DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot do to the introduction of new references and a new basis for rejection necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11, 17, 21-26, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann et al. (US 2024/0049084 A1; “McCann”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2025/0261258 A1; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, McCann teaches a first wireless communication device, comprising:
a processing system that comprises one or more processors and one or more memories couples with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to [McCann ¶ 0044: MLD device includes memory storing instructions for performing processes via hardware structures including circuitry (i.e. processors)]:
monitor communication with a second wireless communication device via one or more links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, the second wireless communication device using a first set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration request management frame is transmitted by a non-AP MLD (i.e. second device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: non-AP MLD comprises affiliated STAs) to an AP MLD (i.e. first device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: AP MLD comprises affiliated APs) to request a configuration change to one or more of its communication links (here, as a change to a configuration is request by the second device, the second device is already configured with a first set of communication parameters); ¶ 0069, Fig. 7: request frame includes current link info 708 and new link info 710];
transmit, to the second wireless communication device responsive to a determination that the communication using the first set of communication parameters fails to satisfy one or more criteria, an indication of recommended second wireless communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters), wherein non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame can send a link configuration request management frame to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation (i.e. on response to the receiving an indication non-AP MLD changes/adjusts link mapping); ¶ claim 13: sending the communication link configuration query management frame upon detection of increased packet errors, environmental conditions, or other events supporting changing the communication link (i.e. failure to satisfy a criteria); ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link],
the second set of communication parameters being different from the first set of communication parameters [McCann ¶¶ 0061-0062, Figs. 3 & 4: as a result of movement, environmental changes, or other events, links between non-AP MLD and AP MLD are changed from a first configuration (shown in Fig. 3) to a second configuration (shown in Fig. 4), wherein these configurations are different]; and
communicate one or more frames with the second wireless communication device subsequent to transmitting the indication [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. indication) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. subsequent frame) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation].
However, McCann does not explicitly disclose an indication of recommended second wireless communication parameter indicates to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device via the one or more links.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches an indication of recommended second wireless communication parameter indicates to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Kim ¶ 0228: the STA may establish a connection with the Link recommended by the AP based on the element/field, i.e., recommend Link (here, the indication of recommended links, i.e., second set of parameters causes second wireless device to change/adjust the link, i.e. adjust first set of parameters)] via the one or more links [Kim ¶ 0215, Fig. 14: in an arrangement where AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate over link 1 and link 2 (i.e. one or more links), and subsequent to link change (i.e. change to second set of parameters) AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicated over original link 1, and new link 2 between AP3 and STA2 (here, after the parameter change AP MLD and non-AP MLD are communicating over one of the initial links)];
communicate, via the one or more links, one or more frames with the second wireless communication device subsequent to transmitting the indication [Kim ¶ 0233: when the STA (i.e., STA 2) receiving the request message for requesting reconnection accepts the request, an “Accept” response message (e.g., Link switching response frame) may be sent on STA2 to AP2 link (i.e. one the one or more initial links)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of adjusting a communication link between a non-AP MLD and AP MLD based on a recommended link as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead [Kim ¶ 0016].
Regarding claim 2, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the indication, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a frame that comprises the indication, wherein the indication is a recommendation that the second wireless communication device use the second set of communication parameters to communicate with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters)].
Regarding claim 3, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, the indication is a request for the second wireless communication device to adjust the first set of communication parameters to the second communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); here, reconfiguring a link-mapping is analogous to “adjusting” communication parameters].
Regarding claim 4, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to: receive, from the second wireless communication device in response to the request, a second indication of the second set of communication parameters, the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the second set of communication parameters in accordance with receiving the second indication [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. request) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. second indication) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation; ¶ 0069, Fig. 7: request frame includes new link info 710].
Regarding claim 6, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the indication, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a request for the second wireless communication device to activate the one or more links for communicating with the first wireless communication device using the second set of communication parameters, the request comprising the second set of communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); ¶¶ 0061-0062, Figs. 3 & 4: links between non-AP MLD and AP MLD are changed from a first configuration (shown in Fig. 3) to a second configuration (shown in Fig. 4), wherein the configuration of Fig. 4 activates the link 234; ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link].
Regarding claim 11, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the indication comprises a second indication of the one or more links of a set of links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device for which the second wireless communication device is to use the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping; ¶¶ 0061-0062, Figs. 3 & 4: links between non-AP MLD and AP MLD are changed from a first configuration (shown in Fig. 3) to a second configuration (shown in Fig. 4), wherein the configuration of Fig. 4 activates the link 234; ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link; see also ¶ 0072, Fig. 9: query frame 900 includes multiple fields (here, the new link info is analogous to a second indication included in the query management frame 900 analogous to first indication)].
Regarding claim 17, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the indication, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the indication via aggregated control (A-Control) signaling, a block acknowledgement frame, or an action frame [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame (i.e. action frame) is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping].
Regarding claim 21, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein: the first wireless communication device is a first access point (AP) multi- link device (MLD), a first AP station (STA), a first non-AP MILD, a first non-AP STA, or a combination thereof, and the second wireless communication device is a second AP MILD, a second non-AP MLD, a second AP STA, a second non-AP STA, or a combination thereof [McCann ¶ 0054, Fig. 3: AP MLD (i.e. first device) in communication with non-AP MLD (i.e. second device); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 22, McCann in view of Kim teaches a second wireless communication device, comprising:
a processing system that comprises one or more processors and one or more memories couples with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the second wireless communication device to [McCann ¶ 0044: MLD device includes memory storing instructions for performing processes via hardware structures including circuitry (i.e. processors)]:
communicate with a first wireless communication device using a first set of communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration request management frame is transmitted by a non-AP MLD (i.e. second device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: non-AP MLD comprises affiliated STAs) to an AP MLD (i.e. first device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: AP MLD comprises affiliated APs) to request a configuration change to one or more of its communication links (here, a transmission transmitted according to a configuration, i.e., first set of parameters); see also ¶ 0069, Fig. 7: current link info 708 is sent in request (here, current link info is analogous to first parameter set)];
receive, from the first wireless communication device responsive to a determination that the communicating using the first set of communication parameters fails to satisfy one or more criteria, an indication recommending the second wireless communication device to use a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); ¶ claim 13: sending the communication link configuration query management frame upon detection of increased packet errors, environmental conditions, or other events supporting changing the communication link (i.e. failure to satisfy a criteria); ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link]; and
communicate one or more frames with the first wireless communication device subsequent to receiving the indication [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. indication) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. subsequent frame) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation].
However, McCann does not explicitly disclose an indication of recommend parameters indicates to the second wireless communication device to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless device via the one or more links; and communicate, via the one or more links, one or more frames with the first wireless communication device subsequent to receiving the indication.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches an indication of recommend parameters indicates to the second wireless communication device to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless device [Kim ¶ 0228: the STA may establish a connection with the Link recommended by the AP based on the element/field, i.e., recommend Link (here, the indication of recommended links, i.e., second set of parameters causes second wireless device to change/adjust the link, i.e. adjust first set of parameters)] via the one or more links [Kim ¶ 0215, Fig. 14: in an arrangement where AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate over link 1 and link 2 (i.e. one or more links), and subsequent to link change (i.e. change to second set of parameters) AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicated over original link 1, and new link 2 between AP3 and STA2 (here, after the parameter change AP MLD and non-AP MLD are communicating over one of the initial links)]; and
communicate, via the one or more links, one or more frames with the first wireless communication device subsequent to receiving the indication [Kim ¶ 0233: when the STA (i.e., STA 2) receiving the request message for requesting reconnection accepts the request, an “Accept” response message (e.g., Link switching response frame) may be sent on STA2 to AP2 link (i.e. one the one or more initial links)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of adjusting a communication link between a non-AP MLD and AP MLD based on a recommended link as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead [Kim ¶ 0016].
Regarding claim 23, McCann in view of Kim teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 22, wherein, to receive the indication, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive a frame that comprises the indication, wherein the indication is a recommendation that the second wireless communication device use the second set of communication parameters to communicate with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters)].
Regarding claim 24, McCann in view of Kim teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 22, wherein, the indication is a request for the second wireless communication device to adjust the first set of communication parameters, the second set of communication parameters being the adjusted first set of communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); here, reconfiguring a link-mapping is analogous to “adjusting” communication parameters].
Regarding claim 25, McCann in view of Kim teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 22, wherein, to receive the indication, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive a request for the second wireless communication device to activate the one or more links for communicating with the first wireless communication device using the second set of communication parameters, the request comprising the second set of communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); ¶ claim 13: sending the communication link configuration query management frame upon detection of increased packet errors, environmental conditions, or other events supporting changing the communication link (i.e. failure to satisfy a criteria); ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link].
Regarding claim 26, McCann in view of Kim teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 22, wherein, to receive the indication, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: transmit, to the first wireless communication device in response to the indication, a second indication of a confirmation of a usage, by the second wireless communication device, of the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device, the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the second set of communication parameters in accordance with the confirmation; or
transmit, to the first wireless communication device in response to the indication, a third indication of a rejection, by the second wireless communication device, to use the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device, the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the first set of communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. request) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. second indication) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation (i.e. the proposed second parameter set is rejected); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 29, McCann teaches a method for wireless communications at a first wireless communication device, comprising:
monitoring communication with a second wireless communication device via one or more links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, the second wireless communication device using a first set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device; [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration request management frame is transmitted by a non-AP MLD (i.e. second device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: non-AP MLD comprises affiliated STAs) to an AP MLD (i.e. first device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: AP MLD comprises affiliated APs) to request a configuration change to one or more of its communication links (here, as a change to a configuration is request by the second device, the second device is already configured with a first set of communication parameters); ¶ 0069, Fig. 7: request frame includes current link info 708 and new link info 710];
transmitting, to the second wireless communication device responsive to a determination that the communication using the first set of communication parameters fails to satisfy one or more criteria, an indication of recommended second wireless communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); ¶ claim 13: sending the communication link configuration query management frame upon detection of increased packet errors, environmental conditions, or other events supporting changing the communication link (i.e. failure to satisfy a criteria); ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link],
the second set of communication parameters being different from the first set of communication parameters [McCann ¶¶ 0061-0062, Figs. 3 & 4: as a result of movement, environmental changes, or other events, links between non-AP MLD and AP MLD are changed from a first configuration (shown in Fig. 3) to a second configuration (shown in Fig. 4), wherein these configurations are different]; and
communicating one or more frames with the second wireless communication device subsequent to transmitting the indication [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. indication) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. subsequent frame) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation].
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches an indication of recommended second wireless communication parameter indicates to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Kim ¶ 0228: the STA may establish a connection with the Link recommended by the AP based on the element/field, i.e., recommend Link (here, the indication of recommended links, i.e., second set of parameters causes second wireless device to change/adjust the link, i.e. adjust first set of parameters)] via the one or more links [Kim ¶ 0215, Fig. 14: in an arrangement where AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate over link 1 and link 2 (i.e. one or more links), and subsequent to link change (i.e. change to second set of parameters) AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicated over original link 1, and new link 2 between AP3 and STA2 (here, after the parameter change AP MLD and non-AP MLD are communicating over one of the initial links)];
communicating, via the one or more links, one or more frames with the second wireless communication device subsequent to transmitting the indication [Kim ¶ 0233: when the STA (i.e., STA 2) receiving the request message for requesting reconnection accepts the request, an “Accept” response message (e.g., Link switching response frame) may be sent on STA2 to AP2 link (i.e. one the one or more initial links)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of adjusting a communication link between a non-AP MLD and AP MLD based on a recommended link as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead [Kim ¶ 0016].
Regarding claim 30, McCann teaches a method for wireless communications at a second wireless communication device, comprising:
communicating with a first wireless communication device using a first set of communication parameters [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration request management frame is transmitted by a non-AP MLD (i.e. second device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: non-AP MLD comprises affiliated STAs) to an AP MLD (i.e. first device; see ¶ 0049, Fig. 2: AP MLD comprises affiliated APs) to request a configuration change to one or more of its communication links (here, a transmission transmitted according to a configuration, i.e., first set of parameters); see also ¶ 0069, Fig. 7: current link info 708 is sent in request (here, current link info is analogous to first parameter set)];
receiving, from the first wireless communication device responsive to a determination that the communicating using the first set of communication parameters fails to satisfy one or more criteria, an indication recommending the second wireless communication device to use a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping (i.e. second set of parameters); ¶ claim 13: sending the communication link configuration query management frame upon detection of increased packet errors, environmental conditions, or other events supporting changing the communication link (i.e. failure to satisfy a criteria); ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link]; and
communicating one or more frames with the first wireless communication device subsequent to receiving the indication [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. indication) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. subsequent frame) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation].
However, McCann does not explicitly disclose an indication of recommend parameters indicates to the second wireless communication device to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless device via the one or more links; and communicate, via the one or more links, one or more frames with the first wireless communication device subsequent to receiving the indication.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches an indication of recommend parameters indicates to the second wireless communication device to adjust the first set of communication parameters to a second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless device [Kim ¶ 0228: the STA may establish a connection with the Link recommended by the AP based on the element/field, i.e., recommend Link (here, the indication of recommended links, i.e., second set of parameters causes second wireless device to change/adjust the link, i.e. adjust first set of parameters)] via the one or more links [Kim ¶ 0215, Fig. 14: in an arrangement where AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicate over link 1 and link 2 (i.e. one or more links), and subsequent to link change (i.e. change to second set of parameters) AP MLD and non-AP MLD communicated over original link 1, and new link 2 between AP3 and STA2 (here, after the parameter change AP MLD and non-AP MLD are communicating over one of the initial links)]; and
communicating, via the one or more links, one or more frames with the first wireless communication device subsequent to receiving the indication [Kim ¶ 0233: when the STA (i.e., STA 2) receiving the request message for requesting reconnection accepts the request, an “Accept” response message (e.g., Link switching response frame) may be sent on STA2 to AP2 link (i.e. one the one or more initial links)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of adjusting a communication link between a non-AP MLD and AP MLD based on a recommended link as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce signaling overhead [Kim ¶ 0016].
Claim(s) 5, 7-10, 18-20, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann in view of Kim in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0247698 A1; “Liu”).
Regarding claim 5, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 3, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate the one or more frames, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: communicate, in response to the request, the one or more frames in accordance with the second set of communication parameters.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches communicating, in response to the request, the one or more frames in accordance with the second set of communication parameters [Liu ¶ 0162, Fig. 12: the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may implement the final mapping, e.g., default mapping, second mapping, AP preferred mapping, or any other previously applied mapping, wherein the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may exchange data and/or management/control information in the uplink and or downlink directions according to the final mapping].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating, with a multi-link device, according to an negotiated multi-link configuration as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 7, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, from the second wireless communication device in response to the indication, a second indication of a confirmation of a usage, by the second wireless communication device, of the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [McCann ¶ 0068: non-AP MLD that receives a link configuration query management frame (i.e. request) can send a link configuration request management frame (i.e. second indication) to change a communication link configuration based on the recommendation; ¶ 0069, Fig. 7: request frame includes new link info 710 (here, non-AP MLD requests one of the recommended configurations and includes said configuration in new link info 710)].
However, McCann in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the second set of communication parameters in accordance with the confirmation.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the second set of communication parameters in accordance with the confirmation [Liu ¶ 0162, Fig. 12: the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may implement the final mapping, e.g., default mapping, second mapping, AP preferred mapping, or any other previously applied mapping, wherein the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may exchange data and/or management/control information in the uplink and or downlink directions according to the final mapping].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating, with a multi-link device, according to an negotiated multi-link configuration as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 8, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, from the second wireless communication device in response to the indication, a second indication of a rejection, by the second wireless communication device, to use the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device, the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the first set of communication parameters.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches receive, from the second wireless communication device in response to the indication, a second indication of a rejection, by the second wireless communication device, to use the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0120: AP MLD transmits AP preferred mapping; ¶ 0122: non-AP MLD (i.e. second device) may be configured to respond with a T2L negotiation response that indicates: 1) acceptance of the AP proposed mapping; or 2) rejection with a counter proposal, wherein the counter proposal may include 1) no mapping change (i.e. using first set of parameters)],
the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the first set of communication parameters [Liu ¶ 0162, Fig. 12: the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may implement the final mapping, e.g., default mapping, second mapping, AP preferred mapping, or any other previously applied mapping, wherein the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may exchange data and/or management/control information in the uplink and or downlink directions according to the final mapping].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating, with a multi-link device, according to a negotiated multi-link configuration as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 9, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: determine an adherence to the indication by the second wireless communication device in accordance with communicating the one or more frames in accordance with the second set of communication parameters.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches determine an adherence to the indication by the second wireless communication device in accordance with communicating the one or more frames in accordance with the second set of communication parameters [Liu ¶ 0160: non-AP MLD may receive any final mapping instruction and may transmit a response (1228), wherein the response may be an acknowledgement of the final mapping instruction, the final mapping instruction implemented when the response is transmitted (i.e. the AP MLD receives indication that non-AP MLD intends to use (adheres to) the final mapping)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating, with a multi-link device, according to a negotiated multi-link configuration as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 10, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, from the second wireless communication device in response to the indication, a second indication of a third set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device; and transmit, in response to the second indication, a third indication of a confirmation of the third set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device or of a fourth set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device, the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the third set of communication parameters, the fourth set of communication parameters, or a fifth set of communication parameters in accordance with the third indication.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches receive, from the second wireless communication device in response to the indication, a second indication of a third set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0136, Fig. 12: in response to request for mapping in step 1208, non-AP MLD may transmit a T2L negotiation request to the AP MLD, that may indicate one or more suitable mappings, e.g., that map the active TIDs to sufficient links or sets of links according to the priority of the TIDs (i.e. third set of parameters); ¶ 0137:T2L negotiation request from the non-AP MLD may contain a counter proposal mapping (or mappings) indicating an alternative AT2LS mapping (different from the first mapping proposed by the AP MLD)]; and
transmit, in response to the second indication, a third indication of a confirmation of the third set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device or of a fourth set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0145: if the second mapping or counter proposal is determined to be unsuitable, the AP MLD may determine a mapping for a further counter proposal; ¶ 0147: AP MLD may send a second request for mapping to the non-AP MLD (1220), according to some embodiments. The second request for mapping may include an indication of the further counter proposal mapping],
the one or more frames communicated in accordance with the third set of communication parameters, the fourth set of communication parameters, or a fifth set of communication parameters in accordance with the third indication [Liu ¶ 0162, Fig. 12: the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may implement the final mapping, e.g., default mapping, second mapping, AP preferred mapping, or any other previously applied mapping, wherein the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD may exchange data and/or management/control information in the uplink and or downlink directions according to the final mapping].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating, with a multi-link device, according to a negotiated multi-link configuration as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 18, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, from the second wireless communication device, a request to trigger the second wireless communication device to transmit one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device, the request comprising a third set of communication parameters associated with transmitting the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device; and transmit, to the second wireless communication device and in accordance with the request, a trigger frame that triggers the second wireless communication device to transmit the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches receive, from the second wireless communication device, a request to trigger the second wireless communication device to transmit one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device, the request comprising a third set of communication parameters associated with transmitting the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0136: non-AP MLD may indicate one or more suitable mappings, e.g., that map the active TIDs to sufficient links or sets of links according to the priority of the TIDs; ¶ 0122: non-AP MLD (i.e. second device) may be configured to respond with a T2L negotiation response that indicates: 1) acceptance of the AP proposed mapping; or 2) rejection with a counter proposal, wherein the counter proposal may include 3) alternative mapping, e.g., different from the current mapping, default mapping, or AP proposed mapping (i.e. third parameter set)]; and
transmit, to the second wireless communication device and in accordance with the request, a trigger frame that triggers the second wireless communication device to transmit the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0147, Fig. 12: AP MLD may send a second request for mapping to the non-AP MLD (1220), according to some embodiments, wherein the second request for mapping may include an indication of the further counter proposal mapping; ¶ 0152: the AP MLD and non-AP MLD may apply the further counter proposal upon expiration of the counter proposal time (here, a response to non-AP, i.e., second device, recommending further link-mapping to AP, i.e. first device, a frame is sent that triggers application of the mapping for future communications, i.e., second frames)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of performing an iterative multi-link mapping negotiation as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 19, McCann in view of Kim in view of Liu teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 18, however, McCann does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, from the second wireless communication device, the one or more second frames in accordance with the trigger frame triggering the second wireless communication device to transmit the one or more second frames in accordance with the third set of communication parameters.
However, Liu teaches receive, from the second wireless communication device, the one or more second frames in accordance with the trigger frame triggering the second wireless communication device to transmit the one or more second frames in accordance with the third set of communication parameters [Liu ¶ 0136: non-AP MLD may indicate one or more suitable mappings 3) alternative mapping, e.g., different from the current mapping, default mapping, or AP proposed mapping (i.e. third parameter set); ¶ 0152: the AP MLD and non-AP MLD may apply the further counter proposal upon expiration of the counter proposal time (here, a response to non-AP, i.e., second device, recommending further link-mapping to AP, i.e. first device, a frame is sent that triggers application of the mapping for future communications, i.e., second frames)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Regarding claim 20, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the second set of communication parameters is associated with communicating with the first wireless communication device via a first link between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, and wherein the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the indication via a second link different than the first link.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the second set of communication parameters is associated with communicating with the first wireless communication device via a first link between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, and wherein the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the indication via a second link different than the first link [Liu ¶ 0118: if the AP has not indicated the AP preferred mapping, then the AP MLD and non-AP MLD may initially use the default mapping (here, the default mapping is different than an preferred mapping, i.e., first link associated with second communication parameters)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of performing initial multi-link communication with according to a default mapping as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 28, McCann in view of Kim teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 22, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: transmit, to the first wireless communication device, a request to trigger the second wireless communication device to transmit one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device, the request comprising a third set of communication parameters associated with transmitting the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device; and receive, from the first wireless communication device and in accordance with the request, a trigger frame that triggers the second wireless communication device to transmit the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the first wireless communication device, a request to trigger the second wireless communication device to transmit one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device, the request comprising a third set of communication parameters associated with transmitting the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0136: non-AP MLD may indicate one or more suitable mappings, e.g., that map the active TIDs to sufficient links or sets of links according to the priority of the TIDs; ¶ 0122: non-AP MLD (i.e. second device) may be configured to respond with a T2L negotiation response that indicates: 1) acceptance of the AP proposed mapping; or 2) rejection with a counter proposal, wherein the counter proposal may include 3) alternative mapping, e.g., different from the current mapping, default mapping, or AP proposed mapping (i.e. third parameter set)]; and
receive, from the first wireless communication device and in accordance with the request, a trigger frame that triggers the second wireless communication device to transmit the one or more second frames to the first wireless communication device [Liu ¶ 0147, Fig. 12: AP MLD may send a second request for mapping to the non-AP MLD (1220), according to some embodiments, wherein the second request for mapping may include an indication of the further counter proposal mapping; ¶ 0152: the AP MLD and non-AP MLD may apply the further counter proposal upon expiration of the counter proposal time (here, a response to non-AP, i.e., second device, recommending further link-mapping to AP, i.e. first device, a frame is sent that triggers application of the mapping for future communications, i.e., second frames)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of performing an iterative multi-link mapping negotiation as taught by Liu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve wireless communication capacity and reduce interference through efficient management of multi-link devices [Liu ¶ 0079].
Claim(s) 12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann in view of Kim in view of Hwang et al. (US 2024/0234266 A1; “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 12, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 11, however, McCann does not explicitly disclose wherein the second indication comprises a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits associated with a respective link of the set of links and indicating whether the second wireless communication device is to use the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device via the respective link.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches wherein the second indication comprises a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits associated with a respective link of the set of links and indicating whether the second wireless communication device is to use the second set of communication parameters for communicating with the first wireless communication device via the respective link [Hwang ¶¶ 0100-0101: beacon frame (i.e. first indication) transmitted by the AP MLD is activated may include the TID-to-link mapping element (i.e. second indication), wherein a link mapping bitmap for each TID may be included in the TID-to-link mapping element; ¶ 0102: TID may be mapped to up to 16 links in a 16-bit bitmap, e.g., TID 0 is set to 1110 0000 0000 0000, this may mean that data with the TID 0 can be transmitted in the first link, the second link, and the third link (i.e. each bit of bitmap is mapped to one of the 16 links)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating a TID-link mapping during a MLD link negotiation procedure as taught by Hwang. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce interruptions in multi-link communications [Hwang ¶ 0027].
Regarding claim 14, McCann in view of Kim teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a frame comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits mapping to a respective set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device or to a respective set of adjustments to the first set of communication parameters, the indication being for the second wireless communication device to use the second set of communication parameters in accordance with a value of a first bit of the set of bits that maps to the second set of communication parameters or to a first set of adjustments to the first set of communication parameters used to generate the second set of communication parameters.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches transmit a frame comprising a set of bits, each bit of the set of bits mapping to a respective set of communication parameters for the second wireless communication device to use for communicating with the first wireless communication device or to a respective set of adjustments to the first set of communication parameters, the indication being for the second wireless communication device to use the second set of communication parameters in accordance with a value of a first bit of the set of bits that maps to the second set of communication parameters or to a first set of adjustments to the first set of communication parameters used to generate the second set of communication parameters [Hwang ¶¶ 0100-0101: beacon frame (i.e. first indication) transmitted by the AP MLD is activated and may include the TID-to-link mapping element (i.e. indication), wherein a link mapping bitmap for each TID may be included in the TID-to-link mapping element; ¶ 0102: TID may be mapped to up to 16 links in a 16-bit bitmap, e.g., TID 0 is set to 1110 0000 0000 0000, this may mean that data with the TID 0 can be transmitted in the first link, the second link, and the third link (i.e. each bit of bitmap is mapped to one of the 16 links)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of communicating a TID-link mapping during a MLD link negotiation procedure as taught by Hwang. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce interruptions in multi-link communications [Hwang ¶ 0027].
Regarding claim 15, McCann in view of Kim in view of Hwang teaches the first communication device of claim 14, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: communicate one or more second frames with the second wireless communication device to negotiate a respective mapping of each bit to the respective set of communication parameters or to the respective set of adjustments [McCann ¶ 0068: link configuration query management frame (i.e. second indication) is transmitted by an AP MLD to suggest that a non-AP MLD change its communication link configuration to a recommended new communication link mapping; ¶¶ 0061-0062, Figs. 3 & 4: links between non-AP MLD and AP MLD are changed from a first configuration (shown in Fig. 3) to a second configuration (shown in Fig. 4), wherein the configuration of Fig. 4 activates the link 234; ¶ 0070, Fig. 8: new link info field 910 comprises a basic variant of the multi-link element conveying the requested mapping for each communication link; see also ¶ 0072, Fig. 9: query frame 900 includes multiple fields (here, the new link info is analogous to a second indication included in the query management frame 900 analogous to first indication)].
Claim(s) 13 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann in view of Kim in view of Cariou et al. (US 2018/0092039 A1; “Cariou”).
Regarding claim 13, McCann teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein: the second set of communication parameters comprises at least one of a bandwidth for the second wireless communication device to use a number of spatial streams for the second wireless communication device to use, a modulation and coding scheme for the second wireless communication device to use, a first mode of operation to enable for communicating with the first wireless communication device, a second mode of operation to disable for communicating with the first wireless communication device, a traffic identifier-to-link mapping for the second wireless communication device to use, a type of physical layer protocol data unit for the second wireless communication device to use, or any combination thereof, the first mode of operation comprises an enhanced multi-link single radio mode, an enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, a multi-link multi-radio mode, a multi-link single radio mode, a multi-primary channel mode, spatial multiplexing power save mode, or a packet repetition mode that indicates a repetition of the one or more frames on a link between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, a duplication of the one or more frames across a set links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, or any combination thereof, and the second mode of operation comprises the enhanced multi-link single radio mode, the enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, the multi-link multi-radio mode, the multi-link single radio mode, the multi-primary channel mode, the spatial multiplexing power save mode, or the packet repetition mode.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cariou teaches wherein: the second set of communication parameters comprises [Cariou ¶ 0058: multi-band power save mode of operation IE (i.e. second parameters, see also ¶¶-0057 0055: during negotiation phase the power save IE is a response message for multi-link negotiation) may include the elements cites below; ¶ 0060: multi-band link aggregation setup request and response frames may also include multi-band power save mode transition IEs (i.e. second parameters) used to negotiate how the transitions are made between or among the different powers save modes] at least one of
a bandwidth for the second wireless communication device to use [Cariou ¶ 0058: field 512 may also include a subfield 520 having a list of bands/channels used for this stream ID],
a number of spatial streams for the second wireless communication device to use [Cariou ¶ 0059: a field, 512, for each data path traffic stream including a stream ID identified as each data path in traffic stream],
a modulation and coding scheme for the second wireless communication device to use,
a first mode of operation to enable for communicating with the first wireless communication device, a second mode of operation to disable for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Cariou ¶ 0060 : IE also includes a power save transition initiator field that defines which of the STAs can begin the power save transition, e.g., field specifies whether only the initiator, only the responder, or both the initiator and the responder can begin the transition (i.e. IE indicates a power save mode analogous to a first mode, or non-power save mode analogous to second mode is active for each MLD device), wherein IE also includes two multi-band power save modes of operation ID fields, one for each of the two modes covered by the transition (i.e. first power save mode for link aggregation and second power save mode for link aggregation)],
a traffic identifier-to-link mapping for the second wireless communication device to use [Cariou ¶ 0059: each stream ID, the field 512 includes a subfield that describes the stream including a traffic stream ID 514 defined by a traffic ID (TID) value and may also include a subfield 520 having a list of bands/channels used for this stream ID, which are active or inactive],
a type of physical layer protocol data unit for the second wireless communication device to use, or any combination thereof [Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references],
the first mode of operation comprises an enhanced multi-link single radio mode, an enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, a multi-link multi-radio mode, a multi-link single radio mode, a multi-primary channel mode, spatial multiplexing power save mode [Cariou ¶ 0060: wherein IE also includes two multi-band power save modes of operation ID fields, one for each of the two modes covered by the transition (i.e. first power save mode for link aggregation and second power save mode for link aggregation)], or
a packet repetition mode that indicates a repetition of the one or more frames on a link between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, a duplication of the one or more frames across a set links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, or any combination thereof [Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references], and
the second mode of operation comprises the enhanced multi-link single radio mode, the enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, the multi-link multi-radio mode, the multi-link single radio mode, the multi-primary channel mode, the spatial multiplexing power save mode [Cariou ¶ 0060: wherein IE also includes two multi-band power save modes of operation ID fields, one for each of the two modes covered by the transition (i.e. first power save mode for link aggregation and second power save mode for link aggregation)], or the packet repetition mode [Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of indicating link-aggregation power control parameters during a link negotiation procedure as taught by Cariou. The motivation to combine these references would be improve power control in a multi-link wireless communication system [Cariou ¶ 0016].
Regarding claim 27, McCann in view of Kim teaches second wireless communication device of claim 22, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein: the second set of communication parameters comprises at least one of a bandwidth for the second wireless communication device to use, a number of spatial streams for the second wireless communication device to use, a modulation and coding scheme for the second wireless communication device to use, a first mode of operation to enable for communicating with the first wireless communication device, a second mode of operation to disable for communicating with the first wireless communication device, a traffic identifier-to-link mapping for the second wireless communication device to use, a type of physical layer protocol data unit for the second wireless communication device to use, or any combination thereof, the first mode of operation comprises an enhanced multi-link single radio mode, an enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, a multi-link multi-radio mode, a multi- link single radio mode, a multi-primary channel mode, spatial multiplexing power save mode, or a packet repetition mode that indicates a repetition of the one or more frames on a link between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, a duplication of the one or more frames across a set links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, or any combination thereof, and the second mode of operation comprises the enhanced multi-link single radio mode, the enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, the multi-link multi-radio mode, the multi-link single radio mode, the multi-primary channel mode, the spatial multiplexing power save mode, or the packet repetition mode.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cariou teaches wherein: the second set of communication parameters comprises [Cariou ¶ 0058: multi-band power save mode of operation IE (i.e. second parameters, see also ¶¶-0057 0055: during negotiation phase the power save IE is a response message for multi-link negotiation) may include the elements cites below; ¶ 0060: multi-band link aggregation setup request and response frames may also include multi-band power save mode transition IEs (i.e. second parameters) used to negotiate how the transitions are made between or among the different powers save modes] at least one of
a bandwidth for the second wireless communication device to use [Cariou ¶ 0058: field 512 may also include a subfield 520 having a list of bands/channels used for this stream ID],
a number of spatial streams for the second wireless communication device to use [Cariou ¶ 0059: a field, 512, for each data path traffic stream including a stream ID identified as each data path in traffic stream],
a modulation and coding scheme for the second wireless communication device to use,
a first mode of operation to enable for communicating with the first wireless communication device, a second mode of operation to disable for communicating with the first wireless communication device [Cariou ¶ 0060 : IE also includes a power save transition initiator field that defines which of the STAs can begin the power save transition, e.g., field specifies whether only the initiator, only the responder, or both the initiator and the responder can begin the transition (i.e. IE indicates a power save mode analogous to a first mode, or non-power save mode analogous to second mode is active for each MLD device), wherein IE also includes two multi-band power save modes of operation ID fields, one for each of the two modes covered by the transition (i.e. first power save mode for link aggregation and second power save mode for link aggregation)],
a traffic identifier-to-link mapping for the second wireless communication device to use [Cariou ¶ 0059: each stream ID, the field 512 includes a subfield that describes the stream including a traffic stream ID 514 defined by a traffic ID (TID) value and may also include a subfield 520 having a list of bands/channels used for this stream ID, which are active or inactive],
a type of physical layer protocol data unit for the second wireless communication device to use, or any combination thereof [Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references],
the first mode of operation comprises an enhanced multi-link single radio mode, an enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, a multi-link multi-radio mode, a multi-link single radio mode, a multi-primary channel mode, spatial multiplexing power save mode [Cariou ¶ 0060: wherein IE also includes two multi-band power save modes of operation ID fields, one for each of the two modes covered by the transition (i.e. first power save mode for link aggregation and second power save mode for link aggregation)], or
a packet repetition mode that indicates a repetition of the one or more frames on a link between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, a duplication of the one or more frames across a set links between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, or any combination thereof [Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references], and
the second mode of operation comprises the enhanced multi-link single radio mode, the enhanced multi-link multi radio mode, the multi-link multi-radio mode, the multi-link single radio mode, the multi-primary channel mode, the spatial multiplexing power save mode [Cariou ¶ 0060: wherein IE also includes two multi-band power save modes of operation ID fields, one for each of the two modes covered by the transition (i.e. first power save mode for link aggregation and second power save mode for link aggregation)], or the packet repetition mode [Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of indicating link-aggregation power control parameters during a link negotiation procedure as taught by Cariou. The motivation to combine these references would be improve power control in a multi-link wireless communication system [Cariou ¶ 0016].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann in view of Kim in view of Hwang in view of Dong (US 2023/0262801 A1; “Dong”).
Regarding claim 16, McCann in view of Kim in view of Hwang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 15, however, McCann does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: establish a link with the second wireless communication device in accordance with a first capability of the first wireless communication device to negotiate the respective mapping and a second capability of the second wireless communication device to negotiate the respective mapping.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Dong teaches establish a link with the second wireless communication device in accordance with a first capability of the first wireless communication device to negotiate the respective mapping and a second capability of the second wireless communication device to negotiate the respective mapping [Dong ¶ 0099, Fig. 3: prior to QTP request/response (i.e. link negotiation) AP and STA perform multi-link capability exchange and establish communication based on the capability information].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting a change in communication links between multi-link devices based on a changing wireless communication environment as taught by McCann with the method of performing an initial communication between multi-link devices based on device capabilities as taught by Dong. The motivation to combine these references would be improve the system throughput and spectrum efficiency in a multi-link wireless communication system [Dong ¶ 0004].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474