Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants’ definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/25/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and rejection under U.S.C. 112 previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 8/28/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The argument is moot as it is not based on the claims as examined in the office action mailed 8/28/2025 but rather on the amended claims submitted 11/25/2025. The applicant’s cited limitations to argue against the rejection, such as “and wherein the light source and the one or more sensors are positioned on opposite sides of the solar panels such that the one or more sensors are configured to detect the amount of light passing through the solar panels and wherein the indication is related to the amount of light passing through the solar panels” are part of amendments added to the claim after mailing of the office action, and therefore not present for the previous examination and rejection. See updated rejection of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela.
Regarding Claim 1, Sun discloses:
one or more sensors configured to detect the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice; (see at least [0005] “a dust detector configured to determine a dust content at a surface of a solar assembly,”)
and one or more processors configured to perform instructions, the instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to receive an indication from the one or more sensors relating to a detection of at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice (see at least [0005] “a controller configured to control the sprinkler to clean the solar assembly in accordance with the signal from the dust detector.”)
wherein the system further comprises a light source, (see at least [0030] “the dust detector includes a light source 103. ”)
and solar panels (see at least [0026] “ a solar assembly 1 of the photovoltaic power station;”)
Sun does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the light source and the one or more sensors are positioned on opposite sides of the solar panels
such that the one or more sensors are configured to detect the amount of light passing through the solar panels
and wherein the indication is related to the amount of light passing through the solar panels.
In the same field of endeavor, Sela discloses:
and wherein the light source and the one or more sensors are positioned on opposite sides of the solar panels (see at least [Fig 3, items 33 and 50] [0077] “In an embodiment, an artificial light 33 may be placed external to casing 38 of efficiency estimator 31.”)
such that the one or more sensors are configured to detect the amount of light passing through the solar panels (see at least [0079] “Processing unit 41 may filter digital signal 40, to detect D.C. and A.C. components in the voltage generated by photovoltaic cell 50. Detected D.C. may be attributed to sunlight, whereas detected A.C. may be attributed to the artificial illumination ... As a simplistic example, if the artificial illuminator is configured to emit light at an X intensity level, and the voltage generated by photovoltaic cell 50 in response to the illumination is 0.8.times., the efficiency reduction due to dirt is 20%.”)
and wherein the indication is related to the amount of light passing through the solar panels. (see at least [0077] “In this embodiment, lack of dirt will cause essentially the entire amount of light emitted by artificial light 33 to be received by photovoltaic cell 50, while the existence of dirt 37 will cause less light to be received.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the solar panel maintenance field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to use a system in which the light and sensor are on opposite side of the solar panel in order to determine the amount of light passing through the panel to determine dirt or other debris. as taught by Sela to use the photovoltaic power generation to determine debris [0077].
Regarding Claim 6, Sun discloses:
wherein the detection of the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice comprises detection of the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice beyond a pre- determined threshold amount (see at least [0029] “The more the dust at the surface of the transparent detection plate 101, the larger the light intensity of the light beam reflected at the surface of the transparent detector plate 101. The optical fiber sensor 8 may determine the dust content at the surface of the solar assembly 1 in accordance with the light intensity, and send a signal when the light intensity exceeds the first predetermined value. When the light intensity exceeds the first predetermined value, the dust content at the surface of the solar assembly 1 meets the first predetermined condition”)
Claims 2, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela, and Dorsch (US 20210408963), herein after referred to as Dorsch.
Regarding Claim 2, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising a wired or wireless communication interface, and wherein the one or more sensors compose part of at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device.
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
further comprising a wired or wireless communication interface, (see at least [0069] “ the robot 1014 may include one or more network interface devices that are configured to communicate via any suitable wireless and/or wired communication protocol.”)
and wherein the one or more sensors compose part of at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device. (see at least [0025] “a robot 101 for cleaning solar panels" [0081] "one or more sensors of the robot 1014”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to incorporate a wired or wireless communication interface and provide that the one or more sensors compose part of at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device also comprises a brush or vacuum to actually clean the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice detected on an object.
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
wherein the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device also comprises a brush or vacuum to actually clean the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice detected on an object. (see at least [0133] “The robot wherein the cleaning assembly comprises a rotatable brush for cleaning the solar panels.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to provide that the one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device also comprises a brush or vacuum to actually clean the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice detected on an object, as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela, Dorsch (US 20210408963), herein after referred to as Dorsch, and Gavrilov (US 20190359329), herein after referred to as Gavrilov.
Regarding Claim 3, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more sensors compose at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device, and wherein the one or more sensors comprises a camera to allow the drone, robot or IoT device to be manually deployed adjacent solar panels.
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
wherein the one or more sensors compose at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device, (see at least [0025] “a robot 101 for cleaning solar panels" [0081] "one or more sensors of the robot 1014”)
and wherein the one or more sensors comprises a camera (see at least [0069] “the robot 1014 may include one or more cameras 2006 ”)
[operating] adjacent solar panels. (see at least [0027] “ the robot 101 can further include a user interface 201 (FIG. 5) coupled to the control system 161 for manually operating the robot 101. ... In some versions, however, the user interface 201 is not physically connected to the control system 161 and remote from the robot 101." [0069] "cameras 2006 configured to capture images or stream real-time video as the robot 1014 cleans a solar panel or drives around a solar panel.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to incorporate a wired or wireless communication interface and provide that the one or more sensors compose part of at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device including a camera, and to operate adjacent a solar panel, as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
In the same field of endeavor, Gavrilov discloses:
a camera to allow the drone, robot or IoT device to be manually deployed adjacent solar panels (see at least [0027] “the method may further comprise the step of transmitting a live feed of the digital camera to a display of the remote controller.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun and Dorsch to incorporate a camera to allow the drone, robot or IoT device to be manually deployed adjacent solar panels, as taught by Gavrilov to stream video to a remote controller for a solar panel cleaning drone [0027].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the layout of the solar panels and an area adjacent the solar panels can be programmed into the system, and wherein the drone or robot are configured to autonomously deploy through the area adjacent the solar panels.
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
and wherein the drone or robot are configured to autonomously deploy through the area adjacent the solar panels. (see at least [0261] “the system can traverse and clean from array to array, with or without physical human intervention, and individual robots can communicate with each other for efficiency and to limit redundancy.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to incorporate a drone or robot configured to autonomously deploy through the area adjacent the solar panels, as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025] without human intervention [0261].
In the same field of endeavor, Gavrilov discloses:
wherein the layout of the solar panels and an area adjacent the solar panels can be programmed into the system, (see at least [0021] “The controller may thus be operable to autonomously determine positioning data for an overall flight path of the UAV and navigate the UAV from the home platform to the designated surface, through the surface cleaning path, and back to the home platform”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun and Dorsch to allow for programming the layout of the solar panels and an area adjacent the solar panels into the system, as taught by Gavrilov to automatically travers the area adjacent the solar panel [0021]. Examiner interprets a drone autonomously determining the layout of the solar panels and the area adjacent for cleaning and returning to base as a form of being programmed with the layout.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 3, and Sun further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the ... device to clean at least a portion of the solar panels upon the detection of the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice. (see at least [0008] “the sprinkler includes: a water tank; a pump connected to the water tank; a sprayer connected to the pump via a pipe;" [0026] "a controller 5 configured to control the sprinkler to clean the solar assembly 1 in accordance with the signal from the dust detector”)
Sun does not explicitly disclose:
the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device to clean at least a portion of the solar panels upon the detection of the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice. (see at least [0109] “A pump mounted to the robot 101 can be used to pump cleaning fluid through the spray nozzles 151.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device for the cleaning as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 3, and Sun further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the ... device to spray a cleaning formulation onto at least a portion of the solar panels upon the detection of the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice. (see at least [0008] “the sprinkler includes: a water tank; a pump connected to the water tank; a sprayer connected to the pump via a pipe;" [0026] "a controller 5 configured to control the sprinkler to clean the solar assembly 1 in accordance with the signal from the dust detector”)
Sun does not explicitly disclose:
the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device to spray a cleaning formulation onto at least a portion of the solar panels upon the detection of the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice. (see at least [0109] “A pump mounted to the robot 101 can be used to pump cleaning fluid through the spray nozzles 151.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device for the cleaning as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
Regarding Claim 13, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 11, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising a wired or wireless communication interface, and wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to communicate, via the communication interface to a platform, data relating to at least one of the indication and the cleaning
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
further comprising a wired or wireless communication interface, (see at least [0069] “ the robot 1014 may include one or more network interface devices that are configured to communicate via any suitable wireless and/or wired communication protocol.”)
and wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to communicate, via the communication interface to a platform, (see at least [0069] “Further, the robot 1014 may include one or more network interface devices that are configured to communicate via any suitable wireless and/or wired communication protocol..”)
data relating to at least one of the indication and the cleaning. (see at least [0069] “the robot 1014 may include one or more cameras 2006 configured to capture images or stream real-time video as the robot 1014 cleans a solar panel or drives around a solar panel.") (*Examiner interprets a system which is capable of transmitting data and streaming data, and which generates data relating to the indication or cleaning, as capable to communicating via the communication interface to a platform, data relating to at least one of the indication and the cleaning.)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to include a wired or wireless communication interface, and wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to communicate, via the communication interface to a platform, data relating to at least one of the indication and the cleaning, as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 11, and Sun further discloses:
wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the ... device to spray a cleaning. (see at least [0008] “the sprinkler includes: a water tank; a pump connected to the water tank; a sprayer connected to the pump via a pipe;" [0026] "a controller 5 configured to control the sprinkler to clean the solar assembly 1 in accordance with the signal from the dust detector”)
Sun does not explicitly disclose:
the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device
In the same field of endeavor, Dorsch discloses:
wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device to spray a cleaning (see at least [0109] “A pump mounted to the robot 101 can be used to pump cleaning fluid through the spray nozzles 151.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to at least one of a drone, a robot, and an IoT device for the cleaning as taught by Dorsch to provide for cleaning solar panels in place using a mobile machine [0025].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela, and Hultermans (US 20180101826), herein after referred to as Hultermans
Regarding Claim 7, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising one or more databases communicatively coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store data relating to at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels.
In the same field of endeavor, Hultermans discloses:
further comprising one or more databases communicatively coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store data relating to at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels. (see at least [0078] “Data on dirt levels for individual luminaires are stored in the database 28; these data can be used for further analysis.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to communicatively couple a database to the one or more processors and configure it to store data relating to at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels, as taught by Hultermans to track dirt levels for analysis [0078].
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela, and Xu (CN 112183403), herein after referred to as Xu.
Regarding Claim 8, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels comprises image data.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses:
wherein the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels comprises image data. (see at least [P. 3, Ln 11-12] “performing dust detection and stain detection to the second solar panel image;”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the solar panel cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to use image data as the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels, as taught by Xu to detect dust detection on a solar panel from a captured image [Page 3].
Regarding Claim 9, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels comprises pixel data.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses:
wherein the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels comprises pixel data. (see at least [P. 12, Ln 3-7] “the pixel point in the first pixel value range is defined as the normal pixel point (i.e., no dirty pixel point; namely the pixel point of the solar panel itself); the pixel point in the range of the second pixel value is the dirty pixel point.”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the solar panel cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to use pixel data as the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels, as taught by Xu to detect dust detection on a solar panel from data on the pixels in a captured image [Page 4].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela, and Wang (CN 110404835), herein after referred to as Wang.
Regarding Claim 10, Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels comprises at least one of laser and infrared measurement data.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses:
wherein the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels comprises at least one of laser and infrared measurement data. (see at least [P. 4, Ln 34-35] “In order to ensure the accuracy of dust detection system for detecting the light emitting light source 11 adopts special infrared light source”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to use one of infrared and laser data as the data relating to the at least one of dust, dirt, snow, and ice levels, as taught by Wang to ensure accurate readings [P. 4].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20170036246), herein after referred to as Sun, in view of Sela (US 20110265840), herein after referred to as Sela, Dorsch (US 20210408963), herein after referred to as Dorsch, Gavrilov (US 20190359329), herein after referred to as Gavrilov, and Xu (CN 112183403), herein after referred to as Xu.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Sun discloses the limitations of Claim 13, but Sun does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data relating to at least one of the indication and the cleaning comprises before and after image data.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses:
wherein the data relating to at least one of the indication and the cleaning comprises before and after image data. (see at least [P. 6, Ln 13-16] “ obtaining two images of the solar panel according to the operation direction of the photovoltaic cleaning robot; respectively is the surface image of the solar panel before cleaning; and the surface image of the solar panel after cleaning;”)
The above pieces of prior art are considered analogous as they both represent inventions in the solar panel cleaning field. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to obtain before and after image data, as taught by Xu to determine the quality of the cleaning job that was performed [Page 6].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB DANIEL UNDERBAKKE/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662