DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. 5. (Physics of Fluids Article: Making Droplets from highly viscous liquids by pushing a wire through a tube, Published online 22 March 2022) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0216724) and
Yamada et al. (US 20170120578).
Sun et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 1, an electroprinting system/a new electro printing principle has been developed (Abst., pg. 3, para 2, fig 2);
* a voltage generator that produces a signal/a mechanical pusher driven by a programmable power supply, Instek PSS-2005 GP, and a pulse generator (BNC Model 505 pulse/delay generator/ (pg. 4, para 2, fig 2);
* a drop-on-demand (DOD) droplet generator/drop-on-demand printing, Abst., the wire- in-a-tube DOD generator (page 16, para 1) actuated by the signal of the voltage generator, the drop generator having a wire for submersion into a viscous fluid/ the pusher moves the wire on demand with the frequency controlled by the pulse generator (page 5, para 1) and the drop
generator having a wire for submersion into a viscous fluid (in the Initial position, the wire is
secured inside the tube with its lower end completely submersed, (pg. 5, para 1, fig. 2a);
* a power supply connected to the wire for supplying current to the DOD droplet
generaor/ a DC voltage can be applied to the wire, forcing the drop nearest to the tip of the wire
to move to the tip and then jump to the target (pg. 6, para 1, fig. 2a (DC power source connected
to wire).
* Re clm 2, wherein the power supply is a DC High Voltage Power Supply/a DC voltage
can be applied to the wire (pg. 6, para 1, fig. 2a).
* Re clm 3, wherein the fluid is selected from the group consisting of a sol-gel, liquid
metal, polymeric resin, two-phase slurry, and a combination thereof/the BCF-based sol is a
precursor for the sol/gel processing of advanced ceramics, to obtain a high yield of the final
product, the BCF-based sol was prepared with a high concentration of Ba, Ce, and Fe ions
resulting in very viscous ink (pg. 28, para 2).
* Re clm 4, wherein the fluid has a viscosity ranging from 10-3 Pa*s up to 104
Pa*s/aqueous glycerol solutions of different weight percent of glycerol provided different shear
viscosity ranging from eta = 894.5 to 1-1= 81.92 mPas/ (pg. 16, para 3).
* Re 5, a droplet having a droplet shape having an equilibrium unduloidal shape (pg. 19,
para 1).
Sun et al. does not disclose the following claimed limitation:
* Re clm 1, a grounded collector for collection of the droplet generated by the DOD
droplet generator.
* Re clms 1 & 4, sol fluid
* Re clm 5, wherein the droplet is spherical/ a particular configuration is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations to a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing mating surfaces. See Graham V. John Deere Co., 383 US 1, 148 USPQ 459, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize wherein the droplet is spherical, since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the droplet is spherical, into Sun et al. for the purpose finding an equilibrium shape based on meniscus and tube curvature surface shapes (pg. 21, para 3).
Lee et al. discloses the following:
* nozzle printing (Abst.);
* Re clm 1, a grounded collector/50/ for collection of the droplet generated by the DOD droplet generator/the collector is configured to be grounded in order to have a grounding property relative to the high voltage applied to the nozzle/30/ (paras 0068-0069).
Yamada et al. disclose the following:
* Re clms 1,4, sol fluid (para 0241).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a printing system having nozzles wherein a grounded collector for collection of the droplet generated by the DOD droplet generator (Lee et al.), sol fluid (Yamada et al.), as taught by Lee et al. and Yamada et al. for the purpose of providing a grounding property relative to the wire to attract the droplets and for the purpose of providing a liquid ejecting apparatus and system capable of realizing both an improvement in quality of a result of liquid ejection and appropriate charging.
Claim(s) 6, 8-16 & 19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Physics of Fluids Article: Making Droplets from highly viscous liquids by pushing a wire through a tube, Published online 22 March 2022) in view of Yamada et al. (US 20170120578).
Sun et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clms 6 & 9, a drop-on-demand (DOD) droplet generator & method of electroprinting of a viscous fluid/a new electroprinting principle has been developed (Abst., pg 3, para 2, fig 2);
* a wire for plunging or threading through a meniscus of a viscous fluid, and an applied electrical potential to form a droplet from the viscous fluid /title, the pusher moves the wire on
demand with the frequency controlled by the pulse generator (pg 5, para 1); inside the tube the meniscus forms two contact lines: E at the tube wall and D at the wire, (fig 3); and an applied electrical potential forms a droplet from the viscous fluid/a DC voltage applied to the wire, forcing the drop nearest to the tip of the wire to move to the tip and then to jump to the target/ (pg. 6, para 1);
* wherein the droplet is spherical.
* Re clms 7 & 20, wherein the fluid is selected from the group consisting of a sol-gel, liquid metal, polymeric resin, two- phase slurry, and a combination thereof/ BCF-based sol is a precursor for the sol/gel processing of advanced ceramics. to obtain a high yield of the final product, the BCF-based sol was prepared with a high concentration of Ba, Ce, and Fe ions resulting in very viscous ink/ (pg. 28, para 2).
* Re clms 8 & 21, wherein sol- get has a high metal ion content./BCF-based sol is a precursor for the sol/gel processing of advanced ceramics. to obtain a high yield of the final product, the BCF-based sol was prepared with a high concentration of Ba, Ce, and Fe ions resulting in very viscous ink/ (pg. 28, para 2).
* Re clm 10, wherein plunging or threading the wire occurs at an accelerating speed/speed increases as the wire is pushed/ (pg. 17, para 2).
Re clm 11, wherein the applied electrical potential produces a charge on a surface of * the viscous fluid /once the droplet is formed it can be detach mechanically,, for example by shaking or spinning the wire or using an electric field by charging the drop (pg. 3, para 2).
* Re clm 12, wherein the droplet forms on an end of the wire when an electrostatic force overcomes surface tension of the viscous fluid/when a film of the ink is deposited on the wire, it cannot stay there as a coating film; its surface tension forces the layer to collapse into a drop due to the Plateau-Rayleigh instability, pg. 3, para 2).
* Re clm 13, wherein the applied electrical potential creates an electric field that detaches the droplet from the wire/once the droplet if formed, one can detach it mechanically for example by shaking or spinning the wire or using an electric field by charging the drop (pg. 3, para 2).
* Re clm 14, wherein the detached droplet is drawn to a collector plate/forcing the drop nearest to the tip of the wire to move to the tip and then jump to the target (pg. 6, para 1, fig 2a).
* Re clm 15, wherein a total amount of fluid available for the formation of each droplet is controlled by a diameter of the wire/five tungsten wires with 2R 0 = 150, 2RO = 125, 2RO= 100, 2RO = 75, and 2R 0 =50 um diameters were used in experiments. The strength of the tungsten wires guarantees their durability during the long-time printing. Two different tubes with the inner diameter of 2R1 = 1100 and 2R1 = 1570 Ilrmwere used to study the influence of gap thickness on the features of the drop formation/ (pg. 16, para 2).
Re clm 16, wherein a total amount of fluid available for the formation of each droplet is * controlled by speed of the plunging action/The size of the final drop is mostly controlled by the stick-out length of the wire/depends on speed of wire/ and the wire radius/ (pg. 27, para 3).
* Re clm 19, wherein the fluid has a viscosity ranging from 10-3 Pa*s up to 104 Pa*s/ aqucous glycerol solutions of different weight percent of glycerol provided different shear viscosity ranging from eta= 894.5 to 1-1= 81.92 mPas/ (pg. 16, para 3).
* Re clm 22, wherein the droplet is used in a field selected from the group consisting of ceramic microsphere production, micro soldering electronics, high resolution production of screen printing masks, precision dosing of high viscosity chemicals, high resolution additive manufacturing, and a combination thereof/to increase the viscosity even further, a highly concentrated Ba-Ce-Fe-based sol (BCF) was prepared that is used for making ceramic fuel cells microdroplets, pg. 16, para 2).
Sun et al. does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clms 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, 21, sol fluid
Yamada et al. disclose the following:
* Re clms 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, 21, sol fluid (para 0241)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize sol fluid, taught by Yamada et al. into Sun et al. for the purpose of providing a liquid ejecting apparatus and a liquid ejecting system capable of realizing both an improvement in quality of a result of liquid ejection and appropriate charging.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Physics of Fluids Article: Making Droplets from highly viscous liquids by pushing a wire through a tube, Published online 22 March 2022) a modified by Yamada et al. (US 2017/0120578).
Sun et al. as modifed by Yamada et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 17, a frequency wherein the printhead frequency equals 20Hz (pg, 2, para 2).
Sun et al. as modifed by Yamada et al. does not disclose the following claimed limitation:
* Re clm 17, wherein a droplet is printed with a frequency in a range of 1 Hz to 3 Hz.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize wherein a droplet is printed with a frequency in a range of I Hz to 3 Hz., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Jn re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein a droplet is printed with a frequency in a range of I Hz to 3 Hz., into Sun et al. as modified by Yamada et al. for the purpose of adjusting printing speed of the printed images.
Conclusion
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853