DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 03/23/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 12/23/2025. Independent claims 1, 12-13 and 20 are amended. Dependent claims 2, 4, 7-10 and 16 also amended. Dependent claims 6 and 17 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-5, 7-16 and 18-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-16 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed limitation as recited in the independent claims 1, 12-13 and 20, for example, "wherein a time interval from the receiving the first signaling until the first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value of an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer", is NOT found anywhere in the specification. The amended claimed feature "sdt-timeAlignmentTimer" is only mentioned in ¶0560 <PG-PUB>, for example, "In one embodiment, the second timer includes an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer", which is NOT as claimed in the claimed limitation as understood by a person of an ordinary skill in the art! Therefore, failing to comply with the written description requirement as outlined in the MPEP <see §2161.01>, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 for the independent claims 1, 12-13 and 20 along with all other dependent claims. In order to prosecute the application, examiner interpreted those claimed features as best as understood.
Claims 1-5, 7-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. The claimed limitation as recited in the independent claims 1, 12-13 and 20, for example, "wherein a time interval from the receiving the first signaling until the first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value of an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer", is NOT found anywhere in the specification. The amended claimed feature "sdt-timeAlignmentTimer" is only mentioned in ¶0560 <PG-PUB>, for example, "In one embodiment, the second timer includes an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer", which is NOT as claimed in the claimed limitation as understood by a person of an ordinary skill in the art! Therefore, failing to comply with the written description requirement as outlined in the MPEP <see §2161.01>, also invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or second paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 for the independent claims 1, 12-13 and 20 along with all other dependent claims. If the specification does not provide a disclosure of sufficient corresponding structure, materials, or acts that perform the entire claimed function of a means- (or step-) plus- function limitation in a claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or the sixth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, "the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention" as required by the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) [or the second paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 ]. In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc). A rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or the second paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 must be made in addition to the written description rejection. See also MPEP § 2181. In order to prosecute the application, examiner interpreted those claimed features as best as understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-5, 7-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (2024/0224209), Lee hereinafter, in view of Xu et al. (2021/0160805), Xu hereinafter
Re. claims 1 and 12, Lee teaches a method (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0089-¶0090/¶0106 /¶0114/¶0216 ) in a first node (Fig. 24, 2450, terminal device) for wireless communications (Fig. 24), and a first node (Fig. 24, 2450, terminal device) for wireless communications (Fig. 24), comprising: a first receiver (Fig. 24, 2480), receiving a first signaling in a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0106 - The MAC entity may operate a time alignment timer (Time Alignment Timer, TAT) for each TAG in order to determine whether the time alignment between the base station and the terminal is maintained. The TAT is a timer corresponding to a length of time (or a time interval in which the TAC is assumed to be valid) during which uplink time alignment is maintained in the TAG to which the base station belongs. When the base station transmits the TAC to the terminal, the MAC entity of the corresponding terminal may start TAT for the TAG indicated by the TAG ID. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0222 - When the base station receives uplink transmission (e.g., small data and/or dummy data) from the terminal in an inactive state, it may transmit a TAC (timing advance command, see Fig. 5) to the terminal. The TAC value may be determined based on the time point at which the uplink transmission from the terminal is received by the base station. The base station may transmit the TAC based on the paging period of the terminal or when a predetermined condition is satisfied. For example, the predetermined condition may be related to the TAT expiration time of the terminal expected by the base station. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0245 - Examples of FIG. 16 correspond to examples of trigger conditions of a terminal in which an inactive terminal performs uplink transmission (e.g., small data and/or dummy data transmission) to maintain uplink synchronization with a base station do. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0247 - the terminal transmits small data to the base station (110), and receives a paging message including the TAC from the base station (120), and thus the TAT may be (re)started (100). When a predetermined trigger condition is satisfied based on the (re)start time of the TAT (130), the terminal performs uplink transmission (e.g., small data and/or dummy data transmission) for maintaining uplink synchronization.), a processor (Fig. 24, 2460), operatively coupled to the first receiver (Fig. 24, 2480), wherein the first signaling includes a timing advance command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0109 - FIG. 6 is a diagram for explaining an uplink downlink timing relationship to which the present disclosure can be applied. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0112 - Referring to FIG. 6, the NTA indicates a timing advance (TA) between the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL). In this case, the transmission timing of the uplink transmission frame i is determined based on the downlink reception timing in the terminal based on Equation 1 … TTA=(NTA + NTA,offset)Tc …. [Equation 1]. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0114 - NTA may be determined .. according to the TAC provided through the RAR or MAC CE described with reference to FIG. 5.); determining a first Timing Advance based on the timing advance command MAC CE (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0109 - FIG. 6 is a diagram for explaining an uplink downlink timing relationship to which the present disclosure can be applied. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0112 - Referring to FIG. 6, the NTA indicates a timing advance (TA) between the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL). In this case, the transmission timing of the uplink transmission frame i is determined based on the downlink reception timing in the terminal based on Equation 1 … TTA=(NTA + NTA,offset)Tc …. [Equation 1]. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0114 - NTA may be determined .. according to the TAC provided through the RAR or MAC CE described with reference to FIG. 5. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0115 - 12-bit TAC field provided through RAR may have a value of 0 to 3846, which may be expressed as TA. In this case, the NTA may be determined according to Equation (2).
Fig. 5-6 & ¶0116 - 6-bit TAC field of the MAC CE format may have a value of 0 to 63, which may be expressed as TA. In this case, NTA may be determined according to Equation (3).)
); and determining according to at least a radio resource control (RRC) state whether a first buffer is flushed at a first time (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0106 - The MAC entity may operate a time alignment timer (Time Alignment Timer, TAT) for each TAG in order to determine whether the time alignment between the base station and the terminal is maintained. The TAT is a timer corresponding to a length of time (or a time interval in which the TAC is assumed to be valid) during which uplink time alignment is maintained in the TAG to which the base station belongs. When the base station transmits the TAC to the terminal, the MAC entity of the corresponding terminal may start TAT for the TAG indicated by the TAG ID. If a new TAC is received during the TAT operation, the UE may restart the TAT. When the TAT expires or does not operate, the terminal may determine that the uplink time alignment with the base station is not maintained. If the uplink time alignment is not maintained, the UE cannot perform uplink transmission except for the random access preamble. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0216 - When the terminal in the inactive state receives the TAC from the base station, the TAT may be operated and the uplink transmission time may be determined by reflecting the TAC value. If the TAT expires, the UE may determine that the uplink synchronization (or TA) is invalid or out of synchronization (out of synchronization state). In this case, the UE may release resource configuration for the serving cell. The release of resource setting flushes the HARQ buffer for holding data to be transmitted or retransmitted in uplink;); and a first transmitter (Fig. 24. 2480), operatively coupled to the processor (Fig. 24, 2460) and the first receiver (Fig. 24. 2480), transmitting, after the time interval, an uplink transmission according to the first Timing Advance (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0109 - FIG. 6 is a diagram for explaining an uplink downlink timing relationship to which the present disclosure can be applied. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0112 - Referring to FIG. 6, the NTA indicates a timing advance (TA) between the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL). In this case, the transmission timing of the uplink transmission frame i is determined based on the downlink reception timing in the terminal based on Equation 1 … TTA=(NTA + NTA,offset)Tc …. [Equation 1]. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0114 - NTA may be determined .. according to the TAC provided through the RAR or MAC CE described with reference to FIG. 5. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0115 - 12-bit TAC field provided through RAR may have a value of 0 to 3846, which may be expressed as TA. In this case, the NTA may be determined according to Equation (2).
Fig. 5-6 & ¶0116 - 6-bit TAC field of the MAC CE format may have a value of 0 to 63, which may be expressed as TA. In this case, NTA may be determined according to Equation (3).)
).
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach wherein a time interval from the receiving the first signaling untill the first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer;
However, in the analogous art, Xu explicitly discloses wherein a time interval from the receiving the first signaling untill the first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer; (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0027 - when the first TAT expires, the terminal device stops synchronously sending the uplink data, and the terminal device may clear data in a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ process used to synchronously send the uplink data and a resource used to synchronously send the uplink data, and enable asynchronous sending for initial transmission or retransmission; or when the first TAT expires, the terminal device may not clear data in a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ process used to synchronously send the uplink data, and asynchronously send the data buffered in the HARQ. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0028- when a maximum TA difference of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold and is less than or equal to a second threshold, determining that a TAT of a TAG in which a secondary cell is located expires, and asynchronously sending the uplink data to the secondary cell, where the maximum TA difference is a maximum difference between TAs of any two of TAGs of the terminal; Also, see §112(a)/§112(b) in regards to the claimed feature “an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of a system and a method for uplink synchronization for a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Xu’s invention of a method and an apparatus for asynchronous transmission of uplink data by a user equipment (UE) with a configured TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration from a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for enabling a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can asynchronously send uplink data to a network device based on TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration information, thereby reducing a communication delay and improving user experience operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Xu)
Re. Claim 2, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Lee further teaches the first receiver and the processor, as a response to the receiving first signaling starting the sdt-timeAlignmentTimer; (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0106 - The MAC entity may operate a time alignment timer (Time Alignment Timer, TAT) for each TAG in order to determine whether the time alignment between the base station and the terminal is maintained. The TAT is a timer corresponding to a length of time (or a time interval in which the TAC is assumed to be valid) during which uplink time alignment is maintained in the TAG to which the base station belongs. When the base station transmits the TAC to the terminal, the MAC entity of the corresponding terminal may start TAT for the TAG indicated by the TAG ID. If a new TAC is received during the TAT operation, the UE may restart the TAT. When the TAT expires or does not operate, the terminal may determine that the uplink time alignment with the base station is not maintained. If the uplink time alignment is not maintained, the UE cannot perform uplink transmission except for the random access preamble. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0107 - the value of TAT can be set to one of 500 ms, 750 ms, 1280 ms, 1920 ms, 2560 ms, 5120 ms, 10240 ms, Also, see §112(a)/§112(b) in regards to the claimed feature “an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer” ).
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach wherein the determining, according to at least the RRC state, whether the first buffer is flushed at the first time includes one or more of: flushing the first buffer at the first time when an RRC Connected state is kept from the receiving the first signaling until the first time; and not flushing the first buffer at the first time when an RRC Inactive state is kept from the receiving the first signaling until the first time.
However, in the analogous art, Xu explicitly discloses wherein the determining, according to at least the RRC state, whether the first buffer is flushed at the first time includes one or more of: flushing the first buffer at the first time when an RRC Connected state is kept from the receiving the first signaling until the first time (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0225 - a capability of whether the terminal device in an inactive mode or a connected mode supports asynchronous sending may be reported to the network device. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0231 - It should be understood that when performing synchronous sending based on the first TAT, the terminal device may use the TA determined by the terminal device, and when performing asynchronous sending based on the second TAT, the terminal device may also use the TA determined by the terminal device. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0249 - when determining that the TAT of the TAG in which the secondary cell is located expires, the terminal device stops synchronously sending the uplink data to the secondary cell, and the terminal device may clear data in a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ process used to synchronously send the uplink data and a resource used to synchronously send the uplink data, and enable asynchronous sending for initial transmission or retransmission); and not flushing the first buffer at the first time when an RRC Inactive state is kept from the receiving the first signaling until the first time (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0225 - a capability of whether the terminal device in an inactive mode or a connected mode supports asynchronous sending may be reported to the network device. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0231 - It should be understood that when performing synchronous sending based on the first TAT, the terminal device may use the TA determined by the terminal device, and when performing asynchronous sending based on the second TAT, the terminal device may also use the TA determined by the terminal device. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0249 - when determining that the TAT of the TAG in which the secondary cell is located expires, the terminal device may not clear data in a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ process used to synchronously send the uplink data, and asynchronously send the data buffered in the HARQ.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of a system and a method for uplink synchronization for a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Xu’s invention of a method and an apparatus for asynchronous transmission of uplink data by a user equipment (UE) with a configured TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration from a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for enabling a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can asynchronously send uplink data to a network device based on TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration information, thereby reducing a communication delay and improving user experience operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Xu)
Re. Claim 3, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Lee further teaches the SDT procedure including transmitting a small packet in an RRC Inactive state; the SDT procedure is a second-type SDT (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0106 - The MAC entity may operate a time alignment timer (Time Alignment Timer, TAT) for each TAG in order to determine whether the time alignment between the base station and the terminal is maintained. The TAT is a timer corresponding to a length of time (or a time interval in which the TAC is assumed to be valid) during which uplink time alignment is maintained in the TAG to which the base station belongs. When the base station transmits the TAC to the terminal. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0211 - In order for a terminal to perform uplink transmission to a base station in a wireless communication system, uplink synchronization must be maintained or timing advance (TA) must be valid. ….. for various purposes such as small data transmission (i.e., SDT) using the configured grant type 1 (as per instant application, second-type SDT refers to an SDT initiated by preconfigured resources & the preconfigured resources include Configured Grant, see ¶0114 & ¶0116) …, the terminal in an inactive state performs uplink transmission... Fig. 3-24 & ¶0212 - in order for the terminal in the inactive state to perform uplink transmission, it is required for the terminal in the inactive state to maintain uplink time synchronization. In order for the terminal in the inactive state to maintain uplink time synchronization, while the uplink time alignment is maintained, the terminal in the inactive state may perform uplink transmission or receive a timing advance command from a network (or base station). Fig. 3-24 & ¶0216- When the terminal in the inactive state receives the TAC from the base station, the TAT may be operated and the uplink transmission time may be determined by reflecting the TAC value. ), and a first uplink PUSCH for the second-type SDT is transmitted through preconfigured resources (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0211 - In order for a terminal to perform uplink transmission to a base station in a wireless communication system, uplink synchronization must be maintained or timing advance (TA) must be valid. ….. for various purposes such as small data transmission (i.e., SDT) using the configured grant type 1 (as per instant application, second-type SDT refers to an SDT initiated by preconfigured resources & the preconfigured resources include Configured Grant, see ¶0114 & ¶0116) …, the terminal in an inactive state performs uplink transmission. Fig. 14 & ¶0226- FIG. 14 is a diagram for explaining an uplink synchronization maintenance operation of an inactive terminal … Fig. 14 & ¶0227- In step S1410, a periodic uplink transmission resource may be allocated and activated from the base station to the terminal. For example, grant type 1 configuration information configured for the terminal may be provided and applied. Also, in step 1420, the UE may (re)start TAT. Fig. 14 & ¶0228 - In step S1430, the terminal may determine whether there is small data to be transmitted. If there is small data to be transmitted, the MAC entity of the terminal may transmit the small data to the physical layer in step S1440. Fig. 14 & ¶02231 - In step S1450, the terminal may perform uplink transmission (e.g., small data) on the next available uplink transmission resource (e.g., a resource allocated (e.g., PUSCH as shown in Table 6) according to the configured grant type 1). See Table 6 (¶0162-¶0163), which shows an information element for setting a configured grant (configured grant scheme may include types 1 and 2.), as shown in Table 6, the configured grant configuration information may include a time-frequency location, period, offset, etc. of a resource usable by the terminal).
Re. Claim 4, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the first signaling includes one or more of: a (MAC) random access response (RAR) (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Also, examiner interprets that only of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of” and “or” in the limitation), or, the first signaling comprises a fallbackRAR.
Re. Claim 5, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach wherein the first signaling is received in the RRC Connected state.
However, in the analogous art, Xu explicitly discloses wherein the first signaling is received in the RRC Connected state. (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0145 - network device sends the timing advance TA to the terminal device in two manners. In one manner, in a random access process, the network device determines a timing advance value by measuring a received preamble, and sends the timing advance value to the terminal device by using a timing advance command field (12 bits in total) of a random access response (RAR). In another manner, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, the network device sends the timing advance TA to the terminal device by using a timing advance command MAC control element or an RRC message. In the RRC connected mode, the network device needs to maintain timing advance information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of a system and a method for uplink synchronization for a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Xu’s invention of a method and an apparatus for asynchronous transmission of uplink data by a user equipment (UE) with a configured TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration from a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for enabling a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can asynchronously send uplink data to a network device based on TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration information, thereby reducing a communication delay and improving user experience operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Xu)
Re. Claim 7, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach the first receiver and the processor, as a response to the receiving the first signaling, dropping starting the first timer.
However, in the analogous art, Xu explicitly discloses the first receiver and the processor, as a response to the receiving the first signaling, dropping starting the first timer. (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0145 - network device sends the timing advance TA to the terminal device in two manners. In one manner, in a random access process, the network device determines a timing advance value by measuring a received preamble, and sends the timing advance value to the terminal device by using a timing advance command field (12 bits in total) of a random access response (RAR). In another manner, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, the network device sends the timing advance TA to the terminal device by using a timing advance command MAC control element or an RRC message. In the RRC connected mode, the network device needs to maintain timing advance information. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0213 - when the terminal device reselects the target cell in place of the source cell, if the target cell and the source cell belong to a same TAT group, the terminal device may use the second TAT of the source ceil in the target cell, and the terminal device asynchronously sends the uplink data when the second TAT does not expire. It may be determined, in the following two implementations, that the second TAT does not expire. In one implementation, when the timing duration of the second TAT of the source cell is less than the timing duration of the fourth TAT of the target cell, it is determined that the second TAT of the source cell does not expire.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of a system and a method for uplink synchronization for a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Xu’s invention of a method and an apparatus for asynchronous transmission of uplink data by a user equipment (UE) with a configured TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration from a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for enabling a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can asynchronously send uplink data to a network device based on TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration information, thereby reducing a communication delay and improving user experience operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Xu)
Re. Claim 8, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Lee also teaches further comprising: the first receiver, receiving a first message; and the first receiver and the processor, as a response to the action of the receiving the first message, starting the sdt-timeAlignmentTimer; wherein the first message is used to transform the RRC state. (Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0010 - An uplink synchronization method of a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system according to an aspect of the present disclosure, the method comprising: receiving periodic uplink transmission resource configuration information from a base station; starting a time alignment timer (TAT) by receiving a timing advance command (TAC) from the base station; Transitioning to an inactive state by receiving a RRC (Radio Resource Control) release message including a suspend configuration from the base station; In the inactive state, when a predetermined trigger condition (a predetermined trigger condition may be defined after TAT start, before TAT expiration, or in relation to T380 timer expiration…. See ¶0218) is satisfied, performing uplink transmission to the base station based on the periodic uplink transmission resource configuration information, wherein the predetermined trigger condition is the elapsed time since the TAT started. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0131 - The RRC idle state may be transitioned from the connected state or the inactive state according to RRC release. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0171: ¶0172 - Table 7 shows an example of a timer operating in the RRC inactive state. TABLE 7 Timer Start Stop At expiry T380 When receiving t380 When RRC Start RNA update (PeriodicRNAU- resume/setup/release procedure TimerValue) from is received RRC release. Referring to Table 7, the timer named T380 may be started when the terminal receives the T380 timer value (i.e., t380 (PeriodicRNAU-TimerValue)) through the RRC release message. When receiving an RRC resume, RRC setup, or RRC release message, the T380 timer may stop. When the T380 timer expires, the UE may perform an RNA update procedure. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0174 - FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of an RRC state transition triggered by a terminal. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0175 - RRC connection state in the new base station (e.g., the second base station) can be transferred to The transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state may be triggered by the UE. Also, see §112(a)/§112(b) in regards to the claimed feature “an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer” )
Re. Claim 9, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Lee also teaches further comprising: the first receiver and the processor, as a response to the action of the receiving the first signaling, starting a second timer; and the processor determining whether the first buffer is flushed at the first time according at least to whether the second timer is running (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0216 - When the terminal in the inactive state receives the TAC from the base station, the TAT may be operated and the uplink transmission time may be determined by reflecting the TAC value. If the TAT expires, the UE may determine that the uplink synchronization (or TA) is invalid or out of synchronization (out of synchronization state). In this case, the UE may release resource configuration for the serving cell. The release of resource setting flushes the HARQ buffer for holding data to be transmitted or retransmitted in uplink. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0217 - the terminal in the inactive state may perform uplink transmission to the base station when a predetermined trigger condition is satisfied. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0218 - The predetermined trigger condition may include a condition for whether uplink synchronization (or TA) maintenance is required. For example, a predetermined trigger condition may be defined after TAT start, before TAT expiration, or in relation to T380 timer expiration.); wherein the second timer is different from the sdt-timeAlignmentTimer (It is evident that T380 timer is different than TAT (Time Alignment Timer) as disclosed supra. Also, see §112(a)/§112(b) in regards to the claimed feature “an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer” ).
Re. Claim 10, Lee and Xu teach claim 8.
Lee further teaches comprising: the first receiver and the processor, as the second timer is running, determining a second expiration value of the sdt-timeAlignmentTimer according to the second timer as a response to the receiving the first message. (Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0010 - An uplink synchronization method of a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system according to an aspect of the present disclosure, the method comprising: receiving periodic uplink transmission resource configuration information from a base station; starting a time alignment timer (TAT) by receiving a timing advance command (TAC) from the base station; Transitioning to an inactive state by receiving a RRC (Radio Resource Control) release message including a suspend configuration from the base station; In the inactive state, when a predetermined trigger condition (a predetermined trigger condition may be defined after TAT start, before TAT expiration, or in relation to T380 timer expiration…. See ¶0218) is satisfied, performing uplink transmission to the base station based on the periodic uplink transmission resource configuration information, wherein the predetermined trigger condition is the elapsed time since the TAT started. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & & ¶0107 - the value of TAT can be set to one of 500 ms, 750 ms, 1280 ms, 1920 ms, 2560 ms, 5120 ms, 10240 ms. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0131 - The RRC idle state may be transitioned from the connected state or the inactive state according to RRC release. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0171: ¶0172 - Table 7 shows an example of a timer operating in the RRC inactive state. TABLE 7 Timer Start Stop At expiry T380 When receiving t380 When RRC Start RNA update (PeriodicRNAU- resume/setup/release procedure TimerValue) from is received RRC release. Referring to Table 7, the timer named T380 may be started when the terminal receives the T380 timer value (i.e., t380 (PeriodicRNAU-TimerValue)) through the RRC release message. When receiving an RRC resume, RRC setup, or RRC release message, the T380 timer may stop. When the T380 timer expires, the UE may perform an RNA update procedure. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0174 - FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of an RRC state transition triggered by a terminal. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0175 - RRC connection state in the new base station (e.g., the second base station) can be transferred to The transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state may be triggered by the UE. Also, see §112(a)/§112(b) in regards to the claimed feature “an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer).
Re. Claim 11, Lee and Xu teach claim 1.
Lee further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a second message set in the RRC Inactive state; wherein the second message set triggers the first signaling. (Fig. 13 & ¶0201 - In step 1, when the periodic RNA update timer provided from the first base station expires, the UE may transmit an RRC resume request (second message set as per instant application, at least in ¶0830) including RNA update as a resumption reason to the second base station currently camping. In addition, the UE may include the I-RNTI provided from the first base station in the RRC resume request. Fig. 13 & ¶0205 - In step 4, in order to instruct the terminal to maintain the RRC inactive state, the second base station may transmit to the terminal including information indicating radio bearer stop in the RRC release message.)
Re. claims 13 and 20, Lee teaches a method (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0089-¶0090/¶0106 /¶0114/¶0216) in a second node (Fig. 24, 2400, base station) for wireless communications (Fig. 24), and a second node (Fig. 24, 2400, base station) for wireless communications (Fig. 24), comprising: a second transmitter (Fig. 24, 2430), transmitting a first signaling in a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0106 - The MAC entity may operate a time alignment timer (Time Alignment Timer, TAT) for each TAG in order to determine whether the time alignment between the base station and the terminal is maintained. The TAT is a timer corresponding to a length of time (or a time interval in which the TAC is assumed to be valid) during which uplink time alignment is maintained in the TAG to which the base station belongs. When the base station transmits the TAC to the terminal, the MAC entity of the corresponding terminal may start TAT for the TAG indicated by the TAG ID. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0222 - When the base station receives uplink transmission (e.g., small data and/or dummy data) from the terminal in an inactive state, it may transmit a TAC (timing advance command, see Fig. 5) to the terminal. The TAC value may be determined based on the time point at which the uplink transmission from the terminal is received by the base station. The base station may transmit the TAC based on the paging period of the terminal or when a predetermined condition is satisfied. For example, the predetermined condition may be related to the TAT expiration time of the terminal expected by the base station. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0245 - Examples of FIG. 16 correspond to examples of trigger conditions of a terminal in which an inactive terminal performs uplink transmission (e.g., small data and/or dummy data transmission) to maintain uplink synchronization with a base station do. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0247 - the terminal transmits small data to the base station (110), and receives a paging message including the TAC from the base station (120), and thus the TAT may be (re)started (100). When a predetermined trigger condition is satisfied based on the (re)start time of the TAT (130), the terminal performs uplink transmission (e.g., small data and/or dummy data transmission) for maintaining uplink synchronization.), the first signaling for determining a first Timing Advance and including a timing advance command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0109 - FIG. 6 is a diagram for explaining an uplink downlink timing relationship to which the present disclosure can be applied. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0112 - Referring to FIG. 6, the NTA indicates a timing advance (TA) between the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL). In this case, the transmission timing of the uplink transmission frame i is determined based on the downlink reception timing in the terminal based on Equation 1 … TTA=(NTA + NTA,offset)Tc …. [Equation 1]. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0114 - NTA may be determined .. according to the TAC provided through the RAR or MAC CE described with reference to FIG. 5. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0114 - NTA may be determined .. according to the TAC provided through the RAR or MAC CE described with reference to FIG. 5. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0115 - 12-bit TAC field provided through RAR may have a value of 0 to 3846, which may be expressed as TA. In this case, the NTA may be determined according to Equation (2).
Fig. 5-6 & ¶0116 - 6-bit TAC field of the MAC CE format may have a value of 0 to 63, which may be expressed as TA. In this case, NTA may be determined according to Equation (3).)
);
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach wherein a time interval from the first signaling being transmitted until a first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value of an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer;
However, in the analogous art, Xu explicitly discloses wherein a time interval from the first signaling being transmitted until a first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value of an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer; (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0027 - when the first TAT expires, the terminal device stops synchronously sending the uplink data, and the terminal device may clear data in a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ process used to synchronously send the uplink data and a resource used to synchronously send the uplink data, and enable asynchronous sending for initial transmission or retransmission; or when the first TAT expires, the terminal device may not clear data in a hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ process used to synchronously send the uplink data, and asynchronously send the data buffered in the HARQ. Fig. 2-5 & ¶0028- when a maximum TA difference of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold and is less than or equal to a second threshold, determining that a TAT of a TAG in which a secondary cell is located expires, and asynchronously sending the uplink data to the secondary cell, where the maximum TA difference is a maximum difference between TAs of any two of TAGs of the terminal; Also, see §112(a)/§112(b) in regards to the claimed feature “an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of a system and a method for uplink synchronization for a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Xu’s invention of a method and an apparatus for asynchronous transmission of uplink data by a user equipment (UE) with a configured TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration from a network device operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for enabling a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can asynchronously send uplink data to a network device based on TAT (timing advance timer ) configuration information, thereby reducing a communication delay and improving user experience operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Xu)
Re. Claim 14, Lee and Xu teach claim 13.
Lee further teaches wherein as a response to the first signaling being received, the uplink transmission is received according to the first Timing Advance (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0089 - The terminal may attempt uplink transmission to the base station through a random access procedure, etc. even in a state where uplink synchronization is not matched, and the base station provides time alignment information (e.g., TAC) to the corresponding terminal based on the uplink signal from the terminal. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0090 - Time alignment information may be included in a random access response (Random Access Response, RAR) or MAC control element (Control Element, CE. Fig. 5 & ¶0105 - Referring to FIG. 5(b), the MAC CE TAC format may include a timing advance group identifier (TAG ID) field and a TAC field. The TAG ID field may include an identifier indicating the TAG, and the TAC field may include a TAC value to be applied by the UE.).
Re. Claim 15, Lee and Xu teach claim 13.
Lee further teaches Lee further teaches the SDT procedure including transmitting a small packet in an RRC Inactive state; the SDT procedure is a second-type SDT (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0106 - The MAC entity may operate a time alignment timer (Time Alignment Timer, TAT) for each TAG in order to determine whether the time alignment between the base station and the terminal is maintained. The TAT is a timer corresponding to a length of time (or a time interval in which the TAC is assumed to be valid) during which uplink time alignment is maintained in the TAG to which the base station belongs. When the base station transmits the TAC to the terminal. Fig. 3-24 & ¶0211 - In order for a terminal to perform uplink transmission to a base station in a wireless communication system, uplink synchronization must be maintained or timing advance (TA) must be valid. ….. for various purposes such as small data transmission (i.e., SDT) using the configured grant type 1 (as per instant application, second-type SDT refers to an SDT initiated by preconfigured resources & the preconfigured resources include Configured Grant, see ¶0114 & ¶0116) …, the terminal in an inactive state performs uplink transmission... Fig. 3-24 & ¶0212 - in order for the terminal in the inactive state to perform uplink transmission, it is required for the terminal in the inactive state to maintain uplink time synchronization. In order for the terminal in the inactive state to maintain uplink time synchronization, while the uplink time alignment is maintained, the terminal in the inactive state may perform uplink transmission or receive a timing advance command from a network (or base station). Fig. 3-24 & ¶0216- When the terminal in the inactive state receives the TAC from the base station, the TAT may be operated and the uplink transmission time may be determined by reflecting the TAC value. ), and a first uplink PUSCH for the second-type SDT is transmitted through preconfigured resources. (Fig. 3-24 & ¶0211 - In order for a terminal to perform uplink transmission to a base station in a wireless communication system, uplink synchronization must be maintained or timing advance (TA) must be valid. ….. for various purposes such as small data transmission (i.e., SDT) using the configured grant type 1 (as per instant application, second-type SDT refers to an SDT initiated by preconfigured resources & the preconfigured resources include Configured Grant, see ¶0114 & ¶0116) …, the terminal in an inactive state performs uplink transmission. Fig. 14 & ¶0226- FIG. 14 is a diagram for explaining an uplink synchronization maintenance operation of an inactive terminal … Fig. 14 & ¶0227- In step S1410, a periodic uplink transmission resource may be allocated and activated from the base station to the terminal. For example, grant type 1 configuration information configured for the terminal may be provided and applied. Also, in step 1420, the UE may (re)start TAT. Fig. 14 & ¶0228 - In step S1430, the terminal may determine whether there is small data to be transmitted. If there is small data to be transmitted, the MAC entity of the terminal may transmit the small data to the physical layer in step S1440. Fig. 14 & ¶02231 - In step S1450, the terminal may perform uplink transmission (e.g., small data) on the next available uplink transmission resource (e.g., a resource allocated (e.g., PUSCH as shown in Table 6) according to the configured grant type 1). See Table 6 (¶0162-¶0163), which shows an information element for setting a configured grant (configured grant scheme may include types 1 and 2.), as shown in Table 6, the configured grant configuration information may include a time-frequency location, period, offset, etc. of a resource usable by the terminal).
Re. Claim 16, Lee and Xu teach claim 13.
Lee further teaches wherein the first signaling includes one or more of: a MAC random access response (RAR) (Fig. 5 & ¶0103 - FIG. 5 (a) shows an example of a MAC RAR format, FIG. 5 (b) shows an example of a MAC CE TAC format. Fig. 5 & ¶0104 - Referring to FIG. 5 (a), the base station receiving the random access preamble from the terminal may generate a MAC RAR. The timing advance command (TAC) may correspond to uplink time alignment information derived based on the arrival time of the random access preamble received by the base station from the terminal. Also, examiner interprets that only of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of” and “or” in the limitation), or, the first signaling comprises a fallbackRAR.
Re. Claim 18, Lee and Xu teach claim 13.
Lee further teaches the second transmitter, transmitting a first message; wherein as a response to the first message being received, the first timer is initiated; the first message is used for transform of an RRC state. (Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0010 - An uplink synchronization method of a terminal in an inactive state in a wireless communication system according to an aspect of the present disclosure, the method comprising: receiving periodic uplink transmission resource configuration information from a base station; starting a time alignment timer (TAT) by receiving a timing advance command (TAC) from the base station; Transitioning to an inactive state by receiving a RRC (Radio Resource Control) release message including a suspend configuration from the base station; In the inactive state, when a predetermined trigger condition (a predetermined trigger condition may be defined after TAT start, before TAT expiration, or in relation to T380 timer expiration…. See ¶0218) is satisfied, performing uplink transmission to the base station based on the periodic uplink transmission resource configuration information, wherein the predetermined trigger condition is the elapsed time since the TAT started. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0131 - The RRC idle state may be transitioned from the connected state or the inactive state according to RRC release. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0171: ¶0172 - Table 7 shows an example of a timer operating in the RRC inactive state. TABLE 7 Timer Start Stop At expiry T380 When receiving t380 When RRC Start RNA update (PeriodicRNAU- resume/setup/release procedure TimerValue) from is received RRC release. Referring to Table 7, the timer named T380 may be started when the terminal receives the T380 timer value (i.e., t380 (PeriodicRNAU-TimerValue)) through the RRC release message. When receiving an RRC resume, RRC setup, or RRC release message, the T380 timer may stop. When the T380 timer expires, the UE may perform an RNA update procedure. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0174 - FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of an RRC state transition triggered by a terminal. Fig.7/Fig. 10-14/Fig. 20-23 & ¶0175 - RRC connection state in the new base station (e.g., the second base station) can be transferred to The transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state may be triggered by the UE. )
Re. Claim 19, Lee and Xu teach claim 13.
Lee further teaches the second receiver, receiving a second message set; wherein the second message set triggers the first signaling; the second message set is transmitted in an RRC Inactive state. (Fig. 13 & ¶0201 - In step 1, when the periodic RNA update timer provided from the first base station expires, the UE may transmit an RRC resume request (second message set as per instant application, at least in ¶0830) including RNA update as a resumption reason to the second base station currently camping. In addition, the UE may include the I-RNTI provided from the first base station in the RRC resume request. Fig. 13 & ¶0205 - In step 4, in order to instruct the terminal to maintain the RRC inactive state, the second base station may transmit to the terminal including information indicating radio bearer stop in the RRC release message.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/23/2026 with respect to independent claims 1, 12-13 and 20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 10-11 as submitted on 03/23/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Lee fails to teach, “wherein a time interval from the receiving the first signaling untill the first time is larger than or equal to a first expiration value an sdt-timeAlignmentTimer”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Xu (2021/0160805 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference, see PTO-892), discloses the limitation <however, please see §112(a)/§112(b) rejection in reference to the claimed feature “sdt-timeAlignmentTimer”> as mapped in §103 rejection, with the consideration of §112(a)/§112(b) rejection.
Shi (2023/0397215 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) is NOT used in the instant office action, hence, the rebuttal in regards to Shi, is moot.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 12-13 and 20.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Xu (2021/0160805 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
Similarly, it is maintained that independent claim 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Xu (2021/0160805 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 13, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467