DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/111,082, amendment and remarks, dated on 12/22/2025.
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 pending.
Claims 4 and 12 cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 2023/0066448 A1, hereinafter Tseng-6448) in view of Tseng et. al. (US 2022/0346180 A1, hereinafter Tseng-6180).
Claim 1, Tseng-6448 discloses a method comprising: receiving first information related to a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration ;receiving second information related to resources to perform SL transmission in exceptional condition (receiving a SL DRX configuration and exceptional condition resources by the UE to perform the SL-DRX operation; A method performed by a UE is provided. The method includes receiving at least one SL-DRX configuration and a plurality of SL resource pool configurations to be configured on the first UE; performing partial sensing based on at least one of the plurality of SL resource pool configurations when an SL-DRX operation is performed based on the at least one SL-DRX configuration, each of at least one SL resource pool configured by the at least one of the plurality of SL resource pool configurations comprising one or more time slots; and performing SL-CBR measurement associated with each of the at least one SL resource pool in the one or more time slots where the partial sensing is performed; abstract; ¶7; In some of the embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, one SL-DRX cycle may include an SL-DRX On-Duration and a subsequent SL-DRX off-period. The parameters (and the control mechanisms/rules about the UE/RAN behaviors during the SL-DRX Active Times / SL-DRX off-periods in the SL-DRX cycles) for the SL-DRX mechanism (e.g., values of SL-DRX cycle/SL-DRX On-Duration) may be explicitly configured by the serving RAN through broadcasting messages (e.g., SI broadcasting or through SI on-demand procedure) or through dedicated control signaling (e.g., RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration message or other RRC messages, such as RRC(Connection)Release message, RRC(Connection)Release message with suspend configuration, RRC(Connection)Release message without suspend configuration, RRC(Connection)setup message, RRC(Connection)re-establishment message, RRC(Connection)reject message, RRC(Connection)resume message) in (LTE/NR) Uu interface; ¶122; In some implementations, the UE may be configured with an NR Uu interface to support SL resource configurations for both an LTE PC5 interface and an NR PC5 interface (e.g., the BS may configure dynamic SL grant or SL (exceptional) resource pool configurations for the NR PC5 interface, such as PC5 RRC connections. The BS may also configure SL (exceptional) resource pool configurations for the LTE PC5 interface); ¶133; In some implementations, the first UE may be configured with different SL resource pool configurations in the SL-DRX On-Duration, in the SL-DRX Active Time or in the SL-DRX off-period for the SL packet exchange operation with the at least one second UE, where the SL resource pool configurations may include at least one of an SL Transmission resource pool configuration, an SL Reception resource pool configuration, an exceptional resource pool configuration, an SL resource pool configuration for SL discovery message transmission, an SL dynamic grant (i.e. one or more SL dynamic grants), a Type-1 SL configured grant (i.e. one or more Type-1 SL configured grants), a Type-2 SL configured grant (i.e. one or more Type-2 SL configured grants) and an SL synchronization signal burst set (i.e. one or more SL synchronization signal burst sets), and the SL resource pool configuration may be among an NR PC5 interface and an E-UTRA PC5 interface. In some implementations, the first UE may be configured to switch between the SL-DRX Active Time (or the SL-DRX On-Duration) and the SL-DRX off-period according to at least one of an SL-DRX-onDurationTimer, an SL-DRX-SlotOffset, an SL-DRX-InactivityTimer, a DRX-RetransmissionTimerSL (e.g., including drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Rx and/or drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Tx), an SL-DRX-LongCycleStartOffset, an SL-DRX-ShortCycle, an SL-DRX-ShortCycleTimer and a DRX-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Rx and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Tx); ¶231);
starting a timer related to a radio resource control (RRC) connection related procedure (starting the timers T310, T311, T304 or the timers described in ¶231, relating to a RRC connection procedure; Seventh, the SL transmission mechanism may include one or more exceptional conditions. In some implementations, the UE may break the rules of stopping SL packet transmissions (through SL dynamic grant, Type1 SL configured grant, Type 2 SL configured grant, Mode 2 SL resource pool configuration, or Exceptional resource pool) while at least one exceptional condition happens, such as: (a) if the T310 or T311 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (b) if T301 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (c) if T304 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (d) when the (partial) sensing result on the SL resource (pools) configured to the UE is not yet available. (e) from the moment the UE initiates (NR/LTE) an RRC connection (re)establishment/resume until receiving an RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including an SL resource (pool) configuration or until receiving an RRC(Connection)Release (e.g., RRC(Connection)Release message with/without suspend configuration, which instructs the UE to move to (LTE/NR) RRC INACTIVE state) or an RRC(Connection)Reject message; ¶164-¶169), and
based on the first information (SL DRX configuration information) and the second information (SL transmission in exceptional condition information), performing SL transmission while the timer is running (using an exceptional pool for communication based on the SL DRX configuration while the timers T310, T311, T304 or the timers described in ¶231 are running; Moreover, in some implementations, the SL-DRX-Tx resource pool configuration may further include the SL exceptional resource pool(s), which may be configured for an SL-Tx UE to transmit SL packets when at least one exceptional condition is fulfilled. In some implementations, the SL-DRX-Tx resource pool configurations provided for SL-DRX Active Times/off-periods may not include the SL exceptional resource pool(s). Noticeably, in some implementations, the definition of SL-DRX Active Time may only consider the counting of SL-drx-onDurationTimer. In other words, the UE may transition from SL-DRX On-Durations to SL-DRX off-periods directly after the SL-drx-onDurationTimer expires (and the (SL-DRX) Active Time in a PC5 interface is also finished). Then, within the SL-DRX cycle(s), the UE may apply different sets of SL transmission resources within the SL-DRX On-Durations and SL-DRX off-periods, respectively. In some implementations, separate SL (transmission) resource pool configurations may be configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods respectively. In some implementations, the SL (transmission) resource pool configurations configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods may be isolated with each other in physical resource block (PRB) allocations. In some implementations, the SL (transmission) resource pool configurations configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods may be partially overlapped in PRB allocations; ¶145; Seventh, the SL transmission mechanism may include one or more exceptional conditions. In some implementations, the UE may break the rules of stopping SL packet transmissions (through SL dynamic grant, Type1 SL configured grant, Type 2 SL configured grant, Mode 2 SL resource pool configuration, or Exceptional resource pool) while at least one exceptional condition happens, such as: (a) if the T310 or T311 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (b) if T301 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (c) if T304 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (d) when the (partial) sensing result on the SL resource (pools) configured to the UE is not yet available. (e) from the moment the UE initiates (NR/LTE) an RRC connection (re)establishment/resume until receiving an RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including an SL resource (pool) configuration or until receiving an RRC(Connection)Release (e.g., RRC(Connection)Release message with/without suspend configuration, which instructs the UE to move to (LTE/NR) RRC INACTIVE state) or an RRC(Connection)Reject message; ¶164-¶169), and
wherein reconfiguration of the SL DRX configuration is restricted while the timer is running (maintaining the SL DRX configuration until expiration of the timers T310, T311, and T304 (restricting reconfiguration of the SL DRX configuration while the timers (T310, T311, T304 or the timers described in ¶231) are running); Seventh, the SL transmission mechanism may include one or more exceptional conditions. In some implementations, the UE may break the rules of stopping SL packet transmissions (through SL dynamic grant, Type1 SL configured grant, Type 2 SL configured grant, Mode 2 SL resource pool configuration, or Exceptional resource pool) while at least one exceptional condition happens, such as: (a) if the T310 or T311 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (b) if T301 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (c) if T304 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (d) when the (partial) sensing result on the SL resource (pools) configured to the UE is not yet available. (e) from the moment the UE initiates (NR/LTE) an RRC connection (re)establishment/resume until receiving an RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including an SL resource (pool) configuration or until receiving an RRC(Connection)Release (e.g., RRC(Connection)Release message with/without suspend configuration, which instructs the UE to move to (LTE/NR) RRC INACTIVE state) or an RRC(Connection)Reject message; ¶164-¶169).
Tseng-6180 in the same field of endeavor, SL DRX configuration/reconfiguration discloses the reconfiguration of the SL DRX configuration is performed after expiration of the timer (updating the SL DRX configuration after expiration of the expiration of the timer; Fig. 2A, 2B; In some implementations, the SL-DRX mechanism (e.g., SL-DRX configuration for broadcast/group-cast service) may not be impacted immediately by the triggering events. Instead, the SL-DRX mechanism and the UE would update the values of SL-DRX-related Timers after the running active SL-DRX timer(s) (e.g., the SL-drx-onDurationTimer or SL-drx-InactivityTimer, which is counting while the triggering event happens) expires. For example, the associated SL-DRX Timers may be re-configured based on the updated SL-DRX configuration on the next Active Time (or SL-DRX On period/On-duration) in an SL-DRX cycle. In some implementations, the UE may start to apply the updated SL-DRX configuration in the next SL-DRX cycle. In this case, the time span of the off-period may be decided by the original SL-DRX configuration rather than the updated SL-DRX configuration; ¶77).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to perform reconfiguration of the SL DRX configuration after expiration of the timer, as taught by Tseng-6180 to modify Tseng-6448’s method and system in order to provide sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) mechanisms (title; abstract; ¶2).
Claim 2, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the SL transmission is performed based on a resource randomly selected from the resources during an active time of the SL DRX configuration (Tseng-6448; selecting (randomly) a resource for the SL transmission during an active time of the SL DRX configuration; Moreover, in some implementations, the SL-DRX-Tx resource pool configuration may further include the SL exceptional resource pool(s), which may be configured for an SL-Tx UE to transmit SL packets when at least one exceptional condition is fulfilled. In some implementations, the SL-DRX-Tx resource pool configurations provided for SL-DRX Active Times/off-periods may not include the SL exceptional resource pool(s). Noticeably, in some implementations, the definition of SL-DRX Active Time may only consider the counting of SL-drx-onDurationTimer. In other words, the UE may transition from SL-DRX On-Durations to SL-DRX off-periods directly after the SL-drx-onDurationTimer expires (and the (SL-DRX) Active Time in a PC5 interface is also finished). Then, within the SL-DRX cycle(s), the UE may apply different sets of SL transmission resources within the SL-DRX On-Durations and SL-DRX off-periods, respectively. In some implementations, separate SL (transmission) resource pool configurations may be configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods respectively. In some implementations, the SL (transmission) resource pool configurations configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods may be isolated with each other in physical resource block (PRB) allocations. In some implementations, the SL (transmission) resource pool configurations configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods may be partially overlapped in PRB allocations; ¶145).
Claim 3, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the RRC connection related procedure is one of an RRC connection re-establishment procedure and an RRC reconfiguration procedure (Tseng-6448; RRC connection related to an RRC connection re-establishment procedure and an RRC reconfiguration procedure; Seventh, the SL transmission mechanism may include one or more exceptional conditions. In some implementations, the UE may break the rules of stopping SL packet transmissions (through SL dynamic grant, Type1 SL configured grant, Type 2 SL configured grant, Mode 2 SL resource pool configuration, or Exceptional resource pool) while at least one exceptional condition happens, such as: (a) if the T310 or T311 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (b) if T301 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (c) if T304 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (d) when the (partial) sensing result on the SL resource (pools) configured to the UE is not yet available. (e) from the moment the UE initiates (NR/LTE) an RRC connection (re)establishment/resume until receiving an RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including an SL resource (pool) configuration or until receiving an RRC(Connection)Release (e.g., RRC(Connection)Release message with/without suspend configuration, which instructs the UE to move to (LTE/NR) RRC INACTIVE state) or an RRC(Connection)Reject message; ¶164-¶169).
Claim 5, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the timer expires based on that a new suitable cell is discovered, that radio link failure (RLF) is confirmed, or that random access is successful (Tseng-6448; the timer T310, timer T311, and timer T304 expires based on the RLF is confirmed, Handover, Random access is successful; Seventh, the SL transmission mechanism may include one or more exceptional conditions. In some implementations, the UE may break the rules of stopping SL packet transmissions (through SL dynamic grant, Type1 SL configured grant, Type 2 SL configured grant, Mode 2 SL resource pool configuration, or Exceptional resource pool) while at least one exceptional condition happens, such as: (a) if the T310 or T311 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (b) if T301 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (c) if T304 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (d) when the (partial) sensing result on the SL resource (pools) configured to the UE is not yet available. (e) from the moment the UE initiates (NR/LTE) an RRC connection (re)establishment/resume until receiving an RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including an SL resource (pool) configuration or until receiving an RRC(Connection)Release (e.g., RRC(Connection)Release message with/without suspend configuration, which instructs the UE to move to (LTE/NR) RRC INACTIVE state) or an RRC(Connection)Reject message; ¶164-¶169).
Claim 6, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the resource is related to configured grant despite a change of a transmission mode (Tseng-6448; TX UE using the resource related to the configured SL grant according to mode -1 or selecting the configured SL grant according to mode 2; Mode 1-like approach: the scheduler may configure dynamic SL grants to members in the same platoon (e.g., dynamic SL grant through SCI). In addition, the scheduler may also configure a semi-periodic SL grant (e.g., a configured SL grant) to the UEs through SL control signalings (e.g., through Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH), or SL RRC signaling). To achieve Mode 1-like approach, the scheduler may need the UEs to provide feedback information through one or more PC5 interfaces. Mode 2-like approach: the scheduler may configure SL resource pools to members in the same platoon. The UEs may select SL grants by the UEs themselves automatically (e.g., SL grant selection w/wo sensing). The platoon scenario may be applied when the vehicles of the platoon is in-coverage (i.e., all of the vehicles in the platoon is under the coverage of a cellular RAN), out-of-coverage (i.e., all of the vehicles in the platoon is out of the coverage of a cellular RAN), or partial in-coverage (i.e., some of the UEs in the platoon is in-coverage of a cellular RAN and the other UEs in the platoon is out-of-coverage of the cellular RAN); ¶88-¶89).
Claim 7, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein a transmission mode changes from transmission mode 1 to transmission mode 2 (Tseng-6448; TX UE using the resource related to the configured SL grant according to mode -1 or selecting the configured SL grant according to mode 2; Mode 1-like approach: the scheduler may configure dynamic SL grants to members in the same platoon (e.g., dynamic SL grant through SCI). In addition, the scheduler may also configure a semi-periodic SL grant (e.g., a configured SL grant) to the UEs through SL control signalings (e.g., through Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH), or SL RRC signaling). To achieve Mode 1-like approach, the scheduler may need the UEs to provide feedback information through one or more PC5 interfaces. Mode 2-like approach: the scheduler may configure SL resource pools to members in the same platoon. The UEs may select SL grants by the UEs themselves automatically (e.g., SL grant selection w/wo sensing). The platoon scenario may be applied when the vehicles of the platoon is in-coverage (i.e., all of the vehicles in the platoon is under the coverage of a cellular RAN), out-of-coverage (i.e., all of the vehicles in the platoon is out of the coverage of a cellular RAN), or partial in-coverage (i.e., some of the UEs in the platoon is in-coverage of a cellular RAN and the other UEs in the platoon is out-of-coverage of the cellular RAN); ¶88-¶89), and wherein the resource is randomly selected from the resources based on transmission mode 2 (Tseng-6448; the TX UE (randomly) selecting a resource from the resources (based on transmission mode 1 or 2); Moreover, in some implementations, the SL-DRX-Tx resource pool configuration may further include the SL exceptional resource pool(s), which may be configured for an SL-Tx UE to transmit SL packets when at least one exceptional condition is fulfilled. In some implementations, the SL-DRX-Tx resource pool configurations provided for SL-DRX Active Times/off-periods may not include the SL exceptional resource pool(s). Noticeably, in some implementations, the definition of SL-DRX Active Time may only consider the counting of SL-drx-onDurationTimer. In other words, the UE may transition from SL-DRX On-Durations to SL-DRX off-periods directly after the SL-drx-onDurationTimer expires (and the (SL-DRX) Active Time in a PC5 interface is also finished). Then, within the SL-DRX cycle(s), the UE may apply different sets of SL transmission resources within the SL-DRX On-Durations and SL-DRX off-periods, respectively. In some implementations, separate SL (transmission) resource pool configurations may be configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods respectively. In some implementations, the SL (transmission) resource pool configurations configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods may be isolated with each other in physical resource block (PRB) allocations. In some implementations, the SL (transmission) resource pool configurations configured for SL-DRX On-Durations (or SL-DRX Active Times) and SL-DRX off-periods may be partially overlapped in PRB allocations; ¶145).
Claim 8, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the timer is one of timer T310, timer T311, and timer T304 (Tseng-6448; timer being one of the timer T310, timer T311, and timer T304; Seventh, the SL transmission mechanism may include one or more exceptional conditions. In some implementations, the UE may break the rules of stopping SL packet transmissions (through SL dynamic grant, Type1 SL configured grant, Type 2 SL configured grant, Mode 2 SL resource pool configuration, or Exceptional resource pool) while at least one exceptional condition happens, such as: (a) if the T310 or T311 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (b) if T301 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (c) if T304 of (NR/LTE) RRC protocols, as commonly known and defined in 3GPP TS 38 series specifications, is running; (d) when the (partial) sensing result on the SL resource (pools) configured to the UE is not yet available. (e) from the moment the UE initiates (NR/LTE) an RRC connection (re)establishment/resume until receiving an RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration including an SL resource (pool) configuration or until receiving an RRC(Connection)Release (e.g., RRC(Connection)Release message with/without suspend configuration, which instructs the UE to move to (LTE/NR) RRC INACTIVE state) or an RRC(Connection)Reject message; ¶164-¶169).
Claim 9, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the configured grant is configured grant type 1 (Tseng-6448; In some implementations, the UE may stop accessing Type 1 SL configured grant(s) while the UE is staying within SL-DRX off-periods. In some implementations, to the RAN side, the serving RAN may re-allocate the SL resource to other UEs. In another implementation, the UE may still access (all or a subset of) Type 1 SL configured grant(s) while the UE is staying within the SL-DRX off-periods; ¶139; In some implementations, the first UE may be configured with different SL resource pool configurations in the SL-DRX On-Duration, in the SL-DRX Active Time or in the SL-DRX off-period for the SL packet exchange operation with the at least one second UE, where the SL resource pool configurations may include at least one of an SL Transmission resource pool configuration, an SL Reception resource pool configuration, an exceptional resource pool configuration, an SL resource pool configuration for SL discovery message transmission, an SL dynamic grant (i.e. one or more SL dynamic grants), a Type-1 SL configured grant (i.e. one or more Type-1 SL configured grants), a Type-2 SL configured grant (i.e. one or more Type-2 SL configured grants) and an SL synchronization signal burst set (i.e. one or more SL synchronization signal burst sets), and the SL resource pool configuration may be among an NR PC5 interface and an E-UTRA PC5 interface; ¶231).
Claim 10, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 10 disclosed by Tseng-6448, a transmitter (TX) user equipment (UE) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 7, el. 708) and at least one computer memory (Fig. 7, el. 702) operably connectable to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions (Fig. 7, el. 714) that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (The memory 702 may include computer-storage media in the form of volatile and/or non-volatile memory. The memory 702 may be removable, non-removable, or a combination thereof. For example, the memory 702 may include solid-state memory, hard drives, optical-disc drives, etc. As illustrated in FIG. 7, the memory 702 may store computer-executable (or readable) program 714 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause the processor 708 to perform various functions disclosed herein, for example, with reference to FIG. 6. Alternatively, the computer-executable program 714 may not be directly executable by the processor 708 but may be configured to cause the node 700 (e.g., when compiled and executed) to perform various functions disclosed herein; ¶237).
Claim 11, Tseng-6448 in view of Tseng-6180 discloses wherein the UE is configured to communicate with at least one of another UE, a UE related to an autonomous vehicle, a base station, or a network (Tseng-6448; UE is configured communicating with another UE, V2X, base station; Figs. 1-2; In some implementations, Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) service may be provided to support the information exchange between vehicles. V2X service includes at least one of a Vehicle-to-Infrastructure (V2I) service, a Vehicle-to-Pedestrian (V2P) service, a Vehicle-to-Network (V2N) service and a Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V) service. In LTE protocols, the V2X service can be supported in the air interface by a Uu interface and a PC5 interface. The PC5 interface covers the designs in Layer 2 and Layer 1. The airlink interface on a PC5 interface is also called an SL in LTE protocols. LTE networks support SL operations since the 3GPP TS Rel.12. Referring to FIG. 1, FIG. 1illustrates an SL operation for UEs to exchange information according to an example implementation of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 1, UEs may exchange data and control signaling directly without the relaying of the BS (e.g., eNB in LTE network or gNB in NR network). For the convenience of description, each of the UEs in this disclosure is capable and authorized to access a V2X service through PC5 interface with neighbor UEs and RAN; ¶72; Considering the SL transmission mechanism, first of all, it may disclose SCI transmission in a PSCCH and SL packet delivery in the PSSCH. In some implementations, it may define the SL-Tx UE as a UE who wants to transmit SL data packets and/or control signaling to other UEs through the (LTE/NR) PC5 interface. Then, an SL-Rx UE is defined as a UE who wants to receive SL packets and/or control signaling from other UEs through the (LTE/NR) PC5 interface. In some implementations, a UE may be an SL-Tx UE or an SL-Rx UE, and the UE may switch its role between the SL-Tx UE and the SL-Rx UE. In some implementations, a UE may be an SL-Tx UE and an SL-Rx UE at the same time. It is noted that, the SL-Tx UE behaviors may not be limited to those of an SL-Tx UE, but may also include those of an SL-Rx UE. Moreover, the SL-Rx UE behaviors may not be limited to those of an SL-Rx UE, but may also include those of an SL-Tx UE. For example, in one implementation, a sensing procedure in general may be required for SL-TX UEs for transmission. In contrast, an SL-RX UE may also perform the sensing procedure (in the background implementation) since it may act as an SL-TX UE upon requesting to deliver SL packets, which is not limiting the scope of the implementation; ¶137).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471