DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding clams 12 and 17, the claims refer to a speed of the electric power converter. It is the examiners understanding that the electric power converter controls a speed of a motor [0066]. It is unclear what an electric power converter speed refers to or how the speed of the electric power converter is controlled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bickford et al1 [Bickford] US Pat No 8712929.
Referring to claim 1, Bickford teaches the method comprising:
obtaining a first batch of input data, wherein the first batch of input data comprises a plurality of samples of one or more operating parameters of the electric power converter during at least one operating state of the electric power converter [col. 11 lines 27-30].
reducing a number of samples of the plurality of samples of the first batch by clustering the plurality of samples of the first batch into a first set of clusters and determining at least one representative sample for each cluster of the first set of clusters [col. 11 lines 3031col. 12 lines 47-54].
providing the representative samples for training the machine learning model and/or training the machine learning model based on the representative samples [col. 11 lines 32-36].
Referring to claim 3, Bickford teaches repeating the collection, reduction and training for each phase in each model [col. 11 lines 37-39]. This is interpreted as obtaining a second batch of data and performing the same on that second batch.
Referring to claim 10, Bickford teaches determining a center for each gaussian distribution [col. 13 lines 4-14].
Referring to claims 20-21, these are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove. Bickford teaches the method and therefore teaches the program and device performing the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bickford as applied to claims 1, 3, 10 and 20-21 above.
Referring to claim 2, while Bickford teaches using a clustering algorithm for training, the data is not clustered based on a clustering feature tree. Rather, it appears that Bickford clusters according to Gaussian distribution [col. 13 lines 3-5]. The examiner is taking official notice that clustering feature trees are also well-known clustering algorithms such a BIRCH. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try substituting the clustering algorithm in Bickford for a clustering feature tree algorithm because both styles cluster data and a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Claim(s) 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bickford as applied to claims 1, 3, 10 and 20-21 above and further in view of Abdulaal PGPUB 2020/0226490.
Referring to claims 13 and 19, while Bickford teaches training a model using a clustering technique, it is not explicitly taught that the model can monitor a condition determine if an abnormality occurs and alert a user accordingly. Abdulaal teaches that trained models can be used for supervision in real time and can be used to trigger remedial actions or provide an alert to a user [0011-0012, 0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Abdulaal into Bickford because it provides a way to further monitor operation using a model trained via clustering techniques and provide a user with an indication of an abnormal operating state as taught by Abdulaal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 11, 14-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 12/27/25
1 Cited by applicant