DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 6-9 are distorted. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 14-15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-8, 12 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/112,009 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending reference claims are narrower than the current application claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application
Application#18/112,009
Claim 1:
A wireless charging device, configured to charge at least one electronic device, comprising:
a casing, having an interior space, at least one air inlet, an air outlet and a support surface, wherein the at least one air inlet and the air outlet are in fluid communication with the interior space [1], the support surface faces away from the interior space [2], the support surface has at least one placement region [3], the at least one placement region is located at one side of the at least one air inlet [4], and
the at least one placement region is configured for the at least one electronic device to be placed thereon [5];
a wireless charging module, disposed in the interior space and corresponding to the at least one placement region [6]; and
a fan, disposed in the interior space and configured to suck air into the interior space through the at least one air inlet and blow air out of the interior space through the air outlet [7].
Claim 1:
A wireless charging device, configured to charge two electronic devices, comprising:
a casing, having an interior space, at least one air inlet, an air outlet and a support surface, wherein the at least one air inlet and the air outlet are in fluid communication with the interior space [1], the support surface faces away from the interior space [2], the support surface has two placement regions [3],
the at least one air inlet is located between the two placement regions [4, this means the placement region is on one side of the placement region], and
the two placement regions are configured for the two electronic devices to be placed thereon [5, two devices meets the limitation “at least one”];
a wireless charging module, disposed in the interior space and corresponding to the two placement regions [6]; and
a fan, disposed in the interior space and configured to suck air into the interior space through the at least one air inlet and blow air out of the interior space through the air outlet [7].
Claim 2:
The wireless charging device according to claim 1, wherein the casing has an inner top surface [1], an inner bottom surface [2] and a partition [3], the inner top surface faces away from the support surface [4], the inner bottom surface faces the inner top surface [5], the partition protrudes from the inner top surface so as to divide the interior space into a drainage channel and an accommodation area [6], the casing further has at least one drainage hole [7], the at least one drainage hole is located at the inner bottom surface [8], the at least one air inlet and the at least one drainage hole is in fluid communication with the drainage channel [9], the air outlet is located at the inner bottom surface and in fluid communication with the accommodation area [10], and at least part of the wireless charging module and the fan are located in the accommodation area [11].
Claim 3 (claim 2+claim3)
Claim 2:
The wireless charging device according to claim 1, further comprising a partition, wherein the partition is connected to the casing and located in the interior space [6], the partition divides the interior space into a drainage channel and an accommodation area [6], the casing further has at least one drainage hole [7], the at least one air inlet and the at least one drainage hole are in fluid communication with the drainage channel [9], the air outlet is in fluid communication with the accommodation area [10], and at least part of the wireless charging module and the fan are located in the accommodation area [1]].
Claim 3:
wherein the casing further has an inner top surface [1], an inner bottom surface [2] and an embankment wall, the inner top surface faces away from the support surface [4], the inner bottom surface faces the inner top surface [5], the air outlet and the at least one drainage hole are located at the inner bottom surface [10], the embankment wall protrudes from the inner bottom surface, the partition is fixed to the inner top surface [6], an opening is formed between the partition and the inner bottom surface, and the embankment wall covers the opening.
Claim 3:
The wireless charging device according to claim 2, wherein an opening is formed between the partition and the inner bottom surface [1], the casing further has an embankment wall [2], the embankment wall protrudes from the inner bottom surface [3], and the embankment wall covers the opening [4].
Claim 3:
… wherein the casing further has … an embankment wall [2]… the embankment wall protrudes from the inner bottom surface [3]…
an opening is formed between the partition and the inner bottom surface [1], and the embankment wall covers the opening [4].
Claim 4:
The wireless charging device according to claim 3, wherein the embankment wall divides the inner bottom surface into a first region and a second region, at least part of the first region corresponds to the drainage channel, the second region corresponds to the accommodation area, the first region has at least one drainage slope, the at least one drainage slope has a first side and a second side located opposite to each other, a distance from the first side to the inner top surface is smaller than a distance from the second side to the inner top surface, and the second side is located between the first side and the at least one drainage hole.
Claim 7:
The wireless charging device according to claim 3, wherein the embankment wall divides the inner bottom surface into a first region and a second region, at least part of the first region corresponds to the drainage channel, the second region corresponds to the accommodation area, the first region has at least one drainage slope, the at least one drainage slope has a first side and a second side located opposite to each other, a distance from the first side to the inner top surface is smaller than a distance from the second side to the inner top surface, and the second side is located between the first side and the at least one drainage hole.
Claim 5:
The wireless charging device according to claim 4, wherein the quantity of the at least one drainage hole and the quantity of the at least one drainage slope both are two, the two drainage slopes are symmetrical to each other, and the two drainage slopes are located between the two drainage holes.
Claim 8:
The wireless charging device according to claim 7, wherein the quantity of the at least one drainage hole and the quantity of the at least one drainage slope both are two, the two drainage slopes are symmetrical to each other, and the two drainage slopes are located between the two drainage holes.
Claim 14:
The wireless charging device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless charging module comprises a circuit board and at least one coil assembly [1], the circuit board is located closer to the fan than the at least one coil assembly [2], the circuit board has at least one heat source, and the at least one heat source is located close to an air inlet side of the fan [3].
Claim 15:
The wireless charging device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless charging module comprises a circuit board and two coil assemblies [1], the two coil assemblies respectively correspond to the two placement regions, the circuit board is located closer to the fan than the two coil assemblies [2], the circuit board has at least one heat source, and the at least one heat source is located close to an air inlet side of the fan [3].
Claim 15:
The wireless charging device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one support pad [1], wherein the at least one support pad is disposed in the at least one placement region [2].
Claim 12:
The wireless charging device according to claim 1, further comprising two support pads [1], wherein the two support pads are respectively disposed at the two placement regions [2], each of the two support pads has a plurality of protrusions, the plurality of protrusions are configured to support the two electronic devices, and the plurality of protrusions form a plurality of channels towards the at least one air inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUI et al. (US 2021/0185854 A1, hereinafter SUI).
Regarding claim 1, SUI discloses a wireless charging device, configured to charge at least one electronic device (See Fig.1, discloses a wireless charger 100 for charging an electronic device 200), comprising:
a casing, having an interior space (See Fig.1 and Par.36, disclose a housing 101 comprising an interior space), at least one air inlet (See Fig.1 and Par.36, disclose air inlets 106), an air outlet (See Fig.1 and Par.36, disclose openings 107 for letting air out) and a support surface (See Fig.1, discloses the housing 101 includes a first surface (an upper surface of the wireless charging device 100)), wherein the at least one air inlet and the air outlet are in fluid communication with the interior space (See Fig.1, discloses the air inlet 106 and outlet 107 are in fluid communication with the interior such that air enters through the inlet, flows through the interior and out of the outlet), the support surface faces away from the interior space (See Fig.1, the top surface faces away from the inside of the housing 101), the support surface has at least one placement region (See Fig.1, discloses an area for accepting an electronic device), the at least one placement region is located at one side of the at least one air inlet (See Fig.1, disclose an area between air inlets 106), and the at least one placement region is configured for the at least one electronic device to be placed thereon (See Fig.1, discloses an electronic device placed on the placement region);
a wireless charging module, disposed in the interior space and corresponding to the at least one placement region (See Fig.1 and Par.36, disclose a ferrite and an attached coil module 102 corresponding to the placement area); and
a fan, disposed in the interior space and configured to suck air into the interior space through the at least one air inlet and blow air out of the interior space through the air outlet (See Fig.1 and Par.104, disclose an axial flow fan which sucks air through inlet 106 and out of the outlet 107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI.
Regarding claim 14, SUI discloses the wireless charging device according to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the wireless charging module comprises a circuit board (See Fig.1, Item#103, discloses a PCB) and at least one coil assembly (See Fig.1, Item#102 and Par.36, disclose a ferrite and an attached coil module 102), the circuit board has at least one heat source ( Par.49, discloses the PCB generates heat, the examiner explains that the PCB includes components such converter circuitry which generates heat), and the at least one heat source is located close to an air inlet side of the fan (See Fig.1, , disclose a fan 104 comprising an inlet. The term close does not pose a restriction on the structure. Inlet of the fan 104 is considered close to the PCB).
However, SUI does not explicitly disclose the circuit board is located closer to the fan than the at least one coil assembly.
The examiner however explains that it would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SUI by placing the fan closer to the circuit board than to the coil for since the circuit board generates more heat and has a higher chance of damage caused by the generated heat for the benefit of providing priority to dissipating the generated heat from the PCB.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of KISHIMA et al. (US 2015/0084591 A1, hereinafter KISHIMA).
Regarding claim 2, SUI discloses the wireless charging device according to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the casing has an inner top surface (See Fig.1, discloses a top surface on which electronic device 200 is placed, the top surface has an interior side facing the components inside), an inner bottom surface (See Fig.1, discloses a bottom housing having a surface facing the PCB 103), the inner top surface faces away from the support surface (See Fig.1, the support surface is the surface supporting mobile phone 200, the opposite side is the inner top surface and faces away from it), the inner bottom surface faces the inner top surface (See Fig.1, inner bottom surface faces the bottom side of the top surface on which the mobile phone 200 rests), the air outlet is located at the inner bottom surface and in fluid communication with the accommodation area, and at least part of the wireless charging module and the fan are located in the accommodation area (See Fig.1, discloses the air outlet 107 is at the inner bottom surface and in fluid communication with wireless charging module 102 and PCB 103 in the accommodation area).
However, SUI does not disclose a partition, the partition protrudes from the inner top surface so as to divide the interior space into a drainage channel and an accommodation area, the casing further has at least one drainage hole, the at least one drainage hole is located at the inner bottom surface, the at least one air inlet and the at least one drainage hole is in fluid communication with the drainage channel.
KISHIMA discloses a charger housing comprising a partition to divide the interior space into a drainage channel and an accommodation area (See Figs.6 and 8 and Pars.71-72, disclose a closing member 25 at the top surface comprising an extending portion 251. The extending portion separates the drainage channel formed by 250+251 from the accommodation area and water falls through drainage port 3c), the casing further has at least one drainage hole, the at least one drainage hole is located at the inner bottom surface (See Fig.8, Item#3C), the at least one air inlet and the at least one drainage hole is in fluid communication with the drainage channel (The examiner explains SUI discloses an air inlet at the top and KISHIMA discloses a drainage at the bottom. Fluid such as water or air entering the charger trough the top will find its way through the drainage hole).
SUI and KISHIMA are analogous art since they both deal with charger structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed SUI with the teachings of KISHIMA by adding the partition wall for the benefit of protecting the charger components by directing the water away from the interior circuit components.
Regarding claim 3, SUI and KISHIMA disclose the wireless charging device according to claim 2 as discussed above, wherein an opening is formed between the partition and the inner bottom surface (See KISHIMA, discloses the inclining portion 250 has a hole at the bottom).
However, SUI and KISHIMA as applied to claim 2 do not disclose the casing further has an embankment wall, the embankment wall protrudes from the inner bottom surface, and the embankment wall covers the opening.
KISHIMA further discloses an embankment wall, the embankment wall protrudes from the inner bottom surface, and the embankment wall covers the opening (See Fig.8 and Par.66, disclose a waterproofing wall 34B that extends from the lower casing 3 and covers the hole of the sloped portion 251).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SUI and KISHIMA as applied to claim 2 with the further teachings of KISHIMA by adding the embarkment wall for the benefit of waterproofing the circuit components by isolating them from the drainage area (See KISHIMA Par.68).
Regarding claims 4-5, SUI and KISHIMA disclose the wireless charging device according to claim 3 as discussed above, wherein the embankment wall divides the inner bottom surface into a first region and a second region, at least part of the first region corresponds to the drainage channel (See KISHIMA, Figs.7A and Fig.8, disclose a drainage area 35B comprising drain 3c. The drain 3c corresponds to embarkment wall 34B), the second region corresponds to the accommodation area (See KISHIMA, Fig.7A, discloses accommodation area outside area 35B and Par.68 discloses drainage area 35B is waterproofed by embankment wall 34B), the first region has at least one drainage slope (See KISHIMA, Fig.8, and Par.71, disclose inclined portion 250+251), the at least one drainage slope has a first side and a second side located opposite to each other, a distance from the first side to the inner top surface is smaller than a distance from the second side to the inner top surface, and the second side is located between the first side and the at least one drainage hole (See KISHIMA, discloses the distance between the bottom part of sloping portion 251 is less than from the top portion of the sloping portion 251 and the side 2. Fig.8, discloses two drainage slopes 25A and 250 and Fig.7A, discloses 2 drainage hole 3c).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of WU et al. (US 2007/0053771A1, hereinafter WU).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, SUI discloses the wireless charging device according to claim 1 as discussed above, However SUI does not disclose wherein the casing has a step structure, the step structure protrudes from the support surface, the step structure has a windward surface, the windward surface stands on the support surface, and the at least one air inlet is located at the windward surface.
WU discloses an electronic product comprising a housing, the housing has a step structure, the step structure protrudes from the support surface (See Fig.2, Item#16), the step structure has a windward surface, the windward surface stands on the support surface (See Fig.2, discloses the step structure 16 stands on support surface 10), and the at least one air inlet is located at the windward surface (See Fig.2 and Par.6, discloses air vents on the step part 16. The windward surface is perpendicular to the holding surface 10).
SUI and WU are analogous art since they both deal with heat dissipation structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SUI with the teachings of WU by adding a step comprising vents for the benefit of improving the heat dissipation properties of the casing.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of SELBY et al. (US 12,046,938 B2, hereinafter SELBY).
Regarding claim 15, SUI discloses the wireless charging device according to claim 1 as discussed above, however SUI does not disclose further comprising at least one support pad, wherein the at least one support pad is disposed in the at least one placement region.
SELBY discloses a wireless charger comprising at least one support pad, wherein the at least one support pad is disposed in the at least one placement region (See Col.9, line 54 to Col.10, line 3, and Fig.7, Item#320, disclose a pad comprising an anti-skid surface).
SUI and SELBY are analogous art since they both deal with wireless chargers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SUI with the teachings of SELBY by adding the disclosed pad for the benefit of preventing the electronic devices from sliding over the charging surface.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of WU and in further view of YANG (CN 212219929 U, hereinafter YANG).
Regarding claim 7, SUI and WU disclose the wireless charging device according to claim 6 as discussed above, However, SUI and WU do not disclose wherein the casing has at least one water-proof structure, the at least one water-proof structure protrudes from the support surface and is located in the at least one air inlet.
YANG teaches a casing comprising ventilation slots having water-proof structure, the water-proof structure protrudes from the support surface and is located in the at least one air inlet (See Par.17, discloses ventilation slots distributed in a matrix and inclined at a 45-degree angle to prevent water droplets from entering the interior).
SUI, WU and YANG are analogous art since they all deal with structure for heat dissipation and waterproofing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SUI and WU with the teachings of YANG by adding inclined ventilation slots for the benefit of preventing water from entering through the inlet.
Regarding claim 8, SUI, WU and YANG disclose the wireless charging device according to claim 7 as discussed above, However, SUI, WU and YANG as applied to claim 7 do not disclose wherein the quantities of the at least one air inlet and at least one water-proof structure are plural, and the water- proof structures are respectively located in the air inlets (See
WU further teaches the step comprising a plurality of vents (See Fig.2, discloses the step structure 16 comprising a plurality of vents).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by as applied to claim 7 with the further teachings of WU by adding a plurality of air inlets and adding the inclined ventilations slots for the benefit of increasing the heat dissipation efficiency while providing protection against water entry into the housing.
Regarding claims 9-10, SUI, WU and YANG disclose the wireless charging device according to claim 7, wherein the at least one water- proof structure has an inclined guide surface, and the inclined guide surface is at an obtuse angle to the support surface (See Par.17, discloses ventilation slots distributed in a matrix and inclined at a 45-degree angle to prevent water droplets from entering the interior the examiner explains that 45 degree with respect to one surface is 135 with respect to another such that the water does not enter the housing).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of WU and in further view of SELBY.
Regarding claims 11-12, SUI and WU disclose the wireless charging device according to claim 6 as discussed above, However, SUI and WU do not disclose wherein the quantity of the at least one placement region is two, the two placement regions are respectively configured for two electronic devices to be placed thereon, and the windward surface faces the two placement regions.
SELBY discloses a wireless charger comprising two placement regions (See Col.10, lines 13-37 and Fig.7-8, discloses two retaining spaces 338A and 338B and a partition bar 335 separating the two spaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SUI and WU with the teachings of SELBY by adding a second placement area and a bar to separate the first area and the second area for the benefit of providing two separate areas each for charging a separate electronic device.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859