Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 07/01/2026, claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1, 10, and 13 are amended. Claim 15 is new. No claims are presently cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Claims are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-9 and 12-13 and have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues (pp. 8, item 2) that “Liu Does Not Teach a Work Field Lighting Configured to Visualize Charging of the Battery”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets the term “work field lighting” does not specifically indicate a single light feature in a single location. The term “lighting” is commonly known to refer to either a single light source or a plurality of light sources in a space. This interpretation is further supporting the instant application’s disclosure, wherein ¶ [52] describes that “the LEDs 251, 252 are provided for creating the work field lighting 160”. Further, the applicant’s Fig. 2 depicts “LED 251” and “LED 252” to also be in two different locations on the power tool.
Thus, the examiner interprets Liu’s work field lighting (combo of “lamp unit 62” and “auxiliary lamp 7”; may also map to “62” on its own, as discussed infra) to be within the limitations of the current claim language, in view of the instant application’s disclosure.
Further, the examiner interprets Liu’s feature “62” to also independently read on the current claim language for “work field lighting”. Liu’s “62” illuminates “to generate light continuously” while driving the power tool per ¶ [24]. Liu’s “62” emits light through “light-transmissible material” per ¶ [21]. Thus, the light emitted from “62” is transmitted out to the work field which includes the workpiece to be machined.
The applicant argues (pp. 10, 2nd para.) that “neither Kitamura nor Liu teaches or suggests "a control electronics associated with the work field lighting ... configured to visualize the charging of the battery in the charging operation by a repeated illumination and dimming of the work field lighting," as recited in claim 1. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art combining the teachings of Kitamura with those of Liu would not arrive at a system that includes the above-identified structures recited in claim 1. Therefore, Kitamura and Liu cannot be combined so as to establish a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to claim 1, and claim 1 is patentable over the cited references.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The base reference, Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”), is relied upon to teach “a control electronics associated with the work field lighting”. The secondary reference, Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1), provides teachings that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control electronics (already set forth by Kit) to control the work field lighting to repeatedly illuminate and dim during a charging process.
The control electronics taught by Liu (“processor unit 45”; Fig. 3) is analogous to the control electronics set forth by Kit (combo of “controller 4” and “lighting circuit”, not drawn, which controls turning on/off “101” and “102”, per ¶ [52]). Each of these control electronics is configured to control the illumination of work field lighting features on a respective hand-held power tool.
Further, the work field lighting taught by Liu (combo of “62” & “7”) is analogous to the work field lighting set forth by Kit (combo of “101” & “102”). Each of these is a set of lighting that shines outward from the respective hand-held power tool to illuminate a work field, which includes a workpiece to be machined.
Thus, the applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1-9 and 12-13 are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of independent claim 10 and its dependents have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues (pp. 11, 1st para.) that “Liu fails to teach activating a work field lighting configured to illuminate a work field or a workpiece to be machined to visualize the charging of a battery”. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons as detailed supra regarding claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of new claim 15 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Additionally, the arguments do not apply to the combination of references (Kitamura, Liu, and new reference Billings) being used in an additional prior art rejection included infra for the new claim 15.
The applicant argues (pp. 11, 4th para.) that “Liu therefore fails to teach a work field lighting that is both activated when the drive unit is activated and configured to visualize the charging of the battery”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets Liu’s ¶ [24] to teach that the work field lighting (62 & 7) is activated when the drive unit is activated. Liu’s ¶ [24] described that operating the button “61” results in both activating the drive unit “5” and illuminating the work field lighting (62 & 7). It is already discussed supra that Liu’s work field lighting flashes during charging.
Drawings
Figure 4 (replacement drawings, 02/25/2026) is objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. Although the boxes in the figures are numbered which allows a correlation to each box as one reads the specification, the numbers by themselves do not allow one to quickly ascertain the concept of the invention which is desirable during a later search of analogous art. The numbers should be complimented with words spelled out to facilitate future searches. Replacement drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84 and 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “a work field or a workpiece to be machined when the drive unit is activated”, which should be revised to “[[a]] the work field or [[a]] the workpiece to be machined when the drive unit is activated”. These features are introduced prior in independent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”) in view of Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kit discloses a hand-held power tool (“electric tool 1”; Figs. 1-4) comprising the following features.
Kit further discloses the hand-held power tool (1) comprising a work field lighting (combo of “first light source 101” and “second light source 102”; Figs. 2, 4-7A; ¶ [27, 41-43, 52]) configured to illuminate a work field (¶ [52]: “A user turns on one of the first light source 101 or the second light source 102, or both of the first light source 101 and the second light source 102, thereby suppressing the workability from being reduced even in a dark work environment.”) or a workpiece (“work target 100”; Fig. 3) to be machined (“100” to be tightened by “1”; ¶ [19]).
Kit further discloses the hand-held power tool (1) comprising an elongated housing (“housing 9”; Figs. 1-3).
Kit further discloses a toolholder (combo of “output shaft 3” and “chuck 7”; Fig. 3; ¶ [32]: “7 is fixed to the output shaft 3”) configured to accommodate an application tool (“tip tool 2; Fig. 3; ¶ [32]: “2 … is fixed (attached) to the output shaft 3 by the chuck 7”).
Kit further discloses a drive unit (“drive block A1”; Fig. 3) arranged in the elongated housing (“housing 9”; Figs. 1-3).
Kit further discloses the drive unit (A1) comprising at least one drive motor (“electric motor 5”; Fig. 3; ¶ [28-29]) configured to drive the toolholder (3, 7).
Kit further discloses a battery (“power source 6”; Fig. 3; ¶ [34]: “6 is a so-called battery pack”) configured to provide a network-independent power supply (¶ [34]: “6 is a direct-current power supply”).
Kit further discloses a control electronics (combo of “controller 4” and “lighting circuit”, not drawn, which controls turning on/off “101” and “102”, per ¶ [52]) associated with the work field lighting (101, 102).
Though, as addressed supra, Kit discloses a battery, Kit does not disclose “the battery being configured to be electrically conductively connected to an external charging apparatus to charge the battery in a charging operation”.
As further addressed supra, Kit discloses a control electronics associated with the work field lighting. However, Kit further does not disclose the control electronics “is configured to visualize the charging of the battery in the charging operation by a repeated illumination and dimming of the work field lighting”.
Liu teaches a hand-held power tool (Figs. 1-3) comprising a work field lighting (combo of “lamp unit 62” and “auxiliary lamp 7”; may also map to “62” on its own, as discussed infra in note 1-1; Figs. 2-3) configured to illuminate a work field (area surrounding the power tool) or a workpiece (workpiece interfaced with “tool bit 2” of Figs. 1-3, such as a screw per ¶ [17]) to be machined (driving a screw, per ¶ [17]).
NOTE 1-1: The examiner interprets Liu’s feature “62” to also independently read on the current claim language for “work field lighting”. Liu’s “62” illuminates “to generate light continuously” while driving the power tool per ¶ [24]. Liu’s “62” emits light through “light-transmissible material” per ¶ [21]. Thus, the light emitted from “62” is transmitted out to the work field which includes the workpiece to be machined.
Liu further teaches the battery (“battery unit 41”, within “power supplying unit 4”; Figs. 2-3) being configured to be electrically conductively connected (conductively connected via the “input power signal”) to an external charging apparatus (supplier of the “input power signal” to the internal “power supplying unit 4”; Fig. 3) to charge the battery (41) in a charging operation (either “quick-charging mode” or “intermittent-charging mode”, per ¶ [19, 23]).
Liu further teaches a control electronics (“processor unit 45”; Fig. 3) associated with the work field lighting (62 & 7) and configured to visualize the charging of the battery (41) in the charging operation (¶ [23]: “visually indicating … the progress of the charging operation”) by a repeated illumination and dimming (¶ [23]: “processor unit 45 controls the lamp unit 62 … to generate a slow flashing output … during operation of the battery charger 42 in the intermittent-charging mode”) of the work field lighting (62 & 7).
Liu teaches this control of the work field lighting during charging to visually communicate the progress of the charging operation to the user of the power tool (¶ [23]), thus improving user-friendliness and convenience of charging the power tool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hand-held power tool and control electronics disclosed by Kit to control the work field lighting to blink while charging, as taught by Liu, to improve user experience and convenience by visually communicating the progress of the charging operation to the user of the hand-held power tool as a secondary function of the existing work field lighting.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit does not disclose “the control electronics are further associated with a battery charge level sensing unit which is configured to sense a current battery charge level”.
Liu further teaches the control electronics (45) are further associated with a battery charge level sensing unit (“battery voltage detector 44”; Fig. 3) which is configured to sense a current battery charge level (¶ [19]: “44 is coupled electrically to the processor unit 45 and is adapted for detecting battery voltage of the battery unit 41”).
Liu further teaches that sensing the current battery charge level is necessary to protect the battery from overcharging (¶ [19]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hand-held power tool disclosed by the combo of Kit & Liu to incorporate a battery charge level sensing unit to sense the current battery charge level, as further taught by Liu, to protect the battery from overcharging.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit further discloses the control electronics (combo of “controller 4” and “lighting circuit”, not drawn, which controls turning on/off “101” and “102”, per ¶ [52]) are further associated with a switch element (“light button 103”; Fig. 2; ¶ [52]: for turning on “101” and “102”, in coordination with “lighting circuit”).
Regarding claim 7, Kit does not disclose “upon an activation of the switch element a battery charge level is visualizable in the operation of the hand-held power tool”.
Liu further teaches the control electronics (45) are further associated with a switch element (“user-actuated unit 61”; Figs. 1-4; ¶ [21]: “61 includes a button … and in the form of a gun trigger mounted operably to a handle portion 31 of the housing 3”).
Liu further teaches that upon an activation of the switch element (61) a battery charge level is visualizable in the operation of the hand-held power tool (¶ [24]: “when the battery voltage of the battery unit 41 drops below a dynamic preset value (such as 2.45 volts), which indicates insufficient residual power of the battery unit 41, while the button of the user-actuated unit 61 is manually operated, the processor unit 45 deactivates the driving unit 5 and the auxiliary lamp 7, and controls the lamp unit 62 to flash for a predetermined number of times (such as two times), thereby indicating the need to recharge the battery unit 41”).
Liu teaches this control of the work field lighting during charging to visually communicate battery charge level to the user of the power tool (¶ [24]), thus improving user-friendliness and convenience of using the power tool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hand-held power tool and control electronics disclosed by the combination of Kit and Liu for a battery charge level to be visualizable in the operation of the hand-held power tool upon an activation of the switch element, as further taught by Liu, to improve user experience and convenience of using the power tool by visually communicating battery charge level to the user of the power tool as a secondary function of the existing work field lighting.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 7.
Kit further discloses the switch element (103) is configured as a switch (“light button 103”; Fig. 2) activatable by a user (¶ [52]: “each time a press operation is given to … 103”; ¶ [52]: “a user turns on … 101 … 102”) of the hand-held power tool (1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit further discloses the hand-held power tool (1) further comprises an activation unit (“interruption mechanism B1”, including “contact part P1”; Fig. 3; ¶ [82-85]) configured to activate (¶ [84]: “when the contact part P1 is switched to the closed state, the drive voltage is given to the electric motor 5”) the drive motor (5).
Kit further discloses the activation unit (B1, P1) is configured to activate the drive motor (5) upon a biasing (“pressing force” exceeds the “restriction range R0”; ¶ [77-78, 83, 85]; Fig. 8) of an application tool (2) arranged in the toolholder (3, 7), against a workpiece (“work target 100”; Fig. 3) to be machined (“100” to be tightened by “1”; ¶ [19]).
Kit further discloses the biasing (“pressing force”; ¶ [70]: “2 receives the pressing force in the pressing direction D1”) is along a longitudinal axis (“pressing direction D1” is along a longitudinal axis of “1”; Fig. 3) of the hand-held power tool (1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit further discloses the hand-held power tool (1) is a screwdriver (¶ [19]: “an electrically driven screw driver”).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit further discloses the work field lighting (101, 102) is arranged on a front face (annotated Fig. 5, included supra, is a front view that depicts “101” positioned on a front face of the housing; further any surface could be interpreted as a front face, thus, “102” could separately be interpreted as being positioned on a front face) of the elongated housing (9).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit further discloses the work field lighting (101, 102) is illuminated to illuminate a work field (¶ [52]: “A user turns on one of the first light source 101 or the second light source 102, or both of the first light source 101 and the second light source 102, thereby suppressing the workability from being reduced even in a dark work environment.”) or a workpiece (100) to be machined (“100” to be tightened by “1”; ¶ [19]).
Kit does not disclose “the work field lighting is illuminated to illuminate a work field or a workpiece to be machined when the drive unit is activated”.
Liu teaches the work field lighting (62 & 7) is illuminated to illuminate a work field (area surrounding the power tool) or a workpiece (workpiece interfaced with “tool bit 2” of Figs. 1-3, such as a screw per ¶ [17]) to be machined (driving a screw, per ¶ [17]) when the drive unit (5) is activated (¶ [24] describes that operating the button “61” results in both activating the drive unit “5” and illuminating the work field lighting “62” & “7”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hand-held power tool disclosed by the combination of Kit and Liu to illuminate the work field lighting when the drive unit is activated, as taught by Liu, to improve convenience for the user to easily see the work field when needed.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”) in view of Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1) and Lee et al. (US 2014/0184171 A1).
Regarding Claims 2-3, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit does not disclose “the control electronics comprise a detection unit configured to detect the external charging apparatus when electrically conductively connected to the battery, and the control electronics are configured to initiate the charging operation of the battery in response to the detection of the external charging apparatus” (claim 2).
Kit does not disclose “the control electronics further comprise a charging control unit configured to initiate the charging operation and to terminate the charging operation after a successful charging” (claim 3).
Lee teaches the control electronics (combo of “160”, “170”, “180”, “190”; Fig. 1) comprise a detection unit (“detection unit 160”, including “second detection module 162”; Fig. 1) configured to detect (¶ [44]: “160 may detect a connection to the external power supply device”; Fig. 2, step 210) the external charging apparatus (“external power supply apparatus”, not drawn; ¶ [29]) when electrically conductively connected (via “wired charging interface unit 150”; Fig. 1) to the battery (“battery 185”; Fig. 1)
Lee further teaches the control electronics (160, 170, 180, 190) are configured to initiate the charging operation (Fig. 2, steps 220 + 230; ¶ [31]: “charging operation is performed through the wired charging interface unit 150”) of the battery (185) in response to the detection (step 210) of the external charging apparatus (“external power supply apparatus”).
Lee further teaches the control electronics (160, 170, 180, 190) further comprise a charging control unit (“charging unit 180”; Fig. 1) configured to initiate (¶ [33]: “when power is detected through the wired charging interface unit 150 … 190 may detect the power and control a charging operation by driving the charging unit 180”) the charging operation (Fig. 2, steps 220 + 230).
Lee further teaches the charging control unit (180) is further configured to terminate (¶ [33]: “190 may detect a residual quantity of the battery 185 and control the charging unit 180 to terminate a charging operation when the battery 185 is in a 100% charging state”; ¶ [54]: “190 may determine whether charging is complete, and if charging is complete, … the process may be terminated”) the charging operation (Fig. 2, steps 220 + 230) after a successful charging (¶ [33]: “100% charging state”).
Lee further teaches the detection unit, charging control unit, and associated capabilities to enable the control electronics to detect and quickly respond to the connection of an external charging apparatus by the user (¶ [3]), which reduces charging time and improves user convenience (¶ [67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control electronics disclosed by the combination of Kit and Liu to incorporate a detection unit to detect an external charging apparatus and to incorporate a charging control unit to initiate/terminate charging, as taught by Lee, to reduce charging time and improve convenience of charging the hand-held power tool’s battery by enabling the control electronics to detect and quickly respond to the connection of an external charging apparatus.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”) in view of Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1) and the Texas Instruments application note (Kathrina Macalanda, SLYY163: Fundamentals to automotive LED driver circuits, May 2019, Texas Instruments), hereinafter “Mac”.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit further discloses the control electronics (combo of “controller 4” and “lighting circuit”, not drawn, which controls turning on/off “101” and “102”, per ¶ [52]) are further associated with a brightness control (“light button 103”; Fig. 2) configured to control a brightness (controls whether none, one, or both of “101” and “102” are on, thus adjusting the light output to the “dark work environment”; ¶ [52]) of the work field lighting (combo of “101” and “102”).
NOTE 5-1: The claim language “control a brightness” can be interpreted broadly. Simply turning a light between an off-state (not bright) and an on-state (brighter) is controlling a brightness.
Kit does not disclose “the brightness control comprises at least one transistor and/or one MOSFET”.
Mac teaches the brightness control (circuits of Fig. 5 to implement “PWM dimming” in right-hand graph of Fig. 11, page 7) comprises at least one transistor (left-hand circuit in Fig. 5, page 4) and/or one MOSFET (right-hand circuit in Fig. 5, page 4)
Mac further teaches using transistors and/or MOSFET to control brightness as practical, power-efficient, and stable implementations (page 4: “Discrete constant-current LED drivers”) of a lighting drive circuit that can control brightness via pulse-width modulation (Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hand-held power tool disclosed by the combination of Kit and Liu to incorporate at least one transistor and/or MOSFET for brightness control, as taught by Mac, as a practical, power-efficient, and stable implementation of a lighting drive circuit that can control brightness via pulse-width modulation.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”) in view of Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1) and Olsson et al. (US 11,894,707 B1; hereinafter “Olss”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kit and Liu teaches the hand-held power tool according to claim 1.
Kit does not disclose “the control electronics are further configured to deactivate the work field lighting when the battery has been fully charged by the charging operation”.
Olss teaches the control electronics (130) are further configured to deactivate the lighting (“red LED 270-2”; Fig. 2C; col. 12, lines 44-47: “fully charged state … the red LED is off”; Fig. 6, step 622: “green only”, thus “red LED 270-2” is deactivated to show fully charged) when the battery (100) has been fully charged (“yes” response to step 620 of Fig. 6) by the charging operation (600).
NOTE 6-1: Olss’s teachings regarding the deactivation of the lighting are not with respect to a work field lighting, as claimed. However, a different teaching from Liu is included supra that it would be obvious to use the existing work field lighting disclosed by Kit to visualize a status of the battery.
Olss further teaches to deactivate the lighting when the battery has been fully charged by the charging operation as a simple and low-cost approach to communicate the battery has been fully charged to the user (col. 1, lines 38-46, 53-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control electronics disclosed by the combination of Kit and Liu to deactivate the work field lighting when the battery has been fully charged by the charging operation, as taught by Olss, as a simple and low-cost approach to communicate the battery has been fully charged to the user.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”) in view of Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1) and Billings et al. (US 2018/0161951 A1).
Kit further discloses the work field lighting (101, 102) is illuminated to illuminate a work field (¶ [52]: “A user turns on one of the first light source 101 or the second light source 102, or both of the first light source 101 and the second light source 102, thereby suppressing the workability from being reduced even in a dark work environment.”) or a workpiece (100) to be machined (“100” to be tightened by “1”; ¶ [19]).
Kit does not disclose “the work field lighting is illuminated to illuminate a work field or a workpiece to be machined when the drive unit is activated”.
Billings teaches the work field lighting (“light 42”; Figs. 1A-1B) is illuminated to illuminate a work field (space surrounding “power tool 10”) or a workpiece to be machined when the drive unit (“motor”) is activated (Abstract: “switch … configured to control operation of the motor”; Abstract: “light to turn on when the sensor sense that the switch is actuated”; ¶ [9]: “light unit may turn on the light ON automatically when sensing when the tool is actuated by a user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hand-held power tool disclosed by the combination of Kit and Liu to illuminate the work field lighting when the drive unit is activated, as taught by Billings, to improve convenience for the user to easily see the work field when needed.
Claims 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0184171 A1) in view of Kitamura et al. (US 2022/0410283 A1; hereinafter “Kit”) and Liu (US 2007/0046110 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses a method (flowchart of Fig. 2) of charging a battery (“battery 185”; Fig. 1).
Lee further discloses the battery (185) being electrically conductively connectable (via “wired charging interface unit 150”; Fig. 1) to an external charging apparatus (“external power supply apparatus”, not drawn; ¶ [29]) in a charging operation (Fig. 2, steps 220 + 230; ¶ [31]: “charging operation is performed through the wired charging interface unit 150”) for charging the battery (185).
Lee further discloses the method (Fig. 2) comprising the following.
Lee further discloses electrically conductively connecting (via “150”; ¶ [29]) the charging apparatus (“external power supply apparatus”) to the battery (185).
Lee further discloses detecting (¶ [44]: “160 may detect a connection to the external power supply device”; Fig. 2, step 210), with a detection unit (“detection unit 160”, including “second detection module 162”; Fig. 1), the electrically conductive connection of the battery (185) to the charging apparatus (“external power supply apparatus”).
Lee further discloses activating the charging operation (Fig. 2, steps 220 + 230) using a charging control unit (“charging unit 180”; Fig. 1; ¶ [33]: “when power is detected through the wired charging interface unit 150 … 190 may detect the power and control a charging operation by driving the charging unit 180”).
As addressed supra, Lee discloses a method of charging a battery. However, Lee does not disclose the battery is “of a hand-held power tool which includes a work field lighting configured to illuminate a work field or a workpiece to be machined, an elongated housing, a toolholder configured to receive an application too, a drive unit arranged in the elongated housing and having at least one drive motor configured to drive the toolholder, and the battery, which is arranged in the elongated housing and is configured to supply network-independent power to the drive motor”.
Lee further does not disclose the method further comprises “activating the work field lighting to execute a repeated illumination and dimming of the work field lighting during the charging operation”.
Kit teaches a battery (“power source 6”; Fig. 3; ¶ [34]: “6 is a so-called battery pack”) of a hand-held power tool (“electric tool 1”; Figs. 1-4).
Kit further teaches the hand-held power tool (1) includes a work field lighting (combo of “first light source 101” and “second light source 102”; Figs. 2, 4-7A; ¶ [27, 41-43]) configured to illuminate a work field (¶ [52]: “A user turns on one of the first light source 101 or the second light source 102, or both of the first light source 101 and the second light source 102, thereby suppressing the workability from being reduced even in a dark work environment.”) or a workpiece (“work target 100”; Fig. 3) to be machined (“100” to be tightened by “1”; ¶ [19]).
Kit further teaches the hand-held power tool (1) includes an elongated housing (“housing 9”; Figs. 1-3).
Kit further teaches a toolholder (combo of “output shaft 3” and “chuck 7”; Fig. 3; ¶ [32]: “7 is fixed to the output shaft 3”) configured to receive an application tool (“tip tool 2; Fig. 3; ¶ [32]: “2 … is fixed (attached) to the output shaft 3 by the chuck 7”).
Kit further teaches a drive unit (“drive block A1”; Fig. 3) arranged in the elongated housing (9) and having at least one drive motor (“electric motor 5”; Fig. 3; ¶ [28-29]) configured to drive the toolholder (3, 7).
Kit further teaches the hand-held power tool includes the battery (6), which is arranged in the elongated housing (9) and is configured to supply network-independent power (¶ [34]: “6 is a direct-current power supply”) to the drive motor (5).
Kit further teaches the hand-held power tool of this structure as a useful tool to be used on a construction site to tighten bolts and screws (¶ [19]). Kit further teaches the battery being used as a power source for the control electronics and the drive motor in the tool (¶ [29, 34-35]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of the method disclosed by Lee to incorporate the battery in a hand-held power tool, as taught by Kit to broaden the commercial uses for the method for a battery in a tool that is useful on construction sites to tighten bolts and screws.
Liu teaches a hand-held power tool (Figs. 1-3) which includes a work field lighting (combo of “lamp unit 62” and “auxiliary lamp 7”; may also map to “62” on its own, as discussed infra in note 10-1; Figs. 2-3) configured to illuminate a work field (area surrounding the power tool) or a workpiece (workpiece interfaced with “tool bit 2” of Figs. 1-3, such as a screw per ¶ [17]) to be machined (driving a screw, per ¶ [17]).
NOTE 10-1: The examiner interprets Liu’s feature “62” to also independently read on the current claim language for “work field lighting”. Liu’s “62” illuminates “to generate light continuously” while driving the power tool per ¶ [24]. Liu’s “62” emits light through “light-transmissible material” per ¶ [21]. Thus, the light emitted from “62” is transmitted out to the work field which includes the workpiece to be machined.
Liu teaches activating the work field lighting (62, 7) to execute a repeated illumination and dimming (¶ [23]: “processor unit 45 controls the lamp unit 62 … to generate a slow flashing output … during operation of the battery charger 42 in the intermittent-charging mode”) of the work field lighting (62, 7) during the charging operation (¶ [23]: “visually indicating … the progress of the charging operation”).
Liu teaches this control of the work field lighting during charging to visually communicate the progress of the charging operation to the user of the power tool (¶ [23]), thus improving user-friendliness and convenience of charging the power tool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Kit to activate the work field lighting to blink while charging, as taught by Liu, to improve user experience and convenience by visually communicating the progress of the charging operation to the user of the hand-held power tool as a secondary function of the existing work field lighting.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Lee, Kit, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 10.
Lee further discloses the method (Fig. 2) further comprising, prior to an activation (step 220 begins charging, thus activating “180”) of the charging control unit (180), detecting a battery charge level (¶ [33]: “190 may detect a residual quantity of the battery 185”, corresponding to a percentage “charging state”, and used to inform “charging with a method of constant current charging or constant voltage charging”; per ¶ [60], this info is output from “190” to “display unit 120”) using a battery charge level sensing unit (“controller 190”; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Lee, Kit, and Liu teaches the method according to claim 10.
The combination of Lee, Kit, and Liu (as set forth prior) the hand-held power tool (incorporated from Kit: “1”) is a screwdriver (Kit ¶ [19]: “an electrically driven screw driver”).
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859