DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 22 October 2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9 January 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 22 October 2026, with respect to the Objection to the Specification, specifically the Title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection to the Specification, specifically the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 22 October 2026, with respect to the Objection to Claims 2, 10 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection to Claims 2, 10 and 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2019/0165903 A1), hereinafter Lee, in view of Aiba et al (US 2018/0198657 A1), hereinafter Aiba, and further in view of Jiang et al (US 2023/0055553 A1), hereinafter Jiang.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; a user equipment (UE)/UE 60) for wireless communications (see Figure 1 and paragraph 43; for wireless communication/wireless communication system), the UE (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; the UE/UE 60) comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; a transceiver/UE 60 contains a transmitter and receiver); and
a processor (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; a processor/processor 61), wherein the transceiver and the processor (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; wherein the transceiver/(UE 60 contains a transmitter and receiver) and the processor/processor 61) are configured to:
receive a first Reference Signal (RS) in a first Resource Element (RE) set (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 69 and 85; receive/(a BS transmits) a first Reference Signal (RS)/(reference signal) in a first Resource Element (RE) set/(set of resource elements)), wherein the first RS is associated with a first RS sequence (see paragraphs 62 and 140-142; wherein the first RS/RS is associated/(in association with) with a first RS sequence/RS sequence),
generate a first signal based on the first RS (see paragraph 134; generate a first signal/(precoded CSI-RS) based on the first RS/(independent reference signal) Note: The precoded CSI-RS has an independent reference signal for each spatial layer).
Although Lee discloses receive a first Reference Signal (RS) in a first Resource Element (RE) set as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “transmit the first signal and a second RS, wherein the first signal is transmitted in a second RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set”.
However, Aiba discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the UE comprising:
transmit the first signal and a second RS (see Figures 7-8 and paragraphs 112 and 169-170; transmit/transmit the first signal/(one or more UL RSs) and a second RS/one or more UL RSs), wherein the first signal is transmitted in a second RE set (see Figures 7-8 and paragraphs 112 and 169-170; wherein the first signal/(one or more UL RSs) is transmitted/transmit in a second RE set/resource elements determined based on the following criteria. In mapping to resource elements, the positions of UL RS(s) are given by at least the frequency shift of UL RS(s)), and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set (see paragraphs 112, 123, 132 and 169-170; and wherein at least one element/(resource elements) in the first RS sequence/(demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence) is mapped/mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set/resource elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmit the first signal and a second RS, wherein the first signal is transmitted in a second RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set” as taught by Aiba in the system of Lee to improve communication flexibility (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Aiba).
Although the combination of Lee and Aiba discloses receive a first Reference Signal (RS) in a first Resource Element (RE) set as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Aiba does not explicitly disclose “wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on small-scale fading experienced by the second reference signal, small-scale fading experienced by the first signal”.
However, Jiang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the UE comprising:
wherein the processor (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 164; wherein the processor/controller/processor 459) is configured to determine, based on small-scale fading experienced by the second reference signal (see paragraphs 170-173 and 188; is configured to determine, based on small-scale fading/(small-scale fading) experienced/experienced by the second reference signal/second reference signal), small-scale fading experienced by the first signal (see paragraphs 170-173 and 188; small-scale fading/(small-scale fading) experienced/experienced by/by the/the first signal/first signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on small-scale fading experienced by the second reference signal, small-scale fading experienced by the first signal” as taught by Jiang in the combined system of Lee and Aiba to provide a scheme and device of multi-antenna related transmission in wireless communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Jiang).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; a user equipment (UE)/UE 60) for wireless communications (see Figure 1 and paragraph 43; for wireless communication/wireless communication system), the UE (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; the UE/UE 60) comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; a transceiver/UE 60 contains a transmitter and receiver); and
a processor (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; a processor/processor 61), wherein the transceiver and the processor (see Figure 22 and paragraph 218; wherein the transceiver/(UE 60 contains a transmitter and receiver) and the processor/processor 61) are configured to:
wherein a transmitter of the first signal comprises a node (see paragraphs 69 and 85; wherein a transmitter/(BS transmits) of the first signal/(precoded CSI-RS) comprises a node/BS), that receives a first RS in a first RE set (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 69 and 85; that receives/(a BS transmits) a first RS/(reference signal) in a first RE set/(set of resource elements)), and wherein an RS sequence of the first RS is a first RS sequence (see paragraphs 62 and 140-142; and wherein and RS sequence/(RS sequence) of the first RS/RS is a first RS sequence/RS sequence), and wherein the first RS received by the node is configured to generate the first signal (see paragraphs 69, 130 and 134; and wherein the first RS/(reference signal) received by the node/BS is configured to generate the first signal/precoded CSI-RS).
Although Lee discloses the first RS received by the node is configured to generate the first signal as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “receive a first signal and a second reference signal (RS), wherein the first signal occupies a second Resource Element (RE) set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to least one RE in the second RE set”.
However, Aiba discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the UE comprising:
receive a first signal and a second reference signal (RS) (see Figures 7-8 and paragraphs 112 and 169-170; receive/transmit a first signal/(one or more UL RSs) and a second reference signal (RS)/one or more UL RSs), wherein the first signal occupies a second resource element (RE) set (see Figures 7-8 and paragraphs 112 and 169-170; wherein the first signal/(one or more UL RSs) is occupies/transmit a second resource element (RE) set/resource elements determined based on the following criteria. In mapping to resource elements, the positions of UL RS(s) are given by at least the frequency shift of UL RS(s)),
and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to least one RE in the second RE set (see paragraphs 112, 123, 132 and 169-170; and wherein at least one element/(resource elements) in the first RS sequence/(demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence) is mapped/mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set/resource elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “receive a first signal and a second reference signal (RS), wherein the first signal occupies a second Resource Element (RE) set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to least one RE in the second RE set” as taught by Aiba in the system of Lee to improve communication flexibility (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Aiba).
Although the combination of Lee and Aiba discloses the first RS received by the node is configured to generate the first signal as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Aiba does not explicitly disclose “wherein small-scale fading experienced by the second RS is configured to determine small-scale fading experienced by the first signal”.
However, Jiang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the UE comprising:
wherein small-scale fading experienced by the second RS is configured to determine small-scale fading experienced by the first signal (see paragraphs 170-173 and 188; wherein small-scale fading/(small-scale fading) experienced/experienced by the second RS/(second reference signal) is configured to determine small-scale fading/(small-scale fading) experienced/experienced by/by the/the first signal/first signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein small-scale fading experienced by the second RS is configured to determine small-scale fading experienced by the first signal” as taught by Jiang in the combined system of Lee and Aiba to provide a scheme and device of multi-antenna related transmission in wireless communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Jiang).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses a method in a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the method comprising:
receiving a first Reference Signal (RS) in a first Resource Element (RE) set (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 69 and 85; receiving/(a BS transmits) a first Reference Signal (RS)/(reference signal) in a first Resource Element (RE) set/(set of resource elements)), wherein the first RS is associated with a first RS sequence (see paragraphs 62 and 140-142; wherein the first RS/RS is associated/(in association with) with a first RS sequence/RS sequence);
generating a first signal based on the first RS (see paragraph 134; generating a first signal/(precoded CSI-RS) based on the first RS/(independent reference signal) Note: The precoded CSI-RS has an independent reference signal for each spatial layer).
Although Lee discloses receiving a first Reference Signal (RS) in a first Resource Element (RE) set as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “transmitting the first signal and a second RS, wherein the first signal is transmitted in a second RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set”.
However, Aiba discloses a method in a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the method comprising:
transmitting the first signal and a second RS (see Figures 7-8 and paragraphs 112 and 169-170; transmit/transmit the first signal/(one or more UL RSs) and a second RS/one or more UL RSs), wherein the first signal is transmitted in a second RE set (see Figures 7-8 and paragraphs 112 and 169-170; wherein the first signal/(one or more UL RSs) is transmitted/transmit in a second RE set/resource elements determined based on the following criteria. In mapping to resource elements, the positions of UL RS(s) are given by at least the frequency shift of UL RS(s)), and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set (see paragraphs 112, 123, 132 and 169-170; and wherein at least one element/(resource elements) in the first RS sequence/(demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence) is mapped/mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set/resource elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmitting the first signal and a second RS, wherein the first signal is transmitted in a second RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to at least one RE in the second RE set” as taught by Aiba in the system of Lee to improve communication flexibility (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Aiba).
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Aiba, and further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Chung et al (US 2012/0008588 A1), hereinafter Chung.
Regarding Claim 3, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set”.
However, Chung discloses the UE, wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 12, 56-57 and 81; wherein each element/(resource element) in the first RS sequence/(SRS sequence) is mapped/mapped to multiple/8 REs/(resource elements) in the first RE set/resource element set), and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 72 and 76; and wherein at least one element/(resource element) in the first RS sequence/(RS sequence) is only mapped/mapped to one RE/(same resource element) in the second RE set/Figure 12 shows a resource element set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set” as taught by Chung in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to provide a method for transmitting a plurality of sounding reference signals to a base station at a user equipment in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Chung).
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set”.
However, Chung discloses the UE, wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 12, 56-57 and 81; wherein at least one element/(resource elements) in the first RS sequence/(SRS sequence) is mapped/mapped to multiple/8 REs/(resource elements) in the first RE set/resource element set), and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 72 and 76; and wherein at least one element/(resource element) in the first RS sequence/(RS sequence) is only mapped/mapped to one RE/(same resource element) in the second RE set/Figure 12 shows a resource element set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set” as taught by Chung in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to provide a method for transmitting a plurality of sounding reference signals to a base station at a user equipment in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Chung).
Regarding Claim 19, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set”.
However, Chung discloses the method, wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 12, 56-57 and 81; wherein each element/(resource element) in the first RS sequence/(SRS sequence) is mapped/mapped to multiple/8 REs/(resource elements) in the first RE set/resource element set), and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 72 and 76; and wherein at least one element/(resource element) in the first RS sequence/(RS sequence) is only mapped/mapped to one RE/(same resource element) in the second RE set/Figure 12 shows a resource element set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is mapped to multiple REs in the first RE set, and wherein at least one element in the first RS sequence is only mapped to one RE in the second RE set” as taught by Chung in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to provide a method for transmitting a plurality of sounding reference signals to a base station at a user equipment in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Chung).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Aiba, and further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Noh et al (US 2012/0257553 A1), hereinafter Noh.
Regarding Claim 5, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “receive a first signaling indicative of the first RE set”.
However, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
receive a first signaling indicative of the first RE set (see Figure 13 and paragraphs 6-8, 12-14 and 81; receive/(a base station transmits) a first signaling/(received signal) indicative of the first RE set/a resource element set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “receive a first signaling indicative of the first RE set” as taught by Noh in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to increase the reliability of wireless communication (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Noh).
Regarding Claim 6, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “receive first Channel State information (CSI), wherein the first signal is configured to generate the first CSI”.
However, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
receive first Channel State information (CSI) (see paragraph 14; receive/received first Channel State information (CSI)/CSI-RS), wherein the first signal is configured to generate the first CSI (see paragraphs 8 and 14; wherein the first signal/(received signal) is configured to generate/generating the first CSI/CSI-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “receive first Channel State information (CSI), wherein the first signal is configured to generate the first CSI” as taught by Noh in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to increase the reliability of wireless communication (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Noh).
Regarding Claim 13, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “transmit a first CSI, wherein the first signal is configured to generate the first CSI”.
However, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
transmit a first CSI (see paragraph 14; transmit/received a first CSI/CSI-RS), wherein the first signal is configured to generate the first CSI (see paragraphs 8 and 14; wherein the first signal/(received signal) is configured/configured to generate/generating the first CSI/CSI-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmit a first CSI, wherein the first signal is configured to generate the first CSI” as taught by Noh in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to increase the reliability of wireless communication (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Noh).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Aiba, and further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Yao et al (US 2023/0262452 A1), hereinafter Yao.
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Aiba and Jiang does not explicitly disclose “transmit a third information block indicating that computing power of the UE is fully occupied”.
However, Yao discloses the UE, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to:
transmit a third information block indicating that computing power of the UE is fully occupied (see Figure 6, step 604a paragraphs 180 and 184; transmit/sends a third information block/(UEAssistanceInformation) indicating that computing power of the UE is fully occupied/reducedMIMO-LayersFR1-UL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmit a third information block indicating that computing power of the UE is fully occupied” as taught by Yao in the combined system of Lee, Aiba and Jiang to provide indication information indicating a quantity of cells except a primary cell to which a capability of the terminal is to be reduced (see paragraph 13 of Yao).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14-16, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andersson et al (US 2016/0285605 A1) discloses Dynamic DM-RS Sequence Selection by PQL Indicator. Specifically, see paragraphs 17-53.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469