DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The amendment to claims 1 and 15 recites—each exit hole in each of said supporting sheet and said guiding sheet has a diameter that is equal to or smaller than a diameter of a corresponding entry hole in a next adjacent sheet within said multilayer positioning sheet stack.
The amendment above further defines the diameter features with respect to the supporting sheet and guiding sheet, which renders the limitations of claim 6 and 20 in conflict with claims 1 and 15. There is no embodiment in the drawings or disclosure that shows a hole located between said positioning hole and said tapered hole, such that said hole has a diameter that is larger than the diameter of the positioning hole and larger than the smallest diameter of said tapered hole, wherein the hole is between the supporting sheet and the guiding sheet and meeting all the
limitations of claims 1 and 15.
Since claims 6 and 20 are in conflict with claims 1 and 15 and the examiner cannot reach a reasonable interpretation that allows the examiner to determine the metes and bound of claims 6 and 20. Therefore, the examiner is unable to search and determine the patentability of claims 6 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 15-19 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filipowicz et al. (US 9,846,280 B2, herein “Filipowicz”) in view of Trezza et al. (US 6,773,166 B2, herein “Trezza”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Filipowicz discloses an optical fiber array device (30 in Fig. 3), said optical fiber array device comprising: a fiber base (flange 38), enabled to hold multilayer positioning sheet stack (precision output element 34 composes of three layers 48, 52, and 50, Col. 7 line 64 to Col. 8, line 14);
said positioning sheet (precision output element 34) comprising a plurality of channels (apertures 36), each of said channels formed by at least a positioning hole (vias 58) and a tapered hole (lead-in openings 58-O), wherein each tapered hole has an entry diameter larger than the corresponding positioning hole and narrows toward the positioning hole to guide and seat a fiber, wherein the multilayer positioning sheet stack comprises a plurality of sheets comprising at least a positioning sheet (48), a supporting sheet (52), and a guiding sheet (50);
a plurality of fibers (100) or fiber bundles, each of said fibers or fiber bundles fixed in one of said positioning hole of said multilayer positioning sheet stack;
a guide hole array block (fiber guide block 32) disposed adjacent to said multilayer positioning sheet stack (precision output element 34), wherein the guide hole array block (fiber guide block 32) comprises a plurality of tapered entry holes (entrance 33-0) larger than the tapered holes (58-O) of the multilayer positioning sheet stack, to facilitate fiber insertion and alignment.
Filipowicz do not explicitly teach each exit hole in each of said supporting sheet and said guiding sheet has a diameter that is equal to or smaller than a diameter of a corresponding entry hole in a next adjacent sheet within said multilayer positioning sheet stack. Filipowicz also do not explicitly teach a lens array comprising a plurality of lenses, each lens of said lens array aligned with one channel of said plurality of channels.
Trezza teaches optical fiber array precision plates (Fig. 23: 2310 and 2308) that are stacked (e.g., stack of 12 plates). Each exit hole in each plate (2310 or 2408) has a diameter that is equal to (plate 2308 has uniform diameter—equal to--) or smaller than (plate 2310) a diameter of a corresponding entry hole in a next adjacent sheet within said multilayer positioning sheet stack.
[AltContent: rect]
Trezza further teaches a lens array (Fig. 10B: 1002) comprising a plurality of lenses, each lens of said lens array aligned with one channel of said plurality of channels (Fig. 10B: 1004, Col. 17, lines 54-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the precision plates and microlens array in Trezza’s invention would be modifiable to the positioning sheet stack (34) of Filipowicz. The interior wall shapes and sizes of the array of holes in Filipowicz sheet stack can be etched to form precision guiding through-holes wherein each exit hole in each of the precision plate has a diameter that is equal to or smaller than a diameter of a corresponding entry hole in a next adjacent sheet. Since Trezza teaches stacking the plates 12 plates deep (Col. 16, lines 46-51), then modifying Filipowicz as taught by Trezza would necessarily form the “supporting sheet” and “guiding sheet” that form the “next adjacent sheet” within the multilayer positioning sheet stack. Furthermore, Trezza teaches inserting the microlenses (1002) into high precision piece (1004), which would be easily modified by Filipowicz’s positioning sheet stack such that each lens of said lens array are aligned with one channel of the plurality of channels. One motivation for providing high precision plates having plurality of channels shapes and sizes is to simplify on-site coupling of high fiber-count cables to adapters, while supporting the optical fibers with passive precision alignment. Furthermore, the array of microlenses formed in the manner as taught by Trezza allows technician to couple the microlenses to the optical fiber array without additional active alignment tools.
The examiner notes, the method steps of claims 15-28 are not patentably distinct from the product claims 1-14, as the steps such as fixing, forming, aligning are necessary in assembling the function device. As such, the method claims are rejected in the similar manner as the product claims.
Claims 2 and 16. Filipowicz in view of Trezza (herein “Filipowicz / Trezza”) teach the device of claim 1, and Filipowicz further discloses the multilayer positioning sheet stack (precision output element 34) is made from silicon (Col. 3, lines 29-45).
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 and . Filipowicz in view of Trezza (herein “Filipowicz / Trezza”) teach the device of claim 1, Trezza further teaches the precision plates are formed on silicon wafer (800, Col.10, lines 14-19), same material as the multilayer positioning stack, wherein the holes or other features on the plates uses various methods such as inductively coupled plasma etching (Col. 10, lines 38-54) – a known method of etching microlenses on hard silicon material. One would be motivated to employ silicon as the material for the microlens array because the technique of forming microlenses on hard silicon surface is widely known and silicon is widely available.
Claims 5 and 19. Filipowicz / Trezza teach device of claim 1, and Filipowicz further discloses the fiber base flange is made from a material (stainless steel, Col. 6, lines 36-38) with a low thermal expansion coefficient.
Claims 7 and 21. Filipowicz / Trezza teach device of claim 1, and Filipowicz further discloses said multilayer positioning sheet stack comprises MxN channels arranged in an MxN array (Fig. 7).
Claims 8 and 22. Filipowicz / Trezza teach device of claim 1, and Filipowicz further discloses said positioning hole and/or said tapered hole are made using an etching process (Col. 7, lines 53-63).
Claims 9 and 23. Filipowicz / Trezza teach device of claim 1, and Filipowicz further discloses each of said fibers or fiber bundles is fixed in one of said positioning holes with glue (Step 180 in Fig. 14).
Claims 10 and 24. Filipowicz / Trezza teach the device of claim 1, Trezza further teaches the lens array (1002) is bonded directly onto the precision plate (1004) (Col. 11 line 66 to Col. 12, line 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize bonding techniques including pressure or adhesives are known and within the skill of a practitioner to modify the bonded structure of lens (1002) and precision plate (1004) in Trezza and mount the resulting structure to the multilayer positioning sheet stack of Filipowicz. One motivation is to focus light from the fiber array to efficiently couple out of the component (30) of Filipowicz.
Claims 11 and 25. Filipowicz / Trezza teach the device of claim 1, however, Filipowicz / Trezza do not explicitly teach the fiber base flange is enabled to hold said lens array. However, Filipowicz teaches the component (Figs. 3 and 4) has a fiber base flange (38) and a shoulder (44), wherein the fiber base flange (38) is enabled to hold said lens array. By modifying the shoulder (44) for housing the fiber guide block (32) and multilayer positioning sheet stack (34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the shoulder (44) can be milled or molded to provide a deeper seat, from the opening (left side in Fig. 4 below) to the shoulder (44) so base flange can accommodate a larger output element (34) or in this case, an additional precision plate with lens array mounted therein. One motivation would be to provide an adjustable base flange seat to accommodate various output element size per design specific purpose.
Claims 12 and 26. The device according to claim 1, wherein the fiber base flange is enabled to hold a guide hole array block (34). See Fig. 4 above.
Claims 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filipowicz / Trezza as applied to claim 1 and 15, and further view of Nakama et al. (US 6,766,076 B2, herein “Nakama”).
Filipowicz / Trezza teach the device of claims 1 and 15, but Filipowicz / Trezza do not teach a spacer between the lens arrays and said multilayer positioning sheet stack.
Nakama teaches and shown in Fig. 2, an optical fiber array wherein the fiber bundle (4) is inserted into the holes (5) positioning sheet (3) such that a spacer (2) is provided between the positioning sheet and the lens array (1). Nakama further teaches the spacer (2) is selected for having a thickness and refractive index which satisfies the relationship 2 x fL x nh > th > fL x nh. This relationship allows the image output from the lens to have an increasing magnification at an image plane (Col. 5, lines 12-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize the spacer (2) in Nakama’s invention is to maintain axial distance between the optical fiber and the optical lens for precise optical alignment. In Nakama’s invention it is to provide magnification. Given the general relationship above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize the spacer can be modified to the invention of Filipowicz / Trezza to maintain axial optical alignment for collimating or beam shaping of the output light form the optical fiber One would be motivated maintain optical alignment for collimating or beam shaping to minimize insertion loss and prevent signal distortion.
Claims 14 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filipowicz / Trezza as applied to claim 1 and 15, and further view of Brusberg et al. (US 2024/0111109 A1, herein “Brusberg”).
Filipowicz / Trezza teach the device of claims 1 and 15, but Filipowicz / Trezza do not teach the fiber base flange and said lens array are fixed on a positioning substrate.
Brusberg teaches an optical connector (Fig. 1C: 160) such as MTP or MPO connector may be fixed on a positioning substrate (Fig. 1C: 164) to provide optical interface between the optical fiber and integrated waveguide (Para [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the device taught by Filipowicz / Trezza would be capable of coupling to a positioning substrate (Brusberg: 164) since Trezza teaches the precision plates are compatible with MTP or MPO connectors (Trezza: Col. 8, lines 17-34). One would be motivated to fix the base flange and the lens array to a positioning substrate to provide a cost effect optical interface to integrated waveguide.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874