Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “toasting device” and “heating device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “toasting device” in line 3. There is insufficient description for the “toasting device” and what it encompasses.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “toasting device” to be any device that toasts.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “toasting device” in line 3. There is insufficient description for the “toasting device” and what it encompasses.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “toasting device” to be any device that toasts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Modified Figure 1 (Xiong)
Modified Figure 2 (Xiong)
Modified Figure 3 (Xiong)
Modified Figure 4 (Xiong)
Modified Figure 5 (Brown)
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (C.N. Patent Document No. 209951099) in view of Brown (W.O. Patent Document No. 0100073).
Xiong teaches:
Regarding claim 1, (See Modified Figures 1 and 2 above) a toaster (1) comprising a toaster body (11). Wherein the toaster body (11) defines a plurality of toasting grooves (Modified Figure 1). The plurality of toasting grooves (Modified Figure 1) is arranged from front to rear. A toasting device (2) is arranged in each of the toasting grooves (Modified Figures 1 and 2). A support base (Modified Figure 1) is arranged on a lower end (Modified Figure 1) of a front side (Modified Figure 1) of the toaster body (11). The support base (Modified Figure 1) extends forwards. A heating device (Modified Figure 2) is arranged on the support base (Modified Figure 1). A heating box (3) is detachably arranged on the heating device (Modified Figure 2). A first control panel (Modified Figure 1) configured to control each toasting device (2) and a second control panel (Modified Figure 1) configured to control the heating device (Modified Figure 2). “A control module 101, which controls the operation of the heating plate and the bread toaster 2” (Pg. 3, Paragraph 32, Line 3). The examiner is interpreting the first control panel (Modified Figure 1) on the toaster body (11) side to control each toasting device (2) and the second control panel (Modified Figure 1) nearest to the heating device (Modified Figure 2) to control the heating device (Modified Figure 2). The first control panel (Modified Figure 1) and the second control panel (Modified Figure 1) are arranged adjacent to the plurality of toasting grooves (Modified Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, (See Modified Figures 1, 2, and 3 above), wherein the toaster body (11) comprises a bottom shell (Modified Figure 2). The support base (Modified Figure 1) comprises a bottom cover (Modified Figure 2) and a main body (Modified Figure 1). The bottom cover (Modified Figure 2) is integrally formed with the bottom shell (Modified Figure 1). The bottom cover (Modified Figure 2) extends forwards from a front side of the bottom shell (Modified Figure 2). The main body (Modified Figure 1) is arranged on the bottom cover (Modified Figure 2). An upper surface of the main body (Modified Figure 3) recesses to form a concave cavity (121). The heating device (Modified Figure 2) is embedded in the concave cavity (121) to limit a position of the heating device (Modified Figure 2). The heating box (3) is embedded in the concave cavity (121) to be positioned and contacts the heating device (Modified Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, (See Modified Figures 1, 2, and 4 above), wherein the heating box (3) comprises a box body (31), a steaming rack (32), and a box cover (33). The box body (31) defines an accommodating cavity (Modified Figure 4). The accommodating cavity (Modified Figure 4) defines an opening facing upwards. The steaming rack (32) is detachably arranged in the accommodating cavity (Modified Figure 4). The box cover (33) is detachably arranged on the box body (31) and covers the opening of the accommodating cavity (Modified Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, (See Modified Figures 1 and 2 above), wherein, a lifting handle (Modified Figure 2) is arranged on a middle of a top portion of the box cover (33).
Regarding claim 9, (See Modified Figure 1 above), wherein the first control panel (Modified Figure 1) and the second control panel (Modified Figure 1) are arranged from rear to front and are arranged on a same side of the plurality of toasting grooves.
Xiong does not teach:
Regarding claim 1, each of toasting grooves extends from left to right. A rectangular heating box. The first control panel and second control panel are arranged on the top surface of the toaster body.
Regarding claim 4, a rectangular box body and a rectangular box cover.
Brown teaches:
Regarding claim 1, (See Modified Figure 5 above) each of the toasting grooves (2) extends from left to right. The first control panel (8) and the second control panel (4) are arranged on a top surface (Modified Figure 5) of the toaster body (1).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiong to incorporate the teachings of Brown to have each of the of toasting grooves extend from left to right, and have the first control panel and second control panel on a top surface of the toaster body. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the direction the grooves extend in Xiong for the direction that the grooves extend in Brown, left to right, because the results of this substitution would have been predictable. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the location, of the first control panel and the second control panel, in Xiong for the location, of the first control panel and the second control panel, on the top surface in Brown, because the results of this substitution would have been predictable.
Regarding the claim limitations of the heating box (3), box body (31), and box cover (33), at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious mater of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a rectangular heating box, a rectangular box body, and a rectangular box cover instead of a circular heating box, a circular box body, and a circular box cover, because applicant has not disclosed that the rectangular heating box, the rectangular box body, and the rectangular box cover provide an advantage, are used for particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the Applicant's invention to perform equally well with circular shapes or rectangular shapes, because both perform the function of steaming, frying, or cooking foods equally well (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Modified Figure 6 (Wang)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Brown as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (C.N. Patent Document No. 108236388), hereinafter Wang.
Xiong in view of Brown teaches:
Regarding claim 3, wherein (See Modified Figures 1, 2, and 4 above), the heating device (Modified Figure 2) comprises a heating plate (13) and a heating pipe (Modified Figure 4). An upper surface of the heating plate (13) is attached to a bottom surface of the heating box (3). The heating pipe (Modified Figure 4) is electrically connected to the second control panel (Modified Figure 1).
The heating pipe (Modified Figure 4) being electrically connected to the second control panel (Modified Figure 1) is necessarily present (MPEP 2163.07). In order for a heating pipe to be controlled by a control panel it would have to be electrically connected to the control panel.
Xiong in view of Brown does not teach:
Regarding claim 3, the heating pipe is welded on a lower surface of the heating plate.
Wang teaches:
Regarding claim 3, (See Modified Figure 6 above), the heating pipe (11 and 12) is welded on a lower surface of the heating plate (22). “Preferably, the two heating elements are riveted, welded, or detachably connected to the lower baking pan”(Pg. 3, Paragraph 23).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiong in view of Brown to incorporate the teachings of Wang to have the lower surface of the heating plate welded to the heating pipe. Doing so allows for the heating pipe and heating plate to be integrally formed, resulting in a highly durable and strong heating device that cannot be easily broken apart. Furthermore, a durable heating device allows for convenient transport of the apparatus.
Modified Figure 7 (Lu)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Brown as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9 above, and further in view of Lu (C.N. Patent Document No. 214906208).
Xiong in view of Brown teaches:
Regarding claim 5, wherein a handle (See Modified Figure 1 above) is arranged on a middle of a front side of the box body (31). The handle (Modified Figure 1) extends forwards.
Xiong in view of Brown does not teach:
Regarding claim 5, a handle is detachable.
Lu teaches:
Regarding claim 5, (See Modified Figure 7 above), wherein a handle (5) is detachable. The handle is attached to the pot via the rivets, and therefore it is also detachable via the same rivets (See Modified Figure 7 above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiong in view of Brown to incorporate the teachings of Lu to provide a handle that is detachable. Doing so allows for convenient replacement of the handle, reduction in operation cost, and a simplified cleaning process, as recognized by Lu (Pg. 3, Paragraphs 12 and 13).
Modified Figure 8 (Lu)
Modified Figure 9 (Reichart)
Modified Figure 10 (Reichart)
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Brown further in view of Lu as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Reichart (U.S. Patent Document No. 2362720).
Xiong in view of Brown, and further in view of Lu teaches:
Regarding claim 6, wherein (See Modified Figures 7 and 8 above), a connecting piece (2) is riveted to the front side of the box body (1).
Xiong in view of Brown, and further in view of Lu does not teach:
Regarding claim 6, a clamping groove defining a downward opening is formed between the connecting piece and the front side of the box body. A clamping sheet is arranged on a connecting end of the handle. The clamping sheet is matched with the clamping groove. The clamping sheet is inserted into the clamping groove from bottom to top and is limited in the clamping groove.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the connecting piece defines two limiting holes. The two limiting holes are symmetrically arranged relative to an axial direction of the handle. The clamping sheet comprises two elastic limiting bars. The two elastic limiting bars are respectively clamped in the limiting holes for positioning.
Reichart teaches:
Regarding claim 6, (See Modified Figures 9 and 10 above), a clamping groove (Modified Figures 9 and 10) defining a downward opening is formed between the connecting piece (120) and the front side of the box body (13). A clamping sheet (142 and 130) is arranged on a connecting end of the handle (140). The clamping sheet (142 and 130) is matched with the clamping groove (Modified Figures 9 and 10). The clamping sheet (142 and 130) is inserted into the clamping groove (Modified Figures 9 and 10) from bottom to top and is limited in the clamping groove (Modified Figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 7, the toaster according to claim 6 (See Modified Figures 9 and 10 above), wherein the connecting piece (120) defines two limiting holes (126). The two limiting holes (126) are symmetrically arranged relative to an axial direction of the handle (140). The clamping sheet (142 and 130) comprises two elastic limiting bars (127). The two elastic limiting bars (127) are respectively clamped in the limiting holes (126) for positioning.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the Xiong in view of Brown, further in view of Lu handle connection (See Lu’s clamping groove (3) and clamping sheet (4)) with the Reichart handle connection (a clamping groove matched with a clamping sheet arranged on a connecting end of the handle), because the substitution of one known handle connection for another would have yielded predictable results of connecting the handle to the pan.
Regarding claim 7, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiong in view of Brown, further in view of Lu to incorporate the teachings of Reichart to provide a connecting piece defining two limiting holes in which a clamping sheet comprising two elastic limiting bars are clamped into. Doing so prevents possible detachment between the detachable parts, as recognized by Reichart (Pg. 2, Col. 55 of the Description). Furthermore, the prevention of unintentional detachment ensures safety while cooking and using the heating box, such as avoiding possible burns.
Conclusion
/EMMA E ULATOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 01/07/2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761