Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “optical system 100” and “system 200”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an eye-mounted power source” of claims 9, 10, and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "positioning the lens" in line 1. It is unclear if this “lens” is the same or different from the “intra-ocular lens” of claim 12. For the purpose of examination, they are regarded as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saini (US 20220233357 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Saini teaches
a method of providing artificial vision to a user (abstract, Saini), comprising providing the user with an intra- ocular lens (40, Fig. 8, Saini) having both a display (46, Fig. 8, Saini) and a camera (45, Fig. 8, Saini).
Regarding claim 13, Saini teaches
further comprising positioning the lens (40, Fig. 8, Saini) in an eye (10, Fig. 5, Saini) of the user such that the camera is positioned centrally to a vision path of the eye (Fig. 7, Saini).
Regarding claim 14, Saini teaches
further comprising powering each of the display and the camera by comprising an eye-mounted power source (54, Fig. 8, ¶0044, ¶0048, & ¶0055, Saini).
Regarding claim 15, Saini teaches
further comprising improving scotopic vision by using the display to render images received by the camera at a brightness greater than would be received by the eye using a native lens of the eye (higher resolution light patterns, ¶0053, Saini).
Regarding claim 16, Saini teaches
further comprising using the display (46, Fig. 8, Saini) to render images received by the camera (45, Fig. 8, Saini) at a magnification greater than would be received by the eye using a native lens of the eye (digital zoom functionality, ¶0054, Saini).
Regarding claim 17, Saini teaches
further comprising at least partially correcting myopia or presbyopia by using the display to render images received by the camera (¶0070, Saini).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saini in view of Liran et al. (US 20180071146 A1) hereinafter, Liran.
Regarding claim 1, Saini teaches an optical system (abstract, Saini), comprising:
a camera (45, Fig. 8, Saini) dimensioned to be inserted into a lens (18, Fig. 5, Saini) of an eye (10, Fig. 5, Saini) of a human.
Saini teaches a display (46, Fig. 8, Saini) but does not disclose a liquid crystal display. However, Liran teaches an intraocular apparatus configured for use with an extraocular imaging device (abstract, Liran) wherein
a liquid crystal display (130, Fig. 1, ¶0084, Liran) dimensioned to be inserted into the lens of the eye (Fig. 1, Liran), the liquid crystal display juxtaposed with the camera (40, Fig. 1, Liran) such that an image obtained by the camera positionally aligns with the position of image displayed via the liquid crystal display (¶0094-0095, Liran).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Saini by incorporating a display as taught by Liran in order to emit light representing the image (¶0080, Liran).
Regarding claim 2, Saini teaches
wherein the camera (45, Fig. 8, Saini) is positioned on a side of the display (46, Fig. 8, Saini).
Regarding claim 3, Saini teaches
wherein the camera (45, Fig. 8, Saini) is positioned at least partially within the display (46, Fig. 8, Saini).
Regarding claim 4, Saini does not teach the display is curved. However, Liran teaches
wherein the display is curved (1, Fig. 1, Liran).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Saini by incorporating a display as taught by Liran in order to emit light representing the image (¶0080, Liran).
Regarding claim 5, Saini does not teach the display is flexible. However, Liran teaches
wherein the display is resiliently flexible (display enclosed in silicone, ¶0075, Liran).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Saini by incorporating a display as taught by Liran in order to emit light representing the image (¶0080, Liran).
Regarding claim 6, Saini teaches
wherein the display has adjustable transparency (¶0011, Saini).
Regarding claim 7, Saini teaches
wherein the display comprises an intraocular lens (40, Fig. 8, Saini).
Regarding claim 8, Saini teaches
wherein the camera (45, Fig. 8, Saini) is positioned central to the intraocular lens (40, Fig. 8, Saini).
Regarding claim 9, Saini teaches
further comprising an eye-mounted power source (54, Fig. 8, Saini) that provides electrical power to the camera (¶0044, & ¶0055, Saini).
Regarding claim 10, Saini teaches
further comprising an eye-mounted power source (54, Fig. 8, Saini) that provides electrical power to the display (¶0044, & ¶0048, Saini).
Regarding claim 11, Saini does not teach the display extends to multiple edges of the intraocular lens. However, Liran teaches
wherein the display extends to multiple edges of the intraocular lens (Fig. 1, Liran).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Saini by incorporating a display as taught by Liran in order to emit light representing the image (¶0080, Liran).
Conclusion
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774