "5. SAID Location Identification Module; 0108 "An SAID location identification display may consist of one or more of a visual display, electronic, audible or inaudible signal, coded signal, combination thereof and/or any other means that communicates at least one unique ID associated with a location as described herein."; 0109 "At least one embodiment of an SAID Location ID module will provide a visual display with an alpha-numeric address indicator."; 0112 "Templates may also be provided that include special symbols to indicate that an occupant of a location is blind, disabled, handicapped or otherwise in need of special consideration."; 0118 "The SAID Location Identification solution is superior to previous Address Identification solutions because the SAID Location Identification solution may include: (1) Alphanumeric Visual Display"; 0119 "… illuminate a conventional alpha-numeric house number attached to a mailbox and/or outside of a location;"; 0121 "A user may choose among different styles of code-acceptable letters and numbers and may import … Medical or Handicapped symbol or other visual elements."; regarding configured for mounting on an upright surface at or near a property entrance: Figs. 8-14, ID panel/ID display/address ID module; claim 7)
Regarding Claim 2
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
wherein the indicia borne on said signs are a combination of numbers and symbolic icons indicating information elements selected from the group consisting of the street number of the property, emergency vehicle access clearances for a property entranceway, on-site water resources, whether a Fire Department Connection is on the property, medical condition notifications for any individuals residing at the property, site hazards, and livestock, pets, or other animals present on the property. (0085 "The SAID light module with transceiver is superior to prior solutions in that it does not simply light a house number; rather, it is fully interactive with a series of remote controls and sensors, may emit coded signals to indicate an alert of emergency condition, may interoperate with other devices to form a neighborhood network, and may communicate the exact location and nature of an emergency and the condition of its occupants."; 0109 "At least one embodiment of an SAID Location ID module will provide a visual display with an alpha-numeric address indicator."; 0112 "Templates may also be provided that include special symbols to indicate that an occupant of a location is blind, disabled, handicapped or otherwise in need of special consideration."; 0118 "The SAID Location Identification solution is superior to previous Address Identification solutions because the SAID Location Identification solution may include: (1) Alphanumeric Visual Display"; 0119 "… illuminate a conventional alpha-numeric house number attached to a mailbox and/or outside of a location;"; 0121 "A user may choose among different styles of code-acceptable letters and numbers and may import … Medical or Handicapped symbol or other visual elements.")
Regarding Claim 4
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claim 2 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
further comprising a subscription-based first responder communications system, including: (0196-0198, 0225, 0227-0228 under broadest reasonable interpretation, "member" teaches that Silverman's system is subscription-based)
a server computer having memory for storing data and information relating to subscriber properties, (0105, 0141, Fig. 1B (7) "archiving of" various information as set forth in (7))
a processor coupled to said memory, (0277, 0275, 0105, 0030)
said server configured for bidirectional communication to provide access to subscribers and first responders through an online network with network connectable devices controlled by subscribers and first responders, (Abstract, 0027, 0039, 0055, 0087, 0272; regarding configured for bidirectional communication: claim 1 "A system of interoperating modules that inter-communicate bi-directionally … to support bidirectional data interchange, communications and messaging between a location and an outside receiver"; Abstract "provides a more effective, secure and reliable interface between a location/occupant and those outside seeking to locate them … for example, emergency first responders, …. Further, a system, apparatus, and method to generate, receive and communicate information, …."; 0011 "it is essential to have an Emergency Communications System …. It is further clear that two-way communications is a requisite, since not only must an occupant be able to communicate with first responders, but authorities must be able to notify local citizens …"; regarding an online network with network connectable devices: Abstract, 0027, 0039, 0055, 0087, 0151-0152, 0155-0156, 0272 "an integrated communication network.", Fig. 1B, (9) SAID Network; regarding network connectable devices controlled by subscribers and first responders: 0093 "Each such remote device may contain one or more user-activated buttons, commands and/or sensor devices that report conditions at the subject location automatically and/or by user activation", 0143-0144 "user-activated remote control alert device", 0055, 0059, 0147 and 0272 user remote control device)
wherein said network connectable devices are configured to run an app with a visual display and a user interface enabling users to subscribe to said system, (regarding wherein said network connectable devices are configured to run an app with a visual display and a user interface: 0093 "An SAID app may also be installed on a tablet, PC or smart phone." (it is understood that tablet, PC, and smart phone have a visual display and a user interface); regarding enabling users to subscribe to said system: 0197 "An SAID system will have an associated group of one or more “members”, that is, a device, a location and/or an individual that is uniquely identified and included as a recognized “Member” of an SAID system “population group”. For example, a resident of a neighborhood and their associated individually-identified SAID devices and/or SAID remote alert control will be recognized as Members of an SAID system or neighborhood. One or more Members may be given a priority level. A Member may be removed from membership by a person with administrative privileges for an SAID system.", 0027 "A Smart Address Identification (“SAID”) and Secure Mailbox as described herein, is a system, apparatus, and method to provide one or more of the following capabilities, for example e.g. to: … (7) create a Neighborhood Network.", 0085 "The SAID light module with transceiver … may interoperate with other devices to form a neighborhood network"; under broadest reasonable interpretation, in view of 0197, creating/forming a neighborhood network as taught by 0027 and 0085 is deemed to teach becoming a member, i.e., subscribing)
and for subscribers and first responders to enter and update property information for storage in said server memory. (0093 "Each such remote device may contain one or more user-activated buttons, commands and/or sensor devices that report conditions at the subject location automatically and/or by user activation" -- under broadest reasonable interpretation, this general statement is deemed to assert that the operations are performed in general, i.e., more than a single time, and while an initial reporting of conditions teaches "entering property information," a subsequent reporting of conditions teaches "updating property information", 0003, 0027, 0098 "The SAID device may also send advance information about the condition of the location and occupants.", 0085 "The SAID light module with transceiver … is fully interactive with a series of remote controls and sensors, may emit coded signals to indicate an alert of emergency condition, … and may communicate the exact location and nature of an emergency and the condition of its occupants", 0104 '' an individual to enter a location"; regarding for storage in said server memory: e.g., 0091, 0105, 0141)
Regarding Claim 5
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2 and 4 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
wherein said system is administered by a business enterprise. (0159 "In MTL [see 0168-0169], commercial, industrial or military applications such as those across a residential complex or campus, business/manufacturing facility or base/staging area, an SAID system …" -- indicating SAID system can be run by a business)
Regarding Claim 6
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2 and 4 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
wherein said system is administered by a governmental agency. (0022 "An emergency response system provided by the present application is of great economic and social value to citizens, governments and emergency response authorities in the US and internationally" -- it is known that an emergency response authority, which can run the SAID system, is commonly a governmental agency, e.g., FEMA)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1), in view of Nyalamadugu et al. (WO 2017023881 A1), hereafter Nyalamadugu.
Regarding Claim 3
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claim 2 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
… sign …. (Figs. 8-14, ID panel/ID display/address ID module)
Silverman does not explicitly disclose but Nyalamadugu teaches:
further including an annual renewal sticker signifying the update status of the sign indications. (0037 "Typically, in the United States, motorists are required to renew their vehicle registration on an annual basis. For example, California license plates have a month and a year sticker. A properly registered vehicle in California will have been issued a sticker that shows the current year. … Consequently, a vehicle cannot successfully pass through an EVR checkpoint and will fail various license plate validation techniques disclosed below, unless the vehicle is also properly registered and is displaying a current vehicle registration sticker."; note under broadest reasonable interpretation, the license plate teaches a "sign")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silverman's system for improved house address signage and improved communication of emergency information to first responders, by incorporating therein these teachings of Nyalamadugu pertaining to annual renewal stickers indicating update status for signage use, because Nyalamadugu's teachings represent a suitable, convenient and conventional way to signify, on a sign, plate, or the like, whether a subscription, registration, or the like (such as an auto registration or a home security service subscription) is valid/up to date, see Nyalamadugu 0037, and because the combination is just a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143.I.A.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1) (combining embodiments of Silverman).
Regarding Claim 7
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2 and 4 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
wherein said signs further including a scannable secured and encrypted dynamic quick response (QR) code that provides means for first responders to scan said QR code and obtain rapid access to property information stored in said system through a network connectable device. (0093, 0159, 0167, Fig. 4, claims 9 and 12, first responders obtain information on their devices from alert bracelet by scannable QR code on alert bracelet; per claim 12, this information is stored in the system; Combination of embodiments: It would be obvious to combine embodiments of Silverman so as to include the QR code (taught in the alert bracelet embodiment of Fig. 4) in an address ID display sign of any of the numerous embodiments directed to an address ID display sign, such as the embodiments of Figs. 1A (5), 7-17, 20A, 20B, 22, 23 and 30, whereby the QR code would provide access to the property information on the address ID display sign which, per 0112, 0121, can include information pertaining to a medical condition of an occupant of the house (property information), and per 0085 can include other property information ("exact location and nature of an emergency and the condition of its occupants"). The reasons this combination would be obvious are: (1) Silverman teaches that different embodiments are combinable: 0272 ("Numerous modifications and adaptations thereof will be apparent to those skilled in the art without departing from the spirit and scope of the present application. Further combinations of the different embodiments would be within the scope and possession of the invention and knowledge of the inventor or those skilled in the art, and are considered to be covered under the scope of the present disclosure"); 0275 ("certain acts, events, devices or functions of any of the processes or algorithms described herein may be performed in a different sequence, may be added, merged, or left out altogether"); 0282 ("The figures and drawings included herein depict some, but not all, SAID embodiments and application-specific implementations of SAID embodiments, and have been selected to illustrate representative combinations of SAID devices, elements and modules. The figures are not intended to depict all possible combinations, embodiments or application-specific implementations of embodiments."); and (2) the combination is just a matter of combining prior art elements (namely, combining the QR code from the alert bracelet with the address ID display sign) according to known methods (of putting a QR code on a medium/ surface, such as a sign) to yield predictable results (the QR code would work in the same way on the sign as it does on the alert bracelet), MPEP 2143.I.A.)
Regarding Claim 9
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2, 4 and 7 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
wherein the information relating to the subscriber property includes confidential information selected from the group consisting of the property owner's name, the number of residents on the property, whether the residents are on vacation, the types of medical conditions for persons on the property, pet names, emergency contact information, and whether the owners are on vacation. (If "the information relating to the subscriber property" refers to the "information elements" recited in claim 2: 0112, 0121 teach information pertaining to a medical condition of an occupant of the house (the types of medical conditions for persons on the property); If "the information relating to the subscriber property" refers to the "information relating to subscriber properties" recited in claim 4: the information indicated as stored, as per 0105, 0141, Fig. 1B (7), includes the information indicated in 0112, 0121, which can include information pertaining to a medical condition of an occupant of the house (the types of medical conditions for persons on the property); If "the information relating to the subscriber property" refers to the "property information" recited in claim 7: As per the combination of embodiments as set forth for claim 7 above, the QR code would provide access to the property information on the address ID display sign which, per 0112, 0121, can include information pertaining to a medical condition of an occupant of the house (the types of medical conditions for persons on the property); note also that per 0093, 0159, 0167, Fig. 4, claims 9, 12, the information obtained via QR code from the alert bracelet is also one or more "types of medical conditions for persons on the property")
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1), in view of Williams et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0188074 A1), hereafter Williams.
Regarding Claim 8
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2, 4 and 7 as set forth above.
Silverman does not explicitly disclose but Williams teaches:
wherein said QR codes are incorporated into a sign icon. (0018-0019, 0055, Fig. 8b)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silverman's system for improved house address signage and improved communication of emergency information to first responders, by incorporating therein these teachings of Williams pertaining to incorporating a QR code in a sign icon, because it would save space on a sign and because the sign icons are well-known/recognizable and so naturally attract the attention of a first responder and thus expedite the first responder's locating the QR code on the sign and scanning the QR code, thus saving time, which can save lives in an emergency situation, see Williams, 0055, Silverman, 0009, 0016, and because the combination is just a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143.I.A.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1), in view of Lazarski (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0114902 A1).
Regarding Claim 10
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2 and 4 as set forth above. Silverman further teaches:
… first responder network connectable devices (e.g., 0027, 0087 transceivers). (Abstract, 0027, 0039 network, 0055, 0087, 0151-0152, 0155-0156, 0272 "an integrated communication network.", Fig. 1B, (9) SAID Network)
Silverman does not explicitly disclose but Lazarski teaches:
further including automatic GPS activation operational on … network connectable devices. (0043)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silverman's system for improved house address signage and improved communication of emergency information to first responders, by incorporating therein these teachings of Lazarski pertaining to automatic GPS activation on a user device, because this would expedite emergency operations (by not requiring manual GPS activation) and thereby save lives and property, see Lazarski, 0005-0007, Huber, 0002, Silverman, 0009, 0016.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1), in view of Huber et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0342028 A1), hereafter Huber.
For the reader's convenience, higher quality figures of Huber are enclosed with this Office Action, as the figures in the patent application publication are hard to read.
Regarding Claim 11
Silverman teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2 and 4 as set forth above. Silverman does not explicitly disclose but Huber teaches:
wherein said network connectable devices (user devices 106) of first responders are configured with a graphical user interface to visually display subscriber properties on a map with icons showing other first responders in the area and the evacuation status of nearby properties owned by subscribers. (regarding said network connectable devices of first responders: 0046 (Fig. 1) "a system 100 for providing information to first responders, for example, during an emergency response, …. The system 100 includes data sources 102 a through 102 h (collectively, 102), a data management platform 104, user devices 106 a through 106 d (collectively 106), and a configuration device 108. Each of the data sources 102 a through 102 h, user devices 106 a through 106 d, and the configuration device 108 is communicatively coupled to the data management platform 104 by way of one or more communication paths, which, in some examples, include one or more wired and/or wireless communication networks, such as the Internet."; Fig. 3, 308; regarding said network connectable devices of first responders are configured with a graphical user interface to visually display: 0049 "the user devices 106 are configured to provide one or more user interfaces (such as, for example, the various user interfaces [GUIs] described below in connection with FIGS. 5 through 22) with which a user (for example, a first responder) may interact to access information that is relevant to an emergency response and that is provided by the data management platform 104 based on data obtained from the sources 102."; Fig. 3, 300, 306, note per 0070 computing device 300 may be user device 106; 0077, Fig. 4A, 410, 0082, Fig. 4B, 428, 0086, Fig. 5, 500, 0100, 0103; regarding configured with a graphical user interface to visually display subscriber properties on a map: Fig. 20, 2000, 2002, 0104 "The user interface 2000 includes a section 2002 in which multiple addresses and corresponding alert icons are displayed for addresses located in the vicinity of the intersection."; also Figs. 7 and 16-17 show aerial maps showing subscriber properties; regarding subscriber properties: 0050, 0064, 0065, 0068, 0073, 0074, 0076, 0081 discussion of account, onboarding, and logon indicates that the system is a subscriber system, where each account (subscriber) is associated with specific properties specific to that account (subscriber); regarding with icons showing other first responders in the area: 0107, Table 11, "data management platform 104 is configured to … provide, via the user interface 500 [Fig. 5] for instance, contextual recommendations or warnings to first responders" including re "type of unit responding," "user responding," "role of responder," via the textual description UI elements, alert icon UI elements, pop-up warning alerts, and/or page layout; regarding the evacuation status of nearby properties owned by subscribers: 0082 alert icon UI elements 428f displayed on user device include, per 0097, alert icon 506 [Fig. 5] indicating an occupancy of the structure (also shown in Figs. 8 ,16, 17); 0107, Table 11, "data management platform 104 is configured to … provide, via the user interface 500 [Fig. 5] for instance, contextual recommendations or warnings to first responders" including re "vacant occupancy," via the textual description UI elements, alert icon UI elements, pop-up warning alerts, and/or page layout; note 0108 "although certain embodiments herein are described as separate embodiments, each of the embodiments herein may be combined with one or more of the other embodiments herein" -- therefore, the foregoing teachings, even where set forth separately from one another, may all be displayed on the same display/map)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silverman's system for improved house address signage and improved communication of emergency information to first responders, by incorporating therein these teachings of Huber pertaining to providing first responder devices with a UI with a map showing property and first responder information, because Huber's teachings provide critical emergency response information "that is presented in a manner that enables the first responders to absorb the information and take appropriate action in an expedient manner," so as to improve emergency response (render it faster and more accurate/efficient) and thereby save lives and property, see Huber, 0002, Silverman, 0002-0004, 0008-0009, 0015-0016, and also because, in respect of occupancy information, Silverman teaches that such information is critical in an emergency and accordingly teaches the use of occupancy sensors, see Silverman, 0004, 0085, 0098, 0172-0173.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0138223 A1), in view of Huber et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0342028 A1), hereafter Huber, and further in view of Parkulo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0078749 A1), hereafter Parkulo.
Regarding Claim 12
Silverman in view of Huber teaches the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 2, 4 and 11 as set forth above. Huber further teaches:
further including an SOS feature enabling first responders to use the system to communicate to other first responders … and to have their situation and location indicated on maps shown on other nearby first responder network connectable devices. (regarding an SOS feature: 0082, 0086, 0092 "The alert icon user interface elements 428 f are icons that each belong to a one of multiple alert icon groups or categories and provide an alert corresponding to the structure located at the address of the emergency response. In some examples, the alert icon user interface elements 428 f are color-coded based on the alert icon category to which it corresponds, for ease of reference during emergencies.", 0093 "The data management platform 104 determines whether a particular alert icon is applicable to a structure or address corresponding to the emergency call, and thus whether the particular alert icon is to be displayed via the user interf