DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 6, 14-17, 19-23, and 25-31 are now pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that newly amended limitations are not taught by any of the cited references such as transmitting information for displaying a screen for input relating to IEEE802.1X and receiving first information relating to IEEE 802.1X authentication from the information processing apparatus, with the first information being information based on input to the screen and including at least one of an authentication method used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a user name used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a password used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a key used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, and a certificate used in the IEEE802.1X authentication and where second processing is executed to re-establish the first wireless connection in response to a failure in authentication by an authentication server in the IEEE802.1X authentication performed based on the received first information as currently recited in claim 1, see remarks, pages 10-11.
In reply examiner disagrees and asserts that firstly examiner notes that applicant makes conclusionary statements as facts rather than providing any specific reasoning behind why the newly amended limitations are not taught by any of the cited references.
The only thing that Uchikawa doesn’t teach is mentioning that authentication is actually a IEEE802.1X type of authentication. It mostly teaches everything else,
For instance, Uchikawa teaches transmit, via a first wireless connection (wireless access point 105, fig. 2) between the communication apparatus (printer 101, fig. 1) and an information processing apparatus (mobile terminal 102, fig. 1) (plurality of devices are connected to a LAN 100 via a single wireless access point 105, such that mobile terminal 102 can connect to the LAN 100 via the wireless access point 105. The mobile terminal 102, via the wireless access point 105, can perform two-way communication with the other devices that are connected to the LAN 100, paragraph 27 and authentication information is transmitted by printer to mobile apparatus as described in paragraphs 50, 58), information for displaying, on the information processing apparatus, a screen for input relating to authentication (in mobile terminal 102, CPU 211 receives authentication information (a two-dimensional barcode image including information of the SSID and the KEY) from printer 101 to be able to make connection between printer and mobile apparatus with the list of wireless access points, the CPU 211 displays the received list on the operation unit 214 such that user operating the mobile terminal 102 selects the wireless access point to which the printer 101 is to be connected (for example, the wireless access point 105) from out of the list displayed on the operation unit 214 and inputs the KEY for connecting to the wireless access point, paragraphs 50, 58), the first wireless connection being a peer-to-peer wireless connection not via any external access point and being established using an authentication method that does not use an authentication server (mobile terminal 102, via the wireless access point 105, can perform two-way communication with printer that is connected to the LAN 100 such that the CPU 211, using the wireless network searches for a wireless connection in the vicinity of the mobile terminal 102, and displays the search results to allow the user to select the wireless access point to which the mobile terminal 102 is to perform the wireless LAN connection and when the SSID of the printer 101 is selected, the CPU 211 prompts the user to input the KEY and when the CPU 211 accepts the SSID and KEY input from the user, the CPU 211 makes a peer-to-peer wireless LAN connection to the printer 101 by the wireless network by using the inputted SSID and KEY and thereby bypassing any authentication server or external access point authentication, paragraphs 27, 54-55); receive, via the first wireless connection, first information relating to authentication from the information processing apparatus the first information being information based on input to the screen and including at least one of an authentication method used in the authentication, a user name used in the authentication, a password used in the authentication, a key used in the authentication, and a certificate used in the authentication (when input from the user is accepted via the operation unit 214, the CPU 211, in step S507, transmits a wireless LAN setting command to the printer 101. The wireless LAN setting command includes the SSID, the KEY, and the security type of the wireless access point connection target (that is, the wireless access point 105) is included and in the printer 101, in step S409, the CPU 201 receives from the mobile terminal 102 the wireless LAN setting command including SSID, KEY as used in the authentication, paragraphs 59-60), and execute second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection in response to a failure in authentication by an authentication server in the authentication performed based on the received first information (CPU 201 holds the SSID and KEY that were decided in memory without deleting them until the connection to the wireless access point succeeds, such that in the case of failing of connection due to failure in authentication performed based on the received SSID, KEY information at the wireless LAN setting by CPU of printer (i.e., authentication server) and switches the wireless network from the infrastructure mode to the access point mode by reusing the SSID and KEY that were decided when switching to the access point mode the previous time, paragraphs 73, 80).
And Suzuki has been brought in just to teach that authentication is IEEE 802.1X authentication (normal Wi-Fi communication is classified into wireless communication in accordance with an enterprise type of authentication scheme such as IEEE802.1X authentication scheme (EAP or LEAP) and executing processing on the basis of said scheme , paragraphs 45-48, 71) and that the authentication method is IEEE802.1X including username used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a password used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a key used in the IEEE802.1X authentication or a certificate used in the IEEE802.1X authentication (when EAP authentication scheme (IEEE 802.1x) is LEAP, EAP-FAST, PEAP, or EAP-TTLS, the authentication server 70 executes authentication using a user ID and a password, paragraph 52, and normal Wi-Fi wireless setting information normally includes an authentication protocol such as EAP IEEE 802.1x authentication scheme with user ID, password, and a client certificate, paragraph 71).
Thus, combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki has been successfully shown to teach all the newly amended limitations of claim 1 as seemed to be argued by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 14-17, 19-23, 25, and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchikawa, US 2020/0100171 in view of Suzuki, US 2013/0309968.
Regarding claim 1, Uchikawa discloses a communication apparatus (printer 101, fig. 1) comprising:
at least one processor (CPU 201, fig. 2); and at least one memory (ROM 202, fig. 2) including at least one program, wherein the at least one program causes the at least one processor to (CPU 201 comprehensively controls operations of the printer 101 on the whole. The CPU 201 performs various control such as print control by reading a control program stored in the ROM 202 and executing the control program, paragraph 30)
transmit, via a first wireless connection (wireless access point 105, fig. 2) between the communication apparatus (printer 101, fig. 1) and an information processing apparatus (mobile terminal 102, fig. 1) (plurality of devices are connected to a LAN 100 via a single wireless access point 105, such that mobile terminal 102 can connect to the LAN 100 via the wireless access point 105. The mobile terminal 102, via the wireless access point 105, can perform two-way communication with the other devices that are connected to the LAN 100, paragraph 27 and authentication information is transmitted by printer to mobile apparatus as described in paragraphs 50, 58), information for displaying, on the information processing apparatus, a screen for input relating to authentication (in mobile terminal 102, CPU 211 receives authentication information (a two-dimensional barcode image including information of the SSID and the KEY) from printer 101 to be able to make connection between printer and mobile apparatus with the list of wireless access points, the CPU 211 displays the received list on the operation unit 214 such that user operating the mobile terminal 102 selects the wireless access point to which the printer 101 is to be connected (for example, the wireless access point 105) from out of the list displayed on the operation unit 214 and inputs the KEY for connecting to the wireless access point, paragraphs 50, 58), the first wireless connection being a peer-to-peer wireless connection not via any external access point and being established using an authentication method that does not use an authentication server (mobile terminal 102, via the wireless access point 105, can perform two-way communication with printer that is connected to the LAN 100 such that the CPU 211, using the wireless network searches for a wireless connection in the vicinity of the mobile terminal 102, and displays the search results to allow the user to select the wireless access point to which the mobile terminal 102 is to perform the wireless LAN connection and when the SSID of the printer 101 is selected, the CPU 211 prompts the user to input the KEY and when the CPU 211 accepts the SSID and KEY input from the user, the CPU 211 makes a peer-to-peer wireless LAN connection to the printer 101 by the wireless network by using the inputted SSID and KEY and thereby bypassing any authentication server or external access point authentication, paragraphs 27, 54-55);
receive, via the first wireless connection, first information relating to authentication from the information processing apparatus the first information being information based on input to the screen and including at least one of an authentication method used in the authentication, a user name used in the authentication, a password used in the authentication, a key used in the authentication, and a certificate used in the authentication (when input from the user is accepted via the operation unit 214, the CPU 211, in step S507, transmits a wireless LAN setting command to the printer 101. The wireless LAN setting command includes the SSID, the KEY, and the security type of the wireless access point connection target (that is, the wireless access point 105) is included and in the printer 101, in step S409, the CPU 201 receives from the mobile terminal 102 the wireless LAN setting command including SSID, KEY as used in the authentication, paragraphs 59-60),
terminate the first wireless connection (CPU 201 switches the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode, paragraph 63),
execute in a state in which the first wireless connection is not established (the CPU 201 performs control to switch the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode, and to cause the printer 101 to connect to the network (the LAN 100) in accordance with the network setting information. Specifically, in step S412, the CPU 201 switches the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode. After that, the CPU 201, in step S413, in accordance with the network setting information obtained in step S410, connects to the wireless access point (that is, the wireless access point 105) designated by the SSID included in the network setting information, paragraph 63),
and execute second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection in response to a failure in authentication by an authentication server in the authentication performed based on the received first information (CPU 201 holds the SSID and KEY that were decided in memory without deleting them until the connection to the wireless access point succeeds, such that in the case of failing of connection due to failure in authentication performed based on the received SSID, KEY information at the wireless LAN setting by CPU of printer (i.e., authentication server) and switches the wireless network from the infrastructure mode to the access point mode by reusing the SSID and KEY that were decided when switching to the access point mode the previous time, paragraphs 73, 80).
Uchikawa fails to explicitly disclose that authentication is IEEE802.1X authentication, authentication method is IEEE802.1X including username used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a password used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a key used in the IEEE802.1X authentication or a certificate used in the IEEE802.1X authentication and execute, first processing for establishing a second wireless connection between communication apparatus and an external access point that is compatible with the IEEE802.1X authentication, the first processing including performing the IEEE802.1X authentication based on received first information.
However, Suzuki teaches authentication is IEEE 802.1X authentication (normal Wi-Fi communication is classified into wireless communication in accordance with an enterprise type of authentication scheme such as IEEE802.1X authentication scheme (EAP or LEAP) and executing processing on the basis of said scheme , paragraphs 45-48, 71), authentication method is IEEE802.1X including username used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a password used in the IEEE802.1X authentication, a key used in the IEEE802.1X authentication or a certificate used in the IEEE802.1X authentication (when EAP authentication scheme (IEEE 802.1x) is LEAP, EAP-FAST, PEAP, or EAP-TTLS, the authentication server 70 executes authentication using a user ID and a password, paragraph 52, and normal Wi-Fi wireless setting information normally includes an authentication protocol such as EAP IEEE 802.1x authentication scheme with user ID, password, and a client certificate, paragraph 71);
and execute, first processing for establishing a second wireless connection between communication apparatus and an external access point that is compatible with the IEEE802.1X authentication, the first processing including performing the IEEE802.1X authentication based on received first information (AP 60 executes authentication using password, SSID information (i.e., received first information) (paragraphs 55, 67, 72) for establishing connection with MFP, paragraph 80, however, if compatible authentication scheme is EAP, then IEEE802.1x authentication takes place for making first type of connection, paragraphs 45-49, and on the other hand, if compatible authentication scheme is of personal type authentication scheme, then IEEE802.1x authentication protocol is not used for making second type of connection, paragraph 54).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 2, Uchikawa further discloses wherein, after the second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection is executed, second information relating to the authentication is received from the information processing apparatus via the re-established first wireless connection (CPU 201 tries to connect to the wireless access point in accordance with the wireless LAN setting command received from the mobile terminal 102 and in the case where the connection failed to connect to the wireless access point due to an error in the network setting information included in the received wireless LAN setting command, the CPU 201 once again allows a wireless LAN setting that uses the wireless LAN setting service 302 to be performed by reusing the SSID and KEY that were decided when switching to the access point mode the previous time, paragraphs 72, 80), and wherein the authentication based on the received second information is executed in a state in which the first wireless connection is not established (CPU 201, in step S413, in accordance with the network setting information obtained in step S410, connects to the wireless access point 105 designated by the SSID included in the network setting information, paragraph 63).
Uchikawa fails to explicitly disclose authentication is related to IEEE 802.1X authentication.
However, Suzuki teaches authentication is related to IEEE 802.1X authentication (normal Wi-Fi communication is classified into wireless communication in accordance with an enterprise type of authentication scheme such as IEEE802.1X authentication scheme (LEAP) and executing processing on the basis of said scheme , paragraphs 45-48, 71).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the IEEE 802.1X authentication (Suzuki, authentication scheme such as IEEE802.1X authentication scheme, paragraphs 47-48) based on the received first information is executed on the basis of a predetermined user operation being executed on the communication apparatus after the first information has been received (Uchikawa, CPU 201 receives from the mobile terminal 102 the wireless LAN setting command (SSID, KEY) and performs predetermined processing such as making a connection via wireless access point 105 according to the received wireless LAN setting command, paragraphs 59-60), or automatically executed without execution of the predetermined user operation after the second information has been received.
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection is processing to transition to a state in which the direct connection can be performed (Uchikawa, in the case of failing at the wireless LAN setting, switches the wireless network I/F 207 from the infrastructure mode to the access point mode and reusing the SSID and KEY that were decided when switching to the access point mode the previous time such that printer 101 to directly connect to the LAN 100 via the wireless access point 105 is enabled by operating the mobile terminal 102 and thereby bypassing any other external access point, paragraphs 73, 80, 27).
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein when the IEEE 802.1X authentication is successful, the second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection is not executed (Suzuki, if authentication scheme is EAP or LEAP, then IEEE802.1x authentication protocol is used for making connection, paragraph 48, however, as per Uchikawa’s teaching that in case of no encountering of error/failure (i.e., success) while making connection then no reuse of authentication information for re-forming of connection is needed/executed, paragraphs 68-73).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
(Examiner note: These “when” limitations for doing something else when this happens encompass contingent limitations and alternate scenario which does not need to or may never need to occur in teachings of Uchikawa and Suzuki, therefore, since these limitations does not need to occur, these contingent step limitations need not be satisfied).
Regarding claim 15, Uchikawa further discloses wherein the at least one program further causes the at least one processor to switch between a first state in which the communication apparatus can execute the authentication and a second state in which the communication apparatus cannot execute the authentication (CPU 201 switches the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode (first state) to the infrastructure mode (second state) utilizing different SSID and KEY authentication information included in the network setting information, paragraph 63).
Uchikawa fails to further teach a first state in which communication apparatus can execute the IEEE 802.1X authentication and authentication different from the IEEE 802.1X authentication and a second state in which the communication apparatus cannot execute the IEEE 802.1X authentication and can execute authentication different from the IEEE 802.1X authentication
However, Suzuki teaches a first state in which communication apparatus can execute the IEEE 802.1X authentication (paragraphs 47-48, where EAP authentication scheme with IEEE 802 can be executed) and authentication different from the IEEE 802.1X authentication (the personal type of authentication scheme is an authentication scheme that does not use IEEE802.1x, paragraph 54) and a second state in which the communication apparatus cannot execute the IEEE 802.1X authentication and can execute authentication different from the IEEE 802.1X authentication (in the personal type of authentication scheme is an authentication scheme that does not use IEEE802.1x instead WPA-PSK authentication protocol not involving IEEE can be executed, paragraph 54).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 16, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the IEEE 802.1X authentication is an authentication method using an authentication server that operates via an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) (Suzuki, LEAP (abbreviation of Lightweight EAP) is used as the EAP authentication scheme in IEEE802.1X, paragraph 48 and in the case where the EAP authentication scheme is EAP-FAST, PEAP, or EAP-TTLS, the authentication server 70 executes inner authentication, paragraph 50).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 17, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein authentication different from the IEEE 802.1X authentication can be executed (Suzuki, AP 60 executes authentication for establishing connection with MFP, paragraph 80, however, if compatible authentication scheme is of personal type authentication scheme, then IEEE802.1x authentication protocol is not used for making connection, paragraph 54), and wherein the authentication different from the IEEE 802.1X authentication is a method using a Pre Shared Key (PSK) or a method using a Simultaneous Authentication of Equals (SAE) (Suzuki, personal type of authentication scheme uses four types of authentication protocol: WPA-PSK (abbreviation of WPA Pre-shared Key), WPA2-PSK, Open, and Shared key. Moreover, "Open" is a protocol in which authentication is not executed, but is treated in the present specification as a type of authentication scheme. In general terms, the personal type of authentication scheme is an authentication scheme that does not use IEEE802.1x., paragraph 54).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 19, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches communication apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a printer that executes printing (Uchikawa, printer 101 is equipped with a common framework 301, and services such as a wireless LAN setting service 302, a print service 304 for performing printing, paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 20, is a method version of claim 1 and recites similar features, thus it is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 21, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the first wireless connection is a peer-to-peer wireless connection established by a Wi-Fi Direct protocol or a software access point function (Uchikawa, peer-to-peer direct wireless LAN connection is made between printer 101 and mobile terminal 102, paragraphs 54-55).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 22, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the second wireless connection is an infrastructure mode wireless LAN connection established according to an IEEE 802.11 series standard (Uchikawa, wireless network I/F 207 has a function for connecting to a wireless LAN by a method compliant with an IEEE 802.11b/g/n standard, for example. Also, the wireless network I/F 207, upon instruction from the CPU 201, is capable of operating in a software access point mode (hereinafter referred to as “access point mode”) and an infrastructure mode, in the infrastructure mode (second mode), the printer 101 can operate as a wireless terminal, and connect to a network by connecting to a wireless access point such as the wireless access point 105 such that CPU 201 performs control to switch the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode, and to cause the printer 101 to connect to the network (the LAN 100) in accordance with the network setting information. Specifically, in step S412, the CPU 201 switches the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode, paragraphs 31, 63).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 23, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein, in a case where the second wireless connection is established for the IEEE802.1X authentication (Suzuki, AP 60 executes authentication for establishing connection with MFP, paragraph 80, however, if compatible authentication scheme is EAP, then IEEE802.1x authentication protocol is used for making connection, paragraphs 47-48), the communication apparatus does not maintain the first wireless connection and the second wireless connection at the same time (Uchikawa, for example, is processing in a case where the wireless network I/F 207 operates in either the infrastructure mode or the access point mode (where the infrastructure mode and the access point mode are mutually exclusive), paragraphs 31, 82).
(Examiner note: These “in a case” limitations for doing something else when this happens encompass contingent limitations and alternate scenario which does not need to or may never need to occur in teachings of Uchikawa and Suzuki, therefore, since these limitations does not need to occur, these contingent step limitations need not be satisfied).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 25, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection includes transitioning the communication apparatus to a state in which the communication apparatus operates as a software access point or as a group owner of a Wi-Fi Direct network (Uchikawa, paragraph 73, the CPU 201, without deciding the SSID and the KEY again, reuses the SSID and KEY that were decided when switching to the access point mode the previous time (in step S404A) to switch the wireless network I/F 207 to the access point mode in step S404B. In the present embodiment, the CPU 201 holds the SSID and KEY that were decided in step S404A in the RAM 203 or the HDD 204 without deleting them until the connection to the wireless access point succeeds, and thereby makes reuse thereof in step S404B possible. Accordingly, it becomes possible for the mobile terminal 102 to, in the case of failing at the wireless LAN setting used in the wireless LAN setting service 302, reconnect to the printer 101 without requiring a user operation for inputting a new SSID and KEY in the mobile terminal 102).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 27, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein the screen includes an input field for selecting an IEEE802.1X authentication method, an input field for a username, an input field for a password, and an input field for uploading a certificate file (Uchikawa, the printer 101, prior to displaying the network setting screen 500, may perform user authentication by accepting input of a user name and a password on the operation unit 205 and Suzuki, wireless setting information normally includes an authentication protocol, user ID, password, SSID, and BSSID or the normal Wi-Fi wireless setting information includes a client certificate instead of a password, paragraph 71).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 28, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein, in a case where the first information is received while the communication apparatus is connected to an external access point compatible with the IEEE802.1X authentication (Suzuki, AP 60 executes authentication for establishing connection with MFP, paragraph 80, however, if enterprise authentication scheme is LEAP or EAP (abbreviation of Extensible Authentication Protocol) authentication scheme, which includes IEEE802.1X, paragraphs 47-48), the at least one program causes the at least one processor to disconnect from the external access point before executing the first processing (Suzuki, disconnecting the MFP 10 from the WFDNW, the process executing unit 48 may change the MFP 10 into a new WFDNW. Thereupon, the process executing unit 48 may send the WSI of the new WFDNW to the portable terminal 50 by using the NFC I/F 22. In this case, the portable terminal 50 may participate in the new WFDNW by using the WSI of the new WFDNW. In this configuration, also, the MFP 10 and the portable terminal 50 can appropriately execute the WFD communication of object data by using the new WFDNW, paragraph 193).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 29, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein, before terminating the first wireless connection, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to store information for returning to a network connection state before the termination of the first wireless connection, and wherein the second processing to re-establish the first wireless connection is performed based on the stored information (Uchikawa, CPU 201 holds the SSID and KEY that were decided in memory without deleting them until the connection to the wireless access point succeeds and before its termination, such that re-connection processing can be performed by reusing the SSID and KEY already stored in the memory the previous time, paragraphs 73, 80).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 30, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein, in a case where, before the termination of the first wireless connection, the communication apparatus is in an infrastructure mode (paragraphs 31, 40, infrastructure mode) and connected to an external access point by using an authentication method different from the IEEE802.1X authentication, the second processing includes re-establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the external access point (Uchikawa, CPU 201 holds the SSID and KEY that were decided in memory without deleting them until the connection to the wireless access point succeeds and before its termination, such that in the case of failing of connection and switches the wireless network from the infrastructure mode to the access point mode by using an authentication method different from the IEEE802.1X authentication such as by reusing the SSID and KEY that were decided when switching to the access point mode the previous time, paragraphs 73, 80).
(Examiner note: These “in a case” limitations for doing something else when this happens encompass contingent limitations and alternate scenario which does not need to or may never need to occur in teachings of Uchikawa and Suzuki, therefore, since these limitations does not need to occur, these contingent step limitations need not be satisfied).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 31, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki further teaches wherein, in a case where, before the termination of the first wireless connection (CPU 201 switches the wireless network I/F 207 from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode, paragraph 63), the communication apparatus is in an operation state in which an infrastructure connection and a direct connection are both maintained, the second processing includes both re-establishing the infrastructure connection and transitioning to a state in which the direct connection can be performed (Uchikawa, CPU 201 holds the SSID and KEY that were decided in memory without deleting them until the connection to the wireless access point succeeds and before its termination, such that in the case of failing of connection when network connection between printer and mobile apparatus in infrastructure mode such as Wi-Fi Direct/peer-peer mode (Uchikawa, paragraphs 31, 40) and switches the wireless network from the access point mode to the infrastructure mode and reestablishes the connection by reusing authentication information, paragraphs 63-68).
(Examiner note: These “in a case” limitations for doing something else when this happens encompass contingent limitations and alternate scenario which does not need to or may never need to occur in teachings of Uchikawa and Suzuki, therefore, since these limitations does not need to occur, these contingent step limitations need not be satisfied).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with authentication via wireless communication connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa with the teachings of Suzuki for the benefit of efficiently executing an appropriate process may be executed in a case where the communication device belongs to a plurality of wireless networks as taught by Suzuki at paragraph 4.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchikawa, US 2020/0100171 in view of Suzuki, US 2013/0309968 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Kato, US 2015/0007302.
Regarding claim 26, Combination of Uchikawa with Suzuki fails to further teach wherein the information for displaying the screen is transmitted using Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), and wherein the communication apparatus functions as a web server for the information processing apparatus.
However, Kato teaches wherein the information for displaying the screen is transmitted using Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) (device 40da receives an input of the URL of the connection destination from the operation input unit 614 (step S702). The input of the URL is performed by the user. It is assumed that the input URL is the same as the URL 801 of the connection destination displayed on the display 120 at step S701. Upon receipt of the input URL, the browser unit 617 transmits a connection request including the input URL to the communication apparatus 10da through the communication unit 611 by HTTPS (hypertext transfer protocol secure), paragraph 113), and wherein the communication apparatus functions as a web server for the information processing apparatus (server unit 608 supplies the web page to which the login information is to be input to the display 208 of the external input device 40da connected to the cable communication unit 602, paragraphs 90, 94).
Uchikawa and Suzuki are combinable with Kato because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with establishing wireless connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Uchikawa and Suzuki with the teachings of Kato for the benefit of providing a communication apparatus which supplies enhanced prevention of leakage of information from the communication apparatus and allows a user to set up security information in a simple manner as taught by Kato at paragraph 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sumita, US 2020/0045545
Yamada et al., US 2006/0200678
Matsuda et al., US 2005/0130647
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683