DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to papers filed 5/26/2026. Claims 22-40 are pending and examined herein.
Examiner’s Note
All paragraph numbers throughout this office action, unless otherwise noted, are from the US PGPub of this application US20230357723A1, Published 11/9/2023.
Maintained Rejection(s)
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 32 and 38-40 as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11613732 is maintained. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed following maintained rejection.
Withdrawn Rejection(s)
The 112 (b) rejection of claims 22, 25 and 32 are withdrawn in view of amendments made to each of said claim.
The 112 (d) rejection of claims 29-30 and 34-35 are withdrawn in view of amendments made to the claims.
The 102 (a)(1) rejection of claims 22-23, 25, 29 and 37 as being anticipated by Steketee et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2011 Nov 7;108(47):19042–19047) is withdrawn in view of amendments made to claim 22.
The 102 (a)(1) rejection of claims 33-34 as being anticipated by Li et al. (Biochim Biophys Acta. 2012 Sep;1817(9):1628-34.) is withdrawn in view of amendments made to claim 33.
The 103 (a) rejection of claim 24 as being obvious over Steketee et al. as applied to claims 22-23, 25, 29 and 37 above and Nilsang et al. (Biotechnol Prog. 2008 Sep-Oct;24(5):1122-31.) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 22.
The 103 (a) rejection of claims 26-28 as being obvious over Steketee et al. as applied to claims 22-23, 25, 29 and 37 above and Richard et al. (Eur J Neurosci. 2005 Nov;22(9):2145-58) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 22.
The 103 (a) rejection of claims 30-31 as being obvious over Steketee et al. as applied to claims 22-23, 25, 29 and 37 above and Das et al. (Biomaterials. 2004 Nov;25(25):5643-7.) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 22.
The 103 (a) rejection of claims 33-36 as being obvious over Vukadinovic-Nikolic et al. (Tissue Eng Part A. 2014 Feb;20(3-4):799-809.), Thavandiran et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013 Dec 3;110(49):E4698-707.) and Cao et al. (Cell Res. 2011 Dec 6;22(1):219–236.) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Prior Art Rejection 1
Claim(s) 22-25, 28-29 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gage et al. (PgPub US20160108361A1, Filed 4/17/2014).
Gage discloses a basal neuronal medium, BrainPhys. Regarding claim 22, Gage discloses BrainPhys comprises calcium chloride, magnesium sulfate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium phosphate, L-Alanyl-L-Glutamine (as in claim 24) and sodium pyruvate (see Table 2, Pg. 19). Gage discloses the concentration of L-Alanyl-L Glutamine is at a concentration of about 0.5 mM (as in claim 25) (Pg. 9, para. 96). Gage discloses the medium further comprises on or more supplemental agents selected from the group consisting of protein bovine serum albumin (BSA), insulin and ascorbic acid (Vit C) (as further in claim 22) (Pg. 8, para. 89). Gage discloses each supplemental agents is contained in the medium at a concentration of between about 0.01 and about 50 ug/mL (as in claim 28). Gage discloses the BrainPhys medium is serum-free (Pg. 9, para. 106), glutamic acid-free, glutamine-free, antibiotic-free, and HEPES-free (as in claim 23) (Table 2, Pg. 5, para. 55; Pg. 14, para. 143). Gage discloses using the medium for the maturation of neuronal cells (as in claim 29 and a sin claim 37) (Pg. 11, para.123).
Accordingly, Gage anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Prior Art Rejection 2
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage et al. (PgPub US20160108361A1, Filed 4/17/2014) as applied to claims and further in view of George et al. (PgPub US20150265652A1, Filed 3/20/2015).
The teachings of Gage et al. are relied upon as detailed above. And although Gage teaches ascorbic acid, Gage fails to teach the concentration of ascorbic acid is 200 ug/mL to about 700 ug/mL (as in claim 26).
George teaches methods for efficient production of midbrain dopaminergic (DA) neurons (Abstract). George teaches a maturation media comprising, inter alia, a Neurobasal media comprising B27 supplement, L-glutamine, 1 to 50 ng/ml BDNF, 1 to 50 ng/ml GDNF, 0.1 to 10 ng/ml TGFβ and 1 to 1,000 μM ascorbic acid (Pg.3 ,para. 26).
When taken with Gage’s objective of deriving a neuronal maturation medium, it would have been prima facie obvious to include ascorbic acid at about a 200 μM/ml to 700 μM/ml concentration in the BrainPhys medium of Gage et al. The skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to do so because George teaches a maturation medium comprising 200 μM of albumin.
Thus, the modification would have been prima facie obvious.
Prior Art Rejection 2
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage et al. (PgPub US20160108361A1, Filed 4/17/2014) as applied to claims and further in view of Brewer, G. (PgPub US20080160006A1, Published 7/3/2008).
The teachings of Gage et al. are relied upon as detailed above. And although Gage teaches albumin, Gage fails to teach the concentration of albumin is 200 ug/mL to about 700 ug/mL (as in claim 27).
Brewer teaches an aqueous composition effective for improving neural cell viability in brain or spinal cord tissue in a human after brain or spinal cord injury or surgery or for improving neural cell viability of nervous system cells or tissue intended to be delivered into a brain, spinal cord, or nervous system of a human. Gage teaches the medium to do comprises about 5 to about 200 μM human albumin (as in claim 27) (Pg. 2, para. 12).
When taken with Gage’s objective of deriving a neuronal maturation medium, it would have been prima facie obvious to include albumin at about a 200 μM concentration in the BrainPhys medium of Gage et al. The skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to do so because Brewer teaches a medium comprising 200 μM of albumin improvise neural cell viability.
Thus, the modification would have been prima facie obvious.
Prior Art Rejection 3
Claim(s) 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage et al. (PgPub US20160108361A1, Filed 4/17/2014) as applied to claims and further in view of Takeuchi et al. (Lab Chip (2011) 11 (13): 2268–2275.).
The teachings of Gage et al. are relied upon as detailed above. However, Gage fails to teach the cells are cardiomyocytes (as in claim 30).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Takeuchi et al. teach neuronal networks of in vivo models are too large and complex to be analyzed with clarity. One of the best approaches for understanding the modulation of cardiac function by the sympathetic nervous system is to analyze the function of a small cell network consisting of sympathetic neurons and cardiomyocytes (Abstract). Towards this end, Takeuchi teaches co-culturing neurons to cardiomyocytes in the same medium (Pg. 2270, Col. 2, para. 1).
With respect to claim 31, note that this limitation is being interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. The courts have consistently held that "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this regard, absent evidence to the contrary the cardiomyocytes of Takeuchi are reasonably considered to the same or obvious over the iPSC derived cardiomyocyte of claim 31.
When taken with the teachings of Takeuchi et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to culture cardiomyocytes in the BrainPhys medium of Gage et al. The skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to do in order to elucidate the modulation of cardiac function by the sympathetic nervous system using the in vitro system of sympathetic neurons and cardiomyocytes. The skilled artisan would have been sufficiently motivated to do so because Gage et al. explicitly teaches their medium aided in the maturation of neuronal cells. Thus, the modification would have been prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 32-36 and 38-40 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11613732 in view of Gage et al. (PgPub US20160108361A1, Filed 4/17/2014). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Instant claims are drawn a cell recovery medium comprising: the cell preservation medium of claim 22, Ml99, DMEM, glucose or other sugar based energy source, glutamine or an analog thereof, and one or more of ascorbic acid, albumin, or insulin, wherein the cell recovery medium has about 45% to about 55% cell preservation medium, wherein the cell recovery medium has about 10% to about 15% Ml99 and about 35% to about 40% DMEM.
For completeness, claim 22 is drawn to a cell medium comprising: cell preservation medium that comprises a cell hibernation medium and L-glutamine or an analog thereof, and ascorbic acid, albumin, insulin and the hibernation medium comprises calcium, magnesium, sodium phosphate, sodium bicarbonate and sodium pyruvate. Claims 33-36 depend from claim 32. Claim 38 is drawn to a method of culturing using the medium of claim 32. Claims 39-40 depend on claim 38.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent ‘732 is drawn to a cell recovery medium comprising: M199, DMEM, glucose or other sugar based energy source, and cell preservation medium, wherein the cell recovery medium has about 45% to about 55% cell preservation medium, wherein the cell recovery medium has about 10% to about 15% M199 and about 35% to about 40% DMEM, wherein the cell preservation medium comprises cell hibernation medium, 0.5 mM to 4 mM L-glutamine or L-alanyl-L-glutamine dipeptide, ascorbic acid, albumin, and insulin, wherein the ascorbic acid is 100 μg/mL to 300 μg/mL, the albumin is 200 μg/mL to 700 μg/mL, and the insulin is 1 μg/mL to 20 μg/ml.
The difference between instant claims and the claims of the patent lie in the fact that instant claims define the cell hibernation medium to comprise calcium, magnesium, sodium phosphate, sodium bicarbonate and sodium pyruvate. However, such would have been prima facie obvious in view of Gage who teaches BrainPhys comprises calcium chloride, magnesium sulfate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium phosphate, and sodium pyruvate (see Table 2, Pg. 19). Gage teaches BrainPhys mimics the human brain physiological environment (Pg. 11, para. 123+) ~ this teaching is reasonably considered to teach a maintenance/hibernation medium.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute the generic hibernation medium of U.S. Patent ‘732 for the hibernation medium of Gage because Gage teaches such a medium mimics the human brain physiological environment.
Authorization to Initiate Electronic Communications
The examiner may not initiate communications via electronic mail unless and until applicants authorize such communications in writing within the official record of the patent application. See M.P.E.P. § 502.03, part II. If not already provided, Applicants may wish to consider supplying such written authorization in response to this Office action, as negotiations toward allowability are more easily conducted via e-mail than by facsimile transmission (the PTO's default electronic-communication method). A sample authorization is available at § 502.03, part II.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Authorization to Initiate Electronic Communications
The examiner may not initiate communications via electronic mail unless and until applicants authorize such communications in writing within the official record of the patent application. See M.P.E.P. § 502.03, part II. If not already provided, Applicants may wish to consider supplying such written authorization in response to this Office action, as negotiations toward allowability are more easily conducted via e-mail than by facsimile transmission (the PTO's default electronic-communication method). A sample authorization is available at § 502.03, part II.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632