DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title contains a typo. The following title is suggested: Automatic Discharge Of Damaged Batteries In Electric Vehicles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kong (US 20230110889).
Regarding claim 1, Kong teaches a computer-implemented method for operating an electrical machine system including one more batteries powering one or more electric machines (shown in figure 1 wherein an electrical machine system is a powertrain system of a vehicle), comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors (defined in paragraph [0006] as an active management module. Paragraph [0076] teaches wherein battery management modules (BMS) are included in a battery housing), fault information representative of an isolation fault condition of a first of the one or more batteries (paragraph [0006] teaches wherein a fault condition is determined. Paragraph [0082] teaches wherein the battery may be isolated based on a fault condition. Figure 14 and paragraph [0129] teaches wherein a fault condition is detected) ;
receiving, by one or more processors, battery condition information representative of one or more electrical or mechanical or thermal conditions of the first battery (defined in paragraph [0129] teaches wherein sensors determine the temperature and an abnormal temperature is defined as a fault);
determining, by one or more processors in response to the isolation fault condition, whether to discharge the first battery based upon the battery condition information (Paragraph [0006] teaches wherein in response to detecting the existence of a fault condition, the battery is determined whether or not to be discharged. Figure 14 and defined in paragraphs [0130]-[0132] and if a faulty battery, interpreted as a suspicious battery block, is determined, a decision is made whether or not to discharge the battery as shown in step 1408) ; and
causing, by one or more processors, the first battery to operate in a discharge mode when it is determined to discharge the first battery (Paragraph [0006] teaches wherein the battery is discharged. Paragraph [0132] teaches wherein the battery is determined to be discharged and proceeds to a discharging mode).
Regarding claim 2, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the fault information includes receiving fault information representative of an isolation fault inside the first battery (defined in paragraph [0129] teaches wherein sensors determine the temperature and an abnormal temperature is defined as a fault).
Regarding claim 3, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the battery condition information includes information representative of one or more of coolant contamination, temperature, pressure or voltage (defined in paragraph [0129] teaches wherein sensors determine the temperature and an abnormal temperature is defined as a fault).
Regarding claim 4, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the battery condition information includes information representative of one or more of coolant contamination, temperature, pressure or voltage (defined in paragraph [0129] teaches wherein sensors determine the temperature and an abnormal temperature is defined as a fault).
Regarding claim 5, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining whether to discharge the first battery includes determining, based upon the battery condition information, whether potentially hazardous battery discharge conditions exist (paragraphs [0006] and [0044] teaches wherein a safety fault condition is determined. Paragraph [0082] teaches wherein the battery may be isolated based on a fault condition. Figure 14 and paragraph [0129] teaches wherein a fault condition is detected).
Regarding claim 6, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein determining whether to discharge the first battery includes determining to not discharge the first battery when the battery condition information is representative of one or more of (1) no coolant contamination in the first battery, (2) a temperature of the first battery is representative of a potential thermal run-away condition, (3) a voltage of the first battery is representative of a potential over-discharge condition, or (4) a pressure or temperature of the first battery is representative of a potential fire (paragraph [0044] teaches wherein a thermal runaway condition may be detected).
Regarding claim 7, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein causing the battery to operate in the discharge mode comprises causing the battery to discharge to a level at which the battery can be accessed and transported without potential hazards (paragraph [0046] teaches wherein the batteries are discharge to a level to prevent potential safety hazards).
Regarding claim 8, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein causing the first battery to operate in the discharge mode comprises causing the first battery to discharge to a level lower than a predetermined operating range of levels (paragraph [0132] teaches wherein the battery may be discharged to a level of 0-20% or 0% - 5% of the state of charge).
Regarding claim 9, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the method further comprises receiving, by one more processors, isolation integrity information representative of isolation integrity of at least portions of the electrical machine system external to the first battery; and determining whether to discharge the first battery includes determining, by one or more processors in response to the isolation fault condition, whether to discharge the first battery based upon the battery condition information and the isolation integrity information (paragraph [0100] teaches wherein the an isolation integrity level is determined and used to determine whether to discharge the battery).
Regarding claim 10, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein determining whether to discharge the first battery includes determining to not discharge the first battery when the isolation integrity information is representative of an isolation fault of the electrical machine system external to the first battery (paragraph [0100] teaches wherein the an isolation integrity level is determined and used to determine whether to discharge the battery. The BMS which determines whether or not to discharge the battery includes a isolation integrity information).
Regarding claim 11, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing, by one or more processors, one or both of (1) a notification of the battery discharge mode operation to be presented to an operator of the machine system, or (2) disablement of the machine system, when it is determined to discharge the first battery (paragraph [0093] teaches wherein a display item 520 is disclosed within the vehicle and provides the operator with vehicle information such as a discharge mode).
Regarding claim 12, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11, further comprising causing, by the one or more processors, one or both of (1) a notification of completion of the battery discharge mode operation to be presented to an operator of the machine system, or (2) enablement of the machine system by one or more others of the one or more batteries, upon completion of the discharge mode operation for the first battery (paragraph [0130] teaches wherein the batteries are discharged and upon completion the other blocks continue to power the vehicle loads).
Regarding claim 13, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing, by the one or more processors, one or both of (1) a notification of completion of the battery discharge mode operation to be presented to an operator of the machine system, or (2) enablement of the machine system by one or more others of the one or more batteries, upon completion of the discharge mode operation for the first battery (paragraph [0130] teaches wherein the batteries are discharged and upon completion the other blocks continue to power the vehicle loads). .
Regarding claim 14, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of any of claim 1, wherein causing the first battery to operate in the discharge mode comprises causing the first battery to be coupled to a resistive load of the machine system external to the one or more batteries (paragraph [0099] teaches wherein the battery may be coupled to a resistive load).
Regarding claim 15, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein causing the first battery to operate in the discharge mode comprises causing the first battery to be coupled to an accessory component of the machine system that has functionality in the machine system in addition to use during the discharge mode operation, (paragraph [0090] teaches wherein the batteries may be discharged to a heater load, a seat heater).
Regarding claim 16, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the electric machine includes an electric motor (paragraph [0064] teaches wherein the electric machine includes an electric motor item 198).
Regarding claim 17, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the electric machine is a traction motor of an electric vehicle (paragraph [0004] teaches wherein the vehicle may be a hybrid vehicle. Hybrid vehicles are known in the art to comprise a traction motor).
Regarding claim 18, Kong teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein causing the first battery to operate in a discharge mode comprises causing the first battery to be coupled to an accessory component of the electric vehicle (paragraph [0090] teaches wherein the batteries may be discharged to a heater load, a seat heater).
Regarding claim 19, Kong teaches the computer system for operating an electric machine system including one or more batteries powering an electric machine (shown in figure 1 wherein an electrical machine system is a vehicle), comprising:
one or more processors (defined in paragraph [0006] as an active management module. Paragraph [0076] teaches wherein battery management modules (BMS) are included in a battery housing); and
a program memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the computer system to: receive fault information representative of an isolation fault condition of a first of the one or more batteries (paragraph [0006] teaches wherein a fault condition is determined. Paragraph [0082] teaches wherein the battery may be isolated based on a fault condition. Figure 14 and paragraph [0129] teaches wherein a fault condition is detected);
receive battery condition information representative of one or more electrical or mechanical or thermal conditions of the first battery (defined in paragraph [0129] teaches wherein sensors determine the temperature and an abnormal temperature is defined as a fault);
determine, in response to the isolation fault condition, whether to discharge the first battery based upon the battery condition information (Paragraph [0006] teaches wherein in response to detecting the existence of a fault condition, the battery is determined whether or not to be discharged. Figure 14 and defined in paragraphs [0130]-[0132] and if a faulty battery, interpreted as a suspicious battery block, is determined, a decision is made whether or not to discharge the battery as shown in step 1408); and
causing the first battery to operate in a discharge mode when it is determined to discharge the first battery (Paragraph [0006] teaches wherein the battery is discharged. Paragraph [0132] teaches wherein the battery is determined to be discharged and proceeds to a discharging mode).
Regarding claim 20, Kong teaches the computer system of claim 19, wherein receiving the fault information includes receiving fault information representative of an isolation fault inside the first battery (defined in paragraph [0129] teaches wherein sensors determine the temperature and an abnormal temperature is defined as a fault).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that, the Kong reference dos not teach or suggest the approach recited by claims 1 and 19, for example, the reference does not teach or suggest, “determining, in response to an isolation fault condition, whether to discharge a battery based upon battery condition information.” Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Kong detects potentially damaged batteries in an electrical machine system, including safety fault conditions which indicate potentially damaged batteries. Kong determines fault conditions, which may be representative of an “isolation fault” as an abnormal rise in temperature is monitored. A thermal fault is a type of internal battery condition that can trigger isolation. Claims 2 and 3 require temperature detection which Kong determines as an indication of an isolation fault.
As disclosed above, Kong discloses receiving a fault information representative of a battery fault condition and determining whether a battery should be discharge in response to that condition. Specifically, Kong describes an active management module that determines whether a safety fault condition exists and based on that determination, takes corrective actions including isolating and discharging a battery (see Abstract; paragraphs [0006], [00082], [0129]-[0132] and figure 14). Kong futher teaches receives battery condition information representative of electrical, thermal, or other battery operating conditions. For example, Kong describes the use of sensors to monitor battery characteristics such as temperature and other operating parameters in order to detect abnormal battery conditions. Such monitored parameters constitute battery condition information representative of electrical, mechanical or thermal conditions of the battery. The control process shown in figure 14 discloses once a fault condition associated with a battery block is detected, the system evaluates the battery state and determines whether the battery should be discharged (step 1408; [0130]-[0132]). This evaluation relies on the monitored battery parameters and detected fault information to determine the appropriate response including whether to initiate discharge of the battery. Paragraph [0130] discloses, “If a suspicious 12 V block is detected operations 1406 and 1416 are performed. Operations 1406, 1408, 1410, 1412, 1414 may be performed while operations 1416, 1418, and 1420 are performed. This allows the suspicious battery block to be isolated, discharged, and checked out…” Thus Kong teaches, “determining, in response to an isolation fault condition, whether to discharge a battery based upon battery condition information.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 6504344 B1 Monitoring Battery Packs Adams; William Et Al.
Us 20200127469 A1 Battery System And Electric Vehicle Haindl; Michael Et Al.
Us 20220115878 A1 Smart Battery Disconnect Khozikov; Vyacheslav Et Al.
Us 10500962 B2 Vehicle Control Apparatus Kinoshito; Takahiro
Us 20230261331 A1 A Battery Module And A Vehicle Morton; Douglas Et Al.
Us 20200062138 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20200298722 A1 Integrated Charging System Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20200152938 A1 Modular Vehicle Battery Winger; Lyall K. Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859