DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for application 18/110,675 on 04/10/2026. Please note claims 1-9, 11-20, and 22-32 remain in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 12, 14-15, 17, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers (hereinafter Kuipers US), US-PG-PUB No. 2020/0288251 (previously cited), in view of Saltykov (hereinafter Saltykov), US-PG-PUB 2007/0223758.
Regarding claim 1, Kuipers discloses, as shown in Fig. 1, a hearing device (¶[0099], lines 1-2) comprising: an earmould (A flexible member (earmold) (12) conforms to the ear canal wall.....¶[0099], lines 13-17) having a front end (right-facing side), a rear end (left-facing side), and a middle part between the front end and a rear end (the part between the two sides), the front end comprising a front opening, and the rear end comprising a rear opening (A sound conduit (30) is passed through the left-side rear opening of the earmould to couple to the right side front opening.....¶[0101], lines 28-30), wherein the front end of the earmould is configured to face a tympanic membrane of a user during use (The right side front opening faces tympanic membrane (26).....¶[0099], lines 4-8), the rear opening being in fluid communication with an outside of an ear canal of the user (The rear opening is fluid contact with the opening of the ear, outside of an ear canal.....¶[0099], lines 19-23);
a receiver housing accommodating a receiver (A receiver housing (14B) may accommodate a receiver (14).....¶[0100], lines 7-9), wherein the receiver housing has a first end (the right side) and a second end opposite from the first end (the left side), wherein the front opening of the earmould is closer to the first end of the receiver housing than to the second end of the receiver housing (shown in Fig. 1);
a sound passage extending between the front opening of the earmould and the rear end of the earmould (A sound conduit (30) with vents (36A, 36B) to outside the ear is passed through the left-side rear opening of the earmould to couple to the right side front opening.....¶[0101], lines 28-30);
an active vent (Vents 36A, 36B, are actively controlled by valve 39.....¶[0103], lines 6-10) located between the second end of the receiver housing and the front opening of the earmould (shown in Fig. 1), wherein when the active vent is in an open state, the active vent allows sound transmission through the sound passage (An open state allows transmission through the sound passage to the outer ear.....¶[0103], lines 15-17), and wherein when the active vent is in a closed state, the active vent hinders the sound transmission through the sound passage (A closed state prevents transmission through the sound passage to the outer ear.....¶[0103], lines 10-13); and
a supporting structure configured to maintain the receiver housing in place with respect to the earmould (Sealing mechanism (35) of the sound conduit interlocks with an annular ridge on the interior of flexible member (12) to couple the elements, likewise, receiver housing (14B) and sound conduit wall (33A) interlock to couple these elements, effectively coupling the receiver housing relative to the earmould, providing support throughout the assembled structure.....¶[0101], lines 28-34, ¶[0027], lines 1-3).
Kuipers does not disclose wherein the receiver housing is at least partly in the earmould, wherein the supporting structure is at a location that is closer to the second end of the receiver housing than to the first end of the receiver housing, and wherein the second end of the receiver housing is within a distance from the rear end of the earmould, the distance being a quarter of a total longitudinal length of the earmould.
Saltykov teaches (as shown in Fig. 3) a hearing device shell (10) wherein a receiver housing (100) is at least partly in the earmould (Intermediate chamber (240)), wherein the supporting structure (Anchors on the left and right of the receiver housing) is at a location that is closer to the second end of the receiver housing than to the first end of the receiver housing (Visible in Fig. 3, the anchors attach to the upper half of the receiver housing), and wherein the second end of the receiver housing is within a distance from the rear end of the earmould, the distance being a quarter of a total longitudinal length of the earmould (Clearly visible in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers by Saltykov for the benefit of reduced vibration of the earmould walls (Saltykov, ¶[0012]). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the receiver housing is at least partly in the earmould, wherein the supporting structure is at a location that is closer to the second end of the receiver housing than to the first end of the receiver housing, and wherein the second end of the receiver housing is within a distance from the rear end of the earmould, the distance being a quarter of a total longitudinal length of the earmould.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the middle part of the earmould (flexible member 612 shown in Fig. C) is configured to at least partially conform to at least a part of the ear canal of the user (Flexible member 12 may conform with the shape of the ear canal wall.....Para [0099], lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the receiver housing comprises the active vent (The vent provided to the sound conduit and the receiver may be contained within a single device housing.....Para [0116], lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the active vent is coupled to the receiver housing (the receiver housing is coupled to the sound conduit housing which is comprised of the active vent.....Para [0023], lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the active vent is held in place within the earmould by at least a part of the supporting structure (The vent is provided to the sound conduit, which is coupled in place to the earmould as explained in the rejection of claim 1…..¶[0101], lines 28-34).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the supporting structure comprises an inner wall of the earmould (The annular ridge of the flexible member 12 is part of an inner wall of the member as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the supporting structure comprises an inner wall of the earmould (The annular ridge of the flexible member protrudes from the inner wall of the member as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the supporting structure is configured to at least partially surround the receiver housing (The vent provided to the sound conduit and the receiver may be contained within a single device housing (which acts as sound conduit and receiver housing), in which case the annular ridge of the flexible member (support structure) surrounds the device housing.....Para [0116], lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the supporting structure shown is configured to suspend the receiver housing with respect to the earmould (Shown in Fig. 1, the receiver housing is suspended in place within the flexible member (earmould).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Kuipers additionally teaches wherein the active vent comprises a valve forming a part of the sound passage. (Fig. 1 shows a vent valve (39) within the sound passage.....¶[0102], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1.
Saltykov additionally teaches wherein the support structure is away from the rear end of the earmould (Visible in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers and Saltykov further by Saltykov for the benefit of reduced vibration of the earmould walls (Saltykov, ¶[0012]). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the support structure is away from the rear end of the earmould.
Claims 3, 7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Saltykov in further view of Gebert et al (hereinafter Gebert), US-PG-PUB No. 2008/0285783 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the receiver housing is removable from the earmould.
Gebert teaches wherein the receiver housing is removable from the earmould (¶[0040], lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Gebert, and provide wherein the receiver housing is removable from the earmould. This would allow for easy daily cleaning of the receiver and earmold (Gebert, ¶[0040], lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein part of the supporting structure comprises a material softer than the middle part of the earmould.
Gebert teaches wherein at least part of the supporting structure comprises a material that is softer than a material of the middle part of the earmould (A seal that’s relatively soft as compared to the outer shell (earmould) may be provided as part of the receiver connecting piece (supporting structure).....¶[0038], lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Gebert, and provide wherein part of the supporting structure comprises a material softer than the middle part of the earmould. This relatively softer piece would provide the benefit of allowing the force required to remove the receiver housing from the earmould to be adjusted (Gebert, ¶[0038], lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the receiver housing is removably attached to the supporting structure.
Gebert teaches wherein a receiver housing is removably attached to a supporting structure (A bayonet fitting is removably paired with a support structure integrated into an earmould…..¶[0039], lines 1-¶[0040], lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Gebert, and provide wherein the receiver housing is removable from the support structure. This would allow for easy daily cleaning of the receiver and earmold (Gebert, ¶[0040], lines 9-10).
Claims 8, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Saltykov in further view of Brander et al (hereinafter Brander), US Patent No. 4,729,451 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the middle part of the earmould is made from an acrylic.
Brander teaches wherein the middle part of the earmould is made from an acrylic (The shell (including the middle part) of an earmould may be acrylic…..Col. 3, lines 23-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kuipers and Saltykov to include the teachings of Brander, and provide wherein the middle part of the earmould is made from an acrylic. This would allow for an earmould that is durable and easy to clean as compared to earmoulds made of soft materials.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the supporting structure comprises silicone rubber.
Brander teaches wherein a supporting structure comprised of silicone rubber (The compliant suspension (which supports a receiver in place once inserted) is ideally made of silicone rubber…..Col. 3, lines 57 – Col. 4, line 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Brander, and provide wherein the supporting structure comprises silicone rubber. This would provide the benefit of a tight seal between the earmould and the receiver (Brander, Col. 4, lines 60-61).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the supporting structure comprises a flexible material configured to stretch in order accommodate and the receiver housing.
Brander teaches wherein the supporting structure comprises a flexible material (The compliant suspension (which supports the receiver in place once inserted) is ideally made of silicone rubber…..Col. 3, lines 57 – Col. 4, line 2) configured to stretch in order to allow the supporting structure to accommodate the receiver housing during insertion of the receiver housing at least partly in the earmould (The sound channel expands (stretches) to receive the acoustic output port of a receiver housing…..Col. 4, lines 54-61), and to hold the receiver housing after the receiver housing has been at least partly inserted within the earmould (The receiver housing is grippingly engaged within the earmould, holding it in place…..Col. 4, lines 54-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Kuipers and Saltykov to include the teachings of Brander, and provide wherein the supporting structure comprises a flexible material configured to stretch in order accommodate and the receiver housing. This would provide the benefit of a tight seal between the earmould and the receiver (Brander, Col. 4, lines 60-61).
Claims 11 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Kuipers (hereinafter Kuipers EP), European Patent Publication number EP 3637799 A1 (previously cited) and Lyregaard, US Patent No. 4,712,245.
Regarding claim 11, Kuipers discloses, as shown in Fig. 1, a hearing device (¶[0099], lines 1-2) comprising: an earmould (A flexible member (earmold) (12) conforms to the ear canal wall.....¶[0099], lines 13-17) having a front end (right-facing side), a rear end (left-facing side), and a middle part between the front end and a rear end (the part between the two sides), the front end comprising a front opening, and the rear end comprising a rear opening (A sound conduit (30) is passed through the left-side rear opening of the earmould to couple to the right side front opening.....¶[0101], lines 28-30), wherein the front end of the earmould is configured to face a tympanic membrane of a user during use (The right side front opening faces tympanic membrane (26).....¶[0099], lines 4-8), the rear opening being in fluid communication with an outside of an ear canal of the user (The rear opening is fluid contact with the opening of the ear, outside of an ear canal.....¶[0099], lines 19-23);
a receiver housing accommodating a receiver (A receiver housing (14B) may accommodate a receiver (14).....¶[0100], lines 7-9), wherein the receiver housing has a first end (the right side) and a second end opposite from the first end (the left side), wherein the front opening of the earmould is closer to the first end of the receiver housing than to the second end of the receiver housing (shown in Fig. 1);
a sound passage extending at least between the front opening of the earmould and the rear end of the earmould (A sound conduit (30) with vents (36A, 36B) to outside the ear is passed through the left-side rear opening of the earmould to couple to the right side front opening.....¶[0101], lines 28-30);
an active vent (Vents 36A, 36B, are actively controlled by valve 39.....¶[0103], lines 6-10) located between the second end of the receiver housing and the front opening of the earmould (shown in Fig. 1), wherein when the active vent is in an open state, the active vent allows sound transmission through the sound passage (An open state allows transmission through the sound passage to the outer ear.....¶[0103], lines 15-17), and wherein when the active vent is in a closed state, the active vent hinders the sound transmission through the sound passage (A closed state prevents transmission through the sound passage to the outer ear.....¶[0103], lines 10-13); and
a supporting structure configured to maintain the receiver housing in place with respect to the earmould (Sealing mechanism (35) of the sound conduit interlocks with an annular ridge on the interior of flexible member (12) to couple the elements, likewise, receiver housing (14B) and sound conduit wall (33A) interlock to couple these elements, effectively coupling the receiver housing relative to the earmould, providing support throughout the assembled structure.....¶[0101], lines 28-34, ¶[0027], lines 1-3),
wherein the earmould has a longitudinal axis (the center line from the front to rear of the earmould).
Kuipers does not disclose wherein the supporting structure comprises one or more openings extending through a thickness of the supporting structure, wherein the one or more openings are different from the front opening and from the rear opening, a faceplate comprising a part of a battery compartment and a fluid opening, or wherein the part of the battery compartment intersects the longitudinal axis of the earmould, and wherein the fluid opening is away (from) the longitudinal axis of the earmould.
Kuipers EP teaches a hearing device wherein a supporting structure (Rear support (47).....¶[0040], lines 6-7) comprises openings (Through holes (49).....¶[0040], lines 10-11), extending through a thickness of the supporting structure (The holes are through holes (through the thickness)), and wherein the openings are different from the front opening and from the rear opening (Shown in Fig. 2, through holes (49) are distinct from the front (33) and rear opening (34)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Kuipers to incorporate the teachings of Kuipers EP, and provide wherein the supporting structure comprises one or more openings extending through a thickness of the supporting structure, the one or more openings being different from the front opening and from the rear opening. This would provide the benefit of a hearing device which may accommodate additional components and securely fix the receiver within the earmould cavity while also providing adequate ventilation (Kuipers EP, ¶[0038], lines 8-12, ¶[0040], lines 22-24).
This combination fails to teach a faceplate comprising a part of a battery compartment and a fluid opening, wherein the part of the battery compartment intersects the longitudinal axis of the earmould, or wherein the fluid opening is away (from) the longitudinal axis of the earmould.
Lyregaard teaches, as shown in Fig. 1, a faceplate (Lid, (9a)) comprising a part of a battery compartment (The lid works with cover (8) to form a compartment for battery (7)) and a fluid opening (Openings (1) and (15) are provided for microphone (2) and vent tube (15)), wherein the part of the battery compartment intersects the longitudinal axis of the earmould (The battery is centered on the longitudinal axis of the earmould), and wherein the fluid opening is away (from) the longitudinal axis of the earmould (Shown in Fig. 2, the openings are provided at the ends away from the central longitudinal axis)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers and Kuipers EP by Lyregaard for the benefit of improved feedback prevention (Lyregaard, Col. 1, lines 46-50). Such modification would make obvious the features of a faceplate comprising a part of a battery compartment and a fluid opening, wherein the part of the battery compartment intersects the longitudinal axis of the earmould, and wherein the fluid opening is away (from) the longitudinal axis of the earmould.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Kuipers, Kuipers EP, and Lyregaard and explained above teach the hearing device according to claim 11.
Kuipers EP additionally teaches wherein a fluid opening of a faceplate is in fluid communication with the one or more openings of a support structure (Visible in Fig. 9, rear opening (34) is in fluid communication with support structure holes (49) via acoustic valve (81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers, Kuipers EP and Lyregaard further by Kuipers EP for the benefit of adequate ventilation (Kuipers EP, ¶[0038], lines 8-12, ¶[0040], lines 22-24). Such modification would make obvious the features wherein a fluid opening of a faceplate is in fluid communication with the one or more openings of a support structure.
Claims 13, 22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Saltykov in further view of Feeley et al (hereinafter Feeley), US-PG-PUB 2004/0010181 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the supporting structure comprises a gripper configured to grip a wire extending from the receiver.
Feeley teaches wherein the supporting structure comprises a gripper configured to grip a wire extending from the receiver (shown in fig. 1, a wire 22 extends from the receiver 13 through a supporting structure 14 and coupling 23 that both encircle the wire to hold its position.....Para [0073], lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Feeley, and provide wherein the supporting structure comprises a gripper configured to grip a wire extending from the receiver. This would provide the benefit of strain relief to the wire, reducing wear over time.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the support structure is configured to contact the second end of the receiver housing.
Feeley teaches wherein the support structure is configured to contact the second end of the receiver housing (Shown in Fig. 10, receiver (13) is supported by speaker fastener from the rear….. ¶[0041], lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Feeley, and provide wherein the support structure is configured to contact the second end of the receiver housing. This would provide the benefit of a support structure which protects the receiver from environmental moisture and the like (Feeley, ¶[0041], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the support structure is at the rear end of the earmould.
Feeley teaches a support structure for a receiver at the rear end of an earmould (Shown in Fig. 10A, receiver (13) is supported in part by faceplate (12) at the rear end of earmould (11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Feeley, and provide wherein the support structure is at the rear end of the earmould. This would provide the benefit of a support structure which protects the receiver from environmental moisture and the like (Feeley, ¶[0041], lines 14-16).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Saltykov in further view of Pedersen et. al (hereinafter Pedersen) US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0253793 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the receiver housing comprises a biometric sensor.
Pedersen teaches within fig. 4 wherein the receiver (transducer) 41 housing (capsule) 40 comprises a biometric sensor 42 (Para [0144], lines 1-4) (Para [0158], lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Pedersen, and provide wherein the receiver housing comprises a biometric sensor. This would allow for a hearing device that gauges overall health and metabolism during exercise, athletic training, dieting, daily life activities, sickness, and physical therapy (Pedersen, ¶[0030]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Saltykov in further view of Trine et. al (hereinafter Trine) US-PG-PUB No. 2016/0057528 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the rear opening at the rear end of the earmould is between a wall of the earmould and a part of the support structure.
Trine teaches a rear opening at the rear end of an earmould between a wall of the earmould and a part of the support structure (Shown in Fig. 3, receiver housing (11) is provided to an opening at the distal end (rear) of the earmould, and is located between the walls of the earmould (100).....¶[0011], lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Saltykov to incorporate the teachings of Trine and provide wherein the rear opening at the rear end of the earmould is between a wall of the earmould and a part of the support structure. This would provide the additional benefit of allowing for controlled acoustic paths through the earmould (Trine, ¶[0012], lines 5-6).
Claims 24-26, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Trine.
Regarding claim 24, Kuipers discloses, as shown in Fig. 1, a hearing device (¶[0099], lines 1-2) comprising: an earmould (A flexible member (earmold) (12) conforms to the ear canal wall.....¶[0099], lines 13-17) having a front end (right-facing side), a rear end (left-facing side), and a middle part between the front end and a rear end (the part between the two sides), the front end comprising a front opening, and the rear end comprising a rear opening (A sound conduit (30) is passed through the left-side rear opening of the earmould to couple to the right side front opening.....¶[0101], lines 28-30), wherein the front end of the earmould is configured to face a tympanic membrane of a user during use (The right side front opening faces tympanic membrane (26).....¶[0099], lines 4-8), the rear opening being in fluid communication with an outside of an ear canal of the user (The rear opening is fluid contact with the opening of the ear, outside of an ear canal.....¶[0099], lines 19-23);
a receiver housing accommodating a receiver (A receiver housing (14B) may accommodate a receiver (14).....¶[0100], lines 7-9), wherein the receiver housing has a first end (the right side) and a second end opposite from the first end (the left side), wherein the front opening of the earmould is closer to the first end of the receiver housing than to the second end of the receiver housing (shown in Fig. 1);
a sound passage extending at least between the front opening of the earmould and the rear end of the earmould (A sound conduit (30) with vents (36A, 36B) to outside the ear is passed through the left-side rear opening of the earmould to couple to the right side front opening.....¶[0101], lines 28-30);
an active vent (Vents 36A, 36B, are actively controlled by valve 39.....¶[0103], lines 6-10) located between the second end of the receiver housing and the front opening of the earmould (shown in Fig. 1), wherein when the active vent is in an open state, the active vent allows sound transmission through the sound passage (An open state allows transmission through the sound passage to the outer ear.....¶[0103], lines 15-17), and wherein when the active vent is in a closed state, the active vent hinders the sound transmission through the sound passage (An open state allows transmission through the sound passage to the outer ear.....¶[0103], lines 10-13); and
a supporting structure configured to maintain the receiver housing in place with respect to the earmould (Sealing mechanism (35) of the sound conduit interlocks with an annular ridge on the interior of flexible member (12) to couple the elements, likewise, receiver housing (14B) and sound conduit wall (33A) interlock to couple these elements, effectively coupling the receiver housing relative to the earmould, providing support throughout the assembled structure.....¶[0101], lines 28-34, ¶[0027], lines 1-3).
Kuipers does not disclose wherein a first part of the receiver housing is outside the earmould and a second part of the receiver housing is inside the earmould, wherein at least a part of the supporting structure is closer to the rear end of the earmould than to the front end of the earmould.
Trine teaches, as shown in Fig. 3, wherein a first part of a receiver housing (The rightward half of receiver housing (11)) is outside the earmould (300) and a second part of the receiver housing (The leftward half of receiver housing (11)) is inside the earmould, wherein at least a part of a supporting structure (A distal part of the walls of the earmould form a cavity for supporting receiver (11).....¶[0011], lines 1-3) is closer to the rear end of the earmould than to the front end of the earmould (The receiving cavity is approximately flush with the rear end of the earmould).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers by Trine to provide the benefit of controlled acoustic paths through the earmould (Trine, ¶[0012], lines 5-6). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein a first part of the receiver housing is outside the earmould and a second part of the receiver housing is inside the earmould, wherein at least a part of the supporting structure is closer to the rear end of the earmould than to the front end of the earmould.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kuipers and Trine teach the hearing device according to claim 24.
Trine additionally teaches wherein the support structure is away from the second end of the receiver housing (Visible in Fig. 3, the support structure contacts the first end of the receiver housing while the second end is left floating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers and Trine further by Trine to provide the benefit of controlled acoustic paths through the earmould (Trine, ¶[0012], lines 5-6). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the support structure is away from the second end of the receiver housing.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Kuipers and Trine teach the hearing device according to claim 24.
Trine additionally teaches a rear opening at the rear end of an earmould between a wall of the earmould and a part of the support structure (Shown in Fig. 3, receiver housing (11) is provided to an opening at the distal end (rear) of the earmould, and is located between the walls of the earmould (100).....¶[0011], lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Trine to further incorporate the teachings of Trine and provide wherein the rear opening at the rear end of the earmould is between a wall of the earmould and a part of the support structure. This would provide the additional benefit of allowing for controlled acoustic paths through the earmould (Trine, ¶[0012], lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Kuipers and Trine teach the hearing device according to claim 24.
Trine additionally teaches wherein the support structure is closer to the first end of the receiver housing than the second end of the receiver housing (Visible in Fig. 3, the support structure contacts the first end of the receiver housing while the second end is left floating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers and Trine further by Trine to provide the benefit of controlled acoustic paths through the earmould (Trine, ¶[0012], lines 5-6). Such modification would make obvious the feature wherein the support structure is closer to the first end of the receiver housing than the second end of the receiver housing.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Kuipers EP and Lyregaard in further view of Hug et al (hereinafter Hug), US Patent No. 9,668,067.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Kuipers, Kuipers EP, and Lyregaard, as explained above, teach the hearing device of claim 29, but fail to explicitly teach a tube extending between the fluid opening and one of the one or more openings of the support structure.
Hug teaches, as shown in Fig. 4, a tube (18) extending between a fluid opening (19’) past the rear facing end of the receiver (6) of a hearing device (Shown in Fig. 4, venting canal (18) (tube) extends from distal end fluid opening (19’) past the receiver (6) of the hearing aid, and therefore between the fluid opening and the rear facing end of the receiver…..Col. 5, lines 56-64).
Kuipers EP teaches, as previously explained in the rejection of parent claim 11 and shown in Fig. 2, wherein a rear-facing end of receiver is surrounded by through holes (49) of a support structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuipers, Kuipers EP and Lyregaard further by Hug for the benefit of pressure equalization (Hug, Col. 5, lines 58-64). Such modification would make obvious the feature of a tube extending between the fluid opening and one of the one or more openings of the support structure.
Claims 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuipers in view of Trine in further view of Hill, US Patent No. 11,245,972.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Kuipers and Trine, as explained above, teach the hearing device according to claim 24, but fail to teach wherein the part of the support structure is closer to the second end of the receiver housing than the first end of the receiver housing.
Hill teaches an ear tip device wherein a part of a support structure (The distal end of encompassing channel (18), analogous to the distal part of the support structure of Trine) is closer to the second end of the receiver housing than the first end of the receiver housing (Visible in Figs. 1 and 2, when headphone receiver (20) is inserted into eartip (12), the distal end of channel (18) is closer to the distal (second) end of the receiver housing than the first end of the receiver housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kuipers and Trine to incorporate the teachings of Hill to provide the benefit of enhanced coupling of the device to the ear within the ear canal (Hill, Col. 2, line 67 – Col. 3, line 2). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the part of the support structure is closer to the second end of the receiver housing than the first end of the receiver housing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN RINEHART/Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/ALEXANDER KRZYSTAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694