DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 01/27/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 1 and 6-16 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 2-5, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (Pub. No. US 20230038930 A1) in view of Hibino et al. (Pub. No. US 20210005876 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Fukushima teaches a liquid composition (electrode mixture, see [0122]) comprising: an inorganic oxide (lithium-containing transition metal oxide, see [0122]); and an organic solvent (organic solvent, see [0122], see [0120] where the organic solvent is methyl isobutyl ketone) represented by the following Chemical Formula 1 (methyl isobutyl ketone, see [0120] where the organic solvent is methyl isobutyl ketone, see chemical diagram below), where R.sub.1 (R.sub.1, chemical diagram below) and R.sub.2 (R.sub.2, see chemical diagram below) each independently represent straight (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.2 is a straight chain alkyl) or branched chain alkyl groups (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.1 is a branched chain alkyl) or straight or branched chain alkoxy groups and at least one of R.sub.1 (R.sub.1, chemical diagram below) and R.sub.2 (R.sub.2, see chemical diagram below) represents a branched chain alkyl group (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.1 is a branched chain alkyl) or a branched chain alkoxy group, wherein the organic solvent (organic solvent, see [0122], see [0120] where the organic solvent is methyl isobutyl ketone) has a topological index chi4v of 0.3 or greater (0.57, as evidenced by instant specification Table 2, Example 6, IUPAC name for methyl isobutyl ketone is 4-methyl-2-pentanone which has a chai4v of 0.57), but fails to teach wherein the liquid composition has a viscosity of 200 mPa.Math.s or less.
Chemical Diagram provided as additional evidence by PubChem (PubChem 2021)
However, Hibino teaches wherein the liquid composition (composite for forming an electrode, see [0019]) has a viscosity of 200 mPa.Math.s or less (200 mPa/s, see [0019]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fukushima such that the viscosity of the electrode mixture is 200 mPa/s or less as taught by Hibino to improve the discharge stability (see [0019] of Hibino). Further Fukushima teaches that modifications can be made (see [0141] of Fukushima).
Regarding claim 3, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches wherein the topological index chi4v is 0.4 or greater (0.57, as evidenced by instant specification Table 2, Example 6, IUPAC name for methyl isobutyl ketone is 4-methyl-2-pentanone which has a chai4v of 0.57).
Regarding claim 4, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches wherein the topological index chi4v is 0.5 or greater (0.57, as evidenced by instant specification Table 2, Example 6, IUPAC name for methyl isobutyl ketone is 4-methyl-2-pentanone which has a chai4v of 0.57).
Regarding claim 5, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches wherein, in the Chemical Formula 1 (methyl isobutyl ketone, see [0120] where the organic solvent is methyl isobutyl ketone, see chemical diagram above), R.sub.2 (R.sub.2, see chemical diagram above) represents a straight chain (see chemical diagram above, R.sub.2 is a straight chain alkyl) or branched chain alkyl group and R.sub.1 (R.sub.1, chemical diagram above) represents a branched chain alkyl group (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.1 is a branched chain alkyl group).
Regarding claim 17, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches wherein the liquid composition (electrode mixture, see [0122]) has a solid content of 60 percent by mass or greater (60 to 80% by mass, see [0121] wherein the lithium-containing transition metal oxide, the binder, and the carbon nanomaterial make up 60-80% by mass of the electrode mixture so it is at least 60-80% by mass solid content).
Regarding claim 18, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches the liquid composition (electrode mixture, see [0122]) of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above) but is silent regarding an inkjet composition comprising the liquid composition.
However, Hibino teaches an inkjet composition (composite for forming an electrode includes an active material and macromolecular particles, and can be discharged by an inkjet method, see [0010]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fukushima in view of Hibino such that the electrode mixture as taught by Fukushima in view of Hibino is used in an inkjet method of discharging therefore being an inkjet composition as taught by Hibino to precisely control discharge, and achieve high durability of the discharged composition (see [0006] of Hibino). Further Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches that modifications can be made (see [0141] of Fukushima).
Regarding claim 20, Fukushima in view of Hibino is silent as to wherein an index of dispersibility of the inorganic oxide in the liquid composition is 1.5 or less.
However, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches a liquid composition with the same composition and characteristics as the claimed invention, and as evidenced by Table 3 Example 6 of the instant published application shows a composition with methyl isobutyl ketone has an index of dispersibility of 1.5 or less. Therefore, it is the Examiners position if the index of dispersibility of inorganic oxide in the liquid composition as taught by Fukushima in view of Hibino were measured in the same way, the liquid composition would exhibit an index of dispersibility of 1.5 or less, or exhibit a range which overlaps the claimed range in a way that obviates the claimed range.
5. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (Pub. No. US 20230038930 A1) in view of Hibino et al. (Pub. No. US 20210005876 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kazutaka (Pub. No. JP 2011138760 A).
Regarding claim 19, Fukushima in view of Hibino fails to teach wherein an index of dispersibility of the inorganic oxide in the liquid composition is greater than 1.5 and 2.0 or less.
However, Kazutaka teaches an organic solvent (oxygen-containing organic compound, see [0015]) represented by the following Chemical Formula 1 (isoamyl acetate, see [0016], see chemical diagram below), where R.sub.1 (R.sub.1, chemical diagram below) and R.sub.2 (R.sub.2, see chemical diagram below) each independently represent straight (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.2 is a straight chain alkyl) or branched chain alkyl groups or straight or branched chain alkoxy groups (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.1 is a branched chain alkoxy group) and at least one of R.sub.1 (R.sub.1, chemical diagram below) and R.sub.2 (R.sub.2, see chemical diagram below) represents a branched chain alkyl group or a branched chain alkoxy group (see chemical diagram below, R.sub.1 is a branched chain alkoxy group), wherein the organic solvent (oxygen-containing organic compound, see [0015]) has a topological index chi4v of 0.3 or greater (0.44, as evidenced by instant specification Table 2, Example 5).
Chemical Diagram provided as additional evidence provided by PubChem (PubChem 2018)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fukushima in view of Hibino to substitute methyl isobutyl ketone as taught by Fukushima in view of Hibino for isoamyl acetate as taught by Kazutaka as an art effective equivalent organic solvent for the same purpose of achieving uniform electrode active material layer (see [0015] of Kazutaka, further see [0016] of Kazutaka teaches methyl isobutyl ketone as an equivalent compound). Further, Fukushima in view of Hibino teaches that modifications can be made (see [0141] of Fukushima).
Therefore, although Fukushima in view of Hibino in view of Kazutaka is silent to wherein an index of dispersibility of the inorganic oxide in the liquid composition is greater than 1.5 to 2.0 or less, however Fukushima in view of Hibino in view of Kazutaka teaches a liquid composition with the same composition and characteristics as the claimed invention, and as evidenced by Table 3 Example 5 of the instant published application shows a composition with isoamyl acetate has an index of dispersibility of greater than 1.5 to 2.0 or less. Therefore, it is the Examiners position if the index of dispersibility of inorganic oxide in the liquid composition as taught by Fukushima in view of Hibino in view of Kazutaka were measured in the same way, the liquid composition would exhibit an index of dispersibility of greater than 1.5 to 2.0 or less, or exhibit a range which overlaps the claimed range in such a way as to obviate the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-5 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination or interpretation of references previously applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723