DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application, 18111846, filed 02/20/2023 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63312141, filed 02/21/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/04/2024 and 09/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 501 mentioned in paragraph [0058].
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
A. The “means for” receiving …; “means for” generating …; and “means for” accumulating in claim 20 does not follow the nomenclature of the specification. Therefore, there is no clear support or explicit antecedent basis in the description for the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 C.F.R. 1.71(a) which requires “full, clear, concise, and exact terms” as to enable any person skilled in the art or science to which the invention or discovery appertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same. The following should be corrected.
In claim 12 line 2, “the during” should read “
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the multiplier circuit within at least one of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units is coupled to output a carry value to the multiplier circuit of at least one other of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units”. An adder normally outputs a sum and carry value while a multiplier normally outputs a product value. Therefore, it is unclear how the multiplier circuit outputs a carry value because this is not a result that is normally generated by a multiplier circuit. Further clarification is required. Claim 15 recites substantially the same limitations and is rejected for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 22 of copending Application No. 18215993 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 11 and 20 under examination are anticipated by claims 1 and 22 of the reference application. Every limitation in the application under examination claims are recited in the conflicting reference application claim as shown in the table below.
18111846
18215993
1. An integrated circuit device comprising:
1. An integrated circuit device comprising: first, second and third tensor processing units (TPUs), each TPU having:
a plurality of broadcast data paths;
a plurality of broadcast data paths;
a weighting-value memory; and
a weighting-value memory;
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths, each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having:
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths, each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having:
a data input coupled to receive, during each of a plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths;
a data input coupled to receive, during each of a plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths;
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each of the plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths;
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each of the plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths;
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each of the plurality of timing cycles; and
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each of the plurality of timing cycles; and
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products.
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products
Mapping for the other claims are not being shown for purposes of brevity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, 15 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 18144288 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, 15 and 20 under examination are anticipated by claims 1, 9, 10, 1, 9, 10 and 1 respectively of the reference application. Every limitation in the application under examination claims are recited in the conflicting reference application claims respectively as shown in the table below.
18111846
18144288
1. An integrated circuit device comprising:
1. An integrated circuit device comprising:
a plurality of broadcast data paths;
a plurality of broadcast data paths;
a weighting-value memory; and
a weighting-value memory;
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths, each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having:
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths, each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having:
a data input coupled to receive, during each of a plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths;
a data input coupled to receive, during each of a plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths;
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each of the plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths;
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each of the plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths;
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each of the plurality of timing cycles; and
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each of the plurality of timing cycles; and
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products.
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products;
Mapping for the other claims are not being shown for purposes of brevity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, 9-13, and 15-19 of copending Application No. 18371247 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, 16 and 20 under examination are anticipated by claims 1, 4-7, 9-13, and 15-19 of the reference application. Every limitation in the application under examination claims are recited in the conflicting reference application claims respectively as shown in the table below.
18111846
18371247
1. An integrated circuit device comprising:
An integrated circuit device comprising: a plurality of tensor processing units (TPUs) to multiply, over a first plurality of timing cycles, an input data matrix having at least first and second dimensions with a filter-weight matrix having at least the first dimension and a third dimension to produce an output data matrix having at least the second and third dimensions, each TPU having:
a plurality of broadcast data paths;
a plurality of broadcast data paths;
a weighting-value memory; and
a weighting-value memory;
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths, each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having:
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths, each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having:
a data input coupled to receive, during each of a plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths;
a data input coupled to receive, during each timing cycle of the first plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths;
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each of the plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths;
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each timing cycle of the first plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths;
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each of the plurality of timing cycles; and
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each timing cycle of the first plurality of timing cycles; and
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products.
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products;
Mapping for the other claims are not being shown for purposes of brevity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (WO 2019205617 A1), hereinafter Fang.
Regarding claim 1, Fang teaches
a plurality of broadcast data paths (Fang Fig. 4 and page 8 top; plurality of broadcast data paths – data lines from 410-413 to the computing units);
a weighting-value memory (Fang Fig. 4 and page 7 bottom; weighting-value memory - second repository set 414-417); and
a plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units coupled in common to each of the broadcast data paths and coupled to receive respective weighting values from the weighting-value memory via respective weighting-value paths (Fang Fig. 4, page 7 middle and page 8 middle; plurality of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units – columns of the computing units; respective weighting values – multipliers; respective weighting-value paths - data lines from 414-417 to the computing units), each of the MAC units having a plurality of MAC circuits coupled respectively to the broadcast data paths, each of the MAC circuits within a given one of the MAC units having (Fang Fig. 4, page 7 middle and page 8 middle; plurality of MAC circuits – computing units in each column):
a data input coupled to receive, during each of a plurality of timing cycles, an input data value via a respective one of the broadcast data paths (Fang Fig. 4-5 data input – multiplicand input terminal; input data value – multiplicand; Figs. 7-10 and page 8 bottom paragraph; plurality of timing cycles – first to fourth clock cycles; page 8 top “the first repository set may broadcast N data to the N*N computing units in the first clock cycle”; page 3 second paragraph “in each clock cycle, all the computing units in the same row in the matrix of N*N receive the same first input data”);
a weighting-value input coupled to receive, during each of the plurality of timing cycles, a shared one of the weighting values via a shared one of the respective weighting-value paths (Fang Fig. 4-5 weighting-value input – multiplier input terminal; shared one of the weighting values – multiplier; Figs. 7-10; page 8 top “the second repository set may also broadcast N to the N*N computing units in the first clock cycle”; page 3 second paragraph “All computing units in the same column receive the same second input data”);
a multiplier circuit to generate a sequence of multiplication products by multiplying the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles with the shared one of the weighting values received during each of the plurality of timing cycles (Fang Figs. 5 and 7-11 and page 8 bottom paragraph; multiplier circuit – multiplication unit 506; sequence of multiplication products – products); and
an accumulator circuit to accumulate a sum of constituent multiplication products within the sequence of multiplication products (Fang Fig. 5 and 7-11 and page 8 bottom paragraph; accumulator circuit – addition unit 507, 508; sum – addition result).
Regarding claim 2, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Further, Fang teaches wherein each of the MAC circuits further comprises a data operand register, coupled between the data input and the multiplier circuit, to store the input data value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles and to output the data input value received during each of the plurality of timing cycles to the multiplier circuit (Fang Fig. 5 and page 8 bottom; data operand register – register 501/502).
Regarding claim 9, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Further, Fang teaches wherein the plurality of MAC units each having a plurality of MAC circuits constitute a collective array of MAC circuits in which each column of the MAC circuits within the array constitutes a respective one of the MAC units (Fang Fig. 4 and page 8 middle “Maintaining a column connection with the computing unit matrix, and if the third repository set and the computing unit matrix maintain a column connection, each of the third repository sets and each column of the computing unit matrix The computing units are connected”).
Regarding claims 11-12 and 19, they are directed to a method practiced by the device of claims 1-2 and 9 respectively. All steps performed by the method of claims 11-12 and 19 would be practiced by the device of claims 1-2 and 9 respectively. Claims 1-2 and 9 analysis applies equally to claims 11-12 and 19 respectively.
Regarding claim 20, it is directed to an integrated circuit component comprising substantially the same limitations as the device of claim 1. Claim 1 analysis applies equally to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Dasgupta et al. (US 20200410038 A1) hereinafter Dasgupta.
Regarding claim 3, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
Fang does not explicitly teach wherein the given one of the MAC units comprises a weighting-value register to store a respective one of the weighting values received via a respective one of the weighting-value paths.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Dasgupta discloses a weighting-value register to store a respective one of the weighting values received via a respective one of the weighting-value paths (Dasgupta Fig. 23 and paragraph [0169] weighting-value register – 2314, 2316 and/or 2318]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang using Dasgupta and configure the circuit by removing the register 502 in each computing element and replacing them by a single register upstream to each computing element such that each computing element in a column is coupled to an output of a respective single register in order to reduce the circuit area replacing a plurality of input storage circuits (registers) with a single input storage circuit, and to reduce power in the clock tree by significantly decreasing the clock load (Dasgupta paragraph [0169]).
Therefore, the combination of Fang as modified in view of Dasgupta teaches wherein the given one of the MAC units comprises a weighting-value register to store a respective one of the weighting values received via a respective one of the weighting-value paths.
Regarding claim 4, Fang as modified in view of Dasgupta teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Further, Fang as modified in view of Dasgupta teaches wherein the weighting-value input of each of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units is coupled in common to the weighting-value register to receive, as the shared one of the weighting values, the respective one of the weighting values stored within the weighting-value register (Dasgupta Fig. 23 and paragraph [0169]).
Regarding claim 10, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. Further, Fang teaches
wherein: the plurality of MAC units comprises respective weighting-value registers to store the respective weighting values received from the weighting-value memory (Fang Fig. 5 and page 8 bottom paragraph; respective weighting-value registers – register 502 of each computing unit);
each row of the MAC circuits within the array is coupled in common to a respective one of the broadcast data paths (Fang Fig. 4 and page 7 bottom);
each of the columns of the MAC circuits is coupled in common, via the shared one of the respective weighting-value paths, to (Fang Fig. 4 and page 7 bottom).
Fang does not explicitly teach each of the columns of the MAC circuits is coupled in common, via the shared one of the respective weighting-value paths, to an output of a respective one of the weighting- value registers.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Dasgupta discloses a subset of a matrix multiplier array comprising MAC circuits is coupled in common, via a shared one of a respective weighting-value paths, to an output of a respective one of a plurality of weighting- value registers (Dasgupta Fig. 23 and paragraph [0169] weighting-value registers – 2314, 2316 or 2318]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang using Dasgupta and configure the circuit by removing the register 502 in each computing element and replacing them by a single register upstream to each computing element such that each computing element in a column is coupled to an output of a respective single register in order to reduce the circuit area replacing a plurality of input storage circuits (registers) with a single input storage circuit, and to reduce power in the clock tree by significantly decreasing the clock load (Dasgupta paragraph [0169]).
Therefore, the combination of Fang as modified in view of Dasgupta teaches each of the columns of the MAC circuits is coupled in common, via the shared one of the respective weighting-value paths, to an output of a respective one of the weighting- value registers.
Regarding claims 13-14, they are directed to a method practiced by the device of claims 3-4 respectively. All steps performed by the method of claims 13-14 would be practiced by the device of claims 3-4 respectively. Claims 3-4 analysis applies equally to claims 13-14 respectively.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Langhammer (US 8959137 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
Fang does not explicitly teach wherein the multiplier circuit within at least one of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units is coupled to output a carry value to the multiplier circuit of at least one other of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Langhammer discloses a multiplier circuit within a larger multiplier block is coupled to output a carry value to another multiplier circuit within the larger multiplier block (Langhammer Figs. 3-4 and col 7 lines 6-37).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang using Dasgupta and configure the circuit such that
the multiplier unit within at least one of the computing units within a column is coupled to output a carry value to the multiplier unit of at least one other of computing units with the column in order to implement multiply-accumulate operations on higher-precision inputs using lower-precision circuitry by decomposing the multiplication operation into smaller sub-operations (Langhammer col 1 line 57 to col 2 line 3; col 3 line 60 to col 4 line 23).
Therefore, the combination of Fang as modified in view of Langhammer teaches wherein the multiplier circuit within at least one of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units is coupled to output a carry value to the multiplier circuit of at least one other of the MAC circuits within the given one of the MAC units.
Regarding clam 15, it is directed to a method practiced by the device of claim 5. All steps performed by the method of claim 15 would be practiced by the device of claim 5. Claim 5 analysis applies equally to claim 15.
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Temam et al. (US 20190050717 A1), hereinafter Temam.
Regarding claim 6, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
Fang does not explicitly teach further comprising a plurality of shift registers coupled in common to the MAC units, each of the shift registers being coupled to an output of the accumulator circuit within a respective one of the MAC circuits within each of the MAC units.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Temam discloses a shift register coupled in common to a set of MAC circuits, the shift register being coupled to an output of respective one of the MAC circuits (Temam Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0082-0083]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang using Temam and configure the circuit to include a respective shift register for each of the column of the matrix multiplier for temporarily storing the results and for sequentially outputting the result for each column while outputting the results for each row in parallel such that all the results can be written out to the output storage in a number of clock cycles corresponding to the number of rows (Temam Fig. 5 and paragraph [0083] and Fang page 10 middle S604) so that a next calculation cycle can be performed while the write operations are being performed.
Therefore, the combination of Fang as modified in view of Temam teaches further comprising a plurality of shift registers coupled in common to the MAC units, each of the shift registers being coupled to an output of the accumulator circuit within a respective one of the MAC circuits within each of the MAC units.
Regarding claim 7, Fang as modified in view of Temam teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as stated above. Further, Fang as modified in view of Temam teaches wherein the plurality of shift registers consists of a quantity of shift registers that matches quantity of broadcast data paths constituted by the plurality of broadcast data paths (Fang Fig. 4; Temam Fig. 5; see also claim 6 analysis where four shift registers are included one for each column which matches the number of broadcast datapaths (i.e., four data lines from 410-413 to the computing units). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 6.
Regarding claims 16-17, they are directed to a method practiced by the device of claims 6-7 respectively. All steps performed by the method of claims 16-17 would be practiced by the device of claims 6-7 respectively. Claims 6-7 analysis applies equally to claims 16-17 respectively.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Manzo (US 20190026077 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Fang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Further, Fang teaches wherein each of the MAC circuits within each of the plurality of MAC units implements an operational pipeline in which the input data value and the shared one of the weighting values are (Fang Fig. 5 and page 8 bottom paragraph):
received within a given one of the MAC circuits during a first timing cycle of the plurality of timing cycles (Fang Fig. 5 and page 8 bottom paragraph);
multiplied to generate a multiplication product within the sequence of multiplication products during a (Fang Fig. 5 and page 8 bottom paragraph); and
accumulated into the sum of constituent multiplication products during a (Fang Fig. 5 and page 8 bottom paragraph).
Fang does not explicitly teach the input data value and the shared one of the weighting values are multiplied to generate a multiplication product within the sequence of multiplication products during a second timing cycle of the plurality of timing cycles; and accumulated into the sum of constituent multiplication products during a third timing cycle of the plurality of timing cycles.
However, on the same field of endeavor, Manzo discloses a multiply accumulate pipeline circuitry wherein multiplication is performed in a first clock cycle and accumulation is performed in a second clock cycle (Manzo Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0034-0035]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang using Manzo and configure the system to perform the multiplication operation in a next clock cycle after storing the operands in the registers and perform the accumulation operation in a following clock cycle after the multiplication operation in order to implement a system capable of implementing a fused floating point multiply accumulate operation (Manzo paragraphs [0002, 0030]).
Therefore, the combination of Fang as modified in view of Manzo teaches wherein each of the MAC circuits within each of the plurality of MAC units implements an operational pipeline in which the input data value and the shared one of the weighting values are: received within a given one of the MAC circuits during a first timing cycle of the plurality of timing cycles; multiplied to generate a multiplication product within the sequence of multiplication products during a second timing cycle of the plurality of timing cycles; and accumulated into the sum of constituent multiplication products during a third timing cycle of the plurality of timing cycles, wherein the first, second and third timing cycles transpire sequentially.
Regarding clam 18, it is directed to a method practiced by the device of claim 8. All steps performed by the method of claim 18 would be practiced by the device of claim 8. Claim 8 analysis applies equally to claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hanrahan et al. (US 20220012058 A1), Roy et al. (US 20210150313 A1) are related to performing matrix multiplication (multiply-accumulate operations) using an array of MAC circuits by broadcasting the input and weights.
/Carlo Waje/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 (571)272-5767