DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figures 1-7 and claims 1-9, 15, 18, 19 in the reply filed on 1/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP3213895U.
Regarding claim 1, JP3213895U discloses a coil component [figures 1a-2 and 5], comprising:
a body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connecting the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connecting the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other [30A, 30B, 30C, 30D, 30E, 30F, figures 1-2 not in particular order] and including a mold portion having a base portion and a core protruding from one surface of the base portion and a cover portion disposed on the one surface of the mold portion [figure 5];
a wound coil [10, 10P figure 5] having a wound portion disposed between the mold portion and the cover portion and wound around the core [figure 5], a lead-out portion [20] disposed on a side surface of the mold portion and exposed to one of the surfaces of the body, and a connection portion [11,12] connecting the wound portion to the lead-out portion; and
an external electrode [40, 45] disposed on at least one surface of the body and connected to the lead-out portion, wherein the lead-out portion extends from the connection portion in a direction parallel to a winding axis of the wound portion.
JP3213895U disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific “sixth” surface of the exposed lead-out portion.
JP3213895U discloses the lead-out portion [20] on a side surface of the mold portion and exposed to one of the surfaces of the body, and a connection portion [11,12] connecting the wound portion to the lead-out portion [figures 1-3 and 5]. The inductor structure can be mounted on a PCB by using any of surfaces [30B, 30A and a surface that is opposite to surface 30B, not number]. The body of JP3213895U, when assembled, would have the wound coil being disposed inside and between the mold portion and the cover portion wound around the core [figure 5].
The specific “sixth” surface arrangement for the lead-out portion to be exposed would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of providing and/or improving surface mounting.
Regarding claim 2, JP3213895U discloses at least one the connection portion extends from the wound portion in a direction perpendicular to at least one of the surfaces of the body, and the lead-out portion is connected to the external electrode [figures 1a-1b, 2 and 5].
The specific arrangement of the connection portion relative to mounting surface(s) would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving mounting and/or internal/external connecting.
Regarding claims 3-4, JP3213895U discloses the external electrode is in contact with side surfaces of the lead-out portion and the cover portion, wherein the external electrode is spaced apart from at least one of the surfaces of the body and perpendicular to the winding axis of the wound portion [figures 1a-2].
Regarding claim 5, JP3213895U discloses on a cross-section perpendicular to the first direction, a ratio of a width of the wound portion in the second direction to a width of the body in the second direction is ⅓ or more [figures 1a-1b].
Regarding claim 6, JP3213895U discloses different arrangements of the lead-out portion(s) [figures 1a-1b, 3-4 and 5].
The specific length ratio and/or distant relative to surface(s) of the body would have been an obvious facilitating and/or improving external connections/mountings.
Regarding claim 9, JP3213895U discloses the external electrode includes first and second external electrodes [40, 45] spaced apart from each other disposed on at least one of the surfaces of the body [figures 1a-2].
Regarding claim 15, JP3213895U discloses the core of the mold portion is disposed in a central portion of the base portion and configured to be in contact with the cover portion [figures 1a-1b, 2 and 5].
Regarding claim 18, JP3213895U discloses the wound coil is formed of a conductive metal such as copper with a surface coated with an insulating coating layer wherein surfaces of the lead-out that contact with the external electrode not cover with insulation coating/film.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3213895U in view of Ritter et al. [US 6,960,366 B2].
JP3213895U disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the external electrode.
Ritter et al. discloses an electronic component [44’] having a plurality of external electrode [or terminals 50] arranged on one of the surfaces of the electronic component [figure 7B], wherein the terminals arranged and spaced apart from surfaces of the electronic component.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the terminal arrangement/design of Ritter et al. in JP3213895U for the purpose of improving external connections/mountings and reducing footprint.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3213895U in view of Arai et al. [US 2019/0304666 A1].
JP3213895U disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the external electrode.
Arai et al. discloses an external electrode [70, 72] for an electronic component [figures 1A-1B], wherein the external electrode formed of multi-layered of copper, nickel and tin [para 0073].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the external electrode material of Arai et al. in JP3213895U for the purpose of improving connections.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-9, 15, 18, 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/093,595, (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming the same subject matter of a coil component comprising a body with a wound coil disposed in the body and external electrodes connect to lead-out portions of the wound coil.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837