DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beigelman et al (WO 2021/207637, 14 October 2021).
Concerning claims 1, 7, 13 Beigelman disclose methods of treatment or prevention of coronavirus infection (see Abstract) by administering two or more virus targeting siRNAs (see paragraphs [0041-0042]). One of such siRNAs has a SEQ ID NO: 3635 (see Table 1 on page 226), which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 6:
SEQ ID NO: 6 1 TTCAACAGAACTTCCTTCCTT 21
|||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 3536 1 TTCAACAGAACTTCCTTCCTT 21
Another siRNA disclosed is of SEQ ID NO: 2279 (see Table 1 on page 208), 19 nucleotides long and fully identical to first 19 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 7:
SEQ ID NO: 7 1 TTTTAGGCTCTGTTGGTGGTT 21
|||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 2279 1 TTTTAGGCTCTGTTGGTGG 19
Further Beigelman disclose that siRNAs antisense strand can have TT overhang (see paragraph [0162]). Adding such overhang to antisense strand of SEQ ID NO: 2279 makes it identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 7.
Concerning claims 3 and 9 Beigelman disclose prevention of coronavirus infection (see paragraph [0009]), therefore it is inherent that siRNAs are administered prior to such infection and before subject exhibited any symptoms.
Concerning claims 5-6, 11-12 and 16-17 Beigelman disclose intravenous administration or by inhalation (intratracheally) (see paragraph [0052]).
Concerning claims 18-20 Beigelman disclose that the subject to administer treatment to can be mammal such as human (see paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al (US 2021/0246448, August 2021, cited from IDS).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Concerning claims 1, 7, 13 Tang disclose methods for treatment and prevention of coronavirus infection (see Abstract) by administering at least two virus targeting siRNAs (see paragraph [0009]). One of such siRNAs can be of SEQ ID NO: 408 (see sequence listing), identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1:
SEQ ID NO: 408 1 GGAAGGAAGTTCTGTTGAATT 21
|||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 1 1 GGAAGGAAGTTCTGTTGAATT 21
Another siRNA can be of SEQ ID NO: 405 (see sequence listing), first 19 nucleotides of which are identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2:
SEQ ID NO: 405 1 CCACCAACAGAGCCTAAAA 19
|||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 2 1 CCACCAACAGAGCCTAAAATT 21
Further Tang disclose that siRNAs can have overhang at 3’ end (see paragraph [0056]) such as TT (see Figure 20). Adding such overhang to SEQ ID NO: 405 makes it identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2.
Concerning claims 3 and 9 Tang disclose prevention of coronavirus infection (see Abstract), therefore it is inherent that siRNAs are administered prior to such infection and before subject exhibited any symptoms.
Concerning claims 5-6, 11-12 and 16-17 Tang disclose intravenous administration (see paragraph [0110]) or intratracheally (see paragraph [0120]).
Concerning claims 18-20 Tang disclose that the subject to administer treatment to can be mammal such as human (see paragraph [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beigelman et al, above.
Teachings of Beigelman are discussed above.
Beigelman do not teach specific timing of siRNA administration as in claims 4, 10 and 15.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify specific times to administer siRNAs as in claims 4, 10 and 15 based on teachings of Beigelman. It would be the matter of ordinary optimization to identify times of drug administration for the optimal effect.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al, above, and in further view of Beigelman et al, above.
Teachings of Tang are discussed above.
Tang do not teach treatments using siRNAs of SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and 6-7, or specific timing of siRNA administration as in claims 4, 10 and 15.
Teachings of Beigelman are discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat coronavirus infection using siRNAs of SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and 6-7 and identify specific times to administer siRNAs as in claims 4, 10 and 15 based on teachings of Tang and Beigelman. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because both references teach treatment of coronavirus infection with siRNAs identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 and 6-7. Therefore it would be reasonable to use them in the same composition, arriving at instant invention. It is obvious to combine things known separately to have the same effect (In re Kerkhoven, MPEP 2144.06). It would be the matter of ordinary optimization to identify times of drug administration for the optimal effect.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12006500. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘500 recite pharmaceutical compositions for treatment of coronavirus infection comprising siRNAs of SEQ ID NO: 402, which comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 405, which is identical to first 19 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 2, simply excluding TT overhang. Such pharmaceutical compositions can be used for treatment of coronavirus infection, same as in instant claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12006500 in view of Beigelman et al, above. Claims from ‘500 recite pharmaceutical compositions for treatment of coronavirus infection comprising siRNAs of SEQ ID NO: 402, which comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 405, which is identical to first 19 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 2, simply excluding TT overhang. Teachings of Beigelman are discussed above. It would have been obvious to use siRNAs from ‘500 in combination with siRNAs taught by Beigelman for prevention or treatment of coronavirus infection, arriving at instant invention.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637