DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 16 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method of dynamic toggling between voice centricity and data centricity (Liu, abstract, Embodiments of the present invention disclose a method for a handover from a circuit switched domain to a packet switched domain), the method comprising: … instructing, by the network, the at least one UE to toggle from voice centricity to data centricity (Liu, Fig. 5 step 510 and paragraph [0240], A first UE receives a handover command delivered by a source access network); and
receiving, from the at least one UE, a message confirming that the at least one UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity (Liu, paragraph [0129], The UE receives the handover command, and accesses the eNB; the UE may further send a handover complete message to the eNB; the eNB receives the handover complete message from the UE), wherein the at least one UE remains on the visited network after toggling to data centricity (Liu, paragraphs [0023]-[0024], after a handover of the first UE is complete, triggering setup of a dedicated VoIP bearer which corresponds to the first UE and is between an SGW and an MGW, or triggering setup of a dedicated VoIP bearer which corresponds to the first UE and is between the SGW and a PGW; and configuring a VoIP session parameter of the dedicated VoIP bearer, so that the dedicated VoIP bearer is used to bear a VoIP session between the first UE and the MGW (i.e., the UE remains in the target network after handover to PS or data centric network). Also see paragraph [0075], the foregoing MSC may be a visited MSC (for example, an MSC close to a target network), and may also be a serving MSC of the first UE).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses a method of dynamic toggling between voice centricity and data centricity in a network (Liu, abstract, Embodiments of the present invention disclose a method for a handover from a circuit switched domain to a packet switched domain), the method comprising: … togging, by the UE, from voice centricity to data centricity (Liu, paragraph [0009], Embodiments of the present invention provide a method for a handover from a circuit switched domain to a packet switched domain, a device, and a communications system, which help to maintain voice continuity when a UE is handed over from the CS domain to the PS domain); and
transmitting, to the network, a message confirming that the UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity (Liu, paragraph [0129], The UE receives the handover command, and accesses the eNB; the UE may further send a handover complete message to the eNB; the eNB receives the handover complete message from the UE) , wherein the UE remains on the visited network after toggling to data centricity (Liu, paragraphs [0023]-[0024], after a handover of the first UE is complete, triggering setup of a dedicated VoIP bearer which corresponds to the first UE and is between an SGW and an MGW, or triggering setup of a dedicated VoIP bearer which corresponds to the first UE and is between the SGW and a PGW; and configuring a VoIP session parameter of the dedicated VoIP bearer, so that the dedicated VoIP bearer is used to bear a VoIP session between the first UE and the MGW (i.e., the UE remains in the target network after handover to PS or data centric network). Also see paragraph [0075], the foregoing MSC may be a visited MSC (for example, an MSC close to a target network), and may also be a serving MSC of the first UE).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses a non-transitory computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by one or more processors (Liu, paragraph [0382], Persons of ordinary skill in the art should understand that part of the steps of the method according to the foregoing embodiments may be implemented by a program instructing relevant hardware (i.e., executed by a processor). The program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium), cause the processors to: … instructing the at least one UE to toggle from voice centricity to data centricity (Liu, Fig. 5 step 510 and paragraph [0240], A first UE receives a handover command delivered by a source access network); and
receive, from the at least one UE, a message confirming that the at least one UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity (Liu, paragraph [0129], The UE receives the handover command, and accesses the eNB; the UE may further send a handover complete message to the eNB; the eNB receives the handover complete message from the UE) , wherein the at least one UE remains on the visited network after toggling to data centricity (Liu, paragraphs [0023]-[0024], after a handover of the first UE is complete, triggering setup of a dedicated VoIP bearer which corresponds to the first UE and is between an SGW and an MGW, or triggering setup of a dedicated VoIP bearer which corresponds to the first UE and is between the SGW and a PGW; and configuring a VoIP session parameter of the dedicated VoIP bearer, so that the dedicated VoIP bearer is used to bear a VoIP session between the first UE and the MGW (i.e., the UE remains in the target network after handover to PS or data centric network). Also see paragraph [0075], the foregoing MSC may be a visited MSC (for example, an MSC close to a target network), and may also be a serving MSC of the first UE).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, receiving, by a visited network, a request to join the visited network from at least one user equipment (UE) that is roaming from a home network, wherein the visited network is configured to communicate using a roaming radio access technology;
determining, by the visited network, a UE radio access technology used by the at least one UE;
based on a determination that the visited network does not support voice calling for the at least one UE via the UE radio access technology and a determination that the UE radio access technology supports packet-switched data connectivity,
Regarding claim 8, transmitting a request to join the network from a user equipment (UE), wherein the request includes information on a radio access technology used by the UE;
receiving, by the UE, an instruction to toggle from voice centricity to data centricity based on a determination by the network that the radio access technology used by the UE is not supported for voice calling;
Regarding claim 16, receive, by a visited network, a request to join the visited network from at least one user equipment (UE) that is roaming from a home network, wherein the visited network is configured to communicate using a roaming radio access technology;
determine, by the visited network, a UE radio access technology used by the at least one UE;
based on a determination that the visited network does not support voice calling for the at least one UE via the UE radio access technology and a determination that the UE radio access technology supports packet-switched data connectivity.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Kumar discloses a method related to managing E-UTRAN capability of a user equipment that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, receiving, by a visited network, a request to join the visited network from at least one user equipment (UE) that is roaming from a home network (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202), wherein the visited network is configured to communicate using a roaming radio access technology (Kumar, paragraph [0047], As mentioned in FIGS. 2a and 2b, the UE has the capability to access E-UTRAN capability and camps on a visited PLMN (V1). The UE performs an attach/tracking area update request. In response to the request message, the UE receives attach/tracking area update reject message from the VPLMN (V1) with cause #14 or cause #15);
determining, by the visited network, a UE radio access technology used by the at least one UE (Kumar, paragraph [0006], However, the PLMN P1 (102) is not able to provide CS services to the UE 104 and sends accept message with cause #18 via the LTE RAT 108. The cause #18 indicates that CS services are not available in the current PLMN (Pl) 102);
based on a determination that the visited network does not support voice calling for the at least one UE via the UE radio access technology and a determination that the UE radio access technology supports packet-switched data connectivity (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202. Let us assume that the VPLMN (V1) 202 rejects the UE request message with cause #14 or #15, wherein cause #14 indicates EPS services are not available in the VPLMN and cause #15 says suitable cells for providing CS services are not available in the current tracking area. As a result of this, the UE 204 disables E-UTRAN capability and selects 2G/3G RAT 210 of the VPLMN (V1) 202 to establish a PS/CS session with the network),
Regarding claim 8, transmitting a request to join the network from a user equipment (UE) (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202), wherein the request includes information on a radio access technology used by the UE (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202. Also see paragraph [0010], sending, by the UE, a request message using the first RAT associated with the first PLMN for availing the CS services from the first RAT);
receiving, by the UE, an instruction to toggle from voice centricity to data centricity based on a determination by the network that the radio access technology used by the UE is not supported for voice calling (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202. Let us assume that the VPLMN (V1) 202 rejects the UE request message with cause #14 or #15, wherein cause #14 indicates EPS services are not available in the VPLMN and cause #15 says suitable cells for providing CS services are not available in the current tracking area. As a result of this, the UE 204 disables E-UTRAN capability and selects 2G/3G RAT 210 of the VPLMN (V1) 202 to establish a PS/CS session with the network);
Regarding claim 16, receive, by a visited network, a request to join the visited network from at least one user equipment (UE) that is roaming from a home network (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202), wherein the visited network is configured to communicate using a roaming radio access technology (Kumar, paragraph [0047], As mentioned in FIGS. 2a and 2b, the UE has the capability to access E-UTRAN capability and camps on a visited PLMN (V1). The UE performs an attach/tracking area update request. In response to the request message, the UE receives attach/tracking area update reject message from the VPLMN (V1) with cause #14 or cause #15);
determine, by the visited network, a UE radio access technology used by the at least one UE (Kumar, paragraph [0006], However, the PLMN P1 (102) is not able to provide CS services to the UE 104 and sends accept message with cause #18 via the LTE RAT 108. The cause #18 indicates that CS services are not available in the current PLMN (Pl) 102);
based on a determination that the visited network does not support voice calling for the at least one UE via the UE radio access technology and a determination that the UE radio access technology supports packet-switched data connectivity (Kumar, paragraph [0007], As shown in FIG. 2a, let us assume that the UE 204 camps on a visited PLMN (VPLMN), V1 (202) and sends an attach/TAU request message to VPLMN (V1) 202. Let us assume that the VPLMN (V1) 202 rejects the UE request message with cause #14 or #15, wherein cause #14 indicates EPS services are not available in the VPLMN and cause #15 says suitable cells for providing CS services are not available in the current tracking area. As a result of this, the UE 204 disables E-UTRAN capability and selects 2G/3G RAT 210 of the VPLMN (V1) 202 to establish a PS/CS session with the network),
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu by using the features, as taught by Kumar in order to provide a novel method for managing E-UTRAN capability of a UE during the movement to a different PLMN (see Kumar, abstract and paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 29, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein a voice/data centricity module of the visited network gathers UE information comprising radio type and UE capabilities to determine whether the at least one UE needs to switch from voice centricity to data centricity in order to remain on the visited network. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Kumar discloses a method related to managing E-UTRAN capability of a user equipment that comprises wherein a voice/data centricity module of the visited network gathers UE information comprising radio type and UE capabilities to determine whether the at least one UE needs to switch from voice centricity to data centricity in order to remain on the visited network (Kumar, paragraph [0010], According to one embodiment of the present disclosure, switching from the first RAT to the second RAT associated with the first PLMN comprises of: sending, by the UE, a request message using the first RAT associated with the first PLMN for availing the CS services from the first RAT, receiving, by the UE, a response for the request message using the first RAT, wherein the response indicates that the first RAT is unable to provide the CS services to the UE in the first PLMN, disabling, by the UE, the E-UTRAN capability in the first RAT, when the first RAT fails to provide the CS services in the first RAT, and switching, by the UE, from the first RAT to the second RAT associated with the first PLMN. Also see paragraph [0006], However, even after the PS/CS session is ended in the PLMN P2 120, the UE 104 continues to remain in the 2G/3G RAT 122 even though the PLMN P2 120 is capable of providing CS services over E-UTRAN 130 and paragraph [0012], According to one embodiment of the present disclosure, the first PLMN is one of a home public landline mobile network (HPLMN) and a visited PLMN network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu by using the features, as taught by Kumar in order to provide a novel method for managing E-UTRAN capability of a UE during the movement to a different PLMN (see Kumar, abstract and paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 3, 9, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of JAIN et al., US 2021/0029618 A1 (Jain hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 17 and 19, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1, the method of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer storage media of claim 16. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the home network supports a different radio access technology than the roaming radio access technology from the network, the radio access technology supported by the home network is voice centric, the home network radio access technology is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE), and wherein the UE radio access technology is different than the roaming radio access technology.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the UE is roaming from a home network, the home network supports a home radio access technology, the home radio access technology is different than a roaming radio access technology used by the network, the home radio access technology is voice centric, and wherein the radio access technology used by the UE is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunications service (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE), and wherein the home network radio access technology is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the at least one UE is roaming from a home network that supports a different radio access technology from the network, and wherein the home network radio access technology is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the radio access technology support by the home network is voice centric.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Jain discloses a method for an user equipment supporting enhanced coverage that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the home network supports a different radio access technology than the roaming radio access technology from the network (Jain, paragraph [0052], The UEs 101, 102 may also be Circuit Switched Fallback (CSFB) and/or IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)/Circuitry Switched (CS)-voice capable UEs. CSFB allows UEs to fall back to using GERAN (Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM)/Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) Radio Access Network), UTRAN (Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network), or some other legacy system while in E-UTRAN in order to, inter alia, initiate or receive calls via the circuit switched (CS) domain. Also see paragraph [0046], The EPC network 120 may comprise one or several HSSs 124, depending on the number of mobile subscribers, on the capacity of the equipment, on the organization of the network, etc. For example, the HSS 124 can provide support for routing/roaming, authentication, authorization, naming/addressing resolution, location dependencies, etc.), the radio access technology supported by the home network is voice centric (Jain, paragraph [0053], When a UE 101, 102 is set to "voice centric," the UE 101, 102 will always try to ensure that voice service is possible. This means that a voice centric UE 101, 102 may reselect to a 2G/3G RAN node (i.e., radio access technology that is voice centric) (for example, by disabling its E-UTRA capabilities) if voice service in E-UTRAN cannot be provided via CSFB or voice over IMS. When a UE 101, 102 is set to "data centric," the UEs 101, 102 do not disable the E-UTRAN capability if voice services cannot be obtained. This means that a data centric UE 101, 102 will not reselect to a different RAT even if voice service in E-UTRAN cannot be provided via CSFB or voice over IMS), the home network radio access technology is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE), and wherein the UE radio access technology is different than the roaming radio access technology (Jain, paragraph [0031], the connections 103 and 104 are illustrated as an air interface to enable communicative coupling, and can be consistent with cellular communications protocols, such as a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) protocol, a code-division multiple access (CDMA) network protocol, a Push-to-Talk (PTT) protocol, a PTT over Cellular (POC) protocol, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) protocol, a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) protocol, a fifth generation (5G) protocol, a New Radio (NR) protocol, and/or any of the other communications protocols discussed herein).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the UE is roaming from a home network (Jain, paragraph [0046], The EPC network 120 may comprise one or several HSSs 124, depending on the number of mobile subscribers, on the capacity of the equipment, on the organization of the network, etc. For example, the HSS 124 can provide support for routing/roaming, authentication, authorization, naming/addressing resolution, location dependencies, etc.), the home network supports a home radio access technology, the home radio access technology is different than a roaming radio access technology used by the network (Jain, paragraph [0052], The UEs 101, 102 may also be Circuit Switched Fallback (CSFB) and/or IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)/Circuitry Switched (CS)-voice capable UEs. CSFB allows UEs to fall back to using GERAN (Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM)/Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) Radio Access Network), UTRAN (Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network), or some other legacy system while in E-UTRAN in order to, inter alia, initiate or receive calls via the circuit switched (CS) domain), the home radio access technology is voice centric (Jain, paragraph [0053], When a UE 101, 102 is set to "voice centric," the UE 101, 102 will always try to ensure that voice service is possible. This means that a voice centric UE 101, 102 may reselect to a 2G/3G RAN node (i.e., radio access technology that is voice centric) (for example, by disabling its E-UTRA capabilities) if voice service in E-UTRAN cannot be provided via CSFB or voice over IMS. When a UE 101, 102 is set to "data centric," the UEs 101, 102 do not disable the E-UTRAN capability if voice services cannot be obtained. This means that a data centric UE 101, 102 will not reselect to a different RAT even if voice service in E-UTRAN cannot be provided via CSFB or voice over IMS), and wherein the radio access technology used by the UE is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunications service (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE), and wherein the home network radio access technology is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE) (Jain, paragraph [0031], the connections 103 and 104 are illustrated as an air interface to enable communicative coupling, and can be consistent with cellular communications protocols, such as a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) protocol, a code-division multiple access (CDMA) network protocol, a Push-to-Talk (PTT) protocol, a PTT over Cellular (POC) protocol, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) protocol, a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) protocol, a fifth generation (5G) protocol, a New Radio (NR) protocol, and/or any of the other communications protocols discussed herein).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the at least one UE is roaming from a home network (Jain, paragraph [0046], The EPC network 120 may comprise one or several HSSs 124, depending on the number of mobile subscribers, on the capacity of the equipment, on the organization of the network, etc. For example, the HSS 124 can provide support for routing/roaming, authentication, authorization, naming/addressing resolution, location dependencies, etc.) that supports a different radio access technology from the network (Jain, paragraph [0052], The UEs 101, 102 may also be Circuit Switched Fallback (CSFB) and/or IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS)/Circuitry Switched (CS)-voice capable UEs. CSFB allows UEs to fall back to using GERAN (Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM)/Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) Radio Access Network), UTRAN (Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network), or some other legacy system while in E-UTRAN in order to, inter alia, initiate or receive calls via the circuit switched (CS) domain), and wherein the home network radio access technology is at least one of: global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS), or long term evolution (LTE) (Jain, paragraph [0031], the connections 103 and 104 are illustrated as an air interface to enable communicative coupling, and can be consistent with cellular communications protocols, such as a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) protocol, a code-division multiple access (CDMA) network protocol, a Push-to-Talk (PTT) protocol, a PTT over Cellular (POC) protocol, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) protocol, a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) protocol, a fifth generation (5G) protocol, a New Radio (NR) protocol, and/or any of the other communications protocols discussed herein).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the radio access technology support by the home network is voice centric (Jain, paragraph [0053], When a UE 101, 102 is set to "voice centric," the UE 101, 102 will always try to ensure that voice service is possible. This means that a voice centric UE 101, 102 may reselect to a 2G/3G RAN node (i.e., radio access technology that is voice centric) (for example, by disabling its E-UTRA capabilities) if voice service in E-UTRAN cannot be provided via CSFB or voice over IMS. When a UE 101, 102 is set to "data centric," the UEs 101, 102 do not disable the E-UTRAN capability if voice services cannot be obtained. This means that a data centric UE 101, 102 will not reselect to a different RAT even if voice service in E-UTRAN cannot be provided via CSFB or voice over IMS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Jain in order to support enhanced coverage for user equipment (UE) that may operate according to a voice centric usage setting or a data centric usage setting (see Jain, paragraph [0019]).
Claim(s) 6 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of JAMADAGNI et al., US 2016/0353333 A1 (Jamadagni hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 25, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 6, further comprising accessing, by the at least one UE, a data network after toggling to data centric operation.
Regarding claim 25, wherein the visited network evaluates a voice capability profile of the at least one UE prior to instructing the toggle, the voice capability profile indicating whether the UE supports IMS, CSFB, or VoLTE.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Jamadagni discloses a method related to providing at least one service to user equipment in an IP network subsystem supporting packet based services that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 6, further comprising accessing, by the at least one UE, a data network after toggling to data centric operation (Jamadagni, paragraph [0043], FIG. 5 illustrates a method of providing a calling service to a user equipment by dynamically switching the user equipment from a voice centric mode to a data centric mode. Also see Fig. 5, step 240).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the visited network evaluates a voice capability profile of the at least one UE prior to instructing the toggle, the voice capability profile indicating whether the UE supports IMS, CSFB, or VoLTE (Jamadagni, paragraph [0034], In an embodiment, as illustrated in FIG. 4a, the network capability is advertised in a system information message. The system information message provides information indicating the network compatibility such as the network supports only LTE data services as well as OTT based voice solutions and/or voice over LTE (VoLTE). The user equipment behavior of switching between the voice centric to a data centric mode is then dictated by such a network capability reading rather than a preset Voice/Data centric settings).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Jamadagni in order to provide services, such as calling based services, though a network having packet based functionality, such as LTE (long term evolution), to the circuit switch fall back (CSFB) devices (see Jamadagni, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), in view of JAIN et al., US 2021/0029618 A1 (Jain hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further JAMADAGNI et al., US 2016/0353333 A1 (Jamadagni hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 13-14, Liu, Kumar and Jain disclose the method of claim 9. Liu, Kumar and Jain do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 13, further comprising, accessing, by the UE, a data network after toggling to data centric operation.
Regarding claim 14, further comprising accessing, by the UE an over-the-top application after toggling to data centric operation
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Jamadagni discloses a method related to providing at least one service to user equipment in an IP network subsystem supporting packet based services that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 13, further comprising, accessing, by the UE, a data network after toggling to data centric operation (Jamadagni, paragraph [0043], FIG. 5 illustrates a method of providing a calling service to a user equipment by dynamically switching the user equipment from a voice centric mode to a data centric mode. Also see Fig. 5, step 240).
Regarding claim 14, further comprising accessing, by the UE an over-the-top application after toggling to data centric operation (Jamadagni, Fig. 5 steps 240-270 and paragraphs [0046]-[0048], At step 240, the user equipment is switched from a voice centric mode to a data centric mode, wherein in said data centric mode, the user equipment is subscribed to receive only packet based services … At step 250, the user equipment is latched to the IP network subsystem in an event one of an over the top and a rich communication service allows the latching (i.e., IP network subsystem allows the user equipment to latch after receiving confirmation of dynamic switching from voice centricity to data centricity) … At step 260, the user equipment is provided with said calling services through one of an over the top and a rich communication services based scheme. The method 200 terminates at step 270).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu, Kumar and Jain by using the features, as taught by Jamadagni in order to provide services, such as calling based services, though a network having packet based functionality, such as LTE (long term evolution), to the circuit switch fall back (CSFB) devices (see Jamadagni, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of MBONYE et al., US 2018/0084401 A1 (Mbonye hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the determining that the visited network does not support native voice calling comprises determining that circuit-switched fallback (CSFB) and voice over LTE (VoLTE) roaming are both unavailable for the at least one UE.
Regarding claim 28, wherein the at least one UE is not capable of voice over LTE (VoLTE) and the visited network does not have a VoLTE roaming agreement with the home network.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Mbonye discloses a method performed by a station that identifies cells of a PLMN available for the station to camp on that comprises wherein the determining that the visited network does not support native voice calling comprises determining that circuit-switched fallback (CSFB) and voice over LTE (VoLTE) roaming are both unavailable for the at least one UE (Mbonye, paragraph [0006], determining whether the information indicates the cell supports circuit switched fallback (CSFB) voice calls; when the CSFB voice calls are not supported, determining whether at least one VoLTE property of the station satisfies a predetermined condition and causing the station to attach to the cell of the PLMN when the at least one VoLTE property satisfies the predetermined condition. Also see paragraph [0038], For example, when the station is roaming away from its HPLMN to a partner roaming network, the station 200 may be VoLTE enabled, but the partner agreements between the PLMNs may prohibit a roaming station from using VoLTE services. Such roaming agreement information may be stored in the station 200. Thus, when the station 200 is determining whether to roam to a network of a partner PLMN, the station 200 may know whether the station 200 is entitled to use VoLTE services of this partner PLMN).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the at least one UE is not capable of voice over LTE (VoLTE) and the visited network does not have a VoLTE roaming agreement with the home network (Mbonye, paragraph [0038], For example, when the station is roaming away from its HPLMN to a partner roaming network, the station 200 may be VoLTE enabled, but the partner agreements between the PLMNs may prohibit a roaming station from using VoLTE services (i.e., does not have a roaming agreement). Such roaming agreement information may be stored in the station 200. Thus, when the station 200 is determining whether to roam to a network of a partner PLMN, the station 200 may know whether the station 200 is entitled to use VoLTE services of this partner PLMN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Mbonye in order to provide a method for identifying cells having neighbor cells that supports CSFB voice calls and prioritizing the cells that are identified as having neighbor cells that support CSFB voice calls (see Mbonye, abstract).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Gellens et al., US 2017/0374538 A1 (Gellens hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 22, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose further comprising enabling the at least one UE to access one or more over-the-top (OTT) voice applications using the roaming radio access technology after receiving confirmation that the at least one UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Gellens discloses a wireless communication method that comprises further comprising enabling the at least one UE to access one or more over-the-top (OTT) voice applications using the roaming radio access technology after receiving confirmation that the at least one UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity (Gellen, paragraph [0044], In some cases, LTE/LTE-A networks may be designed for transfer of data packets, and may use a circuit switched fall back for voice communications. However, an LTE/LTE-A network may also be used for voice communications using a packet based system similar to voice over Internet protocol (VoIP) applications such as Skype. This may be accomplished using voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) technology. Also see paragraph [0107], FIG. 2A is a diagram illustrating an LTE/LTE-Advanced network architecture for eCall Over-the-Top in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. FIG. 2A exemplifies support of eCall OTT by the serving network for a terminal (i.e., not by the home network unless a terminal is served by its home network)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Gellens in order to support deployment of Next Generation (NG) emergency calls using an Over-the-Top (OTT) service provider (see Gellens, paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Tapia et al., US 2012/0224528 A1 (Tapia hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 23, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting, by the UE, a message including a toggle status flag indicating that the UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Tapia discloses a method related to a communication system with an evolved packet-switched core network architecture to enable voice services on 2G/3G wireless access network that comprises further comprising transmitting, by the UE, a message including a toggle status flag indicating that the UE has toggled from voice centricity to data centricity (Tapia, paragraph [0035], The packet-switched media bearer assigned is typically separate from the packet-switched SIP signaling bearer, and may have stringent quality-of-service (QoS) parameters ( e.g., a QoS parameter suitable for voice conversation) or other bearer parameters suitable for a voice call. To ensure sufficient call quality for example, the media bearer may have a higher QoS than the packet-switched signaling bearer or the signaling bearers used for non-voice data. At step 212, the translation module initiates a radio bearer assignment with the mobile device using circuit-switched protocols. The translation module then triggers the completion of the packet-switched media bearer assignment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Tapia in order to provide greater efficiency and capacity than conventional 2G/3G technologies (see Tapia, abstract and paragraph [0010]).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Meylan et al., US 2014/0213256 A1 (Meylan hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 24, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose wherein the instruction to toggle is based at least in part on a rule associating a network identifier of the visited network with one or more toggling policies. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Meylan discloses a method related to network selection by a mobile device that comprises wherein the instruction to toggle is based at least in part on a rule associating a network identifier of the visited network with one or more toggling policies (Meylan, paragraph [0052], After "establishing communication" with a preferred RAT the mobile device may stop all communication on the other systems and route all traffic to the preferred RAT or may continue on-going communication on the non-preferred system and only route some new traffic to the preferred RAT. The establishing communication may apply only to some selected flows or bearer, such as a default bearer. The network access policy may selectively be applied, as mentioned above, based on one or more predetermined criteria. Such predetermined criteria may include, for example, one or more of a current time of day, a current location of the mobile device, a cost of accessing one of the more than one RAT, a roaming status of the mobile device, a subscription profile of the mobile device, or a current data usage of the mobile device, or an identity of a WLAN or cellular access node. The roaming status is specific to the RAT connection and a device may be roaming on a first RAT connection and simultaneously not roaming on a second RAT connection. The identity of the access node may be a BSSID, SSID or other Network identifier, a local Cell identity, a Global Unique cell identifier or a public land mobile identifier or other relevant identifier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Meylan in order to provide an improved systems for network selection by a mobile device that enables a network selection based on a network access policy that indicates use of a radio access technology (RAT) based on one or more network characteristics (see Meylan, abstract and paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Ramachandran et al., US 2013/0183965 A1 (Ramachandran hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 26, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose wherein the instruction to toggle is based at least in part on a mapping that associates each of a plurality of radio access technologies with one or more supported services in the visited network. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Ramachandran discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises wherein the instruction to toggle is based at least in part on a mapping that associates each of a plurality of radio access technologies with one or more supported services in the visited network (Ramachandran, paragraph [0041], At 502, the UE may access a list of base stations of the first RAT, the list comprising information indicating which base stations of the first RAT support a call setup procedure for a call on at least one of the first RAT or a second RAT. The information may comprise, for example, a circuit-switched fallback (CSFB) support indicator (for a call setup on the second RAT or UMTS) or IMS voice over PS (internet protocol multimedia subsystem voice over packet switched) indicator (for a call setup on the first RAT or LTE)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Ramachandran in order to provide techniques for optimizing user equipment (UE) camping procedures in circuit-switched fallback (CSFB) (see Ramachandran, abstract and paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US 2013/0051368 A1 (Liu hereinafter), in view of KUMAR et al., US 2018/0139661 A1 (Kumar hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Keller et al., US 2016/0302168 A1 (Keller hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 27, Liu and Kumar disclose the method of claim 1. Liu and Kumar do not explicitly disclose wherein the instruction to toggle is transmitted to enable the at least one UE to remain on the visited network by receiving packet-based services via the roaming radio access technology when the visited network has shut down an older radio access technology relied upon by the at least one UE. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Keller discloses a method related to providing voice services using packet switching (PS) domain in LTE that comprises wherein the instruction to toggle is transmitted to enable the at least one UE to remain on the visited network by receiving packet-based services via the roaming radio access technology when the visited network has shut down an older radio access technology relied upon by the at least one UE (Keller, paragraph [0023], It may also be possible that these parameters are stored in the Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) which is provided by the operator. It may be determined that the UE 11 is a voice centric device. The UE 11 is configured as a voice centric device if the UE 11 shall always try to ensure that voice service is possible. If the UE 11 is served by an E-UTRAN in which CSFB and IMS voice service are not supported, it should disable E-UTRAN capability and select GERAN or UTRAN for being connected to voice services. It may be determined that the UE 11 is a data centric device. The UE 11 is configured as a data centric device if the UE 11 remains at E-UTRAN even if no voice service can be provided (i.e., shut down an older radio access technology, such as GERAN or UTRAN and remains at E-UTRAN). Also see paragraph [0027], user preference is analyzed. This user preference may indicate a preferred network to which the user of the UE preferably connects to for using a service. This user preference may take into account whether the UE attaches to a home network (Home Public Land Mobile Network, H-PLMN) to which the user of the UE has a subscription or whether the UE attaches to a Visited PLMN which is different to the home network and to which the user of the UE does not have a subscription. If the UE attaches to a H-PLMN the user of the UE will normally have better conditions regarding services and prices. If the UE attaches to a V-PLMN-the UE roams into a V-PLMN-the conditions are often worse than if the UE is attached to an H-PLMN. It may be possible that the provisioning of services, like accessing the Internet, is much more expensive ( e.g. additional roaming fees) in the V-PLMN than in the H-PLMN of the UE. If the UE of a user attaches to a V-PLMN he may change the user preference. It may be possible that if the UE is attached to a V-PLMN the Internet-service is disabled).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu and Kumar by using the features, as taught by Ramachandran in order to support legacy voice-centric devices in a data-centric network, such as, an LTE (see Keller, abstract, paragraphs [0001] and [0026]).
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 01/15/2026. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-9, 13-14, 16-17, 19 and 21-29 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/15/2026, regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 8-9, 13-14, 16-17, 19 and 21-29 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground (s) of rejection. Newly found prior art Liu in combination with Kumar disclose the amended features of the claims as discussed in the office action above.
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 02/12/2026