DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response, filed 28 April 2026, to the last office action has been entered and made of record.
In response to the amendments to the claims, they are acknowledged, supported by the original disclosure, and no new matter is added.
Amendments to the independent claims 1, 11, and 20 have necessitated a new ground of rejection over the applied prior art. Please see below for the updated interpretations and rejections.
In response to the addition of new claims 21-24, they are acknowledged and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claims 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal et al. (“Revisiting CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation”), herein Mondal, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0180203, effectively filed 3 December 2020), herein Zhou, and Kumari et al. (“Ensembling Off-the-shelf Models for GAN Training”), herein Kumari.
Regarding claim 1, Mondal discloses a method comprising:
inputting a to-be-processed image to a first generator in a processor-based neural network system (see Mondal sect. 4.4. Implementation details, where the code for implementing the disclosed CycleGAN model was implemented in Pytorch 3.3. and experiments were run on a server equipped with a NVIDIA Titan V GPU), wherein the first generator is obtained from training by using a first discriminator for the first generator, the training further using a second generator and a second discriminator for the second generator, and further wherein the first generator, the first discriminator, the second generator, and the second discriminator are each implemented in the processor-based neural network system and collectively form a cycle generative adversarial network of the processor- based neural network system (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation, where the proposed model architecture is composed of two conditional generators and two discriminators, which are trained simultaneously, and that the first generator learns a mapping from an image to its segmentation labels and generates generated labels; and see Mondal sect. 4.4. Implementation details, where the code for implementing the disclosed CycleGAN model was implemented in Pytorch 3.3. and experiments were run on a server equipped with a NVIDIA Titan V GPU);
acquiring segmented images of the to-be-processed image that are generated by the first generator in the processor-based neural network system (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation, where the first generator (GIS) generates corresponding generated labels from the image; and see Mondal sect. 4.4. Implementation details, where the code for implementing the disclosed CycleGAN model was implemented in Pytorch 3.3. and experiments were run on a server equipped with a NVIDIA Titan V GPU); and
processing the segmented images (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation, where the labels generated by the first generator (GIS) are fed into the second generator (GSI) to reconstruct the first image).
While Mondal does not explicitly disclose inputting a to-be-processed image to a first generator, Mondal does disclose that the first generator learns a mapping from an image to its segmentation labels and generates generated labels (see Mondal Fig. 1 and sect. 3.1. CycleGAN).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious from Mondal’s teachings that the first generator learns a mapping from an image to its segmentation labels, that an image is input to the first generator to learn the mapping and suggesting that an image is input to the first generator to generate the generated labels.
This modification is rationalized as some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
In this instance, Mondal teaches that the first generator learns a mapping from an image to its segmentation labels and generates corresponding generated labels.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an image is necessarily input to the first generator to learn and generate the corresponding labels.
Thus, it would have been within the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably expect that an image is inputted to the first generator to learn and generate the corresponding labels.
Mondal does not explicitly disclose that
the training utilizes the pre-trained feature extractors and their respective classifiers in a first training phase, prior to training the first generator, the first discriminator, the second generator and the second discriminator by using the cycle generative adversarial network, to train the first discriminator and in a second training phase, also prior to training the first generator, the first discriminator, the second generator and the second discriminator by using the cycle generative adversarial network, to train the second discriminator;
wherein prior to the training by using the cycle generative adversarial network, the first discriminator and the first generator are obtained from pre-training based on a pre-trained set of feature extractors and their respective cascaded classifiers; and
wherein prior to the training by using the cycle generative adversarial network, the second discriminator and the second generator are obtained from pre-training based on the pre-trained feature extractors and their respective cascaded classifiers.
Zhou teaches in a related and pertinent method for training a generative adversarial network (see Zhou Abstract), where a pre-trained classifier is used to train a generative adversarial model including a generator and discriminator model (see Zhou [0026]-[0027]), where generated data is provided to the pre-trained classifier to generate a classifier loss used in iterative training of the generator and discriminator models (see Zhou [0033]-[0034]), where pre-trained classifier relies on features from generated simulated data when classifying a target class (see Zhou Fig. 2, [0037]-[0040], Fig. 5, and [0053]-[0058]), and that during the training process, the internal weights and parameters of the generator and discriminator model are refined while the pre-trained classifier remains unchanged (see Zhou [0034]).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Zhou to the teachings of Mondal, such that pre-trained classifiers are used to initially train the first and second generator and discriminators of the semi supervised segmentation neural network architecture, where the pre-trained classifier are suggested to implicitly extract features and perform the classification based on the extracted features during the training process.
This modification is rationalized as an application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In this instance, Mondal discloses a base method for performing semi supervised segmentation using a neural network architecture composed of two generator and discriminator networks.
Zhou teaches a known technique of training a generative adversarial network using a
pre-trained classifier to train the generator and discriminator models of the generative adversarial model, which the pre-trained classifier is suggested to extract features and perform the classification based on the extracted features, and that the internal weights and parameters of pre-trained classifier remains unchanged during the training process.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by applying Zhou’s technique would allow for the method of Mondal to similarly use pre-trained classifiers to initially train the first and second generators and discriminators of the semi supervised segmentation neural network architecture, which extract features and perform the classification based on the extracted features during the training process and that the internal weights and parameters of pre-trained classifier remains unchanged during the training process, predictably leading to an improved initialization of the generator and discriminator networks of the semi supervised segmentation using a neural network architecture.
While Zhou further teaches that the pre-trained classifier can be retrained, and that the discriminator model can be trained to aid rediscovery of training data from a pre-trained model (see Zhou [0038]-[0039] and [0047]-[0051]); Mondal and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor-based neural network system further comprises a plurality of feature extractors each cascaded with a corresponding classifier; wherein prior to the training by using the cycle generative adversarial network, the first discriminator and the first generator are obtained from pre-training based on a pre-trained set of feature extractors and their respective cascaded classifiers, and when pre-training the first discriminator, parameters in the pre-trained feature extractors are fixed and parameters in the first discriminator and in the respective classifiers are updated; and wherein prior to the training by using the cycle generative adversarial network, the second discriminator and the second generator are obtained from pre-training based on the pre-trained feature extractors and their respective cascaded classifiers, and when pre-training the second discriminator, parameters in the pre-trained feature extractors are fixed and parameters in the second discriminator and in the respective classifiers are updated.
Kumari teaches in a related and pertinent vision aided GAN training method (see Kumari Abstract), where the GAN training includes an ensemble of an original discriminator and discriminators based on the feature spaces of selected off the pre-trained shelf models, where a set of selected pre-trained feature extractors are used with corresponding classifier heads, appended to the respective feature extractors, to measure the gap between target real distribution and generated distributions in the pretrained models’ feature spaces, and during discriminator training, the feature extractor is frozen and only the classifier head, of the selected pre-trained models, is updated with the original discriminator (see Kumari Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. Formulation, sect. 3.2. Model Selection, sect. 3.3. Training Algorithm, and Algorithm 1).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Kumari to the teachings of Mondal and Zhou, such that the pre-trained classifiers, used for initially training the first and second generators and discriminators, are an ensemble of discriminator models comprising of selected pre-trained models of feature extractors and corresponding appended classifiers as taught by Kumari, where during an initial training of the discriminator model, the feature extractor parameters of the selected pre-trained models are frozen and the corresponding classifier head parameters and discriminator are updated.
This modification is rationalized as an application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In this instance, Mondal and Zhou disclose a base method for performing semi supervised segmentation using a neural network architecture composed of two generator and discriminator networks, where pre-trained classifiers are used to initially train the first and second generators and discriminators of the semi supervised segmentation neural network architecture, which extract features and perform the classification based on the extracted features during the training process, and that the internal weights and parameters of pre-trained classifier remains unchanged during the training process.
Kumari teaches a known technique of training a discriminator of a GAN model using an ensemble of discriminators based on pretrained models which includes respective feature extractors appended with corresponding classifiers, where during discriminator training, the feature extractors are frozen and the classifier heads of the selected pre-trained models are updated with the original discriminator.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by applying Kumari’s technique would allow for the method of Mondal and Zhou to implement the pre-trained classifiers, used for initially training the first and second generators and discriminators, as an ensemble of discriminator models comprising of selected pre-trained models of feature extractors and corresponding appended classifiers, where during an initial training of the discriminator model, the feature extractor parameters of the selected pre-trained models are frozen and the corresponding classifier head parameters and discriminator are updated, predictably leading to improved classifiers for the initialization of the generator and discriminator networks of the semi supervised segmentation using a neural network architecture.
Regarding claim 4, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
inputting the segmented images to the second generator so as to generate a reconstructed image of the to-be-processed image by the second generator (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation, where the labels generated by the first generator (GIS) are fed into the second generator (GSI) to reconstruct the first image); and
acquiring the reconstructed image of the to-be-processed image that is generated by the second generator (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation, where the second generator (GSI) reconstructs the first image from the labels generated by the first generator (GIS)).
Regarding claim 5, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein training the first generator by using the cycle generative adversarial network comprises: training the first generator, the first discriminator, the second generator, and the second discriminator simultaneously so as to obtain a trained cycle generative adversarial network (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.1. CycleGAN for semi-supervised segmentation, where the proposed model architecture is composed of two conditional generators and two discriminators, which are trained simultaneously).
Regarding claim 6, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein training the first generator by using the cycle generative adversarial network comprises:
acquiring a labeled sample image, a sample segmented image corresponding to the labeled sample image, and an unlabeled sample image (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.2. Loss functions, where the loss functions employed to train the model uses data from labeled images, ground truth masks of labeled images (ground truth labels), and unlabeled images);
constructing an integrated training loss function based on the labeled sample image, the sample segmented image, and the unlabeled sample image (see Mondal sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (1)-(8), where a total loss function combines the segmentation, cycle consistency, and adversarial loss functions, which use the labeled images, ground truth labeled images, and unlabeled images); and
training the cycle generative adversarial network based on the integrated training loss function (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.2. Loss functions, where the total loss function is used to train the model).
Regarding claim 7, please see the above rejection of claim 6. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein the integrated training loss function comprises a supervised segmentation loss function constructed by using the first generator and the second generator, a cycle consistency loss function constructed by using the first generator and the second generator, and an adversarial loss function constructed by using the first generator, the second generator, the first discriminator, and the second discriminator (see Mondal sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (8), where a total loss function combines the segmentation loss functions based on the first and second generator, the cycle consistency loss functions based on the first and second generator, and the adversarial loss functions based on the first and second generators and discriminators).
Regarding claim 8, please see the above rejection of claim 7. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein a value of the integrated training loss function decreases with an increase in a value of the adversarial loss function (see Mondal sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (8), where the adversarial loss functions are subtracted from the other loss terms of the total loss function).
Regarding claim 9, please see the above rejection of claim 7. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein the cycle consistency loss function is constructed in the following manner:
constructing a first cycle consistency loss function by using the first generator and the second generator and based on the unlabeled sample image (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (6), where a first cycle consistency loss function is based on the first and second generator and using unlabeled images);
constructing a second cycle consistency loss function by using the first generator and the second generator and based on the sample segmented image (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (7), where a second cycle consistency loss function is based on the first and second generator and using ground truth label images); and
constructing the cycle consistency loss function based on the first cycle consistency loss function and the second cycle consistency loss function (see Mondal sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (8), where the first and second cycle consistency loss functions are combined in the total loss function).
Regarding claim 10, please see the above rejection of claim 7. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein the adversarial loss function is constructed in the following manner:
constructing a first adversarial loss function by using the first discriminator and the first generator and based on the sample segmented image and the unlabeled sample image (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (4), where a first adversarial loss function is based on the first generator and first discriminator and using unlabeled images and ground truth label images);
constructing a second adversarial loss function by using the second discriminator and the second generator and based on the sample segmented image and the unlabeled sample image (see Mondal Fig. 1, sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (5), where a second adversarial loss function is based on the second generator and second discriminator and using unlabeled images and ground truth label images); and
constructing the adversarial loss function based on the first adversarial loss function and the second adversarial loss function (see Mondal sect. 3.2. Loss functions and Eq. (8), where the first and second adversarial loss functions are combined in the total loss function).
Regarding claim 11, it recites an electronic device performing the method of claim 1. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari teach an electronic device performing the method of claim 1 (see Mondal sect. 3.3. Implementation details, where the disclosed teachings are implemented in code and run on a server equipped with a NVIDIA Titan V GPU (12 GBs)). Please see above for detailed claim analysis, with the exception to the following further limitations:
at least one processor (see Mondal sect. 3.3. Implementation details, where a NVIDIA Titan V GPU (12 GBs) is disclosed); and
at least one memory, the at least one memory being coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions used for execution by the at least one processor, wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the electronic device to perform the method of claim 1 (see Mondal sect. 3.3. Implementation details, where the disclosed teachings are implemented in code and run on a server equipped with a NVIDIA Titan V GPU (12 GBs), suggesting that the code is stored on corresponding memory of the server and executed by the GPU)
Please see the above rejection for claim 1, as the rationale to modify the teachings of Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari are similar, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 14, see above rejection for claim 11. It is a device claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 4. Please see above claim 4 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 14 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 15, see above rejection for claim 11. It is a device claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 5. Please see above claim 5 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 15 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 16, see above rejection for claim 11. It is a device claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 6. Please see above claim 6 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 16 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 17, see above rejection for claim 16. It is a device claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 7. Please see above claim 7 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 17 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 18, see above rejection for claim 17. It is a device claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 9. Please see above claim 9 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 18 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 19, see above rejection for claim 17. It is a device claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 10. Please see above claim 10 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 19 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a computer program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium performing the method of claim 1. Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari teach a computer program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium performing the method of claim 1 (see Mondal sect. 3.3. Implementation details, where the disclosed teachings are implemented in code and run on a server equipped with a NVIDIA Titan V GPU (12 GBs), suggesting that the code is stored on corresponding memory of the server and executed by the GPU). Please see above for detailed claim analysis.
Please see the above rejection for claim 1, as the rationale to modify the teachings of Mondal, Zhou, and Kumari are similar, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 21, see above rejection for claim 20. It is a computer program product claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 4. Please see above claim 4 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 21 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 22, see above rejection for claim 20. It is a computer program product claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 5. Please see above claim 5 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 22 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 23, see above rejection for claim 20. It is a computer program product claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 6. Please see above claim 6 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 23 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 24, see above rejection for claim 23. It is a computer program product claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 7. Please see above claim 7 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 24 are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2671
/VINCENT RUDOLPH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2671