DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on the record are in compliance with the content requirements of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 and have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of springs and a plurality of engaging members distributed rotationally about the actuatable assembly interface” (claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a fluid shutoff mechanism to reversibly shut off fluid communication between the first fluid reservoir and the second fluid reservoir” (claim 1) and “a keyed locking mechanism configured to allow attachment and removal of the actuatable assembly interface to and from the actuatable assembly only when the fluid communication between the first and second fluid reservoirs is shut off’ (claim 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarez et al (U.S. Pub. 2016/0000982 A1, hereinafter “Alvarez’”) in view of Shekalim (U.S. Pub. 2008/0281276 A1, hereinafter “Shekalim”).
Regarding claim 1, Alvarez discloses an apparatus for expression of breast milk from a breast, the apparatus comprising:
a breast interface, e.g., 2210 (Fig. 22) configured to receive and fluidly seal against the breast, the breast interface comprising a first fluid reservoir (the space within the breast interface 2210 in which fluid 2220 is located; see Fig. 22 and para [0018]);
an actuatable assembly interface 2300 (Fig. 22) configured to removably couple to an actuatable assembly 2205 (Fig. 22), the actuatable assembly interface comprising a second fluid reservoir, e.g., the space within the interface 2300 in which fluid 2220 is located (Fig. 22; see also para [0018]); and
a tube, 2215 (Fig. 22) having a first end coupled to the breast interface and a second end coupled to the actuatable assembly interface, such that the first fluid reservoir and the second fluid reservoir are in fluid communication (Fig. 22), and
wherein the first fluid reservoir, the second fluid reservoir, and the tube are filled with a driving fluid 2220 (Fig. 22; see also para [0055] describing the driving fluid).
It is noted that Alvarez does not appear to disclose that the actuatable assembly interface comprises a fluid shutoff mechanism to reversibly shut off fluid communication between the first fluid reservoir and the second fluid reservoir.
Shekalim discloses an actuatable assembly interface (i.e. an infusion set; Figs. 3 and 5-7) for fluid communication between two areas (i.e., the infusion set 500 and the skin), comprising a fluid shutoff mechanism (a spring, which is a combination of 7 or 10 along with member 5; see Figs. 4 and 5, respectively; the “fluid shutoff mechanism” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph to be a material spring (see Applicant’s published specification at para [0077])) to reversibly shut off fluid communication between a first fluid reservoir (such as flexible tubing connected to the infusion set; Fig. 5) and a second reservoir (Such as a cannula 3; Fig. 7). Specifically, when the actuatable assembly is removed from the interface, the member 7 or 10 releases the member 5 into a position to pinch a tubing and shut off fluid communication between the reservoirs (Figs. 4B or 7). When the actuatable assembly is placed back on the interface, the member 7 or 10 is compressed such that the member 5 moves out of the pinching configuration to enable fluid communication between the reservoirs (Figs. 4A or 6). In this way, the fluid shutoff mechanism can shut off fluid communication reversibly.
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the actuatable assembly interface of Alvarez to include a fluid shutoff mechanism as taught in Shekalim, in order to prevent fluid leakage in the event of an intentional or unintentional (e.g., caused by a malfunction) removal of the actuatable assembly interface from the area which is to receive the fluid (see Shekalim at paras [001 7]- [0018]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Alvarez discloses that the driving fluid has a density higher than that of air, and is an incompressible fluid (i.e., the fluid is hydraulic fluid which is known to those of ordinary skill in the art to be denser than air and substantially or completely incompressible in order to generate a hydraulic force; para [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Alvarez discloses that the breast interface comprises a first housing (shown to be the cup-shaped member in Fig. 22) and a distal membrane 2210 (Fig. 22) coupled thereto to form the first fluid reservoir therebetween (see Fig. 22), wherein the actuatable assembly interface comprises a second housing 2225 (Fig. 23) and a proximal membrane 2230 (Fig. 22) coupled thereto to form the second fluid reservoir therebetween, and wherein the distal and proximal membranes are flexible to allow movement of the driving fluid into or out of the first and second fluid reservoirs (para [0079)]).
Regarding claim 5, Alvarez discloses that the proximal membrane is configured to seal against an actuatable assembly membrane when the actuatable assembly interface is coupled to the actuatable assembly, wherein the actuatable assembly membrane is coupled with a driver mechanism of the actuatable assembly, such that movement of the actuatable assembly membrane in response to actuation of the driver mechanism causes corresponding movement of the proximal membrane (para [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Alvarez discloses that the proximal membrane comprises a structure configured to allow air trapped between the proximal membrane and the actuatable assembly membrane to exit (para [0013]), but does not disclose that the structure is a sealing flap (Alvarez discloses that the structure is a “one-way valve”: para [0013]).
However, Alvarez teaches the use of valves that are formed as sealing flaps (see, e.g., para [0053] describing a flap valve, which is interpreted to be a valve formed as a sealing flap).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the one-way valve of Alvarez to be a sealing flap, since Alvarez suggests that sealing flaps are well-known in the art for forming valves, and would result in a reasonable expectation of success in performing the functions of a one-way valve.
Regarding claim 7, Alvarez discloses that the second housing of the actuatable assembly interface comprises a tube receiving member 2305 (Fig. 23) configured to couple to the second end of the tube, the tube receiving member defining a bore that is in fluid communication with the second fluid reservoir through an opening in the second housing (i.e., the tubing 2215 is inserted into the bore; see Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 8, Alvarez does not appear to disclose that the tube receiving member comprises a barbed region configured to receive the tube thereover and form a fluid seal thereagainst.
However, in another part of the device, Alvarez discloses a barbed region configured to receive a member and form a fluid seal thereagainst (i.e., a drain port 1906 with associated seal 1904 is depicted as a barbed member which receives a milk collecting vessel 275; see Figs. 3 and 19 and paras [0054] and [0074]).
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the tube receiving member of Alvarez to comprise a barbed region, based on the teaching in Alvarez of such a structure being expected to provide a sealing function to prevent leakage of fluid (para [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Alvarez does not appear to disclose that the actuatable assembly interface further comprises a barbed adaptor configured to fit within and fluidly seal against the bore of the tube receiving member, the barbed adaptor comprising a barbed region configured to receive the tube thereover and form a fluid seal thereagainst.
However, in another part of the device, Alvarez discloses a barbed region configured to receive a member and form a fluid seal thereagainst (i.e., a drain port 1906 with associated seal 1904 is depicted as a barbed member which receives a milk collecting vessel 275; see Figs. 3 and 19 and paras [0054] and [0074]).
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the actuatable assembly interface to comprise a barbed adaptor to fit within and fluidly seal against the bore of the tube receiving member, based on the teaching in Alvarez of such a structure being expected to provide a sealing function to prevent leakage of fluid (para [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that Alvarez does not disclose that the shutoff mechanism (as described in Shekalim) is configured to shut off fluid communication between the first and second fluid reservoirs in response to detachment of the actuatable assembly interface from the actuatable assembly and re-open the fluid communication in response to attachment of the actuatable assembly interface to the actuatable assembly.
However, provided that the shutoff mechanism in Shekalim is designed specifically to shut off fluid communication between the first and second fluid reservoirs in response to the actuatable assembly's interface detachment from another area (e.g., the skin surface; see Fig. 7), and to re-open the fluid communication in response to attachment of the actuatable assembly interface to the area (Figs. 5-6), a skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the combination so that the shutoff mechanism is configured to shut off and re-open fluid communication in response to detachment and attachment, respectively, of the actuatable assembly interface to the actuatable assembly, for the purpose of preventing fluid leakage in the event of a failure of the arrangement coupling the actuatable assembly interface to the actuatable assembly (see Shekalim at paras [0017]-[0018] describing the advantage of the shutoff mechanism as responding to at least partial failure of a retention arrangement retaining the infusion set to the skin surface).
Regarding claim 11, a skilled artisan would understand that the combination of Alvarez and Shekalim would produce the fluid shutoff mechanism being configured to simultaneously secure coupling of the actuatable assembly interface to the actuatable assembly and release pinching of the tube to open the tube and to simultaneously release coupling of the actuatable assembly interface to the actuatable assembly and pinch the tube closed. Specifically, when the actuatable assembly interface is secured to the actuatable assembly, the shutoff mechanism would expectedly be in its position shown in Figs. 4A and 6 where the member 7 or 10 is compressed and the member 5 releases pinching of the tube; and when the actuatable assembly interface is decoupled from the actuatable assembly, the shutoff mechanism would expectedly move into its position shown in Figs. 4B and 8 whereby the expansion of the member 7 or 10 causes the member 5 to pinch the tube closed.
Regarding claim 12, it is noted that the combination of Alvarez and Shekalim does not appear to disclose the fluid shutoff mechanism is configured to secure or release the coupling of the actuatable assembly interface to the actuatable assembly and simultaneously release or pinch the tube via rotational movement of the actuatable assembly interface with respect to the actuatable assembly.
However, Shekalim discloses that an adhesive may be provided on the underside of the infusion set to secure the infusion set to the area to which fluid is to be delivered (paras [0008], [0054], [0068]). At the time that the adhesive would expectedly secure and release the coupling of the actuatable assembly, the member 5 would expectedly be moved into the position to pinch the tube closed (as shown in Figs. 5-6).
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the combination of Alvarez and Shekalim accordingly, e.g., by adding an adhesive between the actuatable assembly interface and the actuatable
assembly, in order to retain the interface and assembly together (see Shekalim at para [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Alvarez and Shekalim discloses that the fluid shutoff mechanism (described in Shekalim) comprises one or more springs 7 or 10 (Figs. 4B and 5-7, respectively) and one or more engaging members 5 (Figs. 4B and 5- 7) configured to engage the one or more springs in a first configuration (Fig. 7) and a second configuration (Figs. 5-6). Based on the explanation above with respect to claims 10 and 11 above, a skilled artisan would understand that the first configuration would correspond to the actuatable assembly interface attached to the actuatable assembly, and the second configuration would correspond to the actuatable assembly interface detached from the actuatable assembly.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Alvarez and Shekalim discloses the apparatus as in claim 13, wherein the one or more springs are configured such that a greater force is required to disengage the one or more engaging members from the one or more springs in the first configuration than in the second configuration (when in the second configuration, the actuatable assembly interface is detached from the actuatable assembly so that no force is required to disengage the one or more engaging members from the one or more springs; and in the first configuration, there exists some force required to disengage the one or more engaging members from the one or more springs).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,583,616, hereinafter “the ‘616 patent”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent include all the limitations of the present claims (i.e., the present claims are broader than the patent claims and thus anticipate the pending claims).
Further, claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,610,625, hereinafter “the ‘625 patent”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent include all the limitations of the present claims.
Further, claims 10, 11 and 14 are rejected for not being patentably distinct from claim 1 of the ‘625 patent (i.e., claim 1 of the ‘625 patent includes all the subject matter of instant claims 10, 11 and 14).
Further, claim 15 is rejected for not being patentably distinct from claim 11 of the ‘625 patent (i.e., claim 11 of the ‘625 patent includes all the subject matter of instant claim 15).
Further, claim 16 is rejected for not being patentably distinct from claim 12 of the ‘625 patent (i.e., claim 12 of the ‘625 patent includes all the subject matter of instant claim 16).
Further, claim 17 is rejected for not being patentably distinct from claim 13 of the ‘625 patent (i.e., claim 12 of the ‘625 patent includes all the subject matter of instant claim 17).
Further, claim 18 is rejected for not being patentably distinct from claim 14 of the ‘625 patent (i.e., claim 13 of the ‘625 patent includes all the subject matter of instant claim 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14, 16, 17 and 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and pending resolution of the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
11/26/2025