DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (US 2021/0337519; hereinafter Farag) in view of Guo et al. (US 2023/0171799).
Regarding claim 1, Farag teaches an operating method, performed by a first terminal, comprising (Paragraph [0127] describes an operating method performed by a UE):
sensing a first object, to obtain a first sensing result (Paragraph [0099] describes sensing a first object to obtain sensing results and the first object is the SL interface, and the sensing result is the information obtained from monitoring and decoding. Paragraph [0128] describes “performs sensing” by a UE within “a sensing window” where the UE monitors slots/subframes. The sensing operation monitors sidelink interface objects (slots/subframes) to obtain sensing results);
Farag doesn’t teach and performing a first operation correlated with N sensing windows according to the first sensing result, wherein N is a positive integer; wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: activating a target sensing window; deactivating a target sensing window; performing a second operation in a target sensing window; stopping performing a second operation in a target sensing window; performing a first resource selection in a target sensing window; performing a second resource selection in a target sensing window; or ignoring a target sensing window, wherein the target sensing window is a part or all of the N sensing windows; and the second operation comprises at least one of a sending operation, a sensing operation, a receiving operation, or a measurement operation; and wherein the N sensing windows satisfy at least one of the following: the N sensing windows are semi-statically configured windows; the N sensing windows are dynamically configured windows; the N sensing windows are continuously configured windows; the N sensing windows are periodically configured windows; or the N sensing windows are non-periodically configured windows.
However, in analogous art Guo teaches and performing a first operation correlated with N sensing windows according to the first sensing result, wherein N is a positive integer (Paragraphs [0078]; [0081]; [0107] describes N= 3 sensing windows and N is a positive integer, and the subsequent request/report/resource selection actions taken by the UE are performed in connection with these sensing windows and according to the sensing result (energy detection));
wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: activating a target sensing window; deactivating a target sensing window; performing a second operation in a target sensing window (Paragraphs [0086]; [0107] describes “ReportResource is linked to its corresponding sensing window. Transmitting (“sending operation “second operation) the report on that resource triggered by the sensed energy result. Where the target window is a part of the N sensing window );
stopping performing a second operation in a target sensing window (Paragraph [0108] describes not performing the sending operation (stopping/withholding transmission or simply ignoring that resource/window) as a result of a sensing determination);
performing a first resource selection in a target sensing window; performing a second resource selection in a target sensing window; or ignoring a target sensing window, wherein the target sensing window is a part or all of the N sensing windows (Paragraphs [0096]-[0099] describes excluding reserved resources from set S and further determining candidate resources from the remainder are two distinct resource selection acts performed within a sensing window );
and the second operation comprises at least one of a sending operation, a sensing operation, a receiving operation, or a measurement operation; and wherein the N sensing windows satisfy at least one of the following: the N sensing windows are semi-statically configured windows; the N sensing windows are dynamically configured windows; the N sensing windows are continuously configured windows; the N sensing windows are periodically configured windows; or the N sensing windows are non-periodically configured windows (Paragraphs [0064]-[0068] describes periodically configured, semi statically configured. Aperiodic triggered dynamically via SCI (both non-periodically configured and dynamically configured)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farag method of sidelink resource selection between user equipment’s by incorporating the teaching of Guo sensing measurement and reporting framework in which a UE receives sensing report configuration information that links a sensing window with a request resource and a report resource to help other UEs choose collision-free sidelink resources (Guo, Paragraphs [0047]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Paragraph [0099] describes decoding the PSCCH during the sensing window, and the PSCCH is the first object being sensed to obtain sensing result);
a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Paragraph [0076] describes “Physical SL shared channels (PSSCHs)” as part of the SL channels that are transmitted and received, making them objects that can be sensed during sidelink operations);
a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (Paragraph [0076] describes “Physical SL feedback channels (PSFCHs)” as part of the SL channels that conveys HARQ-ACK information, establishing PSFCH as objects that can be sensed in the sidelink system);
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Paragraph [0076] describes demodulation reference signal as part of the SL signals that are multiplexed in transmissions. The DM-RS signals are objects that can be sensed during sidelink operations to obtain sensing results);
a sequence (Paragraph [0076] describes “SL primary synchronization signals (S-PSS) and SL secondary synchronization signals (S-SSS)” which are specific sequences used for synchronization);
sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraph [0076] describes “SL control information (SCI) “as information conveyed by PSCCHs for scheduling transmissions/receptions. SCI is an object that can be sensed and decoded during sidelink operations);
a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Paragraph [0076] describes “channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS)” as part of the SL signals used for channel measurements. CSI-RS signals are objects that can be sensed during sidelink operations to obtain channel measurement results);
or a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) (Paragraph [0076] describes “phase tracking reference signal (PTRS)” as part of the SL signals used for tracking a carrier phase. PT-RS signals are objects that can be sensed during sidelink operations to obtain phase tracking results).
Regarding claim 4, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the first object is at least one of the following: an object in a target format; an object scrambled by a target radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); an object scrambled by a target sequence; or an object initialized by a target value (Paragraph [0183]; [0185] describes an object (first part/stage SCI) that is scrambled by an RNTI. The RNTI scrambles the CRC of the SCI, making it an object scrambled by a target RNTI that is sensed during RSAI reception operations ).
Regarding claim 5, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein a resource of the first object satisfies at least one of the following: the resource of the first object is a pre-defined, pre-configured or configured resource (Paragraph [0233] describes resources that are “pre-reserved”, pre-allocated, or pre-determined and known through “higher layer configuration or pre configuration);
or the resource of the first object is obtained according to a pre-defined, pre-configured or configured rule (Paragraph [0084] describes how resource pools are obtained “at least using a bitmap” which represents a configured rule. The clots and resources of first objects are obtained according to these configures bitmap rules );
the resource of the first object is located in any of the following: highest numbered L subchannels in a resource pool, highest numbered L physical resource blocks (PRBs) in a resource pool or a subchannel, highest numbered L PRB groups in a resource pool or a subchannel, lowest numbered L subchannels in a resource pool, lowest numbered L PRBs in a resource pool or a subchannel, or lowest numbered L PRB groups in a resource pool or a subchannel (Paragraph [0084] describes subchannels numbered from 0 to NsubCH-1 and PRBs within subchannels. The equation shows how PRBs are numbered and located within subchannels. Resources can be located in the highest numbered (NsubCH-1) or lowest numbered (0) subchannels, and similarly for PRBS within subchannels. Paragraph [0172] describes indexing systems where “index 0 corresponds to the lowest PRB” implying that higher indices correspond to higher numbered PRBS. Resources can be located in lowest numbered (index 0) or highest numbered PRBS within carriers BWPS, or resource pools);
the resource of the first object and a resource of a first channel satisfy a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) or code division multiplexing (CDM) relationship, and the first channel is a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a PSFCH (Paragraph [0076] describes DM-RS signals (first objects) that are multiplexed in PSSCH or PSCCH transmissions the multiplexing relationship between signals and channels establishes FDM or CDM relationships where the first channels are PSSCH and PSCCH);
the resource of the first object occupies M symbols; the resource of the first object occupies last M symbols of a first slot; the resource of the first object is mapped from an ith symbol of a first slot; the resource of the first object is correlated with a resource configuration of a PSFCH; the resource of the first object occupies the first available sidelink (SL) symbol in a first slot; or a configuration corresponding to the resource of the first object comprises at least one of a periodicity configuration and an offset configuration (Paragraphs [0144]; [0229] describes periodicity configuration through RRC signaling and other methods. The periodicity configuration determines when and where resources of first objects (RSAI) are located in time ), wherein the first slot is a slot where the first object is; and L, M, and i are all positive integers.
Regarding claim 6, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the first object has a first correspondence with a resource selection or a resource selection configuration, and the first correspondence satisfies at least one of the following: periodicity information of resource reservations corresponding to different first objects are different; periodicity information of resource reservations corresponding to different sensing locations of the first object are different; quality of service associated with P first objects corresponds to Q resource selections or resource selection configurations; target priorities associated with P first objects correspond to Q resource selections or resource selection configurations; or a candidate resource corresponding to the first object is located in a target resource, the target resource is located before a reserved resource, and the target resource and the reserved resource are at an interval of T or T+a resources, wherein the target priorities are priorities carried by a physical layer, logical channel priorities, or logical channel group priorities; and P, Q, T, and a are all positive integers (Paragraph [0098] describes the correspondence between first objects (SCIs decoded in sensing window) and resource selection procedures. The sensed SCIs directly influence resource selection decisions through exclusion mechanisms. [0100] describes any periodicity value allowed by a higher layer parameter sl-resourceReserveperiodlist” indicating that multiple different periodicity values are available for resource reservation. Different first objects (SCI transmissions) can have different resource reservation periods from the allowed list).
Regarding claim 7, Farag in view of Guo, Guo teaches wherein before performing a first operation correlated with the N sensing windows according to the first sensing result, the method also comprises: determining the first operation corresponding to the first sensing result according to a second correspondence between the first object and an operation, wherein the second correspondence is pre-defined, pre-configured or configured (Paragraphs [0086]; [0107] describes “ReportResource is linked to its corresponding sensing window. Transmitting (“sending operation “second operation) the report on that resource triggered by the sensed energy result. Where the target window is a part of the N sensing window, and describes the relationship between sensed objects and resulting operations is governed by pre-defined, pre-configured, or configured parameters).
Regarding claim 8, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the second correspondence satisfies at least one of the following: a demodulation result of the first object corresponds to at least one operation; an information carrying result of the first object corresponds to at least one operation; a target comparison result corresponds to at least one operation, and the target comparison result is a comparison result of an energy sensing result of the first object and R energy thresholds, wherein R is a positive integer (Paragraph [0101] describes a comparison operation where “L1-RSRP measurement is above (pre)configured SL RSRP threshold.” The L1-RSRP measurement represents an energy sensing result of the first object (received SCI) and the comparison result (above/below threshold) corresponds to at least one operation (resource exclusion). The SL RSRP threshold represents R energy thresholds (R>=1)); or a sequence sensing result of the first object corresponds to at least one operation.
Regarding claim 9, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein that a demodulation result of the first object corresponds to at least one operation comprises at least one of the following: in a case that the demodulation result of the first object indicates successfully demodulated to the first object, the at least one operation comprises at least one of the following: activating a first sensing window; or performing a second operation in a first sensing window; and in a case that the demodulation result of the first object indicates not successfully demodulated to the first object, the at least one operation comprises at least one of the following: deactivating a first sensing window; stopping performing a second operation in a first sensing window; or ignoring a first sensing window, wherein the second operation is at least one of a sending operation, a measurement operation, a sensing operation, or a receiving operation; and the first sensing window is a part or all of sensing windows corresponding to the first object (Paragraph [0099]-[0100] describes successful demodulation (“decoding the PSCCH”) of the first object (PSCCH) that leads to performing second operations in windows. When PSCCH is successfully decoded, the UE performs sensing operations (monitoring the SL interfaces) and measurement operations within the sensing window [n−T.sub.0, n−T.sub.proc,0). This satisfies “performing a second operation in a first window” where the second operation is sensing/measurement and the first window is the sensing window).
Regarding claim 11, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the first sensing result comprises at least one of the following: the demodulation result of the first object; the information carrying result of the first object; the energy sensing result of the first object; or the sequence sensing result of the first object (Paragraph [0099] describes decoding the PSCCH as part of sensing operation).
Regarding claim 12, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the N sensing windows are determined based on a third correspondence between the first object and a sensing window, wherein the third correspondence is pre-defined, pre-configured or configured (Paragraph [0129]; [0256]-[0257] describes 6 different timing windows/slots (N=6) with specific relationships to RSAI operations (first object). Describes third correspondence between first objects and a window, and timing parameters are (pre)configured to determine the time of each window and slot).
Regarding claim 13, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the third correspondence satisfies at least one of the following: one piece of information carried by the first object corresponds to at least one sensing window (Paragraph [0100] describes that SCI format 1-A (first object) carries “resource reservation period” information is processed within the sensing window. One piece of information (resource reservation period) corresponds to at least one window (sensing window));
different first objects correspond to different sensing windows; or different sensing locations of the first object correspond to different sensing windows (Paragraph [0131] teaches first RSAI (first object) corresponds to first sensing window 801 and second RSAI (different first object) corresponds to second sensing window 804).
Regarding claim 14, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein configurations of the N sensing windows are determined based on the third correspondence, wherein the configurations of the N sensing windows comprise at least one of the following: a start location of at least one sensing window of the N sensing windows (Paragraph [0256] describes “slot k, the first slot of a candidate resource window” and “slot s, the first slot of a sensing window” these represent start locations of windows);
a window length of at least one sensing window of the N sensing windows (Paragraph [0265] describes window duration and sensing window for RSAI duration); an end location of at least one sensing window of the N sensing windows; or a period of at least one sensing window of the N sensing windows.
Regarding claim 16, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein performing the first operation corresponding to the sensing result in the N sensing windows comprises: in a case that second information associated with the first object satisfies a first condition, performing the first operation corresponding to the sensing result in the N sensing windows, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: a resource pool identifier; a terminal identifier; a service identifier; a cast type; geographic location information; or distance information (Paragraph [0134] describes second information (distance information) distance between a UE transmitting RSAI and the UE receiving the RSAI, and distance relates to RSAI transmission (first object). Less than a (pre-) configured threshold this threshold comparison satisfies the first condition. Teaches using RSAI for resource selection within corresponding candidate resource window).
Regarding claim 17, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the first object is sent by a target end, and the target end is a network-side device or a second terminal (Paragraphs [0005]; [0076] describes PSCCH,PSSCH,RSAI sent or transmitted by other entities. Paragraph [0213]; [0215] [0099] describes gNB/BS provides RSAI to UEs and UEs transmit SL channels to other UEs).
Regarding claim 18, Farag in view of Guo, Farag teaches wherein the sensing a first object comprises: in a case that a second condition is satisfied, sensing the first object, wherein the second condition satisfies at least one of the following: the first terminal has a data packet to be sent; the first terminal is triggered to perform a resource selection; a value of an SL resource reselection counter is equal to 0; a resource pool is reconfigured; the first terminal does not have a reserved resource; or the first terminal does not have a resource that satisfies a condition (Paragraph [0147] describes that if a UE doesn’t have a reserved resource for transmission of a first RSAI, a UE performs resource selection window 1002 based on sensing information in an earlier sensing window. This establishes that sensing operations (to obtain “sensing information”) are performed when the UE doesn’t have a reserved resource).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag in view of Guo in further view of Islam et al. (US 2018/0324753; hereinafter Islam).
Regarding claim 10, Farag in view of Guo don’t teach wherein the first sensing result is represented by any of the following: M bits, wherein the M bits comprise a first value and a second value, the first value is used for instructing to activate a sensing window, the second value is used for instructing to deactivate a sensing window, both the first value and the second value comprise at least one value, and M is a positive integer; or a code point, wherein the code point comprises a first-type code point and a second-type code point, the first-type code point is used for instructing to activate a sensing window, the second-type code point is used for instructing to deactivate a sensing window, and both the first- type code point and the second-type code point comprise at least one code point.
However, in analogous art Islam teaches wherein the first sensing result is represented by any of the following: M bits, wherein the M bits comprise a first value and a second value, the first value is used for instructing to activate a sensing window, the second value is used for instructing to deactivate a sensing window, both the first value and the second value comprise at least one value, and M is a positive integer; or a code point, wherein the code point comprises a first-type code point and a second-type code point, the first-type code point is used for instructing to activate a sensing window, the second-type code point is used for instructing to deactivate a sensing window, and both the first- type code point and the second-type code point comprise at least one code point (Paragraph [0106] describes two bits information used for instructing to activate and deactivate a window and M =2 (positive integer)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farag method of sidelink resource selection between user equipment’s and Guo by incorporating the teaching of Islam window monitoring operations to enhance scheduling flexibility (Islam, Paragraph [0099]).
Conclusion
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464