DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-13, 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasmieh (US 2019/0042000) in view of Chien (US 2015/0340826).
Regarding claim 1 Kasmieh discloses:
A wiring device assembly comprising:
a wiring device module (e.g. 250 FIG.2A) having an electrical wiring device (e.g. 230 FIG.2A), a mounting plate (e.g. 105 FIG.7A) configured to be mounted to an electrical box (e.g. 210 FIG.2A) and a seal member (e.g. "elastomeric seal" paragraph [0046]) comprising a first face contacting the mounting plate (e.g. described paragraph [0046]) and between the electrical wiring device, the electrical wiring device being attached to the mounting plate (e.g. shown FIG.2A) and having at least one sensor (e.g. 292 FIG.2C); and
a wall plate (e.g. 110 FIG.7A) that is releasably attachable to the mounting plate (e.g. shown FIG.7B).
Kasmieh does not explicitly disclose:
a second surface contacting the electrical wiring device
Chien teaches:
a seal member (e.g. disclosed paragraph [0120]) comprising a first face contacting the mounting plate (e.g. 81 Fig 8A) and a second surface contacting the electrical wiring device (e.g. 80 Fig 8) (e.g. described paragraph [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Chien, as pointed out above, in Kasmieh, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: Better fit between the outlet and the wall cover (described paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 2 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the seal member comprises a gasket (e.g. as described paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 4 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the wall plate is releasably attachable to the mounting plate using one or more snap-fit connections (e.g. shown snapping into space in 105 FIG.7B).
Regarding claim 5 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
each of the one or more snap-fit connections comprises a flexible arm extending from the wall plate (e.g. top extension of 110 FIG.7B) configured to engage the mounting plate (e.g. shown engaging the inner top of 105 FIG.7A).
Regarding claim 6 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
each flexible arm engages a ledge of the mounting plate to releasably attach the wall plate to the mounting plate (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.7A-FIG.7B).
Regarding claim 7 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the electrical wiring device comprises a solid state switch (e.g. 260 FIG.2C) used to control one or more electrical loads (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.2C).
Regarding claim 8 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the solid state switch comprises one of a single pole switch (e.g. described paragraph [0003]) and three-way switch.
Regarding claim 9 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the wall plate has a substantially smooth outer surface (e.g. shown FIG.7A).
Regarding claim 10 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the at least one sensor comprises a at least one of capacitive type sensor (e.g. touch, paragraph [0045]) or a time of flight sensor.
Regarding claim 11 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the at least one sensor comprises at least one of a pressure sensors, a touch sensor (e.g. touch, paragraph [0004]), a motion sensors or a thermal sensor.
Regarding claim 12 Kasmieh discloses:
A wiring device assembly comprising:
a wiring device module (e.g. 250 FIG.2A) having an electrical wiring device (e.g. 230 FIG.2A), a mounting plate (e.g. 105 FIG.7A) configured to be mounted to an electrical box (e.g. 210 FIG.2A) and a seal member (e.g. "elastomeric seal" paragraph [0046]) comprising a first face contacting the mounting plate (e.g. described paragraph [0046]) and between the electrical wiring device, the electrical wiring device being attached to the mounting plate (e.g. shown FIG.2A) and having at least one sensor (e.g. 292 FIG.2C); and
a wall plate (e.g. 110 FIG.7A) that is releasably attachable to the mounting plate (e.g. shown FIG.7B) using one or more snap-fit connections (e.g. shown snapping into space in 105 FIG.7B), each snap fit connection including a flexible arm extending from the wall plate (e.g. top extension of 110 FIG.7B)
Kasmieh does not explicitly disclose:
a second surface contacting the electrical wiring device
Chien teaches:
a seal member (e.g. disclosed paragraph [0120]) comprising a first face contacting the mounting plate (e.g. 81 Fig 8A) and a second surface contacting the electrical wiring device (e.g. 80 Fig 8) (e.g. described paragraph [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Chien, as pointed out above, in Kasmieh, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: Better fit between the outlet and the wall cover (described paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 13 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the seal member comprises a gasket (e.g. as described paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 15 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
each flexible arm extending from the wall plate is configured to engage the mounting plate (e.g. engaging at top of 105 shown FIG.7A).
Regarding claim 16 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
each flexible arm engages a ledge of the mounting plate to releasably attach the wall plate to the mounting plate (e.g. shown FIG.7A).
Regarding claim 17 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the electrical wiring device comprises a solid state switch (e.g. 260 FIG.2C) used to control one or more electrical loads (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.2C).
Regarding claim 18 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the solid state switch comprises one of a single pole switch (e.g. described paragraph [0003]) and three-way switch.
Regarding claim 19 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the wall plate has a substantially smooth outer surface herein the wall plate has a substantially smooth outer surface (e.g. shown FIG.7A).
Regarding claim 20 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the at least one sensor comprises at least one of a capacitive type sensor (e.g. touch, paragraph [0045]) or a time of flight sensor.
Regarding claim 21 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
the at least one sensor comprises at least one of a pressure sensors, a touch sensor (e.g. touch, paragraph [0004]), a motion sensors and a thermal sensor.
Claim(s) 3, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasmieh (US 2019/0042000) in view of Chien (US 2015/0340826) in further view of Monteiro et al. (US 2007/0253192).
Regarding claim 3 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
The wiring device assembly according to claim 2,
Kasmieh does not explicitly disclose:
the gasket comprises a neoprene gasket
Monteiro teaches:
the gasket (e.g. 17 FIG.3A) comprises a neoprene gasket (e.g. described paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Monteiro as pointed out above, in Kasmieh, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: “increasing the shock absorbing capacity” paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 14 Kasmieh as modified discloses:
The wiring device assembly according to claim 13,
Kasmieh does not explicitly disclose:
the gasket comprises a neoprene gasket
Monteiro teaches:
the gasket (e.g. 17 FIG.3A) comprises a neoprene gasket (e.g. described paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Monteiro as pointed out above, in Kasmieh, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: “increasing the shock absorbing capacity” paragraph [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 are the publications of the same patent family as the newly cited reference in the rejection above.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841