DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/111,379 filed on 02/17/2023 is presented for examination by the Examiner. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings filed 02/17/2023 are accepted for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the Applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 02/17/2023 and 02/06/2026 are acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aashi Manglik (US-12499599-B1).
As per claim 1, Manglik teaches “A computer-implemented method for performing semantic matching in a data fabric, the method comprising”:
“accessing metadata and master data,” (col. 24 lines 30-42);
“enriching the metadata with the master data,” (col. 24 lines 30-42));
“populating knowledge graphs with the metadata enriched with the master data,” (figs. 4D-4F, 6B, 8B-8C, col. 24 lines 43-66);
“generating embeddings by a multi-layer graph neural network based on the knowledge graphs of the metadata enriched with the master data,” (figs. 5 and 6B, col. 24 lines 43-63, col. 25 lines 38-53, col. 29 lines 4-11), col. 29 lines 25-36; and
“performing semantic matching of data assets in the data fabric using the embeddings,” (figs. 8B and 8C, col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37, col. 25 lines 45-53).
As per claim 3, Manglik further shows “generating a visualization of results of the performing of the semantic matching of the data assets in the data fabric using the embeddings,’ (figs. 8B and 8C, col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37).
As per claim 5, Manglik further shows “wherein the semantic matching comprises one or more of the following in the group consisting of column matching, row matching and concept matching,” (col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37).
As per claim 7, Manglik further shows “wherein the knowledge graphs populated with the metadata enriched with the master data comprise heterogenous knowledge graphs,’ ((figs. 4D-4F, 6B, 8B-8C, col. 24 lines 43-66)).
As per claim 8, Manglik teaches “A computer program product for performing semantic matching in a data fabric, the computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage mediums having program code embodied therewith, the program code comprising programming instructions for accessing metadata and master data,” (col. 24 lines 30-42);
“enriching the metadata with the master data,” (col. 24 lines 30-42));
“populating knowledge graphs with the metadata enriched with the master data,” (figs. 4D-4F, 6B, 8B-8C, col. 24 lines 43-66));
“generating embeddings by a multi-layer graph neural network based on the knowledge graphs of the metadata enriched with the master data,’ (figs. 5 and 6B, col. 24 lines 43-63, col. 25 lines 38-53, col. 29 lines 4-11, col. 29 lines 25-36); and
“performing semantic matching of data assets in the data fabric using the embeddings,” (col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37, col. 25 lines 45-53).
As per claim 10, Manglik further shows “wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for:
generating a visualization of results of the performing of the semantic matching of the data assets in the data fabric using the embeddings,” (figs. 8B and 8C, col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37).
As per claim 12, Manglik further shows “wherein the semantic matching comprises one or more of the following in the group consisting of column matching, row matching and concept matching,” (col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37).
As per claim 14, Manglik further shows “wherein the knowledge graphs populated with the metadata enriched with the master data comprise heterogenous knowledge graphs,” (figs. 4D-4F, 6B, 8B-8C, col. 24 lines 43-66).
As per claim 15, Manglik teaches “A system, comprising”:
“a memory for storing a computer program for performing semantic matching in a data fabric,” (col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37, col. 25 lines 45-53); and
a processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions of the computer program comprising:
accessing metadata and master data,” (col. 24 lines 30-42);
“enriching the metadata with the master data,” (col. 24 lines 30-42);
“populating knowledge graphs with the metadata enriched with the master data,” (figs. 4D-4F, 6B, 8B-8C, col. 24 lines 43-66);
“generating embeddings by a multi-layer graph neural network based on the knowledge graphs of the metadata enriched with the master data,” (figs. 5 and 6B, col. 24 lines 43-63, col. 25 lines 38-53, col. 29 lines 4-11, col. 29 lines 25-36); and
“performing semantic matching of data assets in the data fabric using the embeddings,” (col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37, col. 25 lines 45-53).
As per claim 17, Manglik further shows “wherein the program instructions of the computer program further comprise:
generating a visualization of results of the performing of the semantic matching of the data assets in the data fabric using the embeddings,’ (figs. 8B and 8C, col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37).
As per claim 19, Manglik further shows “wherein the semantic matching comprises one or more of the following in the group consisting of column matching, row matching and concept matching,” (col. 24 lines 64-col. 25 lines 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S. C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Aashi Manglik (US-12499599-B1) in view of Robert Bismuth (US-20230107344-A1).
As per claim 4, Manglik teaches “A computer implemented method for performing semantic matching in a data fabric”.
Manglik does not appear to expressly disclose “wherein the data assets in the data fabric comprise tables in a database or datasets in a data catalog’.
Bismuth, however, teaches look up tables indicative of data locations for all dataset records managed by compute node [0147].
Accordingly, in the same field of endeavor, (a compute node may be implemented independent, etc..), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide the method of Manglik with the teaching of Bismuth by the data assets in the tables which help improve organization, flexibility, and maintainability.
As per claim 11, Manglik teaches “A computer program product for performing semantic matching in a data fabric”.
Manglik does not appear to expressly disclose “wherein the data assets in the data fabric comprise tables in a database or datasets in a data catalog’.
Bismuth, however, teaches look up tables indicative of data locations for all dataset records managed by compute node [0147].
Accordingly, in the same field of endeavor, (a compute node may be implemented independent, etc..), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide the method of Manglik with the teaching of Bismuth by the data assets in the tables which help improve organization, flexibility, and maintainability.
As per claim 18, Manglik teaches “A system, comprising a memory for storing a computer program for performing semantic matching in a data fabric”.
Manglik does not appear to expressly disclose “wherein the data assets in the data fabric comprise tables in a database or datasets in a data catalog’.
Bismuth, however, teaches look up tables indicative of data locations for all dataset records managed by compute node [0147].
Accordingly, in the same field of endeavor, (a compute node may be implemented independent, etc..), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide the method of Manglik with the teaching of Bismuth by the data assets in the tables which help improve organization, flexibility, and maintainability.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2, 6, 9, 13, 16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record, listed on PTO 892 provided to Applicant is considered to have relevancy to the claimed invention. Applicant should review each identified reference carefully before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the prior art.
Contact Information
May 05, 2026
/KIM T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153