DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/110,713 RCE filed on 06/22/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19 and 22 are amended
Claims 18 is cancelled
Claim 22 is new
Claims 1 – 17, 19 – 20, and 22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to arguments
The examiner states that the applicants arguments with regards to the virtual curved reference lines are not persuasive. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation the curved reference lines are interpreted to be any curve lines representative of features or elements on the blade as shown in figure 3. As shown below in the diagram, the examiner states that the reference line as interpreted in the figure 3, to be the curved line portion designated by the box outlining the virtual curved reference line. The width as disclosed shown relative to the hub. The applicant is arguing limitations not stated within the claim. The claim discloses a curved reference line but doesn’t explicitly detail what the curved reference line is and is being broadly interpreted. The examiner states that the interpretation as shown in the figure below is a reasonable interpretation of the applicants amended claims. Additionally the examiner states that this interpretation is also applicable to independent claims 12 and 19 with similar arguments.
Claim 8 and 16 also similarly argued, are not persuasive. New claim is taught by MEIER in fig. 3 ) (See figure 3 – wherein the bend of the blade is between the inner end portion and outer end portion of a fin)
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A First Width - Radially inner width of inner end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A Second Width - Radially outer width outer end portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Virtual curved reference line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7, 9 – 13, 17, 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by US Patent 9839172 – Meier et al. hereinafter as MEIER
Regarding claim 1
MEIER discloses:
A tilling implement, comprising:
a frame; (fig. 1 – frame 14 )
a row of disc blades coupled to the frame; (fig. 1 – disc blades 18 coupled to frame)
a soil finisher coupled to the frame, wherein the soil finisher comprises a plurality of chopper blades, (fig. 2 – spider tines) a first chopper blade of the plurality of chopper blades comprises a plurality of fins that extend radially from a hub, (col 2 line 59 – 65 – wherein a compressed bearing acts as a hub)
a first fin of the plurality of fins curves forward relative to the hub along a virtual curved reference line, ( fig. 4 and 3 – see virtual curved reference line) comprises a radially inner end portion with a first width transverse to the virtual curved reference line( fig. 3 – see virtual curved reference line and a first width ) and radially outer end portion with a second width transverse to the virtual curved reference line( fig. 3 – see virtual curved reference line and a second width )and the first width is less than the second width( See fig. 3 with a first width and second width) a first set of the plurality of fins bend in a first direction relative to the hub, and a second set of the plurality of fins bend in a second direction relative to the hub to facilitate tossing soil as the tilling implement travels through a field. ( fig. 2 – wherein the blade extend in a first direction – blade 54 pointing to the left, blade 60 pointing to the right.)
[AltContent: textbox (A First Width - Radially inner width of inner end portion)][AltContent: textbox (A Second Width - Radially outer width outer end portion)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Virtual curved reference line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (Fin portion 42B - Curving forward relative to hub)]
[AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2
MEIER discloses claim 1:
2. The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein the first set of the plurality of fins bend laterally in the first direction relative to the hub, (fig. 2 – fin pointing laterally in a first direction) and the second set of the plurality of fins bend laterally in the second direction relative to the hub (fig. 2 – fin pointing laterally in a first direction) to facilitate tossing soil in the first direction and the second direction as the tilling implement travels through the field.
Regarding Claim 3
MEIER discloses claim 1:
3. The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein the first fin of the plurality of fins is positioned at a compound angle relative to the hub. (See figure 3 – wherein the blade are at a compound angle. See feature 32)
Regarding Claim 4
MEIER discloses claim 3:
The tilling implement of claim 3, wherein the compound angle comprises a respective bend laterally relative to the hub, and a respective curve forward relative to the hub along the virtual curved reference line. (fig. 3 with respect to c- with respect to moving forward in the direction of 20.the compound angle is shown with the blade. And fig. 4)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A First Width - Radially inner width of inner end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A Second Width - Radially outer width outer end portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Virtual curved reference line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (Fin portion 42B – bend forward relative to hub)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 5
MEIER discloses claim 1:
5. (Currently Amended) The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein each additional fin of the plurality of fins comprises a respective radially inner end portion with a respective first width and a respective radially outer end portion with a respective second width, and the respective first width is less than the respective second width. ( See fig. 3 above - where in a fin has a radially inner portion with a first width and radially outer portion with a second with and the first width is less than the second width.)
Regarding Claim 6
(Currently Amended) The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein each the first fin of the plurality of fins comprises a convex curved surface and a concave curved surface that extend from [[a]] the radially outer end portion to [[a]] the radially inner end portion.( See figure 2 below, convex and concave curved surface as noted in the figure)
Regarding Claim 7
MEIER discloses claim 1:
The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein the plurality of chopper blades are mounted on a shaft that extends laterally across at least a portion of the tilling implement. (Fig. 1 – blades mounted on shaft 34 that extend laterally of tilling equipment)
Regarding Claim 9
MEIER discloses claim 1:
The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein the soil finisher is a rear-most ground- engaging structure of the tilling implement relative to a forward direction of travel. (fig. 1 – wherein the soil finisher is the rear most ground engaging tool of the tillage equipment)
Regarding Claim 10
MEIER discloses claim 1:
The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein the plurality of chopper blades are configured to roll along the soil as the tilling implement travels through a field. ( fig. 1 where in the blades are non powered implement tools)
Regarding Claim 11
MEIER discloses claim 1:
The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein the row of disc blades comprises pairs of solid disc blades. ( Fig. 1 – disc blades 18 )
Regarding Claim 12
A soil finisher for a tilling implement, the soil finisher comprising:
a frame; (fig. 1 – frame 14 )
a mounting bracket coupled to the frame; (fig. 1 – The curve shaped bracket is mounted to frame as shown in the diagram below)
a shaft coupled to the mounting bracket; (fig. 1 – shaft 34 wherein it is attached to the bracket as shown in the diagram below.)
a plurality of chopper blades disposed on the shaft(fig. 2 – chopper blade 32), wherein a first chopper blade of the plurality of chopper blades comprises a hub and a plurality of fins circumferentially disposed about the hub relative to a rotational axis of the hub,( col 2 line 59 – 67 – wherein a compressed bearing can be mounted to the tines , such that it acts as a hub) a first fin of the plurality of fins curves forward relative to the hub along a virtual curved reference line, ( fig. 4 and 3 – see virtual curved reference line) comprises a radially inner end portion with a first width transverse to the virtual curved reference line( fig. 3 – see virtual curved reference line and a first width ) and radially outer end portion with a second width transverse to the virtual curved reference line( fig. 3 – see virtual curved reference line and a second width ) and the first width is less than the second width( See fig. 3- where in a fin has a radially inner end portion with a first width and radially outer end portion with a second with and the first width is less than the second width.) a first set of the plurality of fins bend laterally in a first direction relative to the hub, and a second set of the plurality of fins bend laterally in a second direction relative to the hub to facilitate tossing soil in the first direction and the second direction as the tilling implement travels through a field. ( fig. 2 – wherein the blade extend in a first direction – blade 54 pointing to the left, blade 60 pointing to the right.)
Regarding Claim 13
MEIER discloses claim 12:
The soil finisher of claim 12, wherein the first fin of the plurality of fins is positioned at a compound angle relative to the hub. (See figure 3 – wherein the blade are at a compound angle. See feature 32)
Regarding Claim 14
MEIER discloses claim 12:
The soil finisher of claim 12, wherein each additional fin of the plurality of fins comprises a respective radially inner end portion with a respective first width and a respective radially outer end portion with a respective second width, and the respective first width is less than the respective second width. ( See fig. 3- where in a fin has a radially inner end portion with a first width and radially outer end portion with a second with and the first width is less than the second width.)
Regarding Claim 15
The soil finisher of claim 12, wherein the first fin of the plurality of fins comprises a convex curved surface and a concave curved surface that extend from the radially outer end portion to the radially inner end portion.( See figure 2 below, convex and concave curved surface as noted in the figure)
Regarding Claim 17
MEIER discloses claim 12:
17. The soil finisher of claim 12, wherein the soil finisher is configured to be a rear- most ground-engaging structure of the tilling implement relative to a forward direction of travel. (fig. 1 – wherein the soil finisher is the rear most ground engaging tool of the tillage equipment)and the plurality of chopper blades are configured to roll along the soil as the tilling implement travels through the field. ( Fig. 1 – wherein the soil finisher is the rear most ground engaging tool of the tillage equipment)
Regarding Claim 19
MEIER discloses:
19. An agricultural system, comprising: a work vehicle;( col 2 line 50 – 51) tow vehicle and a tilling implement configured to couple to the work vehicle( col 2 line 35 – 51 – tow vehicle with tillage implement), wherein the tilling implement comprises:
a frame; (fig. 1 – frame 14 )
a row of disc blades coupled to the frame; (fig. 1 – disc blades 18 coupled to frame)
a soil finisher coupled to the frame rearward of the row of disc blades relative to a forward direction of travel of the agricultural system(fig. 1 – wherein the soil finisher is the rear most ground engaging tool of the tillage equipment), wherein the soil finisher comprises a plurality of chopper blades(fig. 2 – spider tines), each chopper blade of the plurality of chopper blades comprises a plurality of fins that extend radially from a hub, (col 2 line 59 – 65 – wherein a compressed bearing acts as a hub) each fin of the plurality of fins extends along a virtual reference line that curves forward relative to the hub comprises( fig. 4 and 3 – see virtual curved reference line)a radially inner end portion with a first width transverse to the virtual curved reference line( fig. 3 – see virtual curved reference line and a first width )
radially outer end portion with a second width transverse to the virtual curved reference line( fig. 3 – see virtual curved reference line and a second width )comprises a convex curved surface and a concave curved surface that extend from a radially outer end portion to a radially inner end portion( See figure 2 below, convex and concave curved surface as noted in the figure)
wherein the first width is less than the second width, ( See fig. 3- where in a fin has a radially inner end portion with a first width and radially outer end portion with a second with and the first width is less than the second width.) a first fin of the plurality of fins bends in a first direction relative to the hub, and a second fin of the plurality of fins bends in a second direction relative to the hub to facilitate tossing soil as the tilling implement travels through a field. ( fig. 2 – wherein the blade extend in a first direction – blade 54 pointing to the left, blade 60 pointing to the right.)
Regarding Claim 20
MEIER discloses:
20. The agricultural system of claim 19, wherein each fin of the plurality of fins is positioned at a compound angle relative to the hub. (See figure 3 – wherein the blade are at a compound angle. See feature 32)
Regarding Claim 22
MEIER discloses:
The tilling implement of claim 1, wherein a respective bend of the first fin is positioned between the radially inner end portion and the radially outer end portion relative to the virtual curved reference line. (See figure 3 – wherein the bend of the blade is between the inner end portion and outer end portion of a fin)
[AltContent: textbox (Respective bend)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A First Width - Radially inner width of inner end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A Second Width - Radially outer width outer end portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Virtual curved reference line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by US Patent 9839172 – Meier et al. hereinafter as MEIER in view of US PG Pubs 20190261549 – Christie et al. hereinafter as CHRISTIE
Regarding Claim 8
MEIER discloses claim 7:
MEIER discloses of a plurality of blades that are mounted on a shaft, MEIER doesn’t explicitly disclose the plurality of blades mounted on the shaft are at a rotational offset relative to each other, however CHRISTIE discloses:
The tilling implement of claim 7, wherein the plurality of chopper blades are mounted on the shaft to be rotationally offset relative to one another. (para. 0174 is shaft driven, para. 0193 - where in the blades are rotationally offset one is a leading blade and one is trailing blade)
MEIER and CHRISTIE are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor and usable together. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MEIER to incorporate teachings of CHRISTIE and Operate the shaft with chopper blades wherein the plurality of chopper blades are mounted on the shaft to be rotationally offset relative to one another. One would have made this combination in order to allow an offset of the chopper blades of MEIER to be offset using CHRISTIE as this would allow MEIER to break soil and increase width of penetration into the soil. ( para. 0193)
Regarding Claim 16
MEIER discloses claim 12:
MEIER discloses of a plurality of blades that are mounted on a shaft, MEIER doesn’t explicitly disclose the plurality of blades mounted on the shaft are at a rotational offset relative to each other, however CHRISTIE discloses:
The soil finisher of claim 12, wherein the plurality of chopper blades are mounted on the shaft to be rotationally offset relative to one another. (para. 0174 is shaft driven, para. 0193 - where in the blades are rotationally offset one is a leading blade and one is trailing blade)
MEIER and CHRISTIE are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor and usable together. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MEIER to incorporate teachings of CHRISTIE and Operate the shaft with chopper blades wherein the plurality of chopper blades are mounted on the shaft to be rotationally offset relative to one another. One would have made this combination in order to allow an offset of the chopper blades of MEIER to be offset using CHRISTIE as this would allow MEIER to break soil and increase width of penetration into the soil. ( para. 0193)
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671