DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troy et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0044185) in view of Wang (US Pub. No. 2010/0301717).
Regarding claim 1, the Troy et al. (hereinafter Troy) reference discloses a grip system configured for assisting holding of an electronic device by a user (Figs. 1-5D), the grip system comprising:
a protective case (Fig. 3A) configured for receiving the electronic device and covering at least a portion of a housing of the electronic device when the electronic device is installed in the protective case; and
a grip (grip in Fig. 3A) apparatus attached to the back surface of the protective case, the grip apparatus comprising:
a base (4) attached to the protective case in the cavity of the back surface of the protective case;
two flexible straps (11,15) each formed from a bendable material and having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of each is attached to the base; and
a cap (13) slidably attached to the two flexible straps, wherein the cap is proximate the base of the grip when in a stowed position, wherein the cap is extendable away from the base when the cap is pulled outward to extend the cap to an extended position (Fig. 1A).
However, the Troy reference fails to explicitly disclose , the protective case having a back surface which includes a cavity; and
wherein each flexible strap slides outward from a slot in the cap when the grip apparatus is transitioned from the stowed position to the extended position and slides into the slot when the grip apparatus is transitioned back to the stowed position, and wherein a stop feature proximate the second end of each flexible strap establishes a maximum extension length and prevents the each flexible strap from fully exiting the slot.
The Wang reference, a grip for an electronic device, discloses providing the grip in a cavity of the case (Fig. 2A) and wherein each flexible strap (154,153) slides outward from a slot (156) in the cap when the grip apparatus is transitioned from the stowed position to the extended position and slides into the slot when the grip apparatus is transitioned back to the stowed position (Figs. 2A,2B), and wherein a stop (e.g. hinge portions connected to 153,154) feature proximate the second end of each flexible strap establishes a maximum extension length and prevents the each flexible strap from fully exiting the slot (Fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a cavity and modify the straps in the Troy reference in view of the teachings of the Wang reference in order to be used in different devices while the cap can be flat with the case surface.
Regarding claim 2, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the cap is in the cavity of the back surface of the protective case when in the stowed position (e.g. Troy, Fig. 3A and Wang, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 3, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the cap is substantially flush with the back surface of the protective case when in the stowed position (e.g. Troy, Fig. 3A and Wang, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the base is rotatable relative to the protective case (Troy, Figs. 3A,3B).
Regarding claim 5, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the base is removably attachable to the protective case (Troy, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 9, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses each flexible strap is substantially planar when the grip apparatus is in the stowed position and bends to slide into and out of the slot in the cap when transitioning the grip apparatus between the stowed position and the extended position (Wang, Paras. [0035]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 10, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the slot in the cap is two slots and each of the flexible straps slides in a separate one of the two slots in the cap (Wang, Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the cap and the flexible straps are configured for receiving one or more fingers of a user for holding the grip apparatus and the protective case when the grip apparatus is in the extended position (Troy, Fig. 2A-2C).
Regarding claim 12, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the cap is further capable of serving as a stand for the protective case when the grip apparatus is in the extended position or in a partially extended position (Troy, Figs).
Regarding claim 13, the Troy reference discloses a grip apparatus adapted for holding an electronic device (Figs. 1-5D), the grip apparatus comprising:
a base (4) adapted to attach to a back surface of the electronic device or to a back surface of a case for the electronic device (Figs. 2A,2B);
two flexible strips (11,15) each formed from a bendable material, each flexible strip having a first end and a second end (Figs. 5A-5D), wherein the first end of each flexible strip is attached to the base (e.g. Figs. 1-5D); and
a cap (13) slidably attached to the two flexible strips, wherein the cap is proximate the base of the grip apparatus when in a stowed position (Fig. 1B), wherein the cap is extendable away from the base and away from the electronic device or the case when the cap is pulled outward from the base to extend the cap to an extended position (Fig. 1A).
However, the Troy reference fails to explicitly disclose each flexible strip is adapted to slide outward from a slot in the cap when the grip apparatus is transitioned from the stowed position to the extended position and adapted to slide into the slot when the grip apparatus is transitioned from the extended position to the stowed position, and wherein the second end of each flexible strip includes a stop feature.
The Wang reference, a grip for an electronic device, discloses each flexible strip (154,153) slides outward from a slot (156) in the cap when the grip apparatus is transitioned from the stowed position to the extended position and adapted to slide into the slot when the grip apparatus is transitioned from the extended position to the stowed position (Figs. 2A,2B), and wherein the second end of each flexible strip includes a stop feature (e.g. hinge portions connected to 153,154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the strips in the Troy reference in view of the teachings of the Wang reference in order to be used in different devices while the cap can be flat with the case surface.
Regarding claim 14 and 15, the modified Troy reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 13.
However, the modified Troy reference fails to explicitly disclose the straps containing two different materials having different stiffnesses.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use different materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical expedience and in order to provide for a longer last strip. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 16, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses the base is circular (Troy, Fig. 3A) and sized to fit within a recess of the case (Wang, Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 17, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses each flexible strip is substantially planar when the grip apparatus is in the stowed position (Troy, Figs. 1B,1C) and bends to slide into and out of the slot in the cap when transitioning the grip apparatus between the stowed position and the extended position (Wang, Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 18, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses the slot in the cap is two slots and each of the flexible strips slides in a separate one of the two slots in the cap (Wang, Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 19, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses the cap and the flexible strips are adapted for receiving one or more fingers of a user for holding the grip apparatus and one or more of the electronic device and the case (Troy, Figs. 2A-2C).
Regarding claim 20, the Troy reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses the case wherein the grip apparatus is removably attachable to the case (Troy, Fig. 3A) such that the grip apparatus is flush with a back surface of the case when in the stowed position (Wang, Figs. 1-9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,433,391. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the terms strip and strap are interchangeable.
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675