Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 01/19/2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 8, 12, 16, and 18 are amended. No claims are new. No claims are presently cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Drawings are partially withdrawn. The prior objections for unlabeled rectangular boxes are withdrawn. The prior objections to the drawings for not showing the claimed features (“charge door”, “charging plug”, “infrastructure”, “obstacles”) are maintained. The applicant argues these features are not positively claimed and thus do not need to be illustrated. The examiner asserts the drawings need to depict these features for a complete understanding of the invention.
The prior objections to claims 6, 12, and 16 are withdrawn due to the amendments. The prior objections to claims 15 and 20 are maintained because they were not amended to address the informalities identified in the prior action (see section 5 of Non-Final Rejection, 10/31/2025).
The prior rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments and the explanation provided in the applicant’s response (page 17).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“charge door” (claims 4-5, 13-14, and 19-20)
“charging plug” (claims 6, 15, and 20)
“infrastructure” (claims 7 and 16)
“obstacles” (claim 16)
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 3, and claim 20, line 3 recite “plugin a charging plug”. The word “plugin” should be revised to “plug in” (insert a space) to clarify it is being used as a verb.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoon discloses a system (“automated valet parking system”; Fig. 8) for charging a plurality of vehicles (“electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 8) parked in a parking area (“parking lot”; Fig. 8), the system comprising the following features.
Yoon further discloses an offboard vehicle control module (“parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11; ¶ [110]: “control center that controls … vehicles in a parking lot”; ¶ [114]) configured to plan routes (“guide route”; see dotted lines labeled “(3)” and “(5)” in Fig. 8) for each one of the plurality of vehicles (200) in the parking area (¶ [117]: “110 transmits a guide route to the electric vehicle 200 … related to an empty parking space”).
Yoon further discloses the offboard vehicle control module (110) is further configured to send drive instructions ([117]: “110 transmits a guide route to the electric vehicle 200”) to an onboard control module (“vehicle controller 240”; ¶ [43]: “240 controls various vehicle operations such as driving”) of each one of the plurality of vehicles (200) for driving the plurality of vehicles (200) along the planned routes (“guide route”; see dotted lines labeled “(3)” and “(5)” in Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses the drive instructions (¶ [54]: “authority to drive the vehicle is delegated to the infrastructure … vehicle operations include steering, accelerating, braking, …”) including steering instructions, acceleration instructions, and brake instructions.
Yoon further discloses a charging station management module (“charging infrastructure 120”; Fig. 11; ¶ [111]: “control center for monitoring whether the electric vehicle 200 is an electrically rechargeable vehicle, the state of charge (SoC) of the electric vehicle 200, and the number of empty spaces within a wireless charging service station and for controlling the charging”; ¶ [114]) configured to execute a charging sequence (sequence of time frames assigned to determine the order of the vehicles that will travel to a charging station per ¶ [55]: “when three vehicles enter a parking lot, the three vehicles are allocated with a first time frame, a second time frame, and a third time frame, respectively”) for managing charging (¶ [111]: “controlling the charging”) of the plurality of vehicles (200) at a charging station (Figs. 9d-e; ¶ [28]: “wireless-rechargeable parking slot equipped with a wireless charging system for wirelessly recharging a power source of the vehicle”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to select a subject vehicle (“200”; ¶ [122]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is possible, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a target position … to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1111 indicates the subject vehicle “200” has been selected by “120”) for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence (order is already assigned per the “time frames” of ¶ [55]; the charging station management module “120” abides by this sequence by sending a message per steps S1109 and S1111 to either decline or select the subject vehicle “200”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a charging notification (¶ [122]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is possible, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a target position … to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1111 indicates the subject vehicle “200” has been selected by “120”) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) indicating that the subject vehicle (200) has been selected for charging based on the charging sequence (order is already assigned per the “time frames” of ¶ [55]; the charging station management module “120” abides by this sequence by sending a message per steps S1109 and S1111 to either decline or select the subject vehicle “200”).
Yoon further discloses that upon receiving the charging notification (S1111) for the subject vehicle (200), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [122]: “110 transmits to the electric vehicle 200 … the guide route for the target position”; Fig. 11, step S1112) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) to the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”; “first target position” per ¶ [6]) along a planned route (the dotted line identified as “(3)” in Fig. 8 illustrates the “guide route” for a subject vehicle “200” to the charging station; “first guide route” per ¶ [6]) for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is configured to monitor a charging status (¶ [123]: “120 monitors the state of charge (SoC) of each of the electric vehicles”) of the subject vehicle (200) at the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a charging complete notification (¶ [123]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is completed, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a notification message of charging completion to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1114) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) when charging of the subject vehicle (“200”; Fig. 11) is complete.
Yoon further discloses that upon receiving the charging complete notification (Fig. 11, step S1114), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [124]: “110 transmits … a guide route for the empty parking pace to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1115; the dotted line identified as “(5)” in Fig. 8 illustrates the “guide route” for a subject vehicle after completing charging; “second guide route” per ¶ [6]) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”) to a parking space (¶ [124]: “after receiving … the guide route, the electric driving to the empty parking space on the basis of … the guide route”; “second target position” per ¶ [6]).
Yoon does not disclose the charging sequence is “based on a commuting distance of each one of the plurality of vehicles”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging station management module is configured to “select a subject vehicle for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”. However, Yoon does disclose the charging station management module is configured to select a subject vehicle for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence (but not “based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging station management module is configured to “send a charging notification to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”. However, Yoon does disclose the charging station management module is configured to send a charging notification to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging based on the charging sequence.
Vaghefinazari teaches a charging station management module (“controller 220” within “charging station expander 200”; Figs. 2A, 2B, 3B, 4B) configured to execute a charging sequence (Abstract: “controller controls both an order of how the two or more PEV s may be charged and how a given PEV presently receiving charging may be charged”; Figs. 6A-6D, step 606: “determine order of charging PEVs”; ¶ [236]: “determining the order of charging … may take into account … desired time slots for charging”) for managing charging of the plurality of vehicles (“plug-in electrical vehicles (PEV) 9030”; Figs. 2A, 3A) at a charging station (“charging station 300”, comprising combination of “existing charging station 9010” and “charging station expander 200”; Figs. 3A, 3B, 4B, 5B; ¶ [196]) based on a commuting distance (¶ [305]: “highest of the prioritized parameters may be at least one work-commuter-need 1021”; see item “1021” in Fig. 10B; ¶ [313]: “at least one work-commuter-need 1021 may comprise a length of commute (e.g., in miles or kilometers)”; ¶ [313]: “length of commute … determined by each user”; ¶ [313]: “a determination of a start time of the at least one time slot (that may be the at least one optimal charging schedule) may be proportional to the length of commute”) of each one of the plurality of vehicles (9030).
Vaghefinazari further teaches the charging station management module (220) is configured to select a subject vehicle (“9030” with next/soonest “time slot”) for charging from the plurality of vehicles (9030) according to the charging sequence (“order of charging” based on “time slots”) based on the commuting distance (“time slots” based on “work-commuter-need 1021”, which is “length of commute”) of the subject vehicle (9030).
Vaghefinazari further teaches that the subject vehicle (“9030” with next/soonest “time slot”) has been selected for charging (“order of charging” based on “time slots”) based on the commuting distance (“length of commute”) of the subject vehicle (9030).
NOTE: The “charging notification” is taught by Yoon, as described supra, to be sent to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging. Thus, Vaghefinazari is not relied upon to teach the “charging notification”.
Vaghefinazari further teaches the charging sequence is based on the commuting distance of each vehicle to optimize the charging sequence to be less likely to interfere with the user’s schedule to commute to work (¶ [302]), which is more convenient for users (¶ [19]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and charging sequence disclosed by Yoon to be based on the commuting distance of each vehicle, as taught by Vaghefinazari, to improve convenience for users by optimizing the charging sequence to be less likely to interfere with users’ schedules.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1) and Moghe et al. (US 2019/0202304 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a mobile device of a user (¶ [77]: “driver’s smart device”) of the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the user (Fig. 8 label “(2)” shows driver walking away after dropping off the subject vehicle in the “drop off area”) has dropped off the subject vehicle (200) at a drop-off zone (“drop off area”; Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a parking request instruction (¶ [121]: “120 transmits a reply message of notifying the parking infrastructure 110 that the charging is impossible”; thus, “120” instructs “110” to park the vehicle, rather than driving to a charging station; Fig. 11, step S1109) to the offboard vehicle control module (110).
Yoon further discloses that upon receipt of the parking request instruction (Fig. 11, step S1109) from the charging station management module (120), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [121]: “110 transmits a target position and a guide route to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1110) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the drop-off zone (“drop off area”; Fig. 8) to the parking space (“empty parking space”; ¶ [121]).
Yoon does not disclose “wherein: the charging station management module is configured to communicate with a mobile device of a user of the subject vehicle, receive a drop-off notification from the mobile device indicating that the user has dropped off the subject vehicle at a drop-off zone”.
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to communicate with a mobile device (“user’s smartphone” with “user application 560” can communicate with “RSU 150” per ¶ [62]; Fig. 5) of a user of the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5).
Moghe further teaches the charging station management module (150) is further configured to receive a drop-off notification (¶ [95]: “user makes a selection … user to leave the EV … user may be originally parked in a conventional parking spot 522”; ¶ [94] describes possible selections including scheduling of charging) from the mobile device (560 - (¶ [62]) indicating that the user has dropped off the subject vehicle (160) at a drop-off zone (¶ [61]: “conventional parking spaces 522 into which a driver may enter and exit the vehicle”; “522” are one variety of “non-charging spots 520”; Fig. 5).
Moghe further teaches for the user’s mobile device to communicate a drop-off notification to the charging station management module to be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area (¶ [3, 57]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and the user’s mobile device disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari for the mobile device to send a drop-off notification to the charging station management module, as taught by Moghe, to be more convenient for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area.
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a mobile device (¶ [77]: “driver’s smart device”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a pick-up instruction (¶ [123]: “120 transmits a notification message of charging completion to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1114; thus, “120” instructs “110” that “200” has completed charging and should be driven to the “second target position” in the “pick up area”) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) for picking-up the subject vehicle (200) from the parking area (“wireless charging service zone” of the “parking lot” of Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses that upon receipt of the pick-up instruction (S1114) from the charging station management module (120), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [124]: “110 transmits an empty parking space as a target position and a guide route for the empty parking space to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1115) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) to a pick-up zone (“pick up area”; Fig. 8) of the parking area (“parking lot”; Fig. 8).
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to receive a pick-up notification from a mobile device indicating that a user is ready to pick-up the subject vehicle”.
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to receive a pick-up notification (¶ [100]: “customer signals when they are coming for the pickup”) from a mobile device (“user’s smartphone” with “user application 560” can communicate with “RSU 150” per ¶ [62]; Fig. 5) indicating that a user (“customer” / “user”) is ready to pick-up the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5; “160” gets transported to be picked up a pick-up zone at the “conventional parking spaces 522 into which a driver may enter and exit the vehicle” per ¶ [61]).
Moghe further teaches for the user’s mobile device to communicate a pick-up notification to the charging station management module to be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area (¶ [3, 57]), particularly when the user is ready earlier than expected (¶ [100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and the user’s mobile device disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari for the mobile device to send a pick-up notification to the charging station management module, as taught by Moghe, to be more convenient for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area, particularly when the user is ready earlier than expected.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1) and Seong et al. (US 2024/0317093 A1).
NOTE: The Seong reference has priority to domestic provisional application number 63/225,088, filed on 07/23/2021.
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 1.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send a charge door open instruction to the onboard control module for opening a charge door of the subject vehicle when the subject vehicle is at the charging station, and the onboard control module is configured to open the charge door”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send a charge door open instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … information to open the charging door”; ¶ [191]: “charging door/port opening operation”; instruction associated with steps S1120 and S1112 of Figs. 9-10, 13; ¶ [181]: “220 … may request the electric vehicle 100 to open the charging door”) to the onboard control module (“internal controller”; ¶ [185]: “100 may either automatically open … the charging door … under the control of an internal controller”) for opening a charge door (“charging door or charging port 130”; Figs. 5, 7-8; ¶ [181]: “100 provides a function of automatically opening the charging door”) of the subject vehicle (“EV 100”; Figs. 6-8) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong further teaches the onboard control module (“internal controller” per ¶ [185]) is configured to open the charge door (130; ¶ [185]: “100 may either automatically open … the charging door … under the control of an internal controller”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send a charge open instruction and for the onboard control module to open a charge door to solve the overcome the challenge of opening charging doors, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [181, 239-240]). This approach also does not require the use of a robot to open the charge door (¶ [181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, onboard control module, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari to send a charge open instruction and for the onboard control module to open a charge door of the subject vehicle, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of opening charge doors when no user is present in the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 5, the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 1.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send an open charge door instruction to a robotic arm of the charging station for the robotic arm to open a charge door of the subject vehicle when the subject vehicle is at the charging station”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send an open charge door instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … information to open the charging door”; ¶ [191]: “charging door/port opening operation”; instruction associated with steps S1120 and S1124 of Figs. 9-10, 13) to a robotic arm (“charging manipulator 220”; Figs. 5, 7-8) of the charging station (“electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” per ¶ [301]; in the form of “automatic charging system for sidearm connection (ACD-S) per ¶ [130]; Figs. 5, 7-8) for the robotic arm (220) to open a charge door (“charging door or charging port 130”; Figs. 5, 7-8; ¶ [187]: “220 may … provide the function of opening and closing of the door/port”; steps S1120 and S1124 of Figs. 9-10, 13) of the subject vehicle (“EV 100”; Figs. 6-8) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send an open charging door instruction and a robotic arm to open a charge door to solve the overcome the challenge of opening charging doors, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [187, 239-240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, charging station, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari to send an open charging door instruction and a robotic arm to open a charge door, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of opening charge doors when no user is present in the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 1.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send a connect charger instruction to a robotic arm of the charging station for the robotic arm to plug in a charging plug when the subject vehicle is at the charging station”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send a connect charger instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … mating the connector with the inlet”; instruction associated with step S1140 of Fig. 13) to a robotic arm (“charging manipulator 220”; Figs. 5, 7-8) of the charging station (“electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” per ¶ [301]; in the form of “automatic charging system for sidearm connection (ACD-S) per ¶ [130]; Figs. 5, 7-8) for the robotic arm (220) to plug in (“mating operation S1140”; Fig. 13; ¶ [219-220]) a charging plug (plug drawn at the end of “220” in Fig. 5) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to the subject vehicle to solve the overcome the challenge of forming the conductive connection, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [219, 239-240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, charging station, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari to send a connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to the subject vehicle, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of mating the conductive connections when no user is present in the vehicle.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1) and Hidaka (US 2022/0144250 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 1.
Yoon further discloses the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to plan the routes (¶ [122]: “110 transmits to the electric vehicle 200 … the guide route) for each one of the plurality of vehicles (200).
However, Yoon does not disclose this route planning is “based on data received from parking sensors arranged about the parking area, the data identifying locations of the plurality of vehicles and infrastructure of the parking area”.
Hidaka teaches the offboard vehicle control module (“route generation unit 47A” within “management device 39”; Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶ [29]: “manages parking of vehicles, and determines a traveling route to an empty parking space in a parking lot”) is configured to plan the routes (Figs. 2 and 5 depict routes for multiple vehicles) for each one of the plurality of vehicles (“self-driving vehicle 18”; Figs. 1-3, 5-6) based on data (“parking lot information”; ¶ [63-65]) received from parking sensors (¶ [64]: “infrastructure 41 includes a camera, a LiDAR, or other devices”) arranged about the parking area (“parking area 7”; Fig. 5; ¶ [56]).
Hidaka further teaches the data (¶ [65]: “parking lot information includes … a position of an obstacle, … a state of a parking space of the parking area 7, and position information of the self-driving vehicle 18”; ¶ [63]: “memory 53 stores map information of the inside area of the parking lot”) identifying locations of the plurality of vehicles (18; ¶ [99]: “position acquisition unit 47D repeatedly receives the position information of each self-driving vehicles 18 in the parking lot”) and infrastructure (¶ [65]: “position of an obstacle”, “parking space”) of the parking area (7).
Hidaka further teaches parking sensors to identify locations of vehicles and infrastructure for the routes to be planned based on to improve the safety of the planned routes (¶ [27]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and offboard vehicle control module disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Vaghefinazari to incorporate parking sensors to identify locations of vehicles and infrastructure for the routes to be planned based on, as taught by Hidaka, to improve the safety of the planned routes.
Claims 8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Hidaka (US 2022/0144250 A1), and Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoon discloses a system (“automated valet parking system”; Fig. 8) for charging a plurality of vehicles (“electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 8) parked in a parking area (“parking lot”; Fig. 8), the system comprising the following features.
Yoon further discloses an offboard vehicle control module (“parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11; ¶ [110]: “control center that controls … vehicles in a parking lot”; ¶ [114]) configured to plan routes for each one of the plurality of vehicles (200) in the parking area (¶ [117]: “110 transmits a guide route to the electric vehicle 200 … related to an empty parking space”).
Yoon further discloses the offboard vehicle control module (110) is further configured to send drive instructions ([117]: “110 transmits a guide route to the electric vehicle 200”) to an onboard control module (“vehicle controller 240”; ¶ [43]: “240 controls various vehicle operations such as driving”) of each one of the plurality of vehicles (200) for driving the plurality of vehicles (200) along the planned routes (“guide route”; see dotted lines labeled “(3)” and “(5)” in Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses the drive instructions (¶ [54]: “authority to drive the vehicle is delegated to the infrastructure … vehicle operations include steering, accelerating, braking, …”) including steering instructions, acceleration instructions, and brake instructions.
Yoon further discloses a charging station management module (“charging infrastructure 120”; Fig. 11; ¶ [111]: “control center for monitoring whether the electric vehicle 200 is an electrically rechargeable vehicle, the state of charge (SoC) of the electric vehicle 200, and the number of empty spaces within a wireless charging service station and for controlling the charging”; ¶ [114]) configured to execute a charging sequence (sequence of time frames assigned to determine the order of the vehicles that will travel to a charging station per ¶ [55]: “when three vehicles enter a parking lot, the three vehicles are allocated with a first time frame, a second time frame, and a third time frame, respectively”) for managing charging (¶ [111]: “controlling the charging”) of the plurality of vehicles (200) at a charging station (Figs. 9d-e; ¶ [28]: “wireless-rechargeable parking slot equipped with a wireless charging system for wirelessly recharging a power source of the vehicle”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to select a subject vehicle (“200”; ¶ [122]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is possible, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a target position … to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1111 indicates the subject vehicle “200” has been selected by “120”) for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence (order is already assigned per the “time frames” of ¶ [55]; the charging station management module “120” abides by this sequence by sending a message per steps S1109 and S1111 to either decline or select the subject vehicle “200”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a charging notification (¶ [122]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is possible, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a target position … to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1111 indicates the subject vehicle “200” has been selected by “120”) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) indicating that the subject vehicle (200) has been selected for charging based on the charging sequence (order is already assigned per the “time frames” of ¶ [55]; the charging station management module “120” abides by this sequence by sending a message per steps S1109 and S1111 to either decline or select the subject vehicle “200”).
Yoon further discloses that upon receiving the charging notification (S1111) for the subject vehicle (200), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [122]: “110 transmits to the electric vehicle 200 … the guide route for the target position”; Fig. 11, step S1112) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from a parking space (in “drop off area” of Fig. 8) to the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”; “first target position” per ¶ [6]) along the planned route (the dotted line identified as “(3)” in Fig. 8 illustrates the “guide route” for a subject vehicle “200” to the charging station; “first guide route” per ¶ [6]) for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is configured to monitor a charging status (¶ [123]: “120 monitors the state of charge (SoC) of each of the electric vehicles”) of the subject vehicle (200) at the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a charging complete notification (¶ [123]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is completed, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a notification message of charging completion to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1114) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) when charging of the subject vehicle (“200”; Fig. 11) is complete.
Yoon further discloses that upon receiving the charging complete notification (Fig. 11, step S1114), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [124]: “110 transmits … a guide route for the empty parking pace to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1115; the dotted line identified as “(5)” in Fig. 8 illustrates the “guide route” for a subject vehicle after completing charging; “second guide route” per ¶ [6]) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”) to another parking space (in “pick up area” of Fig. 8; ¶ [124]: “after receiving … the guide route, the electric driving to the empty parking space on the basis of … the guide route”; “second target position” per ¶ [6]) along the planned route for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon does not disclose “a parking area monitoring module configured to identify locations of the plurality of vehicles in the parking area based on data received from sensors arranged about the parking area”.
As addressed supra, Yoon discloses an offboard vehicle control module configured to plan routes for each one of the plurality of vehicles in the parking area. However, Yoon further does not disclose these routes are planned “based on the locations of the plurality of vehicles within the parking area received from the parking area monitoring module”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging sequence is “based on a commuting distance of each one of the plurality of vehicles”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging station management module is configured to “select a subject vehicle for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”. However, Yoon does disclose the charging station management module is configured to select a subject vehicle for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence (but not “based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging station management module is configured to “send a charging notification to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”. However, Yoon does disclose the charging station management module is configured to send a charging notification to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging based on the charging sequence.
Hidaka teaches a parking area monitoring module (“position acquisition unit 47D”; Fig. 7) configured to identify locations of the plurality of vehicles (“self-driving vehicle 18”; Figs. 1-3, 5-6; ¶ [99]: “position acquisition unit 47D repeatedly receives the position information of each self-driving vehicles 18 in the parking lot”) in the parking area (“parking area 7”; Fig. 5; ¶ [56]) based on data (“parking lot information”; ¶ [63-65]) received from sensors (¶ [64]: “infrastructure 41 includes a camera, a LiDAR, or other devices”) arranged about the parking area (“parking area 7”; Fig. 5; ¶ [56]).
Hidaka further teaches an offboard vehicle control module (“route generation unit 47A”; Fig. 7) configured to plan routes (¶ [90]: “47A sets the guidance route using the map information of the parking lot”; Figs. 2 and 5 depict routes for multiple vehicles) for each one of the plurality of vehicles (18) in the parking area (7) based on the locations of the plurality of vehicles (¶ [138]: “47A is configured to generate the guidance route for each of the multiple self-driving vehicles 18 so as not to overlap with the guidance route of different self-driving vehicles 18”) within the parking area (7) received from the parking area monitoring module (47D).
Hidaka further teaches a parking area monitoring module and sensors to provide locations of the plurality of vehicles to the offboard vehicle control module to plan routes to improve the safety of the planned routes (¶ [27]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and offboard vehicle control module disclosed by Yoon to incorporate a parking area monitoring module and sensors to provide locations of the plurality of vehicles to the offboard vehicle control module to plan routes, as taught by Hidaka, to improve the safety of the planned routes.
Vaghefinazari teaches a charging station management module (“controller 220” within “charging station expander 200”; Figs. 2A, 2B, 3B, 4B) configured to execute a charging sequence (Abstract: “controller controls both an order of how the two or more PEV s may be charged and how a given PEV presently receiving charging may be charged”; Figs. 6A-6D, step 606: “determine order of charging PEVs”; ¶ [236]: “determining the order of charging … may take into account … desired time slots for charging”) for managing charging of the plurality of vehicles (“plug-in electrical vehicles (PEV) 9030”; Figs. 2A, 3A) at a charging station (“charging station 300”, comprising combination of “existing charging station 9010” and “charging station expander 200”; Figs. 3A, 3B, 4B, 5B; ¶ [196]) based on a commuting distance (¶ [305]: “highest of the prioritized parameters may be at least one work-commuter-need 1021”; see item “1021” in Fig. 10B; ¶ [313]: “at least one work-commuter-need 1021 may comprise a length of commute (e.g., in miles or kilometers)”; ¶ [313]: “length of commute … determined by each user”; ¶ [313]: “a determination of a start time of the at least one time slot (that may be the at least one optimal charging schedule) may be proportional to the length of commute”) of each one of the plurality of vehicles (9030).
Vaghefinazari further teaches the charging station management module (220) is configured to select a subject vehicle (“9030” with next/soonest “time slot”) for charging from the plurality of vehicles (9030) according to the charging sequence (“order of charging” based on “time slots”) based on the commuting distance (“time slots” based on “work-commuter-need 1021”, which is “length of commute”) of the subject vehicle (9030).
Vaghefinazari further teaches that the subject vehicle (“9030” with next/soonest “time slot”) has been selected for charging (“order of charging” based on “time slots”) based on the commuting distance (“length of commute”) of the subject vehicle (9030).
NOTE: The “charging notification” is taught by Yoon, as described supra, to be sent to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging. Thus, Vaghefinazari is not relied upon to teach the “charging notification”.
Vaghefinazari further teaches the charging sequence is based on the commuting distance of each vehicle to optimize the charging sequence to be less likely to interfere with the user’s schedule to commute to work (¶ [302]), which is more convenient for users (¶ [19]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and charging sequence disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Hidaka to be based on the commuting distance of each vehicle, as taught by Vaghefinazari, to improve convenience for users by optimizing the charging sequence to be less likely to interfere with users’ schedules.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon does not disclose “the parking area monitoring module is further configured to identify locations of infrastructure and obstacles in the parking area based on inputs received from sensors arranged about the parking area, and the offboard vehicle control module is configured to plan the routes for each one of the plurality of vehicles based on locations of infrastructure and the obstacles”.
Hidaka teaches the parking area monitoring module (“position acquisition unit 47D”; Fig. 7) is further configured to identify locations (¶ [65]: “parking lot information includes … a position of an obstacle, … a state of a parking space of the parking area 7) of infrastructure (¶ [65]: “parking space”) and obstacles (¶ [65]: “position of an obstacle”) in the parking area (7) based on inputs (“parking lot information”; ¶ [63-65]) received from sensors (¶ [64]: “infrastructure 41 includes a camera, a LiDAR, or other devices”) arranged about the parking area (7).
Hidaka further teaches the offboard vehicle control module (“route generation unit 47A”; Fig. 7) is configured to plan the routes (¶ [138]: “47A is configured to generate the guidance route for each of the multiple self-driving vehicles 18) for each one of the plurality of vehicles (18) based on locations of infrastructure (¶ [65]: “parking space”) and the obstacles (¶ [65]: “position of an obstacle”).
Hidaka further teaches detecting locations of infrastructure and obstacles for route planning purposes to improve the safety of the planned routes (¶ [27]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the parking area monitoring module, offboard vehicle control module, and sensors disclosed by the combo of Yoon, Hidaka, & Vaghefinazari to monitor and consider locations of infrastructure and obstacles during route planning, as further taught by Hidaka, to further improve the safety of the planned routes.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 17.
The combo of Yoon, Hidaka, & Vaghefinazari teaches the sensors (incorporated from Hidaka ¶ [64]: “infrastructure 41 includes a camera, a LiDAR, or other devices”) include at least one of LIDAR and cameras.
Thus, no further modifications to the prior set forth combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari are necessary to teach the limitations of this claim.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Hidaka (US 2022/0144250 A1), Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1), and Moghe et al. (US 2019/0202304 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon further discloses a mobile device of a user (¶ [77]: “driver’s smart device”) of the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the user (Fig. 8 label “(2)” shows driver walking away after dropping off the subject vehicle in the “drop off area”) has dropped off the subject vehicle (200) at a drop-off zone (“drop off area”; Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a parking request instruction (¶ [121]: “120 transmits a reply message of notifying the parking infrastructure 110 that the charging is impossible”; thus, “120” instructs “110” to park the vehicle, rather than driving to a charging station; Fig. 11, step S1109) to the offboard vehicle control module (110).
Yoon further discloses that upon receipt of the parking request instruction (Fig. 11, step S1109) from the charging station management module (120), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [121]: “110 transmits a target position and a guide route to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1110) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the drop-off zone (“drop off area”; Fig. 8) to the parking space (“empty parking space”; ¶ [121]) along the planned route for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to communicate with a mobile device of a user of the subject vehicle, receive a drop-off notification from the mobile device indicating that the user has dropped off the subject vehicle at a drop-off zone”.
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to communicate with a mobile device (“user’s smartphone” with “user application 560” can communicate with “RSU 150” per ¶ [62]; Fig. 5) of a user of the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5).
Moghe further teaches the charging station management module (150) is further configured to receive a drop-off notification (¶ [95]: “user makes a selection … user to leave the EV … user may be originally parked in a conventional parking spot 522”; ¶ [94] describes possible selections including scheduling of charging) from the mobile device (560) indicating that the user has dropped off the subject vehicle (160) at a drop-off zone (¶ [61]: “conventional parking spaces 522 into which a driver may enter and exit the vehicle”; “522” are one variety of “non-charging spots 520”; Fig. 5).
Moghe further teaches for the user’s mobile device to communicate a drop-off notification to the charging station management module to be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area (¶ [3, 57]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and the user’s mobile device disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari for the mobile device to send a drop-off notification to the charging station management module, as taught by Moghe, to be more convenient for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, Vaghefinazari, and Moghe teaches the system of claim 9.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send the charging status to the mobile device of the user of the subject vehicle”.
Moghe further teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to send the charging status (¶ [108]: “throughout the charging … the device may also be informing a user device corresponding to the vehicle of either a current charge status of the vehicle”; “RSU 150” can perform this function of the “device 200” per ¶ [101]) to the mobile device (“user’s smartphone” with “user application 560” can communicate with “RSU 150” per ¶ [62]; Fig. 5) of the user of the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5).
Moghe further teaches for the charging station management module to communicate the charging status to the user’s mobile device to help the user know when his or her vehicle has completed charging, which makes the system be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for users of the vehicles (¶ [3, 57, 102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module disclosed by the combo of Yoon, Hidaka, Vaghefinazari, & Moghe to communicate the charging status to the user’s mobile device, as further taught by Moghe, to help the user know when his or her vehicle has completed charging, which makes the system be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for users of the vehicles.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon further discloses a mobile device (¶ [77]: “driver’s smart device”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a pick-up instruction (¶ [123]: “120 transmits a notification message of charging completion to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1114; thus, “120” instructs “110” that “200” has completed charging and should be driven to the “second target position” in the “pick up area”) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) for picking-up the subject vehicle (200) from the parking area (“wireless charging service zone” of the “parking lot” of Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses that upon receipt of the pick-up instruction (S1114) from the charging station management module (120), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [124]: “110 transmits an empty parking space as a target position and a guide route for the empty parking space to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1115) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) to a pick-up zone (“pick up area”; Fig. 8) along the planned route for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to receive a pick-up notification from a mobile device indicating that a user is ready to pick-up the subject vehicle”.
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to receive a pick-up notification (¶ [100]: “customer signals when they are coming for the pickup”) from a mobile device (“user’s smartphone” with “user application 560” can communicate with “RSU 150” per ¶ [62]; Fig. 5) indicating that a user (“customer” / “user”) is ready to pick-up the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5; “160” gets transported to be picked up a pick-up zone at the “conventional parking spaces 522 into which a driver may enter and exit the vehicle” per ¶ [61]).
Moghe further teaches for the user’s mobile device to communicate a pick-up notification to the charging station management module to be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area (¶ [3, 57]), particularly when the user is ready earlier than expected (¶ [100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and the user’s mobile device disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari for the mobile device to send a pick-up notification to the charging station management module, as taught by Moghe, to be more convenient for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area, particularly when the user is ready earlier than expected.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon discloses the charging station management module (120) is configured to receive the charging status (¶ [111]: “120 may be a control center for monitoring … the state of charge (SoC) of the electric vehicle 200”) of the subject vehicle (200), but is not clear where the charging status is obtained from.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to receive the charging status of the subject vehicle from at least one of the charging station and the onboard control module of the subject vehicle”.
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to receive the charging status (¶ [34]: “160 may send data regarding the vehicle characteristics to … RSU 150 for further processing”; ¶ [43]: “existing charge in the battery of the vehicle 160”) of the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5) from the onboard control module (“On Board Unit (OBU) 450”; Fig. 4; ¶ [54]: “450 that … communicates with RSU 150”) of the subject vehicle (160).
Moghe further teaches the charging station management module to receive the charging status (“existing charge in the battery”) from the onboard control module because this data is already monitored and stored by the vehicle’s BMS (¶ [43]) and this data is used to help optimize the power transfer process (¶ [52]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari for the charging station management module to receive the charging status (“existing charge in the battery”) from the onboard control module, as taught by Moghe, because this data is already monitored and stored by the vehicle’s BMS and because this data is used to help optimize the power transfer process.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Hidaka (US 2022/0144250 A1), Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1), and Seong et al. (US 2024/0317093 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send a charge door open instruction to the onboard control module for opening a charge door of the subject vehicle when the subject vehicle is at the charging station, and the onboard control module is configured to open the charge door”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send a charge door open instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … information to open the charging door”; ¶ [191]: “charging door/port opening operation”; instruction associated with steps S1120 and S1112 of Figs. 9-10, 13; ¶ [181]: “220 … may request the electric vehicle 100 to open the charging door”) to the onboard control module (“internal controller”; ¶ [185]: “100 may either automatically open … the charging door … under the control of an internal controller”) for opening a charge door (“charging door or charging port 130”; Figs. 5, 7-8; ¶ [181]: “100 provides a function of automatically opening the charging door”) of the subject vehicle (“EV 100”; Figs. 6-8) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong further teaches the onboard control module (“internal controller” per ¶ [185]) is configured to open the charge door (130; ¶ [185]: “100 may either automatically open … the charging door … under the control of an internal controller”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send a charge open instruction and for the onboard control module to open a charge door to solve the overcome the challenge of opening charging doors, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [181, 239-240]). This approach also does not require the use of a robot to open the charge door (¶ [181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, onboard control module, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari to send a charge open instruction and for the onboard control module to open a charge door of the subject vehicle, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of opening charge doors when no user is present in the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send an open charge door instruction to a robotic arm of the charging station for the robotic arm to open a charge door of the subject vehicle when the subject vehicle is at the charging station”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send an open charge door instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … information to open the charging door”; ¶ [191]: “charging door/port opening operation”; instruction associated with steps S1120 and S1124 of Figs. 9-10, 13) to a robotic arm (“charging manipulator 220”; Figs. 5, 7-8) of the charging station (“electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” per ¶ [301]; in the form of “automatic charging system for sidearm connection (ACD-S) per ¶ [130]; Figs. 5, 7-8) for the robotic arm (220) to open a charge door (“charging door or charging port 130”; Figs. 5, 7-8; ¶ [187]: “220 may … provide the function of opening and closing of the door/port”; steps S1120 and S1124 of Figs. 9-10, 13) of the subject vehicle (“EV 100”; Figs. 6-8) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send an open charging door instruction and a robotic arm to open a charge door to solve the overcome the challenge of opening charging doors, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [187, 239-240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, charging station, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari to send an open charging door instruction and a robotic arm to open a charge door, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of opening charge doors when no user is present in the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, and Vaghefinazari teaches the system of claim 8.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send a connect charger instruction to a robotic arm of the charging station for the robotic arm to plugin a charging plug when the subject vehicle is at the charging station”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send a connect charger instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … mating the connector with the inlet”; instruction associated with step S1140 of Fig. 13) to a robotic arm (“charging manipulator 220”; Figs. 5, 7-8) of the charging station (“electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” per ¶ [301]; in the form of “automatic charging system for sidearm connection (ACD-S) per ¶ [130]; Figs. 5, 7-8) for the robotic arm (220) to plugin (“mating operation S1140”; Fig. 13; ¶ [219-220]) a charging plug (plug drawn at the end of “220” in Fig. 5) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to the subject vehicle to solve the overcome the challenge of forming the conductive connection, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [219, 239-240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, charging station, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combo of Yoon, Hidaka, & Vaghefinazari to send a connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to the subject vehicle, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of mating the conductive connections when no user is present in the vehicle.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Hidaka (US 2022/0144250 A1), Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1), and Moghe et al. (US 2019/0202304 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Yoon discloses a system (“automated valet parking system”; Fig. 8) for charging a plurality of vehicles (“electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 8) parked in a parking area (“parking lot”; Fig. 8), the system comprising the following features.
Yoon further discloses an offboard vehicle control module (“parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11; ¶ [110]: “control center that controls … vehicles in a parking lot”; ¶ [114]) configured to plan routes for each one of the plurality of vehicles (200) in the parking area (¶ [117]: “110 transmits a guide route to the electric vehicle 200 … related to an empty parking space”).
Yoon further discloses the offboard vehicle control module (110) is further configured to send drive instructions ([117]: “110 transmits a guide route to the electric vehicle 200”) to an onboard control module (“vehicle controller 240”; ¶ [43]: “240 controls various vehicle operations such as driving”) of each one of the plurality of vehicles (200) for driving the plurality of vehicles (200) along the planned routes (“guide route”; see dotted lines labeled “(3)” and “(5)” in Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses the drive instructions (¶ [54]: “authority to drive the vehicle is delegated to the infrastructure … vehicle operations include steering, accelerating, braking, …”) including steering instructions, acceleration instructions, and brake instructions.
Yoon further discloses a charging station management module (“charging infrastructure 120”; Fig. 11; ¶ [111]: “control center for monitoring whether the electric vehicle 200 is an electrically rechargeable vehicle, the state of charge (SoC) of the electric vehicle 200, and the number of empty spaces within a wireless charging service station and for controlling the charging”; ¶ [114]) configured to execute a charging sequence (sequence of time frames assigned to determine the order of the vehicles that will travel to a charging station per ¶ [55]: “when three vehicles enter a parking lot, the three vehicles are allocated with a first time frame, a second time frame, and a third time frame, respectively”) for managing charging (¶ [111]: “controlling the charging”) of the plurality of vehicles (200) at a charging station (Figs. 9d-e; ¶ [28]: “wireless-rechargeable parking slot equipped with a wireless charging system for wirelessly recharging a power source of the vehicle”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to select a subject vehicle (“200”; ¶ [122]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is possible, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a target position … to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1111 indicates the subject vehicle “200” has been selected by “120”) for charging from the plurality of vehicles (200) according to the charging sequence (order is already assigned per the “time frames” of ¶ [55]; the charging station management module “120” abides by this sequence by sending a message per steps S1109 and S1111 to either decline or select the subject vehicle “200”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a charging notification (¶ [122]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is possible, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a target position … to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1111 indicates the subject vehicle “200” has been selected by “120”) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) indicating that the subject vehicle (200) has been selected for charging based on the charging sequence (order is already assigned per the “time frames” of ¶ [55]; the charging station management module “120” abides by this sequence by sending a message per steps S1109 and S1111 to either decline or select the subject vehicle “200”).
Yoon further discloses a mobile device of a user (¶ [77]: “driver’s smart device”) of the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the user (Fig. 8 label “(2)” shows driver walking away after dropping off the subject vehicle in the “drop off area”) has dropped off the subject vehicle (200) at a drop-off zone (“drop off area”; Fig. 8).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a parking request instruction (¶ [121]: “120 transmits a reply message of notifying the parking infrastructure 110 that the charging is impossible”; thus, “120” instructs “110” to park the vehicle, rather than driving to a charging station; Fig. 11, step S1109) to the offboard vehicle control module (110).
Yoon further discloses that upon receipt of the parking request instruction (Fig. 11, step S1109) from the charging station management module (120), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [121]: “110 transmits a target position and a guide route to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1110) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the drop-off zone (“drop off area”; Fig. 8) to a parking space (“empty parking space”; ¶ [121]) along the planned route for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses that upon receiving the charging notification (S1111) for the subject vehicle (200), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [122]: “110 transmits to the electric vehicle 200 … the guide route for the target position”; Fig. 11, step S1112) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the parking space (in “drop off area” of Fig. 8) to the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”; “first target position” per ¶ [6]) along the planned route (the dotted line identified as “(3)” in Fig. 8 illustrates the “guide route” for a subject vehicle “200” to the charging station; “first guide route” per ¶ [6]) for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is configured to monitor a charging status (¶ [123]: “120 monitors the state of charge (SoC) of each of the electric vehicles”) of the subject vehicle (200) at the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a charging complete notification (¶ [123]: “when the charging of the electric vehicle is completed, the charging infrastructure 120 transmits a notification message of charging completion to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1114) to the offboard vehicle control module (110) when charging of the subject vehicle (“200”; Fig. 11) is complete.
Yoon further discloses that upon receiving the charging complete notification (Fig. 11, step S1114), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [124]: “110 transmits … a guide route for the empty parking pace to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1115; the dotted line identified as “(5)” in Fig. 8 illustrates the “guide route” for a subject vehicle after completing charging; “second guide route” per ¶ [6]) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) from the charging station (“wireless-rechargeable parking slot”) to another parking space (in “pick up area” of Fig. 8; ¶ [124]: “after receiving … the guide route, the electric driving to the empty parking space on the basis of … the guide route”; “second target position” per ¶ [6]) along the planned route for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon further discloses the charging station management module (120) is further configured to send a pick-up instruction (¶ [123]: “120 transmits a notification message of charging completion to the parking infrastructure 110”; Fig. 11, step S1114; thus, “120” instructs “110” that “200” has completed charging and should be driven to the “second target position” in the “pick up area”) to the offboard vehicle control module (110)
Yoon further discloses that upon receipt of the pick-up instruction (S1114) from the charging station management module (120), the offboard vehicle control module (110) is configured to send drive instructions (¶ [124]: “110 transmits an empty parking space as a target position and a guide route for the empty parking space to the electric vehicle 200”; Fig. 11, step S1115) to the onboard control module (240) of the subject vehicle (200) for driving the subject vehicle (200) to a pick-up zone (“pick up area”; Fig. 8) along the planned route for the subject vehicle (200).
Yoon does not disclose “a parking area monitoring module configured to identify locations of the plurality of vehicles in the parking area based on data received from sensors arranged about the parking area”.
As addressed supra, Yoon discloses an offboard vehicle control module configured to plan routes for each one of the plurality of vehicles in the parking area. However, Yoon further does not disclose these routes are planned “based on the locations of the plurality of vehicles within the parking area received from the parking area monitoring module”.
Yoon does not disclose the charging sequence is “based on a commuting distance of each one of the plurality of vehicles”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging station management module is configured to “select a subject vehicle for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”. However, Yoon does disclose the charging station management module is configured to select a subject vehicle for charging from the plurality of vehicles according to the charging sequence (but not “based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”.
Yoon further does not disclose the charging station management module is configured to “send a charging notification to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging based on the commuting distance of the subject vehicle”. However, Yoon does disclose the charging station management module is configured to send a charging notification to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging based on the charging sequence.
Yoon further does not disclose “wherein: the charging station management module is configured to communicate with a mobile device of a user of the subject vehicle, receive a drop-off notification from the mobile device indicating that the user has dropped off the subject vehicle at a drop-off zone”.
Yoon further does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to receive a pick-up notification from the mobile device indicating that the user is ready to pick-up the subject vehicle”.
Hidaka teaches a parking area monitoring module (“position acquisition unit 47D”; Fig. 7) configured to identify locations of the plurality of vehicles (“self-driving vehicle 18”; Figs. 1-3, 5-6; ¶ [99]: “position acquisition unit 47D repeatedly receives the position information of each self-driving vehicles 18 in the parking lot”) in the parking area (“parking area 7”; Fig. 5; ¶ [56]) based on data (“parking lot information”; ¶ [63-65]) received from sensors (¶ [64]: “infrastructure 41 includes a camera, a LiDAR, or other devices”) arranged about the parking area (“parking area 7”; Fig. 5; ¶ [56]).
Hidaka further teaches an offboard vehicle control module (“route generation unit 47A”; Fig. 7) configured to plan routes (¶ [90]: “47A sets the guidance route using the map information of the parking lot”; Figs. 2 and 5 depict routes for multiple vehicles) for each one of the plurality of vehicles (18) in the parking area (7) based on the locations of the plurality of vehicles (¶ [138]: “47A is configured to generate the guidance route for each of the multiple self-driving vehicles 18 so as not to overlap with the guidance route of different self-driving vehicles 18”) within the parking area (7) received from the parking area monitoring module (47D).
Hidaka further teaches a parking area monitoring module and sensors to provide locations of the plurality of vehicles to the offboard vehicle control module to plan routes to improve the safety of the planned routes (¶ [27]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and offboard vehicle control module disclosed by Yoon to incorporate a parking area monitoring module and sensors to provide locations of the plurality of vehicles to the offboard vehicle control module to plan routes, as taught by Hidaka, to improve the safety of the planned routes.
Vaghefinazari teaches a charging station management module (“controller 220” within “charging station expander 200”; Figs. 2A, 2B, 3B, 4B) configured to execute a charging sequence (Abstract: “controller controls both an order of how the two or more PEV s may be charged and how a given PEV presently receiving charging may be charged”; Figs. 6A-6D, step 606: “determine order of charging PEVs”; ¶ [236]: “determining the order of charging … may take into account … desired time slots for charging”) for managing charging of the plurality of vehicles (“plug-in electrical vehicles (PEV) 9030”; Figs. 2A, 3A) at a charging station (“charging station 300”, comprising combination of “existing charging station 9010” and “charging station expander 200”; Figs. 3A, 3B, 4B, 5B; ¶ [196]) based on a commuting distance (¶ [305]: “highest of the prioritized parameters may be at least one work-commuter-need 1021”; see item “1021” in Fig. 10B; ¶ [313]: “at least one work-commuter-need 1021 may comprise a length of commute (e.g., in miles or kilometers)”; ¶ [313]: “length of commute … determined by each user”; ¶ [313]: “a determination of a start time of the at least one time slot (that may be the at least one optimal charging schedule) may be proportional to the length of commute”) of each one of the plurality of vehicles (9030).
Vaghefinazari further teaches the charging station management module (220) is configured to select a subject vehicle (“9030” with next/soonest “time slot”) for charging from the plurality of vehicles (9030) according to the charging sequence (“order of charging” based on “time slots”) based on the commuting distance (“time slots” based on “work-commuter-need 1021”, which is “length of commute”) of the subject vehicle (9030).
Vaghefinazari further teaches that the subject vehicle (“9030” with next/soonest “time slot”) has been selected for charging (“order of charging” based on “time slots”) based on the commuting distance (“length of commute”) of the subject vehicle (9030).
NOTE: The “charging notification” is taught by Yoon, as described supra, to be sent to the offboard vehicle control module indicating that the subject vehicle has been selected for charging. Thus, Vaghefinazari is not relied upon to teach the “charging notification”.
Vaghefinazari further teaches the charging sequence is based on the commuting distance of each vehicle to optimize the charging sequence to be less likely to interfere with the user’s schedule to commute to work (¶ [302]), which is more convenient for users (¶ [19]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and charging sequence disclosed by the combo of Yoon & Hidaka to be based on the commuting distance of each vehicle, as taught by Vaghefinazari, to improve convenience for users by optimizing the charging sequence to be less likely to interfere with users’ schedules.
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (“road side unit (RSU) 150”; Figs. 1B, 5) is configured to communicate with a mobile device (“user’s smartphone” with “user application 560” can communicate with “RSU 150” per ¶ [62]; Fig. 5) of a user of the subject vehicle (“vehicle 160”; Fig. 5).
Moghe further teaches the charging station management module (150) is further configured to receive a drop-off notification (¶ [95]: “user makes a selection … user to leave the EV … user may be originally parked in a conventional parking spot 522”; ¶ [94] describes possible selections including scheduling of charging) from the mobile device (560) indicating that the user has dropped off the subject vehicle (160) at a drop-off zone (¶ [61]: “conventional parking spaces 522 into which a driver may enter and exit the vehicle”; “522” are one variety of “non-charging spots 520”; Fig. 5).
Moghe teaches the charging station management module (150) is configured to receive a pick-up notification (¶ [100]: “customer signals when they are coming for the pickup”) from the mobile device (560) indicating that the user (“customer” / “user”) is ready to pick-up the subject vehicle (“160” gets transported to be picked up a pick-up zone at the “conventional parking spaces 522 into which a driver may enter and exit the vehicle” per ¶ [61]).
Moghe further teaches for the user’s mobile device to communicate drop-off and pick-up notifications to the charging station management module to be less cumbersome, and thus more convenient, for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area (¶ [3, 57]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module and the user’s mobile device disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Vaghefinazari, and Hidaka for the mobile device to send drop-off and pick-up notifications to the charging station management module, as taught by Moghe, to be more convenient for both users of the vehicles and operators of the parking area.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0198489 A1) in view of Hidaka (US 2022/0144250 A1), Vaghefinazari (US 2016/0193932 A1), Moghe et al. (US 2019/0202304 A1), and Seong et al. (US 2024/0317093 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, Vaghefinazari, and Moghe teaches the system of claim 18.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send a charge door open instruction to the onboard control module for opening a charge door of the subject vehicle when the subject vehicle is at the charging station, and the onboard control module is configured to open the charge door”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send a charge door open instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … information to open the charging door”; ¶ [191]: “charging door/port opening operation”; instruction associated with steps S1120 and S1112 of Figs. 9-10, 13; ¶ [181]: “220 … may request the electric vehicle 100 to open the charging door”) to the onboard control module (“internal controller”; ¶ [185]: “100 may either automatically open … the charging door … under the control of an internal controller”) for opening a charge door (“charging door or charging port 130”; Figs. 5, 7-8; ¶ [181]: “100 provides a function of automatically opening the charging door”) of the subject vehicle (“EV 100”; Figs. 6-8) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong further teaches the onboard control module (“internal controller” per ¶ [185]) is configured to open the charge door (130; ¶ [185]: “100 may either automatically open … the charging door … under the control of an internal controller”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send a charge open instruction and for the onboard control module to open a charge door to solve the overcome the challenge of opening charging doors, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [181, 239-240]). This approach also does not require the use of a robot to open the charge door (¶ [181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, onboard control module, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, Vaghefinazari, and Moghe to send a charge open instruction and for the onboard control module to open a charge door of the subject vehicle, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of opening charge doors when no user is present in the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, Vaghefinazari, and Moghe teaches the system of claim 18.
Yoon does not disclose “the charging station management module is configured to send a connect charger instruction to a robotic arm of the charging station for the robotic arm to open a charge door and plugin a charging plug when the subject vehicle is at the charging station”.
Seong teaches the charging station management module (“controller 3000”; Fig. 23; within “EVSE” per ¶ [300-301]) is configured to send a connect charger instruction (¶ [306]: “instruction may include … information to open the charging door … mating the connector with the inlet”; instructions associated with steps S1120, S1124, and S1140 of Figs. 9-10, 13) to a robotic arm (“charging manipulator 220”; Figs. 5, 7-8) of the charging station (“electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)” per ¶ [301]; in the form of “automatic charging system for sidearm connection (ACD-S) per ¶ [130]; Figs. 5, 7-8) for the robotic arm (220) to open a charge door (“charging door or charging port 130”; Figs. 5, 7-8; ¶ [187]: “220 may … provide the function of opening and closing of the door/port”; steps S1120 and S1124 of Figs. 9-10, 13) and to plugin (“mating operation S1140”; Fig. 13; ¶ [219-220]) a charging plug (plug drawn at the end of “220” in Fig. 5) when the subject vehicle (100) is at the charging station (“EVSE” / “ACD-S”).
Seong teaches this approach enables the capability of conductive charging in addition to wireless charging, which is advantageous because it broadens the market of types of electric vehicles (¶ [121]) that may be charged by the system by accommodating electric vehicles without coils for inductive charging (¶ [78]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send a connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to solve the overcome the challenges of opening charging doors and forming the conductive connection, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [187, 219, 239-240]). Seong further teaches the charging station management module to send connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to the subject vehicle to solve the overcome the challenge of forming the conductive connection, particularly if no user is present, in the case of an autonomous driving system (¶ [219, 239-240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station management module, charging station, and subject vehicle disclosed by the combination of Yoon, Hidaka, Vaghefinazari, and Moghe to send a connect charger instruction and for a robotic arm to plug in a charging plug to the subject vehicle, as taught by Seong, to broaden the market of types of electric vehicles that may be charged by the system, as well as overcome the challenge of mating the conductive connections when no user is present in the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859